Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Married Couple Arrested For Buying Babies Say They Were Tricked Into Believing They Birthed Twins

Saturday, July 04, 2020

Married Couple Arrested For Buying Babies Say They Were Tricked Into Believing They Birthed Twins

What a painful story....Sad!!!!

A married couple, Henry and ifeyinwa Otugbara, were yesterday arrested at a baby factory in Rumuolumili area of Port Harcourt, Rivers State, while trying to buy two babies for N3.5 million.

Henry Otugbara from Delta State lamented that it was his desire to become a father that landed him and his wife in trouble. “I got married in 2014 and after two years there was no sign that my wife could conceive. We visited several hospitals and prayer houses in search of solution. It was in our quest that my wife met one woman who promised to take us to the final place where we will get solution. The name of the woman is IB, that is what they call her.

“She started giving my wife drugs and also advised me to have constant sex with her. In less than six months, her stomach started growing big and her leg swelling. Madam IB told us that she is pregnant and we should be attending antenatal in her maternity home. During check up, she kept assuring us that the pregnancy was progressing and very soon my wife would give birth.

“They gave us a date to come that they want to induce her into labour as the baby was ready to come out. IB gave her something inside a bottle and she started feeling dizzy. They told me to wait outside that the midwife would attend to her, that I should just pray for a safe delivery.

“About two hours later, a nurse ran out shouting that my wife has given birth to twins. I was so excited that God decided to give me double portion of blessing.

They showed me two newborn babies with placenta and I also noticed that my wife was bleeding. While I was celebrating, she told me that although she was very dizzy that she only felt pain when they spread her leg and gave her a cut. I told her to stop arguing that God has given us twins that she might be confused because she was unconscious. I promised her that we will do DNA in the future and she agreed and we went home with our babies.

“I paid N3.5 million for delivery and all medication given. All was well till police came to our house and arrested us after three days. They accused us of buying stolen babies. It was when we got to the police station that we saw two young girls who admitted that the babies were taken from them. Heaven knows that we were deceived. I cannot deliberately spend money to buy a child that I do not know the source. They could be the seed of notorious criminals. I was only desperate to be called a father, that was why I fell into their trap,” he stated.

His wife, Ifeyinwa claimed that she met IB’s agent in a bus. “I am 36 and from Delta State. I have been married for six years without a child. The pressure was already much on me and my husband’s people were making mockery of him that he married an old woman. I was in a bus going to Asaba when I heard an advert by a woman that anyone that is barren will get solution from them through the use of herbal drug. I collected their number and when I called, one woman who introduced herself as IB told me that she will help change my story. She gave me some herbal drugs and said that it will build my immune system and I will definitely conceive. Just like a joke, in less than a month, I started vomiting and having all the symptoms of a pregnant woman. I told her and she asked me to continue taking the drug as the pregnancy progresses. They told me that there was no need to go for antenatal, as the scan will deceive me into believing that I am not pregnant.

“After about seven months, IB called me that the baby was ready to be born. My whole body was swollen and I actually looked like a pregnant woman.

“I travelled to Port Harcourt to their clinic for the delivery. They gave me a tablet and in less than 30 minutes, my whole waist was on fire. The midwife said that I was in labour, that I should come and lie down and push. I suddenly became unconscious, by the time I became conscious, I saw two newborn babies by my side. I was shocked but happy because they were two of them.”

When asked if she ever suspected fraud, Ifeyinwa said that she did but in her own case everything was real. “During the years that I was waiting on the lord to bless me with children, one of the prayer ministries that I attended told me that someone from my village was behind my problem. This was why I believed them and refused to go for scan. I am sorry; I never meant to take any child that does not belong to me. They deceived me.”
from sunnewsonline

98 comments:

1. Pathetic! God,pls,open the wombs of those ttc ....amen

1. Is it not here that stella posted the testimony of one on Facebook that had a miscarriage but still shamed her enemies and "birthed" the baby. The human brain is funny.
      Desperation turns people cuckoo

2. I feel so sorry for them. A couple feel into this trap from the UK. They left the UK and travelled all the way to naija to birth their baby...paid through their nostrils in pounds..when they returned, their GP of course smelled rat and called the authorities. DNA proved the baby wasn't theirs...government collect baby ooo carry matter go court...the couple had to go down the adoption route to eventually keep the baby. Very sad...

