Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari's Daughter Zahra Backs Social Media Bill, Says She Was A Victim Of Cyber Bullying In 2015

Tuesday, December 03, 2019

President Buhari's Daughter Zahra Backs Social Media Bill, Says She Was A Victim Of Cyber Bullying In 2015

Zahra Indimi, daughter to President Muhamadu Buhari, has given her support for the controversial social media bill — as long as it is carried out in a “fair” manner.

Zahra spoke at the first edition of ‘An Afternoon with Zahra’, an event recently organized in Abuja by the ZMB Homes, her foundation, tagged #ConversationWithZahra.

According to the interview, she also called on the youth to wait and understand the content of the bill before making “silly” comments and heaping blames.

“We have to see and understand the content of the present social media regulation bill. Whatever it is, you need to understand and know the implication of the bill. That’s what we need to do as young people,” she said.

“We need to research more, understand what is going on instead of just making silly comments every now and then and blaming people for no reason. So I am in support of regulations, but fair regulations.”

Zahra also spoke about her experience with cyber-bullies, questioning why many Nigerians bother her with issues pertaining to governance when she holds no office alongside her father.

“2015 was when I knew what bullying was. It started with my photos going viral. I was having a yoga class, sweating. But people were busy sending my pictures up and down,” she said.

“People used it for their gain during campaign. The 2015 elections went well. But, after 100 days, the blow started coming. ‘Zahra, your father did this. Zahra, your father did that.’ Am I in office with him? Do I take any vital decision?

“I kept wondering why people do this to me constantly. I said to myself, ‘Zahra you are a woman. Zahra, you are educated. Zahra, you have a son and a family that loves you.Those bullies do not have families. They are just floating. When they insult you, just let them be. They are trying to cover up some things they are feeling within.”

The social media regulation bill, entitled ‘Protection from Internet Falsehood and Manipulation 2019’, recently passed second reading at the senate.

From The Cable

46 comments:

1. What does this one know.
      After using the social media to your own advantage,you people now want to control the same social media.
      I dont have any problem with the social medial bill only if corruption carries the death sentence,then that can fly,but if not,ZAHRA, please your voice doesn't matter.

2. This gal is stupid, I thought she had sense. When will you tell your dad to "regulate " poverty? Your dad and his cohorts bullied the former president Jonathan and to some extent Obj, rigging all elections to turn OUR country to a one party state.
      Now they want to gag every body. If you don't have work biko meet your husband to give you another baby, that should keep you busy.

2. But she has been bullying us na. Anyways if you're the imbecile that said I can't talk to you in real life, don't even say anything to her.

3. Yen yen yen yen yen!
    I pity the zombies who paid 10k to listen to this nonsense!
    #notosocialmediabill
    Tueh!

1. People paid 10k for what? Irredeemable generation indeed.

4. Who sabi you before 2015, pls go and sit down

5. If it's like that Ivanka Trump and Meghan Markle would have committed suicide by now. If you can't take the heat get out from Aso rock with your papa

6. Zahra, its more about bitterness & jealousy than it is about your father, ask Cuppy the cyber attacks she has received.
    #Socialexclusion

1. I don't think you live in the same country, no one is bitter about her, they are bitter about the situation of this country, they congratulated her on her wedding and child brith so no! It's not jealousy
      People are tired and it's frustrating, you keep pushing but it feels like the government keeps slapping you down.
      Anyway, it's nice to have you as a new bv, welcome.

2. There is no jealousy there please. If Nigeria was what it's meant to be you would see how everyone would love and respect her. She will be fine.

3. @push up my dear who even cares. If she's so disturbed let her go off SM or disable her comments. Afterall I don't see ppl bullying her oda siblings not on SM.
      Hahahaha who is that jobless mofo up there πŸ‘†πŸ‘† refering to? You better go get a job instead of fighting allover SDK or better still double ur hustle on selling your fake beads.

7. If they like, their whole generation should back the bill. Stupid people! Only supporting things that benefits them.

8. If your father's administration must copy, let it copy reasonable things like how to pay $15 per hour, build magnetic train like China, obey court judgements/orders, death sentence to corrupt officials, etc.

1. Don't mind the backward thinkers, always supporting the irrelevant things that benefit them.

2. The same Zara that bullied the ex president's wife?

9. No one is bullying you,they arent happy and that's why they are angry with your family. Its easy to pass the bill now but when tables turn, you'd wish you could voice out on some things but it would be senlen as hate speech then. Americans never bullied the obama kids, same as SA to Mandela's kids. So ask your dad tebthing he is doing wrong. But i dont blame you, you dont know what People are facing. Dad is a billionaire,dad in law too. So bye

10. See this loud mouth irritant. Sheybi if the bill was in place your docile clueless father would have been the president today okwaya. Just shut your trap mbok. The moment your family leaves the seat of power you fools will be the first to criticise this gaddamn bill but since its all working in you favour now y'all are shouting lets understand the bill. Understand the bill kill you there. Iskanchi banza iskanchi ofi.

1. Sorry naπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜„

2. Thank o jare. I can't stand this stupid opportunistic twat coming on social media telling millions of educated Nigerian youths about education,reading stupid bill and claiming being educated when her father lacks basic three education.

Nonsense and ingredients.

11. See her tyrant face like her father own. Mtcheew

12. So, where can the general public get to access the full Bill?

Children of the political and religious elite in this country need to STOP this nonsense of pretending like all is well. Like your education abroad was a waste and you're too stupid to understand what's going on. If it's not Kiki Osinbajo crying about imaginary haters of her so-called beauty empire, it's this one. This nonsense Zahra is saying would be like Abacha's daughters claiming not to understand certain things.

