Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Govt Sanctions 6 Nigerians For Romance Fraud And Internet Scam Totalling Over 6 Million USD

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

US Govt Sanctions 6 Nigerians For Romance Fraud And Internet Scam Totalling Over 6 Million USD

On Tuesday June 16,2020, in a coordinated action with the U.S. Department of Justice, the Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) took action against six Nigerian nationals for conducting an elaborate scheme to steal over six million dollars from victims across the United States. 

The individuals designated targeted U.S. businesses and individuals through deceptive global threats known as business email compromise (BEC) and romance fraud. American citizens lost over $6,000,000 due to these individuals’ BEC fraud schemes, in which they impersonated business executives and requested and received wire transfers from legitimate business accounts. 

Money was also stolen from innocent Americans by romance fraud, in which the designees masqueraded as affectionate partners to gain trust from victims.

“Cybercriminals prey on vulnerable Americans and small businesses to deceive and defraud them,” said Secretary Steven T. Mnuchin. “As technological advancement increasingly offers malicious actors tools that can be used for online attacks and schemes, the United States will continue to protect and defend at-risk Americans and businesses.”

Malicious actors are exploiting the increased availability of online tools and technology to target at-risk Americans. The six individuals designated today manipulated their victims in order to gain access to usernames, passwords, and bank accounts in furtherance of the scheme. Several of those who engaged in romance fraud used online tools, including social media and email, to further their social engineering tactics.

OFAC closely coordinated with the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), which today released details regarding its indictment against members of the conspiracy. The FBI Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) receives romance fraud victim reports from all ages, education, and income brackets. However, the elderly, women, and those who have lost a spouse are often targeted.

from home.treasury.gov

34 comments:

1. If you attended Unilag between 2004- 2009, you should know almost all of them

2. Yes oo. Most of them were unilag students. Life of a fraudster. Nawa

2. I'm officially tired of hoping Nigerians and Nigeria will get better but has it is now all hope gone. Nigerians dont have any good reputation anywhere in the world, from president to politicians down to ordinary citizens. Some of us are just innocent working towards a greater future. It is well

3. This has become Nigerians trademark. Even in movies, they say it.

4. I have been praying and working towards relocating, i don't want my children to have that Nigeria passport. Been a Nigerian is difficult, it makes me cry at times. Everything is wrong with country and the people. Person just dey push, its depressing

5. This is similar to what they do here. Targeting elderly and those that compromise their details online.
    Hope EFCC can see their mates.

6. Grown ups for that matter. Husbands,father's,uncles disgracing their family.

7. Grown ups for that matter. Husbands,father's,uncles disgracing their family.

8. Nigerians are representing as usual. When I say that outside Nigeria, I don't relate with Nigerians, they will cast stones at me here.
    Once this kind of investigations starts, if you've written or received emails from them or sms, or phone calls, you are under investigation.
    I can't vouch for Nigerians in the US especially. There is this culture of greed that they espouse. On the surface they look like they love God, but underneath is a layer of immense avarice.

1. The truth is that some of these dudes will go down for what they know nothing about.
      "Give this money to my family when you get to Naija, make I lodge am into your Naija account..."
      That's it, case closed o.
      Guy man will be strategizing for his own cut.

2. Well, if you say everyone is bad, then you won't know when you'll miss the good ones. We Nigerians in the US do not need you to vouch for us, just like there are Nigerian scammers best believe there are American scammers too. I have lived here for a while and I have encountered them. Do you know how many scam calls come through to our phone weekly? Ask anyone who has an American phone number, thank God for Truecaller. I am a Nigerian making a honest living in the US, I have never cheated anyone in my entire life, and I don't live beyond my means. I know other Nigerians like me here as well, diligent professionals in their field who are living well and not engaged in any illegality. The reason you rarely hear stories about Nigerians in the US taking great strides is because they keep a low profile. Who has time to be gallivanting when you are busy working? So, please let's be guided and not make generalizations, foreigners read this blog too. Don't help them fuel the narrative that Nigerians are scammers because that's a very harsh grouping.

9. And some girls are waiting for their wedding in December. They use the white women to make money and papers and come home to marry you? You are an accomplice.
    🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️

10. Sometimes, I just wish I could nationalize to another African country. Look at them! Epic national disgrace.

1. You're free. No one is stopping you. Your Oga you have not seen in years, do you know what he does in the abroad?

11. Madam Abike Dabiri will not call these ones with Hushppi Yoruba fraudsters, that's to tell you that being sentimental is not good. If I may ask, is their no longer Nigerian big boys doing legit work or business, why are they bent on tarnishing our image.

1. Let Ms. A. call them out first on this blog before Abike Dabiri

2. Anonymous, I already call them criminals...

Okay, you want me to say, Yoruba criminals....

These Yoruba criminals will never stop disgracing Nigerians. Now, breathe!!πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

So, how do you want me to address the non-yoruba names there?

Let me be anony πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

12. Una no dey tire? Awon aspire to wire geng

13. These boys are plain stupid, greedy, myopic, lazy and selfish. Even if you don't give a damn about the image of Nigeria that you end up damaging irredeemably, you also mess up various opportunities for hard working Nigerian youths, especially the budding generation of entrepreneurs (of various scales). Besides, if you come to the US, a country with vast economic opportunities for any focused guy, and your goal is to be doing Yahoo, your village people have triumphed over you and put you in a cage like a hen in a pen. it's only a matter of time that they will bring you out for slaughtering.

14. They should face the law, period

15. Do the politicians who steal like Dino give a care about Nigeria? Use SM to fight for a better Nigeria like #BLM.BTW Hushpuppi is Bendel raised in Lagos, not Yoruba. Not that his or any criminal's tribe matters. Tribalism is the hindrance to a non violent revolution in Nigeria

16. Team I can't marry a broke man, see your rich guys...
    Team I prefer to cry inside jeep than to cry inside keke, hopefully you don't join him prison.
    Team he sends me 1million for my monthly upkeep, enjoy it when it last cause na prison be your final destination.

17. This is what some of us are facing right at work ,just say u are a Nigeria 20 feet distance.