Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Medical Professionals All Over The World Asked To Apply For US Visas As COVID19 Cases Rise

Friday, March 27, 2020

Medical Professionals All Over The World Asked To Apply For US Visas As COVID19 Cases Rise

The US Department of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs is calling on foreign medical professionals to apply for visas to the US as their COVID 19 cases rise beyond belief

Where are those people who want to relocate to greener pastures?Now is the time!!!...lol

62 comments:

1. People should not listen to the us,they have to carry their cross by themselves because the genesis of this virus is between America and china

1. God bless you bro

2. But will anyone actually apply, that will be highest point of langathroat

3. Americans very greedy human shmmmm so Africans should die

2. See life!!! It took an ordinary pathogen (virus) to humble even the so called power houses.
    Just 2 months ago, Trump was forming big g cancelling immigrant visas, and now they are practically begging people to come apply!
    Life na jeje mehn, no condition is permanent.

3. I will apply o, its Bette to serve in heaven than to reign in hell, but I really don't trust this people, what will happen to the medical personal after coronavirus don go??

1. Why are you worried? You will be in heaven.

2. It's really an opportunity.Apply if you can.AFter the pandemic they doctors might be given workong permits to continue practicing in the states.
      Even if you don't get the permit you would have made some good money.

3. No be if the person dey alive to enjoy the money?

4. Lol @ 15.38, greek gift. All of a sudden, he wants people to apply.

4. He should lift the ban on Nigeria first, we have the world best doctors and they want to work in America. However this life na hep me I hep you........God nor vex

5. This is the most selfish thing to do. USA is all about themselves. Selfish and very useless country. I thought Trump didn't want immigrants, and today they are begging doctors to migrate to the US. Covid 19 is all over the world, So do they want these doctors to leave whatever they're doing and migrate to USA? This is selfish.

1. Thank God , there is no movement to any of the heavy pandemic areas

2. Very selfish
      Cos they know people would desperately look beyond their selfishness.

3. And they are sure to use those people in the most dangerous situations. If they get infected as a result, just too bad.

6. After done using them,am sure they will be told to go back#Wisegovernment

7. the same U.S that shut down its borders

8. So this is how the world Powe want to render Nigeria Doctorless?. Ok o

Na to remain for God hand so o🤔

9. So if all the medical personnels relocate to USA, who will take care of patients in other countries????

Selfish people.....

10. No! they should be told to apply for a green card and NOT a visa.

1. Yup.... the incentive for them should be the actual green card

11. E don happen. Trump, we are not interested in the Chinese virus

12. God always has a purpose for everything.This not the time for trading immigration blames.It may rather be an opportunity for some persons to be announced.
    President Donald J.Trump is a man of wisdom and understanding who was working for the good of all.Hence,it will be unfair to rubbish his person because of what the whole world is currently facing.Something good, especially in the area of global peace,unity and fairness will come out of this scourge.At the end of every bad news there's always a good one.Let's not forget.
    In view of the above facts,I personally suggest that the N.M.A in collaboration with W.H.O should deliberate on U.S request exhaustively and do the needful.We need each other to progress.

1. Ehwuuu!!!!!!, have you not heard of a Coronavirus patience in LUTH that was turned back because of lack of bed space?. All our Doctors should stay back to salvage our situation

2. There's no such thing as world peace,what we are seeing now is the fulfillment of Bible prophecy .. 1Thes 5:3

13. Pretty confusing.
    So they won't write the qualifying exams, they just come and start working?

1. Haven’t you heard they are even graduating final medical students quickly just to engage them in the treatment process?

14. Will they sponsor the trip and accommodation?

15. Hmm they should hold their visa ooo.my sis term that is a doctor over there said the thing is something else and out of control now

16. Very selfish people. So if our doctors run to the US, what will happen to us?

1. I thought Nigeria has enough doctors. If Nigerian doctors are treated well I don’t think anyone will be tempted to leave

2. It's not their fault that your government is clueless and don't give health practitioners the respect they deserve

17. Any Doctor that travel to the US, will be welcomed by the virus, it is now like air they breathe.

18. They should help themselves. Very self centered and selfish people. The Corona virus is a world issue not a US issue, they are asking doctors to leave there countries vulnerable because America is suffering? Bullshit!

1. Thank you very much Cyclone. Who will take care of the sick in the other countries if all the Doctors jump ship to the US?

2. What of all the foreign Doctors presently here in the country writing USLME?? Why haven’t they called unto them???

3. Doctors are already applying, stay there and be speaking English.

4. Any Nigerian doctor who applies will die of the virus upon their arrival

19. Think the best approach is to request all illegals in the country who have medical background to step forward for training with a promise to regularize their stay after all this over. Win- win. Doesn’t mean they will remain in medical profession when over but they get regularization as their reward

20. Who wants to apply should apply o,make Una nor look people talk take miss Una opportunity o,na citizenship door just open free for many people o,i know many Indians will take advantage.

21. Why not attract doctors in states with very low rates to go to states with high cases? Medical schools and residents nko? There aren't any doctors in some places and there are many in others. The government should look within before going out. If this story is true, it's another example of Americans not wanting to do the work. Then immigrants will step in and politicians will claim foreigners are taking American job.

22. You mean all those people using I live in the USA to pose are nothing now? COVID 19, the global humbling virus- has no respect for status, levels or...

23. Application to a war zone pretty much. Your life may be the cost.

24. Visa with specific duration & terms of agreement I'm sure.... doesn't sound like a good incentive. US is still holding some chips in this so called 'desperate' invitation. Ok oo doctors weigh your opportunities.