Abuja has turned into what has got to be an extension of Hell. If you have balls, Zahra, why don't you go around incognito among regular people and see how bad it is? When you were in the UK, didn't you watch shows like "Secret Millionaire"? Do it for real. You don't have to go to a village; try it for two weeks in Abuja. Wear a hijab and cover your face, so people won't recognise you. Speak to people; a lot of folk don't know what your voice sounds like, so you'll be fine. See what really ails those your father rules.

Everyday in Abuja, kidnappings that don't even make sense. People can't afford to eat. Your stupid brother endangered his own life and that of innocent people, by riding a powerbike that costs more than some people's yearly salary. He was stabilised by some of the best medical hands in this country, then flown out. And you don't understand why people are mad, boo? You should have taken him to NHA, so you can understand what regular people have to deal with when it comes to medical issues! Zahra, if you don't have sense, please take a stadium full of seats, keep your entitled mouth shut, and make yourself useful by nursing the child you mentioned.

Shame leave some of you catch me. Some travelled out to go find out what makes other climes work. Then, there are these ones who actually have and are showing their potential to be worse and more wicked than their parents! Tone-deaf, horrible human beings. We should pity them, though. I mean, these folk some of you aspire to be like or mingle with, are so poor and wretched that all they have is money. Imagine spending all that money on "quality education" and your child turns out to be as dumb as these offspring? Creating vanity charities/foundations and businesses everywhere & being absorbed into "family businesses" with fancy titles and no real responsibilities cos they can't hack it in real life. Oh, the joke is truly on them!

1. Pay N10,000 to listen to what exactly? Did she say she was bullied? I love this your response. Nigerians are suffering and are already eating each other- kidnapping, ritual, robbery etc are now norms in our country. We all know it wasnt so before.

2. Lool @ imaginary haters. Zhara is extremely lucky she married rich.

She has been very vocal about politics in the past and also now. That's why ppl bully and send her messages. She Probably doesn't live in Nigeria with her kid. So its annoying to hear her talk about anything politics.

Osinbajo's kids apart from kiki stay out of politics and the spot light and no one bullies them inspite of people not happy with Osinbajo.

13. They never copy and support progressive bills or motions that will take us to the next level (not her papa's type o). Very useless set of people!

1. It's painful cus they have a voice people are willing to listen to. What have they done for the masses.
      They think it's by opening one silly foundation or the other, go to the grass roots, look for a problem and solve it. You are talking about one rubbish bill and comparing yourselves to China... A whole China.

2. It's so painful, PU. These people are demonic and all the training abroad was just a huge waste because they can never impart this country positively. The only thing they live for is intimidating the poor masses.

14. Jonathan was a victim of cyber bullying from your Dad and the whole of APC and nothing was done about it...... Your family is a failure, y'all need to deal with it!!!

1. Real failure and a bunch of devilish hypocrites!

15. Why won't she support it when her father is the one making people's lives miserable

16. Anakogheri πŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘

17. Mtchewwwwww
    Mtchewwwwwwer
    Mtchewwwwwwest

18. Your family that have been bullying Nigerians since 2015, have we complained?

19. First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a socialist.

Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

20. Didn't she cyber bully the previous government. Enough if this hypocrisy. As someone said, we will be victims of the bill when passed. I mean everyone.

21. I don't blame her.. you guys voted for the dad because 'zahra is beautiful' nonsense..

22. So soon Nigerians has forgotten the body bag statement of El Rufai. Wasn't that a hate speech? We saw the aftermath of that statement during the election in Kaduna state where people lost their lives. The same set of people sponsoring and passing this bill are the originators of hate speech in Nigeria. Ciroma, Buhari, Liar Mohammed and co should be behind the bar by now if Nigeria were to be Japan or a sane cline. These persons should have been tried at the Hague.

23. mtcheeeeeew I pity all this people, they think they'll remain in power forever and?

24. She never makes any damn sense. The bill has gone through two sittings already so why didn't she post the link to the bill on one of her social media pages so ppl can read it or send them to the place it is located to read?

The level of entitlement. Look at this hypocrite talking about how she was cyber bullied while Boko Haram was capturing innocent girls using them for sex, abusing and breeding them. While they were killing innocent Nigerians and putting families in turmoil that some of them still have not recovered from and all little Missy can do is wail about her awful plight in the world and how she was bullied online all of four fckng years ago, going on five years. I hope life opens her eyes to true and lasting tragedy so she can get down on her knees and thank her God for only having to worry about cyberbullying. When you don't even have to put a kettle on the stove to boil your own tea you start creating stories about how you have it hard in life. When you pussay is protected from kidnappers and pussay poachers, you don't have to worry about the little girl who has to go gather fire wood or catch water a mile away who will find out about sex in the most vicious of ways. When hunger is whipping the bellies of many and they will even boil a shoe and eat the leather for food you can still lament about your cyberbullying and how you have it hard, people just don't understand, all they got to do is read the bill and see and understand. Mtschhw.

25. You and your papa bubu dey mad infact una entire family all of una dey crase

26. 3 years to go ooo...
    Afterwards, the EXILEπŸ™„

27. Ahswear this Gal the mad 😑 she think πŸ€” say na everybody get money eeπŸ’΅ coz she node huttle so she no nor Wetin dey.. Anyway that's inside life..

28. 🀣 🀣 🀣 Ahtel you