3. God forgive me but I don't believe the couple. So during pregnancy and after giving birth, was she lactating? Never went anywhere for scan and did she ever feel baby movements?
      It is well, they are all suspects.

4. They were desperate, I believe them, desperation made them not think straight.

5. They were desperate, I believe them, desperation made them not think straight.

6. Some women don't lactate after giving birth. For some, it is the other way round. Even though they didn't birth the baby, they will start lactating as soon as the baby starts suckling.

7. Anon I believe them. These native midwives give u something that induce a phantom pregnancy. Chai I pity them. See what this our society and pressure has turned us into.

8. I do not believe this story one bit. Why will a 'pregnant woman's allow herself to be induced to deliver a premature 7 months old baby when there is no medical indication for it? And who pays 3.5 million for herbs and vaginal delivery,even ivf ivf doesnt cost that much in Nigeria. Even prime clinic does not charge 3 million for vaginal delivery. They knew what they were into one way or the other. At least the woman knew hence her argument with the husband that she only felt a pain when they opened her legs and cut her. Who delivers Twins in an unconscious state when it is not cessation section? Won't you push the babies out?
      You just wake up and abracadabra...two mature babies are by your side and you think you delivered them? I have seen a 7 month old baby and they often times are so small and need medical intervention. They will spend some time in th NICU due to their prematurity.
      Some people just like to deceive themselves,but you can't deceive us. This whole crptic pregnancy nonsense is becoming all too common and I don't believe any woman who goes for it at this time does not know that it is all fake. They know!
      I am ttc myself and would rather spend that money on ivf and even surrogate if need be than to get involved in this wicked deception.
      You guys should face your music. You allowed desperation lead you down this dangerous part.

9. Shut up, you don’t believe them bu5 it happens. Some people know but most are deceived. They have pregnancy symptoms and do test though only in that hospital. They tell them not to go for scan sef

10. I believe this story die, this scam has been on for years....they dissuade you from having scans etc..treatmentso are done only by the scammers, it's so common in port Harcourt. ..most of three ttc women do not know it's a scam

1. Chai, desperation.its not easy TTC,you always constant pressure,,always calculating your fertile days,having sex just to be pregnant and not to enjoy it,it's frustrating.May God help them and remove them from this.

2. I was just discussing this cryptic pregnancy rubbish with my family today...I believe this couple because I have an in-law waiting for delivery more than a year now. They arrange girls with unwanted pregnancies to conincide with these deliveries. Her own na twins she still Dey wait for...they tell the women never to go for scan so most of them really believe they are pregnant. Also anywhere you are in naija they say you must come to ph for delivery. A colleague at work did this years ago sef and the child is about 15years now.

3. Oh dear God! Things are really happening.

What type of herbal 🌿 medicine did they give her that made her have all the pregnancy symptoms?

The husband was just carried away with excitement, if not, why would he pay over 3m for delivery?

1. You and swag lafresh always mention PH that it is common. Poor woman, desperation blinded them from the truth. I feel for them, let them give them fine and warning. They have lost both money and no child. If to say dem know them for use that money do correct IVF.. it is so bad in Nigeria. No sort of regulation to this baby factory nonsense. Girls are kidnapped and enslaved into baby making machines. God help us...

2. all that money couldve been spent on IVF, more than enough sef.

5. What a sad story, very ignorant couple. With 3.5 million they should have tried IVF, It may have worked instead of this mess.I hope they get out of this.

1. Honestly IVF would have been better. I really feel for them

6. Things people go through to have kids 😢. I believe the couples story though cos I have heard something like that.

I wish the adoption process is made easier in Nigeria. Maybe most couples will see it as an easier option.

