Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Nurse Dies Of COVID 19 Complications In The UK + Sister Fighting For Life In ICU

Saturday, April 25, 2020

Nigerian Nurse Dies Of COVID 19 Complications In The UK + Sister Fighting For Life In ICU

Dear God!!!!

NIGERIAN NURSE DIES OF COVID19 IN LONDON
A nurse has died with coronavirus in the London hospital where she worked alongside her sister — who is now fighting for life in intensive care.

The pair, who lived together and worked at the Queen Elizabeth in Woolwich, had been determined to continue through the pandemic. They were rushed to the hospital within hours of each other two weeks ago.

Mother-of-two Esther Akinsanya, 55, died four days later on April 15. Her sister Mary Idowu, 61, is on a ventilator in intensive care. Ms Akinsanya, a “devoted and diligent” NHS nurse for more than 20 years, had finished her last shift two days before being admitted.

Her son Samuel, 26, who lived with his mother and aunt in Thamesmead, said: “We are heartbroken. My mother lit up a room when she walked in, it was impossible not to like her.”

It is understood the sisters had been issued with personal protective equipment in line with government guidelines for those not working in intensive care units. However, there have been calls for the level of protection for staff on general wards to be raised. The Government has said the outbreak has so far killed 69 NHS workers and 15 care workers, but there are fears the total of health worker deaths is more than 100.

Mr Akinsanya, who has a younger sister and a three-year-old son, said: “They are tough women they didn’t mention the dangers they just got on with their jobs. They both tested positive and are convinced they got it at work. These heroes like my mum and aunt need to be protected. It’s just not good enough that people on the front line are dying like this.”

Mr Akinsanya said his mother had no known underlying health issue other than high blood pressure. His aunt has a heart condition and diabetes. Mr Akinsaya said his aunt was on a ventilator and had improved slightly. “She is responding they have lowered the sedation. She is still fighting.” A fund for Mrs Akinsanya’s funeral and family has so far raised more than £14,000.

Chief executive of Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Trust Ben Travis has confirmed the death of a second nurse, mother-of-two Grace Kungwengwe who worked at Lewisham hospital. She died on April 19.

A tribute on a fundraisingpage for Ms Kungwengwe stated: “She leaves behind 2 sons and grandchildren. Grace was loved by many and her dedication and care for others was second to none.”

50 comments:

1. Oh dear Lord! Such beautiful women. May the soul of the deceased rest in peace and may the Lord heal the sick one speedily.

1. Stella, this is sad. That Esther was the one that arranged my medications and discharge note on the 1/4/2020 after. I told her I was really worried for them, she said pray for us. She was the head nurse on duty on ward 1 and 2. This is really sad.

2. This brought me to tears 😢
    May God have mercy a lot of families are being thrown into mourning 😢.

3. I hope those that didn't believe can see that the virus is hitting close to home.
    Let's do the right thing, not for government or for anyone but for ourselves.
    Things are not funntu out there n Europe and America o

4. Sad. This is indeed a very trying period for the frontline health workers. Many have been separated from their young children and families for several weeks now. May God take control. The published statistics of death so far is erroneous.

5. This is heartbreaking. God have mercy on us. If you can, please head to the gofundme page her son created and donate towards her funeral and estate handling. RIP.

6. Oh Lord😭😭😭 please have mercy on the world and take this away from us.

7. 😭😭😭😭😭 it’s well

8. This is so sad. And to think that some people don't even believe in the virus. A friend of mine told me that they are celebrating his brother's birthday and wedding anniversary tomorrow despite the lockdown, They still wanna throw a birthday party. He even asked me to come. I told him about social distancing and he is still very adamant saying there is no corona virus in Nigeria and that the govt are lying because they need money. He said he even asked his doctor friend that works at ubth and that one said there is nothing like that. I am just concerned about their health and the people that would attend the party tomorrow. I don't even know whether to call the police on them or I should just mind my biz as usual

1. Please place an anonymous call to the police. The virus is already on Benin and no one knows who is carrying it. Meaning no gathering should be encouraged

2. My dear, please call the police, this is a serious pandemic. That is why we are where we are in Nigeria, we nor dey hear word. I weep for my country and their carelessness towards this issue. I can tell you that the death are under reported because I work in the health sector in the UK. Please dont mind your business because this is everyone's business, when it's starts spreading like wild fire because of their stupidity, it might hit who you know. Please call the police please.

9. What a great loss. May her soul rip and may God Almighty heal the one on life support.

10. May the Lord rest her soul and I pray the other sister recovers.

This virus has taken too many lives.

I was watching the news last night and they were paying tribute to this twin sisters(nurses) who died 3 days apart from each other from covid-19. It was disheartening.

1. Meaning the elder is now dead?

2. EYeah! God have mercy.RIP the dead and Devine healing to the sis.in ICU.

3. I don't think she's referring to the two sisters in this post.

4. So so sad. Rest in peace to the deceased and quick recovery to the other sister. God, please take this evil virus away

5. They are not the one oo, there are Caucasian twins who died two nd one was a nurse, I think those ones were the one you are talking about , these ones are Naija and are not twins and one is obviously in ICU

6. Anony 16:04
      Please read again.

There are many siblings out in the field and are being interviewed by news channels,watch them to understand her reference.

7. 14.33 and 16.04, you didn't understand
      my comment. I am talking about a set of twins in their 30s/40s who died 3 days apart from each other. They were also nurses. Thanks xp for taking your time to explain.