25. That news is specific for medical doctors who matched into a residency program in the U.S.

Match happens in March of every year and you have doctors from all over the world who have gone through the process of writing board exams (USMLE), applied to programs, interviewed and participated in the Match.

For the concerned, there has to be a sponsor. ECFMG in this case. Doctors who haven’t gone through the process can’t be sponsored by ECFMG.

the U.S will not accept doctors to come practice *without* going through the process.

Lemme see if this will get posted. Knowledge is key

26. The request is for medical providers. They need, not only Doctors but Nurses, Nurse Practitioners and other health care providers. We get so caught up on Doctor Doctor Doctor while they do less than 10% of the work.

There is a Global crisis, multiple countries are having a huge problem. Unless for the countries that are recovering like China etc, most will not have medical personnel to spare another country in droves. So, US should not do dog eat dog and try to drain other countries' medical personnel resources, that is unfair, especially to the weaker countries. Now, if Naija wan let all una medical personnel leave and nobody to treat una but Pastors and Imams, that na another thing oh. I think the weaker countries should ban all medical personnel from leaving during this Global crisis, designate them some fancy name like "essential personnel in the war against pandemic" Lol" Monkey smart, tortoise kill am.

There really are a lot of undocumented adequately qualified medical personnel with the skills and training already here in the US ready to hit the ground running, if the country wants to tap into this resource. A large number are in the shadows, with the recent rhetoric, still scared and most likely even staying on the sidelines taking time off with everyone else with the mandated stay at home instead of being on the front lines for valid reasons due to the recent implementations of this real ID etc.

So, in support of the suggestion made above, if a waiver is given to regularize some of this undocumented or out of status medical people, some of which might die in the process like in war, some will come out of the shadows and jump in and they may be surprised at the number of qualified people, even with US education they already have to help fight the virus. Kashimawo. Healthcare people are beginning to die from the coronavirus and ts complications in the US, they still have inadequate supply of personal protection equipment (PPE) for the healthcare workers.

God please protect all of us all over the world.

1. Health workers in the USA probably not working now is more due to lack of licensure by appropriate bodies and not issue of real ID. Any health worker, nurse or doctor alike should get their license and see them selves in the frontline. That said, the info up their was made by the body certifying doctors because the temporazition of visa issuance will affect IMGs who have matched into residency and are awaiting the H1 of J1 visa. The USA is not asking any random doctor to apply they are referring to those who just got admitted into residency.

2. I know of a Nigerian doctor here that has completed all his exams and everything but found it hard getting into the residency program cos he studied medicine in Nigeria. He later did one year lab technology and works with American red cross. Don't believe all you read.

3. Orela,
      I think you may have missed the essence of my post. I was touching on the health care professionals, including doctors, nurses, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and other allied heath care professionals who are already licensed, some board certified, may be US educated and for numerous reasons (each persons case is different) are currently out of status. There is a potential pool they can explore there if they want to, that is if they try and can not import enough providers fast enough, there are already "boots on the ground," as they say, that they can also utilize or use to augment. The thing they have to weigh is, if they are ready to give them waivers of their current statuses or not, but desperate times might call for desperate measures if the CV-19 worsens, I pray it does not.

4. Right now, some US Fed and State Agencies are inviting retired medical personnel back to work and applying waivers up and down so that can happen, because, as per say nation of laws, dem no fit say, oya, han lele, report, statute, this and that dey. So, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, laboratory technicians, respiratory therapists and other medical professionals wey don retired, them dey already invite them to come back to work.

5. Anonymous 23.37..you missed the memo like many Nigerians who saw that tweet did. I got the notification mail from ECFMG, that tweet was directed at the doctors that matched and are to resume by July 1st 2020. They are not just calling any doctor from outside the USA to apply, that is were those who don't understand the tweet get it wrong. That tweet isnt instructing random doctors to apply, rather it is telling already matched residents( those who got placement in March 2020) who are waiting for their Visa to go ahead and apply for their H1 and J1 visas.

However, they are calling on retired health workers and waivering some protocols for some because they already have work history in the USA, they are not even calling unlicensed people, those who are licensed can get to work if they meet the requirements.

@Phoenix that Nigerian doctor may find it hard getting in because there are different things at play..maybe he passed and has a low pass score , may be he hasn't publications to boost his resume and for all it is worth his score may be pretty low for a competitive speciality. This year had the highest rate of intake. Ask him well he may just know where he had deficiencies and be working on them. Residency isnt easy to get into be it in Nigeria, USA and many other places. Good luck to him in the next residency match.

27. I was thinking the invite is for all health workers.

28. So much ignorance on display no offense. The US will not allow you to work without a valid work visa. H1 Visas are by lottery and are usually around 65,000, sponsored by an employer. J visa is the worst form of non immigrant visa, do not try it. You will need to return to your country unless you get married to a citizen, and have if I recollect the person my husband and I wrote letter of good standing for, about 5 people write on your behalf among many things.
    The US is going to be fine, Nigeria is the place that reports are saying because of la k of water and extreme poverty, it’s spread may be a nightmare to the world. Forget what the Nigerian govt is saying, there are approx hundreds of thousands who have it because of our Owanbes lifestyle, lack of adequate water and ambulances with no state of the art hospitals etc. Does anyone know how ma y ventilators are in the whole country? Are they functioning? Stop taking Tylenol for America’s headache, people are working 24 hours daily to solve it, is anyone used to working 24 hours for days in Nigeria? Let us keep trusting in God, it must not break out in Nigeria. It will be worse than any other country. In commenting remember the whole igeriais justthe size of one state, Texas out of the 50 states and America is almost the size of Europe. You can travel 6 hours by air within the US! Perspective and facts matter!