Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NCDC Says It will Not Use UK's Announced Treatment For COVID 19 Unless Approved By WHO

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

NCDC Says It will Not Use UK's Announced Treatment For COVID 19 Unless Approved By WHO

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control, NCDC, has reacted to the British government announcement of a cheap and widely available drug that saves patients seriously ill with COVID-19.

British Prime Minister on Tuesday said UK researchers identified a new drug, which is effective and has reduced COVID-19 deaths risk.

The drug identified as Dexamethasone has reduced death risk for patients in ventilators by one-third and oxygen by one fifth.

Reacting, the NCDC in a tweet on its official Twitter handle, said the drug will not be used to treat patients because it has not been approved by the World Health Organization, WHO.

It said, “The NCDC is aware of recent outcomes from a UK-Government funded clinical trial for COVID-19.
The results support the use of Dexamethsaone as a possible treatment to reduce the risk of death among COVID-19 patients, who require oxygen or mechanical ventilation.

“Please note that the Government of Nigeria has not validated or approved any treatment for COVID-19.
In addition, the use of Dexamethasone for COVID-19 treatment has not been validated by @WHO.”

from dailypost

23 comments:

1. Wow, interesting.
    I have it in the house.

1. Nwanyi, be careful with that medication. It’s very powerful.. Stunts growth too but very good for some stubborn cough..

2. Thanks Anony 10:07, A doctor prescribed it for us, I don't like self medication.

2. you think they want their cash cow to stop, they are enjoying this same way they are enjoying the pro longed boko haram menace

1. @Dede Ugbonna wisdom no go kill you! The last thing these people would want to hear is a cure for this covid 19 nonsense. See as dem carry the thing for head like gala you'll think it's really for the protection of the masses, for where!!! Na there pocket dem dey secure. Foolish leaders.

3. These clowns are still going on about this? Smh

4. Which WHO are they waiting for?? Better test this drug on Ajimobi

1. Lol,Please anon.09:47 Leave Ajimobi alone.
      But wait,is Ajimobi really sick?🤔

5. As if WHO is not taking orders from China!

Nigerian government should do what is best for Nigerians infected with the Wuhan coronavirus

1. Wuhan virus indeed. 😀😀

6. If I hear you people will not use it

7. I read that this drug is a steriod and has adverse effect.can someone kindly explain better?

Pl

And what about the cure they got from Madagascar? They didn't try it or what?

1. Sunshine darling, all drugs that has been made by men have side effects, that is why it is necessary that we use them in moderation and not overdosed on them.

2. Yes it is a steroid with a side effect of suppressing immune response which is helpful for those severely sick with respiratory complications. But if you don't have these issues, it will suppress ur immunity and leave you open to catching diseases and infections.

8. Please note that this drug only works for people who are soo sick that they need respiratory support. It would not work if you test positive with mild symptoms or none at all. Or even as a prophylaxis ie as Prevention. It has serious side effects of suppressing the immune system which is what is being put to use in severely sick people but for anyone else, it will leave you open to infections and diseases. I am sure WHO will comment on this soon but it may not be to approve. But then the drugs that Nigeria is using or other countries, were they approved? There is no approved drug for COVID-19, countries are making decisions based on research studies including WHO. This is the first drug to show significant promise and prevent death in severe cases.

Please do not abuse it

9. Even WHO doesn't know what they are doing. You better do your research yourself and start distributing if legit.

10. Dexamethasone is a steroid, suitable for those very sick covid19 patients whose lungs have been compromised badly to help reduce inflammation.
    **it suppresses the immune system and for those with Diabetes it further pushes your sugar up. So y'all should not go around buying it & start ingesting it o.
    Especially those put on ventilators. In some cases sef, covid 19 no dey hear word. It ravages the lungs so bad. Anyways these medications put out there as treatments are based on evidence of success to some number of people in the statistics. There is no standard treatment. May God have mercy on mankind.

11. Which WHO? those ones that are even more confused. Keep waiting.

12. Ncdc trust WHO at your own peril.