Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Oyo Gov Makinde Gives Emotional Speech As He Clocked 52 + Says He Thought He Would Die Before He Was 30 Years

Friday, December 27, 2019

Oyo Gov Makinde Gives Emotional Speech As He Clocked 52 + Says He Thought He Would Die Before He Was 30 Years

Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, on Thursday revealed that he had feared that he would die before age 30.

Makinde spoke at the thanksgiving service to mark his 52nd birthday at the St Peter’s Cathedral, Aremo, Ibadan.

He said his decision to declare free and qualitative education in the state was aimed at lifting people out of poverty.

The Governor said: “If I can be who I am today, then no child should be left behind in Oyo State. And that explains my passion for education. Once we give education to our children, the sky is their starting point.

“I thought I would join the Army, fight for my country and possibly get killed and that may be the end of the story. So for me, every year I have lived above 30 years is like a bonus.

“Quite frankly, I never thought I would live up to 30. I have a friend here and every time we were talking, we always thought that we would go into the Army, fight, get killed and that would be the end of our story.

“We actually went for recruitment into the Army but were rejected. But today, we are seeing Seyi Makinde at 52 and all I can do is to give thanks to God.

“When we were going through the electioneering period, people said the political terrain here is rough, and I could get killed. So, I looked at myself and said that I could take the risk since I am more than 30.

“That is why without looking back, I will continue to serve the people of Oyo State, without minding whose toe I will step on. Truth is, I will break some toes if I really have to and will continue to fight for the ordinary people of this state.

“My story won’t be complete without all of you and I thank you all. Today is the first time I am celebrating my birthday like this. In the area I grew up, the first time they would bring a cake for somebody’s birthday was when the last child of my family, Iyabo, celebrated her birthday. My parents kept delivering male children until they got to the 5th one.

“I remember after the delivery of the fifth child, who happened to be a female, my mother, in the labour room, was shouting for everyone to hear that she had a female child. For her, it was special treatment.

“Some of us who stayed in the area where I grew up, we used to eat in a communal setting. So, when they brought the cake for her birthday, it was strange to us and we suddenly rushed it. My mum cried that day. That was the kind of environment where I grew up.

“So, if I can be who I am today, then no child should be left behind in Oyo State. And that explains my passion for education. Once we give education to our children, the sky is their starting point.

“For the people of Oyo State, I want to thank you because we would not have achieved anything without you. People have been commending us that there have been changes within six months we came into government.

“I want the people to know that it is not only Seyi Makinde that is doing these but all of us. And you know that decisions overnight by consensus. We discuss, thrash out issues and superior arguments always win. So, in 2020, I look forward to a more robust argument, discussions, and alignments.

“This time last year, I didn’t know I will become the Governor of Oyo State but I prayed to God during my birthday and the last crossover night that if my wish to serve the people of Oyo State would be to their benefit, let it be so and God answered that prayer.

“So, I want to pray again today that all our wishes, in the coming year 2020, God will make them manifest.”
dailypost

18 comments:

1. Happy birthday your Excellency!

2. Always TALK TALK in that Country Nigeria.. always whipping up emotions and Talking and at the end Deliver Bad Governance.. Buhari the monster Wept profusely in 2011 I watched it on YouTube, where we At today?? Stop The Talk and get the Job done, Nigerians are depressed and Tired

1. Don't go into 2020 senseless biko, read about his achievements MBA, you must Sha display your stupidity Sha ni

3. Happy birthday sir. God bless you for all you do.

4. Happy Birthday to the People's Governor.

5. Aww. Happy birthday sir. God will continue to keep you. You shall live long to serve your people wholeheartedly. The Lord shall grant your heart desires.

6. My governor,Godfearing and Kindhearted

7. Enter your comment...Happy birthday to my amiable governor. May God give u more strength and enablement to take Oyo state to greater height

8. Oyo state is lucky. Can you imagine he paid them for the 13th month.

Lagos city aka mega city how far

9. Whenever I remember I'm among those that voted for this man to become our governor, I'm always happy. Belated happy birthday to you Mr Governor, may nothing stop all the good wills you have for Oyo State

10. Happy birthday Mr. Governor Seyi Makinde. You will live long, if you broke them toes to get things done, they will not be able to stand up to obstruct your moves. So, I say break them toes and as per the seriousness of the matter, break them legs.

11. Happy birthday to you sir, may God bless you for all that you do

12. Happy Birthday Sir

13. Happy birthday Sir

14. Happy birthday action Governor

15. Amen. Happy birthday to you sir. Blessings