Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Memo To Nigerian Women Who Wait To Inherit Their Husbands Properties....

Tuesday, November 05, 2019

Memo To Nigerian Women Who Wait To Inherit Their Husbands Properties....

This might be for you if you are waiting to inherit something......

50 comments:

1. But in this dispensation it goes both ways .

1. But when the man was poor, he involved me in his poverty. Why did he not bear his poverty alone and allow me cater for my kids myself? Then when he now has money, its OK not to desire his inheritance because he didn't write my name in his will? Heaven and hell will reject him, until he comes down to earth to do the right thing...

2. Lmao, anon 16:02 but this is soooo correct. I will be using my little income to support family upkeep and then when he builds property he will not include me in his will? Even purgatory will reject him.

1. I dont bother with properies. Treasury Bills is bae. No wahala of hiding property documents upandan.

2. And very easy to dash bank Tue money if not properly documented. Enough unclaimed money in banks. Secrecy is not bae. Ensure there is a will even for this financial investment. Cheers

3. Brilliant 🙌🏿🙌🏿
    No greater feeling than having your own properties, IN YOUR NAME.

4. Where I come from in Nigeria women buy properties and land in their name all the time and have been found so for decades so I really don’t know the Nigerian women they are talking about here. They need to start being specific and stop putting all Nigerian women in one basket, we are not all the same.

1. Bless you for this comment ..I don't know whom they have been dealing with to justify all this general advice

2. Not for Anambra men, they will always want you to write their names even when they didn't contribute a dime in purchasing the property.

3. no wonder! my neighbour that had issues with me is from onitsha.
      She don buy generator, she don buy industrial machine, calling generator and Tv property.

5. Me that is planning to write my will as soon as I get 500k for Akant 🙄🚶🚶..

1. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😭😭😭😭😭😭

2. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😭😭😭😭😭😭

6. I dont believe in inheritance. I can't drive on my husband's success, i believe in myself.

1. Why yimu? Dollargoddess spoke fact that is applicable to realwomen.

7. This memo is not for me, he has nothing.Too much hardships,debts.I'm doing my small business but sometimes slow.Taking a walk soonest,love has even evaporated.

1. The little you have should be in your name, and ensure that your kids are next of kin
      what i have seen in this long life, I cant express well

8. Women waiting to inherit husband property, how do you know if it's not the woman that will die first.
    The world is a market, whenever you are done with your buying and selling, you go home.
    Everyone should live with eternity in mind.

9. And some wives will agree to Mr & Mrs Samuel Dixon, not knowing any woman could become the Mrs, because your name is not on the property lady.
    Correct way, Mrs Tina and Mr Samuel Dixion.

1. Mrs. Tina Dixion and Mr. Samuel Dixion ✔

2. Anon, you go school pass me.

3. Mrs Akadioku George and Mr Ilaotu George✔✔✔✔

4. My sister has her name and her husband's name on all their properties... and she buys some of hers in her children's name.

10. When you buy properties with your husband always make sure the name on the relevant documents is Mr John and Mrs Jane Osagie

11. Well said! I had this discussion with my family friends at a gathering. I told them my husband’s property is his and I am working hard to get mine in my name, morealso, he got it before we married. Chai, some of them wanted to tear me apart, saying why will I think like that, that whatever property my husband own is also mine, one even said I don’t love my husband enough for me to think like that, I told them my name is not on the documents, they argued that it doesn’t matter, it was only three of us that shared the same opinion.

1. Please am begging and shouting DO WHAT IS IN YOUR MIND o.

Thats how a lady who was married well over 40yrs to the same man, suffered after he died. A lady of over 70s being shaded as agarancha

those village people abi meeting people, will change it for you if you dont act fast sis!

12. So you can be married to a man gor decades and upon his death have to stand in line and wait for inheritance like everybody else🙄 So wife title get no value when it comes to assets in a marriage? So what if you are not mentioned in his will? Must be why some women find themselves on the streets when husband die and his family come to take over, telling her the children can live in the house but not she. What a place.

1. Tells you the evil in the human mind. What the Nigerian woman needs to learn to do is not be afraid to use the LAW!!!! THTe law is there , it is to your advantage as a wife. Use it! Do not be afraid to sue.

Even not being legally married, there are circumstances where the law imputes ‘common law marriage’ into the relationship, how much more when you are legally married!!!??

