Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Smoking Of Cigarettes And Weed Is A Coronavirus Risk .....

Saturday, April 11, 2020

Smoking Of Cigarettes And Weed Is A Coronavirus Risk .....

Experts are warning smokers that even occasional puffs are damaging to the respiratory system, which could worsen symptoms associated with COVID-19.

“Because it attacks the lungs, the coronavirus that causes COVID-19 could be an especially serious threat to those who smoke tobacco or marijuana, or who vape,” says the National Institute on Drug Abuse in a recent announcement.

And that advice could harsh the mellow of more than 43 million Americans age 12 or older who reported smoking cannabis in the past year, according to a 2018 National Survey on Drug Use and Health.

A recent Post report revealed that smoking herb may be on the rise, too, as illegal weed dealers in NYC have seen a spike in sales of 50 percent during the global health crisis.Enlarge ImageAFP via Getty Images

“What happens to your airways when you smoke cannabis is that it causes some degree of inflammation, very similar to bronchitis, very similar to the type of inflammation that cigarette smoking can cause,” pulmonologist Dr. Albert Rizzo, chief medical officer for the American Lung Association, tells CNN.

“Now you have some airway inflammation and you get an infection on top of it,” Rizzo says. “So, yes, your chance of getting more complications is there.”

The addition of the virus only adds fuel to the flame, he says.

“You’re already making your body fight off foreign particles before it even has to fight off the infection.”

Dr. Mitchell Glass, a pulmonologist and spokesperson for the American Lung Association, adds that cannabis, which often causes a dry cough, can also complicate the diagnostic process.

“COVID-19 is a pulmonary disease,” he tells CNN. “You don’t want to do anything that’s going to confound the ability of health care workers to make a rapid, accurate assessment of what’s going on with you.”

Daily, or “chronic,” cannabis smoking can cause what “looks a lot like chronic bronchitis, which is of course one of the terms we use for chronic obstructive lung disease, or COPD,” Glass says.

Those with COPD or any other respiratory illness, including lung disease or asthma, are at a high risk of developing severe complications due to the coronavirus, which may result in the need for a ventilator to breathe.

And while smoking that green may seem harmless compared to cigarettes, Glass does point out some unique characteristics of weed that differ from tobacco.

“Marijuana burns at a much, much lower temperature than a commercially made cigarette,” says Glass. “Because of that, the person is inhaling a certain amount of unburnt plant material,” which could irritate the lungs in a way similar to common allergens, such as ragweed, birch and oak pollen, he explains.

“So right off the bat there are those patients who would be increasingly susceptible to having a bronchospasm or cough because they have a more sensitive airway.”
from New York post.

29 comments:

1. Very true. My doc told me as long as i dont smoke or vape i can continue goin to work. Just make sure u use PPE since am high risked.

2. If there's ever a thing I appreciate myself the most in life, I think that will be for not being a smoker. I would have been a chain smoker and a strong addicts to it if I was one.

Most guys I know who smoke always cough all the time. It takes great discipline to quit smoking.

1. So how did you know you would have been a chain smoker or a strong addict while you've never smoked oga?

2. Me too,I have this feeling that I would have been a badass smoker if I had ever picked up a cigarette stick.

3. Self righteous muchπŸ˜’πŸ˜’πŸ˜’

3. Oh pls!!! I don't smoke but weed is amazing and medicinal.. They will do everything to stop marijuana πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

1. Get educated dear,it’s for your own good. 90% of those covid patients are ex and current smokers ,marijuana might expose you to chronic obstructive pulmonary disease .

2. How do you know this? Did you conduct the study yourself?

3. Pls shift! The daily medication you take was made from marijuana plants, but they won't tell you this because it's a massive business in the world that's why they made it illegal but approved tobacco that kills...

4. Weed is amazing and medicinal..πŸ₯°
      May you live long AQ..

5. Aproko Queen, I completely disagree with you!! Not all medication is made from marijuana!!! You sha want to continue to smoke! No one is stopping you but just remember the risk factors in smoking.

4. Some men that love deceiving themselves will tell you there's nothing wrong with smoking weed. Even some very silly and spoilt ladies say so too.

1. My husband is on this table, i will show πŸ‘† him this to read, i hardly allow him to come close to me as i don talk tire.
      As i love him so much but this smoking is tearing us apart.

2. Check Aproko Queen's comment up thereπŸ‘†

3. Lol..
      Just look at how you’re Bravely, Boldly and Coolly talking in the nonsense..
      Tueh..

4. There's nothing wrong with smoking weed as long as it's not an addiction.

5. Madam Jules, you have a problem with the comment? I already said it hun

6. Dear Perxian.. Have you ever met a weed smoker that wasnt addicted to it? continue deceiving yourself

5. One of those ways that God warn mankind to avoid destroying themselves.
    If all the preaching was not entering.
    "Corona" has come to tell them in another way. But you know what?
    It is bondage, if they want to tell themselves the truth. Jesus saves from bondages. 🎈🎈

6. Smokers will tell you their grandfathers who smoked lived up to be 120 years before they died

7. Don't you think that's why most western countries have high death rate in this corana thing and África has less... Those guys smoke a lot and don't hide it unlike people here.

1. The reason why corona kills more people in europe & america is also due to cold weather that viral flu symptom diseases thrive on.
      We r lucky in a way for that in west africa now. But nevertheless, nigerian govt & citizens need to be disciplined, vigilant & cautious to to stop the spread of infection!!!
      Because imagine corona overwhelming europe & america healthcare systems, then 'll wipe of african countries from the map if it spreads without control now.

8. The funny thing is this information does absolutely nothing for people that smoke. There's nothing you can tell them...they will still smoke...heck its written clearly on the pack of the ciggs "smokers are liable to die young" and they still go ahead and buy it!!

1. You dey mind them. That stuff is addictive like crazy and it only takes Gods grace to break out of it

9. A Word is enough for the wise