Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Donates $21.4m To Support Nigeria's Fight Against Covid-19

Friday, April 24, 2020

US Donates $21.4m To Support Nigeria's Fight Against Covid-19

The United States Government, through the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) and Department of State has announced that new funding for Nigeria for prevention and mitigation of the coronavirus pandemic has reached $21.4 million (approximately N8.3b).

A statement issued by the US embassy in Abuja said approximately four fifths of the assistance – nearly $18 million (N7billion) – will go towards humanitarian assistance and includes for risk communication, water and sanitation activities, infection prevention, and coordination, and humanitarian assistance for refugees, internally displaced persons (IDPs), and their host communities.

"The U.S. government is leading the world’s humanitarian and health response to the COVID-19 pandemic even while we battle the virus at home,” U.S. Ambassador Mary Beth Leonard said of the assistance.

From Daily Trust

*Thank you to the US but this money will enter audio mode once they transfer it...I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE GOVERNMENT DOES WITH ALL THE MONIES MEANT TO BETTER THE LIVES OF ITS CITIZENS.....Yes,I am shouting out my lungs because it is so sad!!!

42 comments:

1. Thank you United States Government. The money will still disappear like others after somebody will tell me that APC government is not corrupt. CRIMOS!!!!!

1. Thank u o Stella !!!!! The money will enter voice mail like the others !!!

2. Plenty people will be launching new cars and doing housewarming after this Covid 19 pandemic.

—Yummy Mummy in England

3. Nice one U.s
    F.G should try and make proper
    Use of the money for the sake
    Of the masses.

The one them loot don do.
    Make them use this one
    Fight corona abeg.

1. My dear sister don't bother,this country is hopeless with the leaders we have.

4. 😭😭
    I'm honestly not happy about these donations, cos our leaders are so avaricious, obdurate and conceited.
    The real purpose for which this money is donated wouldn't be actualized.

1. My dear the money will enter voice mail..
      Na today!!!

2. @Catwoman can you please teach me igbo?
      One language I really want to learn.

5. US please dont send money just buy the kits we need to fight the virus send them to us. We are in need of testing kits and PPE.

6. Nigeria govt what are you doing with all the monies donated to you. Na eye we take dey see figures, nobody gives account of what its been used for. This isnt fair. You people are worse than the covid19 virus.

7. USA tried but didn't do rightly by giving the money to our rulers. They will just swallow it and show us empty hand.
    It is well with Us!!

8. Thanks to the USA and other countries/people donating towards this cause.
    Our leaders will pocket the money, it's very obvious. No palliatives around here yet finance minister said they are transferring money and giving 'poor people' cash. Pls what is the criteria?? Some people depend on their daily histle to be able to feed. This lockdown has prevented people from hustling yet no relieve package/palliates.
    If the corona doesnt kill then maybe hunger will but by the grace if God, there'll be a way out of this.

9. US Government you've done your part but would Nigeria Government do theirs?

Thank you all the same.

10. Thanks USA for this, bu I am not happy cos we all know our government and how they handle money.

11. Stella, I follow you dey shout oooo. Ezigbo Nsogbu dikwa.

12. They will just share the money among themselves

13. Baba Old soldier and his surrounding contributing shehus
    pocket money don land 😏😊😊😊😊

14. Who dey receive all these monies/money sef? Who dey sign the documents? Finance Minister, Humanitarian side chic to Buhari I dey watch Una o.

15. Money when go enter voicemail immediately them send am across😩

Na our wicked politicians we need to defeat first if we ever stand a chance against corona

16. I hope the government will use the money for its purpose. A lot of groups, individuals etc have given money to Nigeria yet hunger is still high.😢

17. Hmm,but we all know this money will enter voice mail once they receive.God please help the needy and the helpless.sigh!

18. But we know this money will enter voice mail once they receive it.God please help the needy and the helpless.Sigh!.

19. How i wish the money will be used for the purpose
    God bless the US.

20. Another millions/billions to be eaten by our politicians and their associate.

21. Sometimes i Wonder what is their catch, I mean why do these foreign bodies keep donating when they are fully aware of where it ends up, why?
    Them they buy something from our corrupt leaders wey we no know?

1. The money ends up back in their pockets at the end of it. Do you know how much looted funds Swiss banks have in their coffers? Easy cash they can lend out and use to grow their economy. Bloody thieves together with our politicians.

22. Am not happy hearing the donations, with Nigerian government it won't make any changes on masses

23. I am 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭, because the money will just disappear into the air.
    I weep😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭for my dear country.

24. They should stop sending o. Nothing they are doing with the money so far!

25. Thank you USA. This is a good one. Please, the government of Nigeria should test all the protective kits that are are coming from China and Jack Mia. Because Nigeria case is rising every day. Lord have mercy on us and the world.

26. Dear U.S and other potential donors, please we the citizens of Nigeria have bank akant and our akant don't use to reject money. Please ehn direct wire of the funds to our aza no go bad na

27. Stella no be small shout oo. Once the money gets to Nigeria, that's the end. You won't hear anything again. It is well with us.

28. The N50million that Alhaji Atiku Abubakar donated to Buhari's government. If only he had given the money directly to the people through their BVNs and other arrangements, the avalanche of prayers and goodwill from the poor masses would have lifted his son out of his coronavirus illness long time ago. But he wanted to impress his fellow Fulani man Buhari while the poor are still hungry. All these politicians are the same and remember the masses only when it's time to manipulate them for elections.

29. A corrupt government that refused to account for how it spent the Abacha loot that you people returned to it, you are now giving it another$21,4million. What a careless, meaningless waste of money.