Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner - Nigerian Tribes And Their Delicacies

Friday, March 20, 2020

Mrs Dee's Corner - Nigerian Tribes And Their Delicacies

Every tribe has that one food that sets them apart and is often served to welcome guests ........

Back then in school hostel, my roommate from Ethiope in Delta state used to prepare Starch and Banga soup on some weekends, and even though we tasted the soup, none of us in the room was brave enough to try out the starch despite her preachings. 

We all stuck to the popular yellow eba.

Some parts of the Eastern states offer guests African salad as an appetizer and my traditional marriage was no exception.

My hubby had a taste of the worst food of his life on that day, and till now the memory still haunts him. His was not the typical African salad, but the more traditional one of utazi (very bitter kind of leaf) African spinach (akwukwo aΕ„ara) and the seed (mkpuru aΕ„ara) another very bitter fruit. As if that was not enough, it was garnished with bean oil (ugba) , another food he had never tasted and a big dry fish he didn't know how to tackle without messing up his outfit. To crown it all, the meal was stark cold.

Hubby was conscious as the man of the day not to pass the wrong message by refusing the meal, so he took a spoonful and nearly spat out the mixture of bitterness in his mouth. 

As he chewed, he was visibly struggling not to puke, so I had to tell one of the ladiy serving the food to retrieve the food from him. He was so relieved.

I am not picky about foods, but the one food I will never try to eat again, not to talk of preparing is groundnut soup. At first, I found it strange that a regular snack could be used in food preparation, and even after I finally ate it, the taste kept coming to my mouth each time I belched. I hated the taste of it and swore never to eat it again....

Is there any Nigerian delicacy you ate and like?or didn't like?

*Who can separate me from Amala and ewedu soup with gbegiri with goat meat that has body odour?chai!!!!

60 comments:

1. It was gbegiri and I hated it and still hate it till date. Ewedu is nice though.

1. Groundnut soup nd ujuju soup by delta igbos are my favourite. Any delta igbo in the house??

2. Who don taste cotton wool seed soup???🀣. E sweet die. Mix with banga. There is a name igbo call it. Sometimes u cn buy the blended powder sold inside d nylon. Nkporuru soup. Yez dats d name of the soup.

2. Groundnut soup is the best soup ever. πŸ€“

3. Nigerian delicacies are baeπŸ‘

4. Stella, you and this your mkpi with body odor 😊😊😊

5. Mrs. Dee,

All the things you mentioned in that meal are individually eaten by your husband and his people from perhaps the left side of Nigerian map.
    The most likely cause of his wanting to puke is the fact that it was not
    mixed with equal amount of pepper.
    To serve him such, just fill the plate half with pepper and half with whatever food, he will gulp them all.

😊😊😊😊😊😊

6. 😁😁😁.

Our fisherman soup prepared by our women is the real deal, every other one is management, concoction, counterfeit.

1. 😍😍😍😍😍

And Bole

2. I love fisherman soup. Tasted it when I was serving NYSC. Please someone should teach me how to make it, I’ll like to learn, maybe one day when I’m married I’ll daze hubby with it πŸ™ˆ

7. Ofe Nsala and nni ji ( pounded yam) from my place -Asaba. What a delicacy. the soup is prepared with fresh fish. Some people use old layer chicken with dry fish.

8. I love Banga soup,I made it last weekend. Due to the fact that I attended school in the east,I love onugbu soup and oha. I live in the west and I love Amala ati ewedu. I'm from South south.

9. I am not picky when it comes to food
    But you see that groundnut soup I don't think I would want to taste it again
    The experience was a horrible one for me

1. The person that prepared it did not prepare it well. Me i fry it well with ted oil like i would egisi and believe me the taste is out of this world. That thing called amala,cam never try it again. Am very picky with foods. Don't like assorted. I only eat chicken and fish. But not cat fish.

10. That groundnut soup na the highest. Maybe the one she ate was different. There's this akwaibom food called epankukwu, dont mind my spelling, I dont like it. I fit vomit sef.

1. Ekpang nkukwo. You're missing

2. Olomo: I am an AkwaIbomite and i dare to say that EVERY ONE of our meal is a HIT, BACK-TO-BACK!

3. hmm ekpang nkukwo i kept hearing about that food from an Akwa Ibom friend untill i visited Uyo. It's a nice food at least i finished the bowl i was given to eat

4. I don't like ekpankukwo

5. I'm a calabar gal
      Ekpang kukwo is d GOAT!
      With fisherman soup
      Afang soup
      Edikangikong!
      Chai

11. I'm very picky when it comes to food. I hate almost all soups from every tribe except egusi, ogbono, Okro and vegetable soup.

I remember the first time I visited my husband's brother (more like his father) and his wife back in 2015. That evening, she prepared starch and owo soup (or was it black soup). Mere looking at it, I knew I wouldn't be able to even take one swallow.

I just respectfully declined and she made yam for me. I hate oha soup, I have ofe onugbu, I hate ofe Acha.

Infact, I hate almost all soups. Don't even put ewedu near me cos I won't eat it.

Really hate this about myself.

But u see Egusi soup ehn, I can never get tired of it. Like never. As long as u didn't prepare it with dry fish or the bone from okporoko

1. I tasted Oha soup just once, and it was very nice

2. This is me . I hate almost all soups from Nigerian tribes. Egusi is the only soup I cant get tired of. I actually went almost 10 years without eating swallow/ soup it was last year when I was pregnant I started craving Nigerian soup. Immediately I gave birth this year the yearn for soup disappeared

3. As far say human being dey chop am. I will🀣🀣

12. Edo Bini people have several delicacies but my first favourite is Bini owo and plantain/yam served with snail and dried catfish.Too yummy!!
    Second is ebamwokho (black soup) and pounded yam. This is made with bitter leaves, scent leaves and uziza. So nutritious and delicious. Always makes me feel like I'm a child whenever I eat it. Too lovely.
    Final is ekusu (like spicy moi moi made from unripe plantain)

My favourite from another tribe is Ofe Nsala. Other is native rice and Ayamashe.