7. Ohh God this life not balanced at all.
    While we are running from pregnancy,others are finding it difficult.
    God please answer their prayers,it's too painful.i have two people I always pray for,esp one she is too good to go through what she is going.she is my secondary school mate,so kind,too kind and lovable.
    God please dry their silent tears,help them have a baby to hold and called theirs,to be called mummy someone.
    Their hopes of having children around them to should come to manifeststation.
    Imagine the heartbreak these couples will go through.

Family and friends please stop mocking them,encourage them.be their light when they feel they are seeing darkness.
    Stop the pressure plsssss😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

1. My dear.... me wey Dey find who go buy my womb sef. God pls answer my sisters waiting on you dear lord 🙏🏾

8. I believe their story!
    And I feel sorry for them your situation can make the world make mockery of you. Lord please answer all our hearts desires so we will not be in a desperate situation that will make the world to laugh at us and ask us where is the God we serve.

9. See story! Why are people buying and selling babies like goats in the market, I don't understand ooo.

1. Did you even read the article?

10. This is how they play it out and call it a criptic (not sure of the spelling) or whatever

1. Yes, they must have told her it's cryptic and desperation won't allow her question how true her case is... It is well

11. Na wah ooo,things are happening in this world.

God Bless Everyone.

12. Hmmmmmm

Na wa oo

Things are really happening

13. Chei na wa for these baby factory Ppl o

14. Oh no!!! Such evil. May the good Lord bless every expectant womb in Jesus name, amen.

15. Crypto pregnancy! The worst part is how educated but desperate people falling for them. #3.5m would have gone a long way in their IVF.

16. Stella this is really happening.
    May God vindicate this couple.

It's really painful

17. This sounds funny! They gave u a normal healthy baby or babies at 7 months Nd u dint suspect ? Was ur breast bringing out milk too? This story is shady pls! 3.5 million ! For ante natal Nd drugs ? This couple think we r stupid ! Abeg dance to d music u played biko !

1. Help me ask oh. I do not believe the woman's story! How do you carry twin pregnancy for 7 months and you won't observe the presence or absence of feral movements. Is she not learned? It really is hard for me to believe she didn't know it was all a ruse.

2. Very harsh statement. Not really fair

3. My sister when one is desperate you will see blue and call it black. Plus we don't know how exposed they are, you can see the woman is saying they said they tied her womb in the village. These kind of people give them the option of IVF and fasting on mountain for 1 year straight. They will chose the latter because they believe their problem is more spiritual than physical. This why instead of seeing a proper medical professional they preferred all these herbal women. Till tommorow people still go to maternity homes that have all these spiritual people to birth their children. So don't blame them too much. They may be truly ignorant

4. I am asking for them too? Na wah

5. This happens everyday in PH. They may have been really naive. Some people and not do intelligent even though they are educated and have money. They do not process things in its entirety. Let us keep praying that desparation doesn't make us look stupid in this life.

6. Dainty T, she has never been pregnant, so how would she know how a fetal kick feels like? I believe the poor woman was scammed.

7. Pls shut up...do you know all they tell them? Go and google cryptic pregnancy. That is the scam they hide under to deceive these women...not everyone is wise in this life, maturity has taught me that.

18. TTC is not easy at all and if u are not careful u will do the unthinkable just to have your baby. May God grant everyone looking for a child their heart desires. Amen

19. Abegi.... the woman probably knew. Pressure pushed her to it. You can afford to pay that much to get pregnant but never went to your normal doctor for tests and checkup

1. Well said, God bless you 👍🏾.
      Didnt she know she wasn't lactating, did she feel baby movements 🙄😏?

2. She probably knew. No matter how sad being childless is, stealing children that belong to someone else is a crime. Yes her story is sad but what about the family that was now robbed of their kids? The govt should seriously clamp down on all child sale, it is very very wrong. No matter how hungry you are, if you steal, it's still a crime. And let's stop using marriage or childbirth to define women and shame them. That's the trauma people go through just cos of what people say.

3. They instruct them not to go for scan or see any other doctor.

4. Anon 21:22, every educated person will be curious to see their child. There are so many tests to be carried out and antenatal is crucial for the child’s development. Anyone that can raise 3.5m is not ignorant about these things. She was part of the scam and desperation pushed her to it. A sane and rational person will ask why.

