Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Groups Allege Competitors Are Responsible For Peace Airline CEO Allen Onyema´s Woes With US Authoritiess

Sunday, November 24, 2019

Groups Allege Competitors Are Responsible For Peace Airline CEO Allen Onyema´s Woes With US Authoritiess

The Nigerian Ethnic Nationality Youth Leaders Forum (NENYLF) on Saturday, revealed that it is Allen Onyema’s business competitors that are collaborating with some US officials to bring the Nigerian businessman down.

The youth groups warned that nothing must happen to the embattled Onyema and his Peace Airline.

The coalition accused business rivals of Onyeama of collaborating with some people in the United States government to harass the businessman who they described as one of the finest in Nigeria.

The coalition consists the Arewa Youth Consultative Forum (AYCF), the Ohanaeze Ndigbo Youth Council Worldwide, the Yoruba Council of Youths Worldwide and the Ijaw Council Worldwide.

Their position was contained in a joint statement signed by their various Presidents, Yerima Shettima, Mazi Okechukwu Isiguzoro, Aremo Oladotun Hassan, and Barrister Pereotubo Oweilaemi, respectively, and made available to DAILY POST on Saturday.

They said that they would no longer fold their arms and watch individuals with passion to rescue Nigeria brought down through allegations like the one currently being suffered by Onyeama who had, for long, done business with the US.

Read the full statement below:

We have been following with keen interest the conflicting narratives coming out of the United States regarding the purported indictment of Nigeria’s philanthropist, Mr. Allen Ifechukwu Athan Onyeama.

As law-abiding citizens, we recognize the involvement of the US Court and would not want to take a prejudicial stand on the matter. But much as we appreciate the involvement of Judiciary, we feel there is compelling reason to question this sudden, purported indictment of a Nigerian who has been doing business for decades in the US and he has never been found wanting until now. This raises fundamental questions about the bad timing and the growing suspicion of many Nigerians over the motive behind targeting our son of the soil.

We are beginning to see a pattern that smacks of conspiracy by his business rivals in Nigeria, working together with their American collaborators to rubbish one of the few outstanding philanthropists in Nigeria.

Onyeama has, since built the reputation of a peace promoter who brokered peace between the late President Yaradua-led Federal Government and militants of the Niger-Delta using his well-known platform of peace and reconciliation.

Beyond Niger-Delta, Onyeama has left his footprint as a man dedicated to the service of Nigerians in difficult situations, using his hard-earned income.

It was the same Onyeama who worked tirelessly to broker peace between the Coalition of Northern Groups and Igbos when it culminated into the quit notice issued all Igbo residents in the North. Working closely with the then Governor of Borno State, Onyeama ensured that the Coalition of Northern Groups’ Kaduna Declaration against Igbos, leading to the clash with IPOB, was withdrawn and peace reigned in the end.

It therefore smacks of grand conspiracy to see how the man is being pushed and pulled in many directions with accusations yet to be confirmed by any court of competent jurisdiction in his fatherland, much less that of the United States. We noticed how the narrative is being spread to the media, to achieve a desired end.

Fresh in the memory of majority of Nigerians today is how since 2013 Onyeama has committed a large chunk of his legitimate business profit to help communities ravaged by natural disasters or communal conflicts.

Even at a very critical stage during the most heinous xenophobic attack of Nigerians in South Africa and the attendant diplomatic row between our country and South Africa, only Onyeama came forward with a huge budget for evacuating Nigerian victims from that country.

It is on record that Onyeama’s multiple investments in Nigeria have been helpful not only as window of job opportunities for Nigerians but also as a classical example of Corporate Social Responsibility.

In view of the suspicious nature of this case that betrays a conspiracy by his suspected Nigerian business rivals and their American collaborators, we wish to state as follows:

Much as Nigerians will not object to a legal action by any court in the world, we will never ever fold our arms and watch hopelessly as one of our finest is being pulled down in broad daylight.

We would like to draw the attention of his Nigerians rivals that we suspect are working hand-in-hand with their American partners, that we will follow every legitimate legal means of defending one of the most exemplary Nigerian investors that we have in Mr. Onyeama.

We call on fellow civil society organizations in the country to rise up to this new judicial brigandage designed to destroy our son of the soil in a foreign land.

This is indeed the time to tell the whole world, including United States officials holding Onyeama, that enough of this harassment scheme against successful Nigerian investors.

We make bold to say that at this crucial moment in the history of our beloved country what we need is more of Allen Onyeama. And we are determined to promote the emergence of Nigerian investors who have great sympathy for the poor and all those facing extraordinary life’s difficulties.

It is our conviction that the Air Peace CEO is an exemplary silver-lining not only in Nigeria but on the continent.
from dailypost

Nigerians and sentiments,he should get a Lawyer and go and clear his name if it is a set up.

