Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicles Of Blog Visitor Narrative

Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Chronicles Of Blog Visitor Narrative

Chai!!!!!

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
CHRONICLES OF A YOUNG WOMAN LOOKING FOR HOUSE IN LAGOS

I'm a young girl of 24 working in Lagos and I've been looking for a house in lagos for up to 4 months - I have seen what Musa has not seen in the gatehouse. Searching for a house in Lagos is so stressful kai - Stella , I've walked till my shoe has peeled and I've paid agents up to 12k just to get me something nice - yet nothing.

My taste is not high o but this Lagos agents have shown me houses that makes me lay on the bed singing 'inside life' from uncompleted buildings to house with well. My budget is not low o - 400k (my family is even shouting that it's too much but they dont understand). I was told getting a self contain is difficult, so I started searching with a girl that my friend linked me up with but she had to suspend her search due to school restraint. Dont know how to get another roommate since a 2 bedroom or 3 bedroom is easier to search for.

Please B.Vs advice me, I just need a self contain or B.Q (Boy quarter) or a flat mate to rent a 2 bedroom around Yaba or Surulere or anywhere central in lagos. Someone should please help me achieve my dream of getting an apartment before my birthday - November.

My able B.V's link me or advice me on what to do because I'm so tired.

Thank you Stella for your blog and the ability to be contributors and express ourselves.

*My dear,some Landlords will ot give you house if you are not Married according to what i heard....A lot of people are on this table and not only you....
The govt has not made housing affordable in Nigeria at all...what a pity!

61 comments:

1. I don't blame those landlords. A lot of ladies convert their houses to brothels.
    All manner of robbers, yahoos, kidnappers and other people with questionable characters frequent
    anywhere those kinds of ladies perch.
    Some have been used as kidnappers den; where they hide their victims.
    This is what happens when majority of ladies are wayward.

1. So you’re saying it’s only women that do these things ?
      The single men that rent from them must be saint ?

How come people outside Nigerian don’t have this issue ? Just asking

2. Outside Nigeria #

3. Hmmmm, women have suffered sha.

4. @Anon 15:04 when you see peeps still thinking like you in 2019; you wonder what they are gonna impact in their kids as orientation!!! Then you wonder why Naija is still how it is 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄...bunch of unprogressive mindsets!!!

5. Stella Accra,Ghana is worse.Houses are extremely expensive.With 400k in Accra you won't see even uncompleted building room not to talk of 1 room apartment to rent.
      And their landlord/landladies only accept 2-year advance.And most would never let their house out to Nigerians because of previous unpleasant experiences.I loose weight under 1 week of looking for house agents and their wahala.Finally found a place after 1 month.
      Housing experience in Africa is not easy gan.

6. @Martina Alexander
      You did not addressed the issues raised in that comments at all, just unfounded sentiments.

2. Poster maybe you should explore other areas like gbagada and ilupeju. They have nice houses.

You will get a place as a single lady.

1. I agree. Yaba houses are either small or damp or not to your taste. The very good ones are quiet expensive. Try Gbagada, new garage , illupeju, palmgroove. Those areas have nice houses too

2. Poster, tell your church members,colleagues and friends,that way the search will be faster and easy.

3. Anthony village is one of the most central places you would enjoy but self cons are very rare. Look for a flatmate you know has same principles so you guys won't get on each other's nerves.

3. Dear Poster Don't rely on agents alone..Let friends, office colleagues and well wishers know...Those agents dont mind them they will take to some useless and shalanga places as houses...Next time shout at them very well and you will see results...Dont be cool at all oh in this Lagos cause you find yourself paying your rent to them sef...I doubt if you will get that amount for Yaba oh..!! Surulere or Ikeja/Ogba environs is your best bet!! I will ask around for you and chat you up but please remind me oh cos I can forget for Africa..

4. I stay at Ago, okota. If you are interested in getting a nice self contained there, you can call me(08174665596). My caretaker has many houses they manage. Had it been you posted this last week, you would have gotten a place now because my neighbor packed out last week, but someone had occupied the place immediately. Their building is nice, prepaid meter, water and light. And the man no get issue, just don't owe him. so contact me if you like Ago palace way.

1. Poster, please don't go to Ago. Please

2. Why at 5.48

3. I live at ire akari estate Road, not a bad place but the major roads linking to express are getting worse everyday. If you are a student poster, you can stay at Ago. And if you work on the mainland, I’d still suggest ago. It’s a safe place.