Do you know why spouses cannot be subpoenaed to give evidence against each other? Because the law understands the nature of the marital relationship...., the sacrifices, the secrets exchanged, the tools and issues

I don’t even have energy for long talk but bottom line, as a w d not be agitated to use the law, yes, even in Nigeria!!! Remember how the wife of that popular Lagos doctor sued him and that ex beauty queen? That’s how you do it! Use the law. There are so many instances the law would help us if only we are not afraid Of what people will say

2. @Anon 21:36
      You have said nothing of but the TRUTH... I know of a couple way back, they were married (nikkah) for years without a child. They both built a house together through their sweat, they moved into the house when it was barely completed and finished it with time as they lived inside.
      The husband brought home another woman, a mother of 3 from another man (not that I am judging single mothers o). The new wife bore a child for the man and the husband started calling his first wife all sorts of names, including a barren woman whenever she wants to help take care of the new baby. He so much maltreated the first wife emotionally. He calls her aditi (deaf) or odi (dumb) because she has a hearing impairment (she doesn't hear properly especially when she is not facing the person talking) which affected the way she talks.
      After enduring different sorts of abuse in the marriage the husband sent her out. She surprised us all, she sued her husband. We were surprised because she was seen as this naive uneducated tailor and a lady with hearing and speech impairment but she was one of the nicest person I have ever met. I was very happy ehn...
      Since the husband doesn't have a penny to his name except the house they both built (a four bedroom flat), the court granted the divorce and asked they shared the house equally, 2 rooms each and the sitting room should be shared into 2 too, lol. The wife said she doesn't want any part of the sitting room, she demarcated the 2 rooms and rented it out. I was so happy and proud of her.
      The last I heard from her, she said she now sews uniform for a school in her area (as the school official tailor) and business is also going on well for her.

13. Why is this rant even here in the first place?
    All these "mine and his" and you both say you are "married?"
    Does this dude understand what the marriage is about?
    The two becoming ONE flesh?
    I pity those who go into marriage with this queer mindset of
    his vs. mine. That's not marriage at all 😮😮

1. Abeg loud it so that those at the back can hear... So who inherits the properties then, breeze abi??? Fine it's good for a woman to work and have the ability to acquire her own properties, at the same time, it's not a SIN to desire his inheritance and vice/versa. We have seen and heard cases a rich/wealthy woman dies before her husband, and her husband and children inherit every... There's nothing wrong biko, after years of suffering/severe poverty, my hubby come hammer, if I hear say I no inherit am? God purnish anybody that tries standing on my way.

14. Meanwhile if d man excludes his wife from his will, she will be angry o, even if i get property today, my husbands assets will still be mine in case he kicks d bucket before me, I can't be married to him n he wills every damn thing to other people because I wanna be seen as independent? Mbanu...

15. Abeg abeg abeg, whatever my husband owns is MINE and vice versa, I can't shout.

16. Stella that’s not what he meant. He was encouraging women to have their own property in case they’re married to shady men who disinherit them when they die even when they contributed to the family wealth (as is often the case). I know a lot of people like to pretend like Nigerian women depend on men but the reality is most black women are co-breadwinners and as they go up in social classes, more are even sole breadwinners. Yet they often die poor (statistically speaking) because they spend more than men on family and lose out when married. I really hate to see women constantly bashed over things that are even statistically incorrect.

1. You are 100% correct.

My cousin is the type that submits salary to husband. Husband will give her transport.

Husband was using her money to buy land and build house. When the house was completed, husband called the family elders that he no wan marry again, come and carry your daughter. My meek and humble cousin who is managing her diabetes, hbp and hepatitis all alone.

I wish she reads things online and stop shortchnging herself, bcos if e happen,voomnaya my cousin will have nothing to show for working over 30years in civil service.

Sometimes I just wonder if this is what marriage is about? Submitting salary, being removed from hospital (when not officially discharged) so as to clean house and cook for hubby and children,being locked out to sleep on the ground if she dares stay out late, then this house that looks like it doesnt have her name in it?

is that one also a marriage. Na wa for this life

Women shine your eyes but things clearly in your name, as in s h o g o l o l o g o g b a m g b o shey..Keep the original and make a coloured copy as well.

Women go through a lot, clean, cook, nurse, teach, oza room, adviser, personal assistant, receptor of transferred aggression, works, runs a business, do school runs, attend pta, attend school events, they go through a lot!!!

agreed, a mother/wife's reward is in heaven but before they get there, they should be well catered for on earth!!!

2. Anon 18:04 - is this with ‘clear eye’?? 😳😳😳

3. Anon 17:17 - you’re 💯 right

4. Anon 18:4 such properties are known as matrimonial properties and she has a share in it. The law is your friend

17. Same discussion I had at work today. Women get jilted a lot after suffering with their husband when the man hammers. Irrespective of love a woman must always have personal investment and emergency money

18. what of husband that has nothing, like am here wearing one pant for the past 6years managing with him,now if baba God bless him tomorrow somebody will now exclude me from the will, Mr writer you are funny.

19. That's how I bought land to build on and hubby says he won't live in the house unless his name is also on the land receipt and other documents. After obliging him, time for surveys came and he said he told the official to put Mr & Mrs Lagbaja. I insisted that my name must reflect as Mr John and Mrs Jane Lagbaja and he gave me some attitude that "what's the big deal about that sef"! I felt like getting a stick and resetting his brain. He forgot the hell he raised about his name being on the documents earlier. So, na me come sell market for Lagos, abi? After buying the property and eventually building the structure single handedly? He must have thought I'm a fool! Yeye dey smell.