Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Market Survey Of Foodstuff In Nigeria.....

Monday, May 25, 2020

Market Survey Of Foodstuff In Nigeria.....

The prices of food items in Nigeria have reportedly sky rocked due to the Coronavirus pandemic...
What places can one find cheap food stuff right now in Nigeria?
What are the price differences?which particular food items are more expensive now?

59 comments:

1. The saddest part is that most if not all of these stuffs that their prices have all been increased will not return back to the real price even after a long time😩....This our country sha, nobody send or cares about the common man just trying to survive

1. True fact,you will start to hear stipuid excuses, except the government comes in.

2. Northern bride25 May 2020 at 10:53

Even the common man does not care about the common man cos that is he saddest part

3. You need to see the size of ugu 200 naira in my area and when I asked Y mama said corona make everything high, mama's farm is not too far from where she sells her ugu oo we just like taking advantage of a situation

4. I bought garri basin of 3k5 for 5k5. Bread of 250 now 450. It's well. I have started making those things i can do by myself. Things like bread. Planted cassava on my land,waiting to harvest it. Will pay people to process the garri for me when its time.

5. I took this time out to start a small garden in my compound.
      I have always wanted to start one but was always busy.
      Right now i dont buy any leaf.
      Meet all those people that sell flowers and buy all the seedlings you want.
      I have tomatoes, ugu, scent leave, onions, bitter leaf etc
      My girl even planted cocoyam and a few other things.
      Its not like i cant afford it, but i have it at my own disposal.
      I go to the garden every evening to do a little work, and feel a certain peace when i am there.

6. wow that’s very nice and the best way to go @ Bv push up πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

7. Northern bride !! πŸ™ŒπŸ½πŸ™ŒπŸ½πŸ™ŒπŸ½
      Fact !!!!

8. Thanks dear @isacc

2. Rice.... We bought a bag of local rice 20k around March, now it's 26k!

Almost everything, even beverages have added price since Rona.

3. I shop for my foodstuff at mile 12 market and the prices are quite reasonable.

4. Though they are still expensive compared to the way it was.

1. EVERYTHING is damn expensive now especially if you can't afford to buy in bulk. Beans,garri,bread ,rice nko, gbogbo everything ni; sugar isn't left out.

2. Na that sugar dey surprise me pass,like seriouslyπŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„Sugar is so scarce in my area,price of garri,rice,spaghetti and many more don increase,beans is still ok.

5. I love you Stella!!! Thank you for doing this! I was the person who requested this a few days ago in SP.

Milo is 1500. My beloved Ovalitine is nearing 3k. I'm done family with chocolate beverages honestly. πŸ˜…
    Let me just find innovative ways to drink Lipton. 😭

1. why not buy the satchet chocolate beverage

2. I buy the satchet too some times o.
      A roll is 400,
      A small size full packaged is 450, another 900.i don't even go for tin.i buy refill

3. Refill milo is 1k in my end, i had to buy peak choco refill which was 700. It is crazy especially when you have growing children.
      I can't give children within the ages of 4-6years Lipton na

4. I do go to barracks market in ojo to buy cocoa, milk, sugar and corn starch then I grind them together to make my very own beverage I can't be wasting money on bornvita alagolo πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

5. Milo is #950,loya milk is also #950 for the refill I don't need their container πŸ˜€
      @nne Nwa God will continue to provide for us especially if you and your kids like to take tea πŸ˜€

6. Amen @mum SDKπŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

6. Stella, a tuber of yam is now 2000 Naira in my area. 4 seeds of tomato is 500. 7 pieces of plantain is 1200. Goat meat leg is 5,500.

1. Chai
      2k!!!
      And i was complaining when i bought one tuber for 900 naira recently at igbudu market..
      It is well.

2. Na shoprite you dey buy your things? Go to good local market and try another supermarket.

Truly prices have increased but not outrageous except if you buy the yam as told without haggling price....

3. That's high o.here you have 5 small pieces for 1k,then bigger size containing 5 pieces also,1500,then another again which is the biggest,2k.

4. Aaaahhh anonymous fear God na..πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Kilode.. 4 seeds of tomatoes #500.. Aaahhh

Are you living in Antarctica or polar region?

5. If you live in Lagos try buying your food stuff in Oyingbo, things are a lot cheaper there

6. Yam is on another level now. I might be substituting with potatoes if the hike continues. I can't kee myself

7. I tell you @Chummy, I have substituted for sweet potatoes, i can't buy yams now, they are too too expensive..

8. Yam is now dry and expensive Abeg let me stick to potatoes for now

9. Yam is for the wealthy ones now. I don't even see when I go to the market. My eyes are on lockdown when it's comes to yam please

10. Annon 10:11 I disagree totally with you, efiaaa , it's not possible. Don't hike prices here cos we are talking of things happening in the market. Yes things have really gone up but what you wrote up there is an exaggeration.

You can still get good and sizable yam at 1000 naira, enough fresh tomatoes for 500 naira to make a meal. Goatleg , you can get it comfortably at 2000 naira etc.