5. those in lagos should come and assist poster. Stella what you said about being single will not allow landlord to give you house, that is not true. Not anymore it was before that people thing of single ladies as pro......... Now you can get any house as long as you can afford the rent.

1. @ excited courtesy,it very true. SDK is right.
      This is the poster's 4th month since she has been searching for a decent apartment.
      Mine took me a whole one year[12 months] before I got a comfortable place where I now stay.
      It was either I must be a Yoruba and you are married.
      I prayed earnestly, but it wasn't an easy search. I waka sotey at a point I gave up the search.
      I had 7 agents who would call and take to any available house within the vicinity I was searching for. My eyes see houses and I MARVELED at the kind of apartments people lived in.
      The day i heard the news of a vacant apartment,I opted for it on top the condition the landlady gave:
      Must be a Yoruba
      Must be married
      No gas[imagine me using kerosene stove to cook]
      No electric stove\hot plate,no electric kettle
      the list was endless
      But truthfully I was so in love with the place[neat,all tiled with water i.e public water and borehole].
      I had an advantage,I could speak Yoruba.But I wasn't married. I told her I was married and that my husband does not base in Lagos.
      Na so i collect house ooo. Aside from all the conditions,It has been a memorable place to live in.

2. That’s not true. Where I leave currently in oregun is all mini flats for singles with just 2 of 3 bedroom for family. My neighbor moved out in August to further his studies so his mini flat has been vacant. Landlord lives there but rarely around, always traveling as a federal engineer. If you interested, call Jide Taiwo and inquire about the their property around oregun bustop. Good luck 👍🏾

3. @Ayoba so what do you use in cooking since she said no gas.

4. Very very true. It happened to me too. To a point I started lieing that my husband lives in d abroad. It was so frustrating until I got a place where d owner lives abroad n dont mind who is renting. Just dont owe.

5. @excited courtesy its true. Most landlord/landlady don't like renting out to single ladies. I experienced it when I relocated to Edo state couple with tribe ish. It wasn't easy.

6. Ironically most of our best tenants are single ladies. Even though we knew they were doing kapachumari on the side they never gave us hell.

7. Hmmmmm..... dear poster, really, for a self contained room, 400k is fine, but rare. A mini flat is more common and averageis about 550k, but I feel 800k for a 2bed will get you a fairly decent 2bed in a decent naiborhud. You could try Akoka and Gbagada, but u need to lower your taste based on the figure you have on you.

1. 1. Averages
      2.Neighborhood.
      3. WTF!?

2. Royal tribe. She said self con. So obviously she means a room and parlor. She could get that for the money she has. Even 800k in Gbagada or Akoka won’t get her a decent place there. She’ll get someplace she still has to renovate with her money with that amount.
      If the poster goes to places in isolo or amuwo odofin, she can get self con at decent place for the amount she has.
      Just saying

8. There are many housing agents advertising on Instagram. They advertise Hostels and self contain around yaba. Agents are very wicked. They just want to choose your 1k for form and some are fraudsters. Check jiji. You will tell the agent to send you pictures minus the jiji pics. Then insist on meeting a lawyer. Also be prayerful that God links you to right people

9. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

10. My dear looking for a good house in Lagos is like looking for a virgin diobu. Please don't forget to put it in prayers. The one we are stay in, the devil called the landlady only gives house to single guys, once she sees any female visitor, hmmmmm! Hell will let loose. She will be attacking left, right, center. I can't wait for our lent to expire for us to pack out.

1. Chai, Anon, your English "la wa".

2. No be small lent Easter nkor

3. L and R are not close on the keyboard na what happened

4. Anon 17:41.This your comment just off person.I don laugh tire.😂😂😂

5. Why do I have a feeling this poster is either Igbo or Delta. I could remember back then, my ex Igbo class mate will pronounce pink as Prink while my Delta family friend will pronounce ready as leady.

11. 400k for 2bedroom? That's really pricy oo. I stay at ajah and we have rented apartments which goes for 250k for a 2bedroom.
    Infact we just increased it cos it was formerly 200k.

1. Poster please don't go to Ajah ooo. There is usually erosion there and the traffic for that area dey tie gele. Please flee from here unless you have a car of your own and can endure the mad traffic.

