Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pope Francis Apologises For Slapping Hand Of Woman Who Pulled Him

Thursday, January 02, 2020

Pope Francis Apologises For Slapping Hand Of Woman Who Pulled Him

Pope Francis has tendered an apology after slapping a woman on the arm for pulling him saying "I've set a bad example".

The incident gathered happened on Tuesday December 31,2019 when the pontiff was making his way through the crowd at St. Peter’s Square.

The pope was clutching hands with well-wishers when suddenly a woman from the crowd grabbed his hand and pulled him to herself.

The pope, who appeared angry, slapped the woman’s hand off him, and he walked away.

In his New Year’s message on Wednesday, the leader of the Catholic Church, however, expressed regret over the action he termed bad example.

“So many times we lose patience, even me, and I apologise for yesterday’s bad example,” he told his congregation who gathered for the New Year mass.

“All violence inflicted on women is a desecration of God. How often is a woman’s body sacrificed on the profane altar of advertising, profit, pornography,” he said, adding that the female body “must be freed from consumerism, it must be respected and honoured.”
from the cableng.com

36 comments:

1. In my opinion the woman was wrong!

1. Very wrong. See how she pulled an old man ah ah. The Pope was even mild with her.

2. Very very wrong to pull him as if he is a child.

3. You're right,the old man almost fell down

2. Pope ,go and sin no more.

3. Pope Francis is also but human. But why did the woman pull him to hjeraelf in the first place? Anyway, good one for accepting responsibility. You've set a good example.

4. Good one Papa!
    But that Asian woman was way out of line. People only extend their hands to the pontiff but the way she dragged him?? Haba nah. This is an 83yr old man for crying out loud loud, what if he had fallen?

1. @Mhiz
      You people have branded this one papa again? When did he become your father in heaven? Even after Jesus warned that this should not be done.

2. @Mhiz A, my exact thought. Pope could have fallen down. Why pull an old man's that hard along with his sleeve.

5. I don't know the people that Pope was trying to pleased with his apology.
    It was glaring that woman was pure evil. I wonder who would have apologized to him if he was injured that night.

1. Abi oπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. @Don you know he has been pulled on to the ground before by on man a few years ago. They don't know its an old man they are pulling like that?

6. You are only human.... I don't see anything bad in what you did. I watched the video. The pope would have fallen thank God he regained his stamina, the pull was by force.

7. He is human and not deity.
    How I wish that the Pentecostal warrior G.O.s that slapped women on camera can also tender apologies.

1. No and not in Nigeria. You won't see that Pentecostal GO ever apologize. When activists took him to court, he was found not guilty. The video is still on YouTube.

2. You will have to wait till eternity. The Pope is human and it was just a normal reaction. If you grab me out of nowhere, I will react on impulse.

8. You're only but human so why should we judge.

9. Theres absolutely nothing to wrong with what he did to tender an apology, that woman just redirected him forcefully, and refused to let go... squeezing his hands, even Zacchaeus on the tree witnessed how the pope was manhandled.

10. His apology was necessary. The woman was wrong for being too eager. The pope was wrong for being too stern.

I can understand her eagerness. You don’t know the sickness or spiritual help she may have had. She can be compared to the woman with the issue of blood or those who did creative things to get attention for miracles. To her, getting the pope’s direct attention may be the answer to her prayers. The stern treatment she got may push a fragile person to completely losing faith or severe depression. Imagine being so sternly rebuked by Pastor Adeboye or Oyedepo at your time of need.

Hopefully, the woman can find peace with herself and whatever issues she may be facing through his apology.

Ivannah

1. And if he had slipped and fell hitting his head, she would be facing bigger issues. You just don’t grab and pull any frail 83 year old like that. How many people have wanted an audience with him but have managed not to arm wrestle him?

2. Then let her face the bigger issues. If you put away your defensiveness you’ll see I mentioned she didn’t do well. However her wrong action did not warrant an aggressive reaction from the pope. That’s all.

By the way, a prominent spiritual leader like the pope and his council deemed it fit to give an apology, who are you again to protest against humility?

Ivannah

3. Grow up “Ivannah”. Your self-righteousness is silly. No one is protesting against the pope giving an apology. Seems like you can’t argue a point without trying to make yourself seem holier than thou. Knock yourself out then.

4. Wow @Ivanah. I just saw another angle to the whole fiasco. Then the apology is very in order. Some people are truly fragile and I am sure the Pope considered this.

5. Oh dear. Why so sad and salty this beautiful new year? If my words trigger you so much, you’ve got a lot of internal issues to work on this wonderful new year. Shalom dear. No hate lives here. 😘😘😘

Ivannah

6. Oh God, you’re one of thoseπŸ™„.

7. Ivannah, you have issues for real. He apologised out of humility not because he was wrong. As an adult, you dont go around yanking people especially fragile old men. Don't you have older ones at home!

11. Thought the pope is infallible.

1. hehehe not physically.. his creed,dogmas and doctrines are infallible smh

2. @Heroine, he is a Native doctor. Do you know if he is considering trying the Pope?! (Jaz thiz)

12. Very humble man. Good example to learn from .Hope Nigerian men of God could learn from him.

13. Awwww... So nice of him, I'm learning

14. I thank God the Pope did not fall down. I'm not a Roman Catholic but I thought of someone springing a surprise pull on my grandpa.

I pray for the woman too, that she won't be crestfallen. Her exuberance might have been from her earnest need.
    May God touch and meet her need in Jesus Christ name. Amen