Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Heavy Protest In Imo State Over Ihedioha's Removal As Gov By The Supreme Court....

Monday, January 20, 2020

Heavy Protest In Imo State Over Ihedioha's Removal As Gov By The Supreme Court....

A massive protest took place on Sunday in Imo State over the Supreme Court judgement that sacked Emeka Ihedioha of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) as Governor, and declared Hope Uzodinma of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the election winner.

Hundreds of youths marched through the streets, carrying banners, placards and chanting solidarity songs.

The Supreme court on Tuesday January 14,2020 had in a unanimous decision, ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to issue Uzodinma a certificate of return.
The seven-man panel held that Ihedioha did not win the majority of votes cast at the March 9, 2019 governorship election.

The judgment delivered by Justice Kudirat Kekere-Ekun, held that the candidate of the APC won on grounds that he polled majority of the lawful votes cast at the election.

from dailypost

35 comments:

1. Heavy indeed. Lol, rent-a- crowd act 1, scene 1.

1. Heavy protest Indeed....🚢🏽‍♀️🚢🏽‍♀️🚢🏽‍♀️🚢🏽‍♀️

2. Blessed princess, the crowd renting and y'all believing it's true is funny. A few people will genuinely join the walk but if you believe that the banners were printed by random indigenes, then I'll lol again.

2. Nigeria. Where the impossible can become possible. 4th position becomes first overnight. Bible really said the first shall be the last and vice versa.

1. I believe you didn't read the verdict, Just joined the bandwagon of people saying 4th became first.
      Try and read and be knowledgeable before making comments.

2. Don, that's the average social media warrior for you. A good percentage of them glance at the headline and scroll through comments and immediately add theirs. Pity!

3. Endtime Imo state election results.

4. The thing is terribly bad. At least let there be a rerun instead of this blood day robbery

1. Same thing I'm saying. Why not conduct a rerun? It will never be well with this government.

2. Re -run u said? Ask Fayose, Dancing senator & Dino Milaye how their rerun ended. Na Naija we dey, INEC abracadabra.

3. Do you realise that by saying it will never be well with this government you are saying it will never be well with Nigeria? Or at least for the period the government is in power?

4. Thanks @Fan and Castle. What supreme Court did to Imo State is wrong in all ramifications. My heart bleeds for my State right now. And why Senator Hope Uzodinma hungry for power to this extent still baffles me. Ihedioha is not a saint but he is better than Hope and he is the people's choice.

5. Kiks, they don't get it.

5. They should protest well a because there was over voting.How can the total vote cast be more than the number of accredited voters.
    How can violence in some polling units affect only Hope Uzodinma's number of votes?

Ndi Oshi,buying a tomato calculator would have saved you this trouble.You don't just learn the art of stealing from a pot of soup,you must learn the science of replacing the lid silently and putting the spoon back to its original position.

1. So who is to be blamed? Why not order for fresh election instead of this wickedness. Because his vote is more than accredited voters the 3rd runner should take the crown okwaya? Who is now onye oshi?? May what you support be your portion. Amen.

2. Buy honey and drink,your life is too bitter.whatever curse you placed there will be your portion all the days of your life.Hope Uzodinma's wife,wehdone.bitter fool

6. What it means is that in any election, a candidate can just sit back, lose the election and bribe his or her way into a government house at the Supreme court. This is a bad precedent. The Supreme Court of Nigeria is not neutral enough to be the final arbiter. Nigerianz should stop deceiving themselves. Nigeria is not USA.

1. I'm telling you!!!

The ruling party might have even threatened them

2. If it's so easy to bribe the supreme court, Atiku should have won. Say something else please. How come the ruling party didn't threaten them in the cases of Rivers and Zamfara? PDP got caught napping LEGALLY! That's all.

3. 8:13, thank you. One minute, I think we are getting somewhere, then I read comments and my heart drops.

Mr ihedioha was busy with the mundane and didn't keep his legal team on their toes. Cases are lost or won on a daily due to one technicality or the other. Eg the OJ case.

We keep thinking it's by social media and hired crowd noise.

4. If it's easy, the governor with the key to the vault woukd have remain on seat, if it's all about bribe.

You guys shoukd use your God given brain to think before making comments.

5. No oooooo. Using ones brain is hardwork. Just leave them as they have opted to be.

6. Anonymouses commenting rubbish, is the fact not staring u blank in the face? How can number of votes pass number of accredited voters? Keep supporting rubbish, u hear? Then come back tomorrow and complain that Nigeria is wrecked. Nonsense.

7. So necessary even though it can't change anything but let it be seen and known that our rights as humans can't be trampled upon. Furthermore, it goes to show the rape on our democracy and also abuse of the judicial powers. If we condone and swallow this without a protest, tomorrow they will do worse than they have done.

8. I hope they got paid because this is almost an exercise in futility

1. At least let the whole world see and attest to the tyranny we are facing in this shithole.

2. Fan, has the whole world finished seeing themselves? And more importantly, you think they care about you and I? You have some more reading to do. Also add global exposure through any available legal means. It'll help you in making informed decisions.

3. Nigeria is a shit hole
      Nigeria is a zoo
      If you go through a shit hole, what are you?
      If you live permanently in the zoo, what are you called?
      When you point one, the others are pointing at you.
      It's time we see ourselves as one and fight this ill together rather than cursing and accusing and hating a session.

4. 9:03, so the zoo workers are animals because they're regularly in the zoo? See reasoning.

9. It is their right to protest...peacefully.

10. Yeye dey smell. During Rivers and Zamfara epic, PDP accepted, welcomed the supreme Court judgement. Let spirit of sportsmanship rule, win some and accept defeat in some cases.

1. The issues in the Rivers and Zamfara cases were they the same as this? Is the evidence the same? To argue is not by force. If u no get point, just jump and pass.

11. Unless say Hope no get time, he for still gather people too to March the streets of Owerri, the same crowd go show, ego ka o ga eli. Na Mbaise people go cry pass, he never siddon well as governor, he has already covered everywhere with his people, after una go dey call Buhari, kitikpa lacha anya anybody wey go talk nonsense under my comment. Namsense

1. Ppl like u deserve Nigeria.