I'm hungry now 😊

1. This poster has too much sense. See correct food. My Bini person... Ko yo xxxxxx

2. Choiiii... U sabiiiiiiii

3. see my person #shinesteeth
      black soup and pounded yam is BAE!

4. Yes oo dat scent leaf nd bitter leave combo good for cold weather. Very nice soup.

5. Kai... I miss my Benin childhood with my correct edede (grandma) 😊

13. I love everything called food as far as Africa is concerned. The day I respected my love for food was the day I ate one Ghana delicacy. Las las Na to purge after eating whatever and get well soon πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€.

14. OFE ONUGBU
    (Steamed steak,plenty stockfish,mangala fish,groundcrayfish,original white cocoyam and ogili uno).
    Enigwe!

2. OFE NSALA
    Fresh black catfish,plenty mangala fish,utazi leaves, steamed turkey,groundcrayfish and of course the ground spices:uda,efuru,uziza,cameroun pepper,ose okpoo and ose nsukka a.k.a yellow pepper.)
    These 2 ehh,our men dont wear shirts to eat with any swallow.

Mrs DEE, next time put the groundnut under sun for hours then fry on low heat till light brown before blending,it is same as egusi.
    No odor or funny aroma whatsoever.

I hated Pate but started loving it after was nicknamed it, now cook it wella.
    Jos people will know.

1. Pate... Do you mean the meal made with acha??
      If yes,I call it gwote. Put correct biscuit bone and beef. I love it

2. Omeh yeah,you know it. To avoid sand from Acha,I use ground corn,if your beef is spiced suya,better.

3. i ate one ofe onugbu in Onitsha and nearly missed my way back home..utor!

4. Xp, even me that is not Igbo, I sit on the floor when I eat any of those foods you mentioned in detail...

5. Xhlrted,your pate comment just made my day! 😊 Jtown my love. Acha is our traditional food gan!

15. There is no food I can't taste so far it is not poisonous and has pepper sha

16. I like banga soup served in that earthen pot , the aroma is out of the world, I like okro peppersoup, chai i miss my grandma

17. Me I cook foods and I am also a foodie cos I have been to Edo, Ogun, Imo and Anambra..I can prepare Owo soup, Black soup (my best soup), Designer stew (Ofada Stew), Shoko soup, Gbegiri e.t.c...There is no food I cant cook or eat sef.

18. I am very bad with trying out new things - except biscuits😁
    I don’t like goat meat, I only swallow garri, I don’t like pap, I dont like acha, I can’t taste any other culture’s soup, apart from eforiro, in fact, I don’t take swallow outside my house, cos I have a phobia for it, my goodness!!!
    When I go out, I just locate rice and I eat it, irrespective of the culture or nationality, I believe I can always manage rice. I thought I could always manage meat also, until people started serving me steak that is ‘rare’ or ‘medium rare’πŸ™„
    I don’t like the way I am, it’s not the best, but I just find it difficult. I envy people that have the stomach for new things.

1. Mystic, that rare/medium rare steak scares the s**t out of me! But I know the adventurous side of me would still try it out someday...

2. πŸ™‚ @Mama Mia, since you even have an adventurous side, you are good to go πŸ‘πŸΌ

19. I am too picky when it comes to food o. I hate to see that Ewedu, let alone eating it. It reminds me of Spirogyra , hmmm.

20. I don't have problem with amala, but you see ewedu, never

21. Groundnut Soup is the native soup of the People of Edo North i.e Afemai / Etsako.

Poster you ate the wrong Groundnut Soup.

22. The ABACHA you described up there made my mouth water!!!!

23. Growing up, I could swear that yorubas can never ever win a cooking competition. I stayed away from ewedu, amala or anything around that. Well, fast forward to now, the canteens around my office starts serving my ewedu, gbegiri and amala once I step in, even without orders. I even had to learn and make it in the comfort of my home, but eating it in the canteen is still my happy moments at work. I am igbo o

24. Starch and Banga soup, garnished with the right accompaniments is bae😊

25. Ona never see soup,wait till you see benue otukpo soup called okoho,them dey use knife cut the soup,if you take one part of the soup, the whole soup go leave the plate enter your mouth in short you first need to learn the art of fighting karate to be able to eat the soup,when I was serving in benue and saw them eating this soup for the first time I almost throw up cos no difference with soup and catarr.the soup dey like plenty catarr inside plate and to the otupko people it's the best soup in the world.when dey cook the soup e dey do Dem like Chrismas day,soup wey be like catarr
    But wait till you try kalabari porthacourt people soup called native soup,chai you go leak the pot join,too much diff kind of fish and plenty periwinkle.
    Soup dey this life o.
    For me Sha na Calabar still get the best soups from atama to editang to afang to edikangikong to afia efere to otong and fisherman soup

1. My dear, me sef tire for that their okoho soup o, even tubaba say na him best soup. I can never try it o. The annoying thing is that they pound the dried fish and they dont even put much meat in it. Mad o

26. Ofe Ikele and nli iji (delta igbo). Ijaw people fisherman soup. Urhobo/Isoko/itsekiri owho and starch. Ika people akpu with body odour and ujuju soup. Infact all naija delta Dey try. πŸ™ŒπŸΏ

27. Interesting topic....