11. God , please heal the sick one and comfort her family.

12. I'm heartbroken! May God console them. God please protection my sister who is a Medical Doctor and all other health care professionals all over the world!

Chai

13. I feel so sad for them..Lord we need your divine intervention

14. God have MERCY.. May her soul rest in peace ...Amen

15. Please Lord, have mercy and heal the world. This is heartbreaking.

16. A friend overseas speculated that those responsible for the virus infiltrated these countries since last year. Seems the capsules containing these virus have been placed in obscure places and the virus released from time to time. He likened the capsules to dos automated airfreshners. What do you guys think?

17. This story made me sad, as I live and work in the UK, within the medical field,( not a nurse),to think that some silly people who have been brainwashed by Pastors and Politicians alike do not believe in this virus beggars belief...to wish anyone what this two women and many more have been gone through is far from what I would do, otherwise one would have wished all those who don't believe the same consequences...

18. God spared my wife from the same covid-19 in the same last two weeks. She works with the NHS and got infected. Two patients that their covid-19 results came back negative eventually tested positive few days later. However, when the results were negative, protocol was relaxed around them. We believe this was when she got exposed to the virus. NHS healthcare workers are not properly protected from this thing! I just thank God that I did not loose her. She came so close to the edge.

1. How lucky your wife is.God's name be praised.
      God is Rapha!

2. God will continue to protect your household even as she was looking out and caring for others in Jesus Name. As a Medical Provider in the US, loss of 50,000 American lives is stunning and very concerning. Unfortunately as I told a friend and NHS colleague, the whole world needs to pray for who becomes the President of the US. If we had a cerebral president, the global pandemic offices staffed with scientists and cia with a location in China would have given a different president a head start as we now believe this virus started spreading since November last year.

If Obama or even George Bush was President, the US would have taken leadership and like H1N1, and Ebola where the US military built hospitals overseas to prevent it from becoming a pandemic, it may not have become a pandemic.

It saddens me to see some Nigerians hailing Trump. He has blood, the blood of 50,000 plus on his hands as NYT detailed all the missed opportunities he had to contain it worldwide and take the leadership role America, it’s military and scientists have always held. It’s also annoying that his base of illiterate ignorant supporters are like northern Nigerian igmoramuses who don’t believe the virus exists and want the “freedom” to die and kill others.
      Imagine a president tweeting “liberate Michigan”. Nigerians in naija, Trump hates blacks, he issued an order that we cannot file for our relatives again as Nigerian Americans, do you see any black person other than Ben Carson of the “gifted hands” fame in his cabinet? Where did he assign the best ever pediatric neurosurgeon ever, Housing and Urban Development Secretary or Ghetto minister as “urban” is a dog whistle for ghetto. A non racist president would have put Ben Carson in Health not that he would listen as he is not known to listen to his advisers and fires any adviser that contradicts him! Let’s all repent and ask God for mercy. The Bible says “ if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray, then I will hear from heaven and heal their land”. May we all receive the spirit of repentance and may the Good God hear us and heal our lands from Nigeria to Europe to The US to Canada as He said “wheresoever the soles of your feet shall thread, I have given you for your possession”. A Nigerian nurse, an RCCG member just died yesterday in the US and was completely without symptoms. She reportedly walked into the hospital herself and was just 58 years old. May God help us!

19. Na wah oo..COVID-19 steadily taking people adding value to the society. This is sad. May her soul rest in peace and may the sister recover soonest.

20. May God continue to protect all the frontlines fighting against the deadly covid 19.

21. My mum is also nurse.i don beg her tire to stop work but she believe so much in her Covid concoction drink plus rinsing her mouth frequently, I blame WhatsApp for all this, people spreading unverified information on WhatsApp please stop. She keeps sending them to me..one doctors this ..another doctor that... I have begged her to stop work because Uk government are not protecting their staff, they use very minimum ppe. Most times she takes her own ppe to work.
    I am so vexed and scared all they can do is clap. Clapping is not enough. Protect your staff.
    End of rant

1. Me I stopped clapping last Thursday o. Please continue to appeal to your mum.

As for those that are always quick to assume abroad is heaven and everything is perfect, hope you all realise nowhere is perfect. Do your best wherever you find yourself.

22. Oh so touching.Goodnight Mrs Akinsanya,God please heal Mrs Idowu.

Got counselled online for hours by a Psychologist at the initial stage of this scourge but I got calm weeks later,my eldest sis and the twin ladies after her all out there battling this scourge, they drop messages in the family whatsapp once in a while because they are fighting DEATH,not easy but we trust in God.
    Our Dad isn't moved one bit, he maintains the other doctors are people's children too and they are holding on.

23. This is heartbreaking! I feel bad for all the families that have lost their loved ones to the hands of this deadly virus.

May God rest the soul of the dead.

24. So sad!!!!
    May her soul rest in peace..

God please heal her sister speedy in Jesus name. Amen Amen and Amen Amen and Amen..

God show us mercy and heal the World.

25. This is so sad. May God rest her soul and heal the other sister.
    COVID19 be gone in Jesus name.

26. May her soul RIP...
    Lord please heal her sis🙏

27. This is disheartening, rip to her.
    Heal her sister lord and protect the rest of us in Jesus name.

28. This is so so heartbreaking.Oh God comfort them

29. This is saddening.. may God grant her eternal rest.