Things are really high now,yes , but you can still cook a reasonable pot of stew or soup with 4k to 5k. Shikena.

Mind you this is not food season, ie, yam, plantain, veggies etc. At least from August, food items will be harvested and things will reduce, Isha Allah. Peace out ✌ ✌

7. Things are seriously expensive, from pepper to Yam to beverages even soap,rice. All our daily needs have added price. The only thing that did not increase is beans.
    If you buy something for N10 today, you can buy it for N50 tomorrow.
    There's no body to regulate prices of goods and services in Nigeria and it's so sad because salary has not increased.
    Let's not even talk about transport fare in Lagos. SMH but God dey. We shall survive.

1. Yes o, beans did not increase.
      I bought butter beans for 330 per mudu the other day

8. Good Morning everyone and Stella, This week shall be fruitful in JESUS NAME AMEN.
    The prices of food stuffs and provision has increased and i'm wondering why? I concluded that some producers , wholesalers and retailers are just greedy. In my area during the lock down the market women complained about no transport to go to mile 12 that was the reason for the increase. Now there's transport why the increase ?I really feel for the commoners . For me and my family GOD has been faithful .

9. Someone bought 3 tubers of yam in PH for 4500. I don't know if it's true.

1. It is a size that is not too big is 1200

10. Here in the north,five medium size of yam is 2500 as against 1500 or 1800,the grains didn't add much,100 or 50 naira difference,but pepper and tomato is now ahia iwu(high commodity)but God day sha,Las Las we go dey alright

11. It is well. I pray we survive

12. Food stuff prices have really gone up. I help people shop for food stuff around ikorodu. I used to go to mile 12 but the transport fare now is not smiling so I shop in Sabo market.

If you live around Ikorodu the best place to shop is at SABO market, although its one day on and one day off.

I went on Saturday Tomatoe king rice is still 22k for a bag.
    Honey beans 1300 paint bucket
    Normal beans 900 paint bucket
    Cray fish is 500 for a derica
    Egusi 300 for a derica
    Ogbono is 1700 for a derica
    Dry pepper (atagungun) 1000 per derica

Just to mention a few.

It is well with our country I hope the prices drop soon

1. Yes,Sabo market for us in Ikorodu.

2. Davies Remy Thank you so much for this.

13. The price hike is too much. Everything is quite high. Noodles that was 50 is now 60. Satchet tomatoes is now 70 May God help us all

1. Buying in bulk is cheaper,like indomie noodles is 2k per carton of 40pcs,that's 50naira per one and you can buy quarter carton,Gino satchet tomatoes is 230 for a roll of 5pcs,make we dey manage buy am small small like that instead of buying single piece.

14. I live in Abuja. The cost of a few things have gone up but only slightly. I usually buy yams btw February and March for use till new yams come out. I bought 25tubers at Masaka b4 the lock down commenced. I still bought #150 worth of tomatoes on Saturday. I think it depends on ones location.
    I really can't say about rice cuz I got a bag of local rice in February.
    However, the cost of fish is high.
    In all, i would say the cost of things will always be described in relative terms, depends on one's pocket. If mobility isn't a problem, Orange market is very ok. Maraba, Nyanya, Karu, dei-dei, gwagwa etc All in Abuja.
    Sometimes, if you can pool resources 2gether, u buy 2gether and share amongst ursef

1. This is a very good point as well.
      Pooling seems to be very cost effective.
      I live in Abuja as well.

2. You are very correct @anon12:01
      I live in abuja as well. Nyanya precisely

3. Food items are way cheaper in Abuja, was marveled when I visited Abuja and followed my sister to Nyanya and Deidie.
      Things have added in prices but I believe it will come down when the farmers start harvesting (perishables ). Other things dey God hands. It's well

15. I don't even know how much certain items cost anymore, I just pick them, go to the counter and pay using pos and don't bother checking the receipt, when you re bothered by other things, prices of food will be the least of your concern😳.. But no matter how expensive things get, the poor will always survive by God's grace.

16. I reckon you contribute with family/friends and buy in bulk if you cant afford buying in bulk alone. Foodstuff and essentials are quite pricey now. As at last week saturday. Basket of tomatoes was 9k
    Bag of tatashe 13k, rodo wasn't cheap either.. knoor chicken is now 600, I bought 5 medium yams for 3800, carton of good mama detergent 2300, carton of hypo 1300. Roll of milo is still 400 though and a roll of loya milk is 450. Its advisable to buy in big markets and in bulk.. down the street traders are cheats.

17. Honestly,even sugar. Its not even funny the way things has increased,not 100naira or 200 naira increase o,way more than that.Even things that dey get in their own farm,they r blaming coro for d increase.We are actually the problem of ourselves in this country

18. My sister,we are. Eating 3square meal for an average Nigerian is difficult.

19. we dey God hand oooo.it is well

20. Why is the government not coming down on price gougers, it is a crime. People should not have to be looking up and down for cheap food, it is the government's responsibility to be on foot and dealing with price gougers and putting up strict rules against it and having the public notify them of those who are inflating prices during the pandemic. Nigerian government is so reactive, they are never proactive on any damn thing.