Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nnamdi Kanu Loses Suit Against Federal Government

Friday, December 13, 2019

Nnamdi Kanu Loses Suit Against Federal Government

The Economic Community of West African State, ECOWAS, Court of Justice sitting in Abuja has dismissed a suit by Nnamdi Kanu, the leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra, IPOB, against the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Kanu had dragged the Nigerian government to court over alleged torture, assault and subjection to inhuman treatment by security operatives when he was arrested in 2015.

However, ECOWAS regional court on Thursday held that Kanu failed to prove his allegations against the Federal Government.

In a judgment read by Justice Dupe Atoki on Wednesday, the court said Kanu had no reason to conclude that his arrest and detention were unlawful and arbitrary as claimed.

The three member panel of the Court also dismissed Kanu’s request for monetary compensation.

Atoki held that though Kanu has the legal capacity to approach the court to seek redress for any violation of his human rights, he, however, lacked the legal personality to represent the IPOB before the court.

The court further struck out names of the second and third defendants, the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice and the Director-General of the Department of State Service, DSS, from the suit on the premise that they were not signatories to the ECOWAS Revised Treat, thus leaving only the Federal Republic of Nigeria as the sole defendant in the suit.

Kanu had in the suit marked ECW/CCJ/APP/06/16, which he filed before the Court on March 3, 2016, through his lawyer, Mr. Ifeanyi Ejiofor, claimed that his rights to life, personal integrity, privacy, fair trial, freedom of movement, freedom of expression, personal liberty, freedom of association, private property, right to existence and right to self-determination were violated following his arrest and detention by Nigerian security agents.

He also alleged that he was a victim of arbitrary arrest, detention, torture inhuman and degrading treatment while in detention, insisting that FG confiscated his personal belongings through its agent and demanded monetary compensation in the sum of $800 million US dollars.

However, FG’s lawyer, Mr. Abdullahi Abubakar, prayed the court to dismiss the suit which he contended lacked merit saying the country was obliged to enforce the rule of law as stipulated in its Constitution, Treaties and Protocol that included defending the sovereignty of an undivided Nigeria.
from dailypost

15 comments:

1. Ooorrr......it is just the beginning

2. Was he expecting to win before, when Buhari is still our president

3. Was he expecting to win????🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

4. This is one step ASUU had never taking to a logical conclusion for e.g in industrial court.
    They have law professors in their midst
    who could get a
    case hot against the federal government since strikes have not worked since the military was in power.

5. Win federal government,in the dream or where,kanu must be joking.

6. You expected to win? Why and how? After taking a deal that saw the desecration of your father's house, you reappeared in Israel for a photo op - claiming Jew. Explain to your senseless followers who think you're a messiah, how you left Nigeria without a passport (as it was supposedly seized by the court). Did you swim? Or you were taken in the spirit like Philip that suddenly found himself witnessing to an Ethiopian eunuch. May you keep wasting money with your frivolous lawsuits and may those you planned with in secret, treat you exactly like they're doing Sowore.

1. Those analogies made me 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

7. We all know you won't win in this silly and corrupt environment. Ndo

8. Not surprise on this.... Nigerian government funds Ecowas court and other operations, so this isn't a news.

1. Mumu. Another foolish comment coming from a deeply shallow understanding of how rules work. So other countries do not fund ECOWAS? You expect your idiot coward who values his dog than his followers to win any logical court case?

2. One of the few comments with sense attached to it..

9. I am glad that he did not win, there is no way he would have won this case. I am Igbo and I always say to my fellow Igbos that we do not have the land mass and necessary resources needed to create a nation of our own. Not all Igbos come home during the holidays, holidays like Christmas to be precise and yet you find traffic in major towns with people sleeping on the Onitsha bridge for days. Until we figure out ow to increase our territory, be accepting of each other (A man from Ikwerre in Rivers state isn't willing to accept that he has ancestral origins with a Man from Imo state, for instance.), hold our state Governors accountable, weed out bad leaders because the same people would run for office, revitalize agriculture and education... Biafra would always be a dream.

1. I kind of agree with you. I'm from Rivers State. And even if you guys have your Biafra, you guys won't have it easy. And y'all know this that's why you're trying to forcefully add Delta and Rivers which are South South states to the Biafra map. After the north, the eastern states are the least developed in Nigeria. If you people want to spilt, which you're free to do, you guys and the North won't have it easy at all. The biggest winners will be the South South and South West. They have more infrastructure and natural reasons. Plus y'all will have to leave these two regions should your Biafra come to fruition.