Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police Arrest Pilots Who Flew In Expatriates Into Rivers State Despite Airspace Closure..

Wednesday, April 08, 2020

Police Arrest Pilots Who Flew In Expatriates Into Rivers State Despite Airspace Closure..

Rivers state commissioner of Police (CP), Mustapha Dandura Tuesday said he arrested two pilots who flew yet to be identified passengers into the state, despite the border, airport closure order.

The Passengers who are suspected to be expatriates are said to have entered the state through Carveton Helicopters.

Dandaura disclosed this while briefing Governor Nyesom Wike at the command head office in Port Harcourt Tuesday.
He told Wike that the command arrested the pilot and co-pilot who ferried the passengers into the state.

The CP said that the pilots violated the regulations regarding the safety of the state .He said: “Recall that when this coronavirus issues started, there was ban of local flight from coming into the State. Since that time we have been monitoring the activities of these private airlines.

“To our surprise, we received an intelligence report that an aircraft has landed at the Airforce base and that it was carrying some passengers.

“We have apprehended the Pilot and the Co-pilot and that’s why they alerted the chief executive Governor of the state who had given an order that on no account should any aircraft land on Rivers State without clearance.

“We don’t know the people they brought. Whether they are positive or negative of Coronavirus. Where are they heading to and where they came from.
He commended Governor Wike for his commitment to the protection of Rivers people.
 from nationonline

*They should also fish out the foreigners and arrest them for entering a locked down city despite warnings......Arrest them as well!!!!

18 comments:

1. Good one by the governor... They should have known better that this isn't a good time for his Excellency who is still feeling pained over the Covid-19 fund yet to be received from the federal government to the state.

Stella, truth is that the borders are closed but some people are still traveling and entering the state. Yesterday, an Hausa guy was boasting that he came back from North on Friday and I asked him how come? For I thought border was closed. He said, they are the ones that own the country. I asked again, didn't Army and police stop you guys on the road or did you people pay to be allowed? He said no. That there buses where over ten and on convoy.

Now you can see the selective measure we have in the system. Don't doubt me, people are traveling to and fro even in the border closure.

1. You for tell am to carry the country go grave when he dies na. very foolish talk. No be only own the country na own him farm land.

2. These are oil Company workers-those on the rig. They are given exemption-essential service workers. Emperor Wike is angry that they didn't give him as much money as Lagos to fight Corona. He is trying to flex. These workers have been coming and going. Our rigs are not shut down.

3. Anonymous 09:35, you still don't get it. What if these workers have the virus in them? We shouldn't be sentimental here cos it's Wike. All Wike is saying is that, they should have been cleared first before entering. The fact they are rig workers doesn't mean they're immune to the Virus.

4. @annon 09:35, that is the more reason why they have to be checked. Why enter a country or a state when there's airspace closure, how do we know if they have coro, mind you e no dey show for face oo. They should be clamped or be isolated to avoid stories that touch.

5. Anon are you serious????
      My friend has been offshore since the inception of the lockdown. He said they can't leave until the lockdown is lifted. I don't know where you are getting your own info oh

6. Dose offshore can leave,but they have to have clearance 1st. Don't no his own platform sha. Hubby just signed some people to go change some others out. But they went through a lot of security and medical checks.

2. You guys should make sure you also arrest those passengers as well. I don't know why is so difficult for people to adhere to simply instructions.

3. Very good one from the governor.Expatriates my foot!

4. A pilot can’t just enter an airplane and fly off. There has to be a flight plan cause you just don’t enter any airspace without authorization.
    A proper investigation should be done.

1. Oga na helicopter dem use

2. Nigerian airspace belongs the FG who has overriding powers over the states. The helicopter company must have cleared with FAAN b4 taking off & landing.

Rivers state govt is hitting beyond its weight

3. @upniyi, and what if they pose a threat to the state?

4. My point is, why arrest the pilots alone? They are on orders. You don’t know how these airline owners behave sometimes.

5. Teejay@ there is no threat,WIKE complained some days ago and his response from FG wasn't favourable to his request for funds like Lagos got,so he is trying to use the Pilots as scape goats.
    These staffs are essential workers and have been given pass from FG, FAAN and NAMA who handles the airspace
    We should stop turning every event in nigeria to politics. The pilots would just suffer from the power tussle and the company would suffer while WIKE still remains the govern but I believe he is aware of all the documentation given to them by FG.
    There is no need to arrest them, ask the govt for permission to screen them period. Are the airscape not closed but we have foreigns travelling out daily. He is pained PH airport is not been used so no revenue is coming in from aviation.

1. Let's say he's pained, he has every right to be pained.

6. Let me throw more light on what I think actually happened. I am on an offshore facility at the moment, a drilling rig to be precise. People still go for time off as we call it and their back to back come to replace them. On this rig, your back to back will self isolate at home for 14 days and then move into the company facility for quarantine for another 7 days before been allowed to go to the rig. In this case, they were been flown from another state to Rivers state, not from the rig to the state or from the state to the rig

7. Stella, there's more to this story. Firstly, it was not a chopper, it was an aeroplane. it was a scheduled flight for transporting Shell staff, with authorisation from FAAN and other federal agencies whom control the airspace. There were no expats on that flight. Caverton is just caught up in Wike's fight with FG