Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Accuses Nigerian Govt And Security Agents Of Human Rights Breaches

Monday, March 16, 2020

US Accuses Nigerian Govt And Security Agents Of Human Rights Breaches

The United States Government has indicted the Nigerian government; as well as security agencies in the country of flagrant and recurrent abuse of human rights. This was contained in its 2019 Country Reports on Human Rights Practices.

The report, which was released late last week, was signed by the US Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo.

As a matter of fact, the report covers seven sections including Respect for the Integrity of Persons; Respect for Civil Liberties; Freedom to participate in the Political Process; Corruption and Lack of Transparency in Government; Governmental attitude regarding NGOs’ Investigation of Human Rights Abuses; Discrimination, Societal Abuses and Trafficking in Persons and Worker Rights.

Indeed, the 46-page document painted a damning picture of human rights abuses by the Nigerian government; which the United States government also accused of not holding security forces to account for the use of deadly force. Furthermore, the report accused the Nigerian government of setting up several Federal and State panels of inquiries to probe atrocities; of which the reports are never made public.

In fact, the report may explain the incessant sanctions including the much-publicised visa ban slammed on Nigeria; by the United States Government in recent times.

The report cites significant human rights issues in Nigeria to include unlawful and arbitrary killings; including extrajudicial killings, forced disappearances, torture, and arbitrary detention, all perpetrated by both government and non-state actors; harsh and life-threatening prison conditions; unlawful infringement on citizens’ privacy rights; criminal libel; violence against and unjustified arrests of journalists; substantial interference with the rights of peaceful assembly and freedom of association in particular for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and intersex (LGBTI) persons and religious minorities; widespread and pervasive corruption; crimes involving violence targeting LGBTI persons; criminalization of same-sex sexual conduct between adults; and forced and bonded labour.

‘‘The government took some steps to investigate alleged abuses but there were few public reports of prosecutions of officials who committed violations, whether in the security forces or elsewhere in the government.

‘‘Impunity remained widespread at all levels of government. No charges were filed in some of the significant allegations of human rights violations by security forces and cases of police or military extortion or other abuse of power.’’
Among the instances cited, the report condemned the attacks on members of the Islamic Movement of Nigeria (IMN).

It stated that as at September 2019, the Buhari government was silent on investigating or holding individuals accountable for the 2015 killing and mass burial of Shiites other civilians by the Army in Zaria, Kaduna State. It also queried why the report on the 2017 Air Force bombing of an IDP camp in Rann, Borno State; which killed and injured more than 100 civilians and humanitarian workers, among others, has not been released.

Furthermore, the report cited attacks on journalists who opposed the government. Among those mentioned were Jones Abiri, publisher of Bayelsa State-based tabloid, the Weekly Source; Stephen Kefas, Agba Jalingo and the missing Abubakar Idris aka Dadiyata.

Also condemned was the activities of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) of the Nigeria Police; which the report accused of illegal detention, inhuman treatment, and torture of criminal suspects, militants, detainees and prisoners.

Further, the report lampooned the Justice System in Nigeria as well as the condition of prisons; arrests without prosecution and alleged deaths of thousands of deaths in custody.
The 2019 election which returned Buhari to power for a second term was not left out.

The United States claimed there was evidence that military and security services intimidated voters, electoral officials, and election observers.

“There were reports that corruption, including vote buying were historically high during the 2018-19 electoral season. Examples of vote buying were apparent in the re-run of the Osun gubernatorial election in September 2018; and during the Kano gubernatorial election on March 9.’’

Massive corruption was also alleged to be going on under the Buhari administration.

‘‘Although the law provides criminal penalties for conviction of official corruption, the government did not implement the law effectively; and government officials frequently engaged in corrupt practices with impunity. Massive, widespread, and pervasive corruption affected all levels of government, including the judiciary and the security services. The constitution provides immunity from civil and criminal prosecution for the president; vice president, governors, and deputy governors while in office. There were numerous reports of government corruption during the year.”Among other issues raised, the report also decried forced labour, sexual discrimination, religious intolerance, early forced marriage, baby factories; violence against children and women, domestic violence and Female Genital Mutilation in Nigeria.
from 1stnews

18 comments:

1. Ghen ghen.

They should have included the bill to try and pamper boko haram members.

The only one I don't understand is the lgbt community own. We know in Nigeria, its a crime to be gay, so what are they saying?

1. I was expecting to see that one too.
      This administration is the worst!

2. It was once a crime to be gay in the USA until they saw the sickness of such laws. It was once a slow death sentence to be black or female until those man made laws ignored God-made laws and were changed. It was once legal to own a fellow human being but people ignored whatever was written by whichever God and went for the holier, more just option.

Thankfully, many God warriors are leaving the paradise called Nigeria to live among the gay and gay-loving peoples of the civilized west. I hope they packed their bigotry in their suitcases when leaving. I am sure they were bold enough to state their truth at the Embassy right after fasting and praying befor the interview? Or did they declare it on arrival? Or does it just leak out on an anonymous blog?

1. Which of the US? The one wey coronavirus dey visit ABI Atiku/PDP US. If you no hear any other substantial proofs after this charade then you can choose to believe whatever. I no dey rush. We dey wait for court gate for them. Only in Nigeria,vou go hear Christian saying God sees the end from the beginning but not in their politics biko. Their God no dey see who go win even with their curses, prayer, fasting, fake prophecies of winner, fake prophecies of PMB dying cos Mama peace sat he is brain damaged anyway. They prophesy and still the opposite happened. Abeg help me ask who they actually prayed to and who gave the revelations. The God I worship doesn't work like that. If you have reason why God no answer their wailings, state it below. No name calling, cos only a fool resort to that

3. All these and much more. Watch them deny every bit of these. They might even ask USA who made them our WATCHDOG. Very codedly corrupt regime. Hmmm

1. The corruption in Nigeria is not coded at all my dear. It is what oyibo will say "in your face". They know we will only make small noise and jump to the next.

4. They don't know that other people are watching them. They'll soon deny sha. Ole people!

5. Where's the lie in this report? It's not even all inclusive, a lot of atrocities were left out.

6. I want to report my elder sister for human trafficking but I don't know how to go about it because she will decode it's me. I tried putting fear in her last year and used a friend to shake her up but she has bounced back again with her group. Her house is their take off point. I don't know what to do anymore. Her behaviour is everything that I am against.

1. Whenever I am coming to Nigeria she will remove all traces and soon as I leave she goes back and I begin to get reports.

2. Don't go to police.

Report to National Agency for the Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons.

Go to theirwwebsite(Google it) and give all details.

3. Where is DON?
      Corruption is rife under Buhari government.
      The past administrations were complicit except Yar'dua who didn't live long enough to push his dream for the country.

4. Please call naptip on this line-
      (07030000203). You can also call these numbers to get info on how to go about it. 08037347437,07056803035, 08037090904.

5. That one na Buhari barking dog na