Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Illegal Oil Wells In Residential Buildings Uncovered By The Police In Lagos

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Illegal Oil Wells In Residential Buildings Uncovered By The Police In Lagos

Operatives of the Inspector General of Police (IGP) Intelligence Response Team (IRT) have uncovered two wells at Ejigbo area of Lagos State, which are being used to siphon and sell petroleum products from a pipeline belonging to the Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

Police sources disclosed that two suspects, identified as Victoria Ogunsomi and Shafe Abayomi, owners of the wells located on No. 2 and 4, Surprise Avenue, Ejigbo, Lagos, were arrested when operatives of the IRT, headed by Deputy Commissioner of Police, Abba Kyari, got wind of their activities.

It was discovered by a team of operatives that Ogunsomi and Abayomi dug 75-foot wells in their compound, which is located few meters away from the NNPC pipeline, where they connected pipes with submersible pumps into the well to link the pipeline.

Sources explained that whenever the NNPC is transporting its products along the pipeline, Ogunsomi and Abayomi, whose buildings are located side by side, would put on their pumping machines and syphon the products into jerry cans and tanker trucks.

It was learnt that the suspects, who were alleged to have made millions of naira from the illicit business, ran into trouble when IRT operatives got wind of their activities through intelligence from some residents of the area.

The residents said they were scared of the illicit activities that could lead to fire outbreaks, after the March 15 Abule-Ado explosion

From the guardian

23 comments:

1. Wow intelligent thieves,I hope they invested,I don't blame them👀👀

1. You mean you don't blame them? Wow! What if they weren't caught and fire broke out? Thousands will die cos of their evil greedy quest to make money through this means! No matter what,this is all shade of wrong

2. You dont blame them @AMAZON, Wow, i pity this country.

3. Do these people looks like they made millions from this small scale bunkering? Some people sha,because of small change you are putting your lives in danger to steal oil,una no dey fear explosion!!!

2. Now I'm beginning to have a rethink about the cause of that explosion in Abule ado. This may have been the Cause.

1. I agree with you, but that one was massive o.

3. This is what is known as domestic or In-house oil well.

4. Oh Chim!! Why do something deadly as this? What is fire breaks out? Some people don't even have any atom of fear and compassion to others! Thousands will die if fire breaks out around there! Just cos you want to make money??

5. Wetin man go do??? Country hard

1. So man should roast himself and all his neighbours to death in an inferno because country is hard? With this kind of selfish and stupid reasoning, even heaven will be hard for people who worship their stomachs.

Country hard yet you became a landlord. Country hard yet you bought industrial pumping machine. Country hard yet you did not stop and look for an honest business to do with your stolen gain. You and these murderers are alike and would easily use people for blood money because you use the lie of hunger to satisfy unimaginable GREED.

6. See millionaires, thank God they were caught

1. That was the same thing i said when i saw her picture...

7. The only thing bad about it was the fire outbreak it might have caused if not, Kudos to them. They should have just made enough to move out to a better environment and cover the dug up wells.

We know the police will chop and clean mouth now.

8. This lady I see in this photo made millions?
    Tell us another falsehood.
    And why are the proceeds of crude oil not trickling
    down to the average Nigerians? 🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️

9. This same Ejigbo has been in the news in the past about same issue. I guess they pay their way through the case and resume their activies

10. How do people shun the risk associated with such an illicit activity.

11. Hmmmm Na waooo..They have made Millions and still look like this...Chaii These women have mind shaaa...

12. Caught again..ur time is up

13. I doubt these are the brains behind the operation. They are most likely informal employees of those who could dole out the tens of millions to buy the house, dig the wells, pump fuel and supply to filling stations and the likes. I wonder if the real owners will face jail time. Na so Obat Oil take start.

14. Am not happy they were caught, well I will put the blame to there profiles as a nobody in the country. That was why they were caught, has anyone gone to arrest Tue controller of fire fighters who bought some van for fire fighting with almost some billions of Naira? The answer is no, but they can rush to arrest them because they are not legitimately certified to steal like the people in the senate and house of Reps.

1. ifnthe outbreak happens, will it affect those politicians you are talking about? assist your hands with your brain while you type please