29 comments:

1. Well, I understand the sentiments cos he is really really kind and has bailed the stranded. However, fraud is fraud. I hope he is really innocent because I like him

2. Stella this is not sentiment. If you know how business rivals operate, you will know that he needs people to shout for him at this time while he works with his lawyers to resolve this issue. Knowing that people are interested in the case and he has supporters who will shout if any injustice is done to him is very important.

To be very frank, we Africans must learn to stand by our own until they are proven guilty. We quickly withdraw or throw our own under the bus and this makes us very vulnerable to the west. I can't imagine Nigerians attacking this man since this news broke without him being to trial 1st. This breaks my heart really being an entrepreneur and knowing the effort it takes to have a business running. I sincerely hope after all said and done, he and his team comes out of this tall if he's innocent.

1. Yeah it's not sentiments, but how many times have you heard corruption and money laundering charges labeled against Dangote or Otedola to the point that they needed people to shout for them?

2. You save me the stress of typing after reading your comment. God bless you for this input.

3. Anonymous do not judge in Sentiment. If you know Kuku former SA on NDDC to Gej then u will know what's happening to him now. 🤐🤐🤐

4. We are too sentimental and have this mentality that everything that happens to us is from a competitor or an enemy somewhere. Let the law handle this matter, please. I work in the industry (perhaps Airpeace) but we have to start doing the right thing. Thank you

5. Essay if we keep quiet, it will soon get to the very people you just mentioned. They are testing your pulse with the ones you don't really care about. By the time they get to the Dangotes, you will have fully believed that no genuine business man can come out of Nigeria or Africa. Stay woke!

No one is guilty until proven guilty. Stop supporting others against our own until they are proven guilty.

6. Anon 08:52 heard of the monkeys that were jubilating of the death of a farmer who use to chase them out of his farm until the next season came and they had no food?.... if you worked for him and knew he's fraudulent but didn't resign but jubilating now that he's having issues, I'm afraid you are worse than him.

7. 9:36, you are just another ignorant person typing your usual rubbish just to sound wise. We know not each other so keep supporting your nonsense while I live my life.

8. Anon 9:36 Nigeria is a corrupt country, why not seek assylum somwhere else. Ewu Gambia

3. Fidelity bank is about to go down because Airpeace is their major customer

4. Odiegwu, so because it is their major customer the bank will go down abi?? Fish brain. Tueh I can'nt even imagine Nigerians attacking this fine gentle man after all he has done for this country. It really breaks my heart. God please intervene. I have a strong believe this man is coming out of this victorious.

5. Nigeria is so bad that people are willing to fight for corrupt overnight billonares. They are ready to give up their lives for the corrupt rich and famous. Once they hear corruption charges have been leveled against a rich individual they like or a rich individual from their zone, watch them all troop out to support that person. Imagine people saying they stand by Onyema even if he is found guilty. And you wonder why God has always blessed us with the crop of politicians we've had??

1. Spot on. So sad!

2. @Anno 08*09 you need to come read this. I am not Essah's fan but mehhhhhh let's called a spade a spade, this is just a case of Anini.

A crime is a crime

3. For the first time and maybe the last I agree with you completely!

6. ALLEN ONYEMA is a Great Icon. He lifted freely our brothers in SA during the xenophobia attack which our so called leaders could not do.
    He invested back home and help reduce unemployment. Other countries rich men may have 1 or 2 odds against them but they protect their own.
    Let's protect OURs. I choptas not in "Mama G" voice.
    Nna, highest they will extradict you. Stay here with Us.....Shikena, I hate NONSENSE.

7. ALLEN ONYEMA is a Great Icon. He lifted freely our brothers in SA during the xenophobia attack which our so called could not do.
    He invested back home and help reduce unemployment. Other countries rich men may have 1 or 2 odds against them but they protect their own.
    Let's protect OURs. I choptas not in "Mama G" voice.
    Nna, highest they will extradict you. Stay here with Us.....Shikena, I hate NONSENSE.

8. USA isn't like naija that charge people without evidence they must have seen evidence against him, how did he become so rich? let's the court decide if hes guilty or not

9. We can be too sentimental sometimes. Where and how did he get his money? What was his source of revenue generation before the emergence of Peace Airlines? A lot of rich folks in Nigeria are big time crooks. A lot are involved in money laundering and fraud. He has been indicted and if there’s insufficient evidence, he will not be charged but these guys have been on his tail for years. They have gathered all the evidence. Time to sing like a Canary and get a plea deal otherwise he will be cell mates with Obi Forbes 30 under 30.

10. Why are Nigerians always quick to make mockery or laugh over someone's downfall. The US sent court order , he's not convicted yet. So he's still innocent until proven guilty. Almost same scenario with Innoson motors and at the end he was innocent. Let's reduce the way we dash and conclude on things please.

1. I hope you will apply the same standard to Evans the kidnapper.

11. If truely his hand is clean,may God vindicate him

12. Anyone who trys to bring this man down will never see 1st of january,Amen.