Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ogun Indigenes Call For The Removal Of Gov Abiodun Over Series Of Robbery Attacks And Fear

Sunday, April 12, 2020

Ogun Indigenes Call For The Removal Of Gov Abiodun Over Series Of Robbery Attacks And Fear

Indigenes of Ogun State are calling for the removal of Governor Dapo Abiodun, following series of armed robbery attacks ravaging Ifo, Agbado, Ijoko, Sango-Ota, Iju and adjoining communities.

In a video made available to Daily post, the people of the areas covering Ifo and Ado-Odo/Ota Local Governments, want President Muhammadu Buhari to declare a state of emergency in Ogun.

19 suspected cultists, who reportedly resorted to armed robbery since the beginning of COVID-19 lockdown, were arrested by the police But, instead of normalcy returning to the areas, the people said they could not sleep overnight as houses were invaded by the robbers.

They said the armed robbers invaded in groups to attack the people, alleging that the police have not done enough to nip the crisis in the bud.

Gov Abiodun however he is on top of the situation.

In a statement made available by the Senior Special Assistant to Abiodun on New Media, Emmanuel Ojo, the Governor said:

“The attention of the Ogun State Government has been drawn to incidences of violence, alleged robberies and related crimes resurfacing in the State, especially in the Sango-Ifo axis.

“The Government has not only moved swiftly into action, the affected towns including but not limited to Sango, Ijoko, Ifo, among others are currently under substantial security surveillance.

“The State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun stated this, as he disclosed that he had communicated with all relevant agencies and mandated them, especially the State Command of the Nigeria Police to ensure law and order in all the affected areas, as well as the entire state

“The Government had earlier seen to the arrest of some suspects, as carried out by the Police, is in connection with the chain of unrest in the affected localities.

“Initial arrests notwithstanding, the State Police Command yesterday is not leaving any stone unturned as the command has arrested more suspects, and investigation is currently ongoing. Suspects in custody continue to provide helpful information.

“The State Government wishes to reiterate its commitment to the security of lives and property.

“We wish to assure the entire citizenry of adequate security and our dedication to the safety of the people, and we urge everyone not to panic, as the situation is under control.”

33 comments:

1. Stella come see how citizens dey defend themselves. Most of them didn't sleep oo, they had to stay awake through the night, still on still some places where still raided

This is where FSARS are supposed to move in action, but no, na to dey collect awoof money dem like. Mtcheew

1. Amokete nko

2. My parents stay at ijaiye .....all lanlords,infact everybody stay out at nights.

My mum said they were all outside overnight and only went in 5am to sleep.So now they sleep during the day and stay awake at nights.

3. Soon, they will switch to robbing during the day when they are sleeping.

2. 2 of my colleagues live in agbado,they said they dont sleep at night,that even in broad day light the robbers still attack ,one said she had to run with her family to somewhere else.The govt should do something about it

3. This is one of the negative effects of the lock down. The president is announcing lock down without considering the average Nigerian like us who can't afford lock down for more than 1week. No measures put in place to assist the masses, govt is there sharing audio money and audio foodstuffs.
    It's only a matter of time before this leads to a chaos cos an hungry man is an angry man.
    Very soon people will start revolting.
    I hope by then the government put us in consideration.

1. If you can't afford lock down, go out and get infected.
      It's a two ways thing.
      You guys are just too entitled.

2. Really cant understand your point here,where there no robberies before COVID 19 Pandemic?

3. anonymous 10.12 there has been robbery case before covid 19 but it wasn't this bad.

4. Calling for his removal being the head of security apparatus? Misguided aggression.

1. Yes..Is the head of the state security but calling fir his removal is just an online joke.

2. Misguided aggression you say? Do you know what we've been going through?
      Gunshots everywhere
      Sleepless nights
      Daylight robbery for more than 3hours and no security agent could be reached

Please don't annoy me this morning

3. See this guy call Don is too gullible . we are talking of robbery even during day light ٫ two landlord and a paga guy was killed ٫ women were raped٫ you are there yarning dust٫ i pray you don't experience such. we didn't sleep at night ٫ gunshot everywhere .

5. How can you shamelessly steal from someone at this critical time? Some people wickedness pass covid-19. Oh Allah heal the world.

6. I watched Contagious last 9t exactly what played out in d movie. Pple started attacking houses to carry food supply. Na Real wa

7. We haven't slept for the past 3days
    Daylight robbery yesterday

Gunshots everywhere last night, had to carry my baby and keep inside my oldfreezer

The government has failed us

1. Wow... so sad! Feel like giving you a big hug. All will be well

2. Are you mad? Your baby could have died. Do you know how many children have accidentally died from being locked in old refrigerators or freezers?

8. Removal of a governor in Nigeria just like that?
    Seems some people lost their sense.

1. It’s you that have lost ur senses. State of emergency was declared in Ekiti and the Governor was removed. There are precedents for this and it’s also in the constitution.

9. Stella, we didn't sleep all through the night o. They almost entered our compound. I just thank God that they did not succeed. The compound opposite us that they entered, they took their phones, money and gadgets.

My children were just scared. Iam just trying to sleep now.

May God protect us.

1. Chai!!!
      Too bad..

I pray for God's protection and safety.

Father intervene Ooooo

2. It is well. God continue to protect your household

10. Audio governor ٫ stella robbers are terrorizing ogun even during the day٫ we dont sleep at night٫ our men are boys are doing vigilante for us٫ everybody carry rake٫ shovel٫ mopping stick٫ cutlass ٫ pako anything you see carry ٫ those boys are numbering upto 50٫ awon omo oshi jatijato

11. Stella, this is true oo, we didn't sleep all through the night, everyone turn vigilante. Heard two people were killed yesterday.

12. It was terrible..they sent SMS to the chairman of our CDS that they will come on Friday night that we should keep something for them. And truly they came with full bus, robbing and killing people that didn't give them money. My brother have to bring out 50K in case they enter our house. That night was the longest night ever in my life, holding my Bible and Rosary from 12am to 4am praying. Luckily for us, they didn't enter our house.

13. Abuleegba to Ile iwe is not safe anymore...even daytime robbery.

I slept around 5 cos of fear of the unknown...God see us through

14. The worst part of it is that their parents live in these communities and know what their wasted kids that should have been flushed out as menstrual cycle or aborted are doing, these so called parents aid the kids,one million boys and awawa boys headquartered at the Lagos piggery farm