2. I hope you know..She will need to buy canoe or ark in the rainy season...

3. @ what else bitch, canoe or ark, really? 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

4. WEB,no be only for Ajah o
      Person need to shine e eyes, almost everywhere for Lagos dey flooded

12. My dear, decent houses in Lagos are very expensive. Don't be surprised that the 400k won't cover up agent and agreement fee. Meaning should you add agent and agreement fee after paying the rent, also get ready to top up close to 300k which includes security fee, caution , agent and agreement fee

13. You can contact an agent called Afeez. He helped us get our own house after searching for close to 7 months. Search on property pro site for his number. Stella might not enable my comment if I should add his phone number here.

14. Please say Hi on watsapp poster,I live in surulere and I know an agent(a neighbor) who knows her onion....!!

15. You can get a room self-contained around Yaba for 200k and above. It is easier to get a room and a parlour self-contained, which goes for 300k and above.

16. Poster, tell your parents to call their friends in Lagos to sublet their BQ to you.
    You should also follow other bvs' advice to house-hunt around Ikeja.
    If you attend the orthodox churches, missionary or the older foundational churches, you could also get help from there.

17. My two cents come down to ikorodu nd get a nice apartment. Cool areas are Ebutte, Solebo, Benson.

Other areas bu road abit bad is Oreyo, Aga. Ireshe. They collect One year rent and things are cheap. You have peace of mind. Compare the the locations you calling. They ask for two years, agency and others will automatically get you a year rent plus change. thank me later. DBM

1. Ikorodu with all the cult activities and killings?

18. With that amount you can get a good mini flat at Yaba environs, Abule oja, Abule Ijesha,Akoka. You will get good houses at those Unilag side. No one is even going to ask if you are single lady or not, they even prefer that, as long as you can afford to pay. Just spare a day and do your search. You will see what you are renting, you ask those around too. Relying solely on agent before November is not feasible. Happy birthday in advance.

1. All those side na student environment of course

19. Seriously those of us living in states like Ekiti and Ondo state are really enjoying. With 250k you will get a very neat and beautiful 3 bedroom flat conveniently. Water running, tiled floor,interlock floor and fenced. Poster I pray you get a nice house.

1. Ekiti?
      You are 'enjoying' only accommodation.
      Nothing else.
      Trust me,nothing else.
      That and cheap fruits.

20. Inside life. People are struggling and I have rented 2 bedroom duplex in a place I stay only two weeks every 4 months when I am in the country. God thank you and pls answer her prayers.

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

21. Lagosians, you're enjoying. Come to Maiduguri, decent 1 bedrooms are from 700k upward. 1 bedroom or self contains are also scarce

1. hian! who are those in maiduguri paying such. poster please be very careful when searching for house, I was a jjc when i first came to Lagos, searching for house to start my life.

Before then, i had this believe of respecting Lagosians as per we dey east. wetin i see for my house ehn! lived there since 2015 and moved out last week. it's in that compound i knew Tv and generator, spoon 're counted has property.

Imagine 13 tenants in one compound, selfcon oh, 2bedroom oh, one room and parlour oh. They don't mind their business, you pay rent to the manager of the house and other tenants hear you have paid rent.

You buy generator and it's news, they will all rush out to see the gen. Haha! or is it their gossip? chineke nna! I have never lived in a ghettorised house like that in my life, yet they said it's ajah lekki, if this is Lagos abeg I'm better off in the east.

I'm presenting searching for a house, please oh be very careful. I had to abandon somethings there, just left with my personal stuff to be safe, until I get a decent place biko.

22. 'this is freaking me out rn, I didn't post this, but this is the exact same thing I'm currently facing, and my birthday is also in November, if you're this person, kindly follow back on..Msdetoun

23. I stay at Ikotun, kinda far from yaba and surulere, a self contain is currently vacant for 120k

24. Chai,I can relate.
    It took me close to 3months to get my own apartment.
    Poster just be patient and also learn to shine your eyes for this agents.
    I never gave any agent money (for their mumu registration)..I was only paying their tfare. Just be patient,.
    You will find an apartment

25. madam extent your search to ireakari, ago, ajao estate, aviation estate, gbagada, Anthony & Maryland You will get comfortable 1room self contained in OR a room & parlour self-contained

26. Hey! I have a friend in a 3 bedroom in Goodluck Jonathan estate that pays about
    500,000 per year in egbeda. You should look into that. I hope you see this on time.