Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ASUU Says E-learning Can’t Work In Nigeria

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

ASUU Says E-learning Can’t Work In Nigeria

The Academic Staff Union of Universities, ASUU, has expressed reservation on the online learning occasioned by the closure of schools over the coronavirus pandemic, saying, it cannot work in the Universities.

Apart from the challenge of capacity requirement, the union premised its observation on the fact that “the quality in terms of content, in terms of presentation will be watered down.”

According to ASUU, online teaching required some special pedagogical skills and training of lecturers who would be involved and giving them re-orientation which takes time for them to attune their minds.

“I am even focusing on tertiary institutions now because I don’t want to go to the lower level. So if you talk of tertiary institutions, the first thing is when they don’t have the skills they will water down the quality in terms of content generation, what should go into content, it is different from loading students with materials.

“What you are going to give to the students they should be able to digest and that also requires skills in preparation. Where they cannot digest, maybe at worst, it may just be garbage in garbage out because when you digest, you will be able to ingest and when you ingest, it becomes part and parcel of you and that is when you can apply.

“Many of us that teach in face-to-face arrangement we know the difficulties we face in explaining concepts, in illustrating presentations, so that dimension will be there. The quality in terms of content, in terms of presentation will be watered down”, the President of ASUU, Prof. Biodun Ogunyemi, said in an interview with THE PUNCH.

He said, “It (virtual learning) will not work. Let’s break it down; when you talk of virtual learning practically online teaching and learning, I think the first question we need to ask ourselves is: do we have the infrastructure for that? When you talk of infrastructures in the institutions concerned, do they have facilities and if you want to take it to individuals, can they afford it?”

42 comments:

1. It wouldn't work because the facilities are not there. You can imagine students learning computer science without having or compute. And your lectures are teaching fortran 77. But sir,i beg ro differ most private university are using virtual learning and it's working. Even private secondary schools not all oh,those you pay good money for, this children are learning well.

2. Truth like the clear blue sky.
    But they won't fight for the infrastructure and training, only for their pockets. 🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️

1. πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

2. It is good when you say something you are sure about it...what do.you think the reason for the strike???????..
      What is encapsulated in the 2009 agreement that your so called government has vehemently refused to implement???
      Little wonder they say if you want to kill a black man put puti in writing
      You won't read and know the nitty gritty of an issue... ASUu even asked that govt declare a state of emergency for 5 years which would have monitoring team that schools will be unaware of from to ascertain the judicious use of funds sent to the various universities.
      You don't know..you won't ask....all people like you do is come to social media and spew rubbish...
      Keep biting Asuu and ignore your government.
      We are in this together.
      Nonsense!!

3. It can work to some extent if we decide to make it work. An average Nigerian youth burn data everyday to access Instagram, Snapchat and other social media pages. It's a matter of setting our priority right. The only area it may not work are those that involved practicals.

1. Well said,nothing is impossible!! If we are ready to make it work?It's definitely gonna work

4. hmm physical learning has it's issues not to talk of e-learning pls one step at a time FG and ASUU

5. It's not possible, Nigeria student nor dey hear word My cousin that's a student of Auchi polytechnic,had a class what'sapp group and one of their friendly lecturer was added to the group, during this pandemic that lecturer started teaching them through that group, free of charge, from the benevolence of his heart, I guess the man wanted to put what he has taught them to good use, so he woke up one morning and said they are going to write a test in the group. Na so class rep remove lecturer from group chat! and the whole class applauded him! when my cousin told me eh, I was very angry with her. Nigeria student like analog life abeg.

1. 🀣🀣🀣

2. This is not funny but I had to laugh πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

3. 20:03,it's not funny! Those students are rude! how dare you remove your lecturer from your chat room!? because he was trying to help your life without payment!?....I'm so livid!!!

4. Oh dear, I'm sooo upset!
      Can you just imagine how lazy, I mean over lazy & very silly those students are? No respect what so ever!
      Kai!
      This is so distasteful to say the least.

God bless the kind-hearted lecturer that tried to make a difference, his reward will be bountiful.

5. This is so not funny.
      but I can't help imagining the lecturer's shock of being removed by lazy Nigeria youth. πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€¦

6. If i am that lecturer, those students will write the hardest exam when they resume, and who no pass no abeg. I will fix test on the first day of lecture to carry 40 marks, since they dont want to learn.

6. At all at all. Look how me and my cousin dey struggle here. Net work is always bad. Website is always down. I just tire!

7. For now it can't work but with time and more advancement, it may.

1. Yes, it surely will get better.

8. Anybody that thinks e-learning will work in Nigeria must be a joker. Starting with expensive data among other things. ASUU told themselves the bitter truth.

1. The first question is how much data does a student need monthly? This attitude is defeatist and not fit for this age. Elearning can work if only this mentality is left in 2019. There will be challenges and there will definitely be solutions to them. For instance, I’d say 40gb monthly should be sufficient for a student per month. This isn’t based on any research but the data to conduct this research is available. How much does 40gb cost? Can the university approach a service provider to negotiate rates for students or can these be done as CSR? There are ways around these challenges, we just have to try first.

2. 40Gb is 10k with MTN. And to me its cheaper than being in the school premises. Its doable if we all work towards it.

9. Uniben should do fast and open abeg,i want to collect my Transcript haba.

Markets have opened since, so what is holding universities to open, abi are they small pikins that can't social distance.

10. Jokers. They better wake up and smell the coffee. People are earning degrees via online courses today.

1. Thank you very much. πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ
      Can’t believe majority of the comments here are supporting the write-up. Abroad, how many times do you have to be in a lecture room? For years now, a lot of Masters lectures are being held virtually and people attend. Nigerians has better wake up and smell the coffee. The current situation is literally, arm twisting us into catching up with the rest of the world but we are making excuses.

All these people are after is the cash they swindle out of students and the moment virtual learning takes over, they have lost the avenue.

11. Apart from the infrastructural aspect all what ASUU is saying is as a result of laziness and lack of zeal to align with global best practices in terms of educational development. The world is changing it our Nigerian lecturers instead of carrying out more research in the courses being thought will still be reading out notes taken since 1980s to students in 2020.
    eLearning can work if only we can change our mind set and but in a little more effort.
    My niece in SS1 some of the teachers taking some courses just go online, download a journal on a topic and send to students to copy without breaking it down for their understanding or even making attempt to explain the topic. Yet the same teacher keeps threatening the students for not submitting assignment. Why do we have text books for such classes? I don tire for this una country.

12. It will work if we are willing though it will come with alot of challenges.

13. Translation

We don't want change,our weaknesses in terms of content will be exposed, are too lazy to change and do not simply care

If he had said infrastructure it would have been understandable

14. Nigeria's not ready to attune to e-learning but it takes one step though.

15. Ko le werk. Nigeria has not develop to such systems,we will get there.

16. Hmm! It can't honestly. The funny part is d primary/sec e-learning. That one na wah. No b small wahala between me n my daughter 2days ago. She asked for my fone to do home work n i told her she shd use her textbooks or her dad's fone. Cos i dnt give her d fone. She started crying shouting on top of her voices, asking me to come and return d 2k i borrowed from her...

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ zero chill child!!

17. Once it is time for my nephew to join e-learning class that is when he is having headache. I don't blame d poor boy cos the number of subjects they do per is 7.

18. It will work if they want it to. At least National Open University is doing it why can’t they?

19. It should work, when private secondary schools have finished syllabus for the year this week, university lecturers in naija are very lazy and what they know is to sell handout and sexually molest students, don’t people do online degrees?

20. Did they just realize πŸ™„