20. This is painful!

May God visit all the ttc ladies.

21. I am 50 years and was offered this by a nurse almost 10 years ago after waiting for almost 10 years for a child because I felt there was something fishy about it. I thinking of the spiritual aspect although I didn't know it was a baby factory thing. I know people who went for it while I went for IVF, looked for a surrogate mother and tried to adopt while watching these children grow up in their respective homes. I think you all are expecting me to give a testimony. No. Still looking and those families are happy now. As much as I don't support this buying selling of kids. I wish I had done it then in ignorance. I still have a praise report of being free from guilt and God blessed me with a good husband and in-laws not talking about this to my face. Pray for me y'all

1. Oh dear, may God show up for u at this hour, this road is such a hard road, the never ending pain in ur heart that never goes away. May God remember u

2. Anonymous 12:56, may the Almighty God bless you with the fruit of the womb.

3. May the Lord give you strength. It's sad when people shout " why not JUST adopt?" "Why not go for IVF?" I cringe at their ignorance.
      I blame the society that won't let childless woman be.
      Please, don't blame yourself for not taking that route. Everyone is different. You don't know if it could have affected your life adversely.
      Life is deep.
      Thousands of women, including married women abort unwanted pregnancies every day, but when someone that desires children "buys" from people who willingly give them up, the condemnation will be deafening.
      I don't blame people that follow this route at all.
      We have a messed up system.

4. May God use you as the testimony of every body TTC. You will have your children whether by you or any means you will be called mother and you will see somebody that will run to greet you when you come back.

5. My heart bleeds for you. I am your age and know how it feels to be trying for a baby. I pray God blesses you with a baby whether adopted or via ivf. If you go down the ivf route try eggs from someone younger. Don’t stress your body trying for egg harvesting. It is painful in life to see bad people or people doing the wrong thing and getting ahead happily with their life while you doing goodie goodie are made to look/feel like a mugu. Trying for a baby can send one mad, honestly I pray you get blessed with one or two babies and your tears wiped from your face. People harassing you about babies/what you are doing have no idea how painful it is or how close to breaking down you feel. Talking about it is bringing back a rush of memories of myself and I am in tears right now. Be strong , have faith in God but please take advantage of the texhnology/options out there as they are all from God. Even Ibidun a pastors wife saw the good in exploiting Gods creations. Just remember ivf can involve someone elses eggs and even a surrogate. It is just too painful a topic for me to continue. I did not even realize the extent of my pain before I had my baby.

6. You will surely rejoice... 🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗

7. May God grant you your heart desire. Amen

8. God will grant your heart desires dear. Just trust him.

9. Thank you all. Amen to your prayers and encouragement. I really appreciate everyone. I have tried everything ethical so far and no positive result yet. I am still hopeful because I am alive. I am not going to give up yet. The say that "It is not over until the fat lady sings" Fat lady, abeg shift and don't show your face just yet. The BVs have spoken and I know that God will speak

22. God I pray after this encounter they are blessed with their own babies Amen

They would have just gone for ivf imagine paying 3.5 million only to be deceived

23. This was the same thing that happened to a friend - same method -same Port-Harcourt.It eventually caused a separation between my friend and her husband, who we later found out had an 8yr old daughter with someone else. My friend was looking pregnant and chubby. They also get her a cut too. She was arrested on her way home and paid/bribed the police N1m before they let her go because they were ready to charge her to court! The Police know about this so called baby factory-

24. The teenage mothers did not sell their babies- the baby factory owner gets guys to rape them and get them pregnant- they kept my friend in their 'hospital' for a week even after they told her she was due the week before- apparently, they were waiting for one of the teenagers to birth a child. They call it 'ectopic pregnancy' and tell the pregnant mothers not to go for scan elsewhere because the scanning machines in other hospitals will not detect the baby.

1. Exactly, I am so surprised people are blaming them. Nobody has ever walked in their shoes. May God not let us be desperate for anything if not dem fit use person do Yahoo plus.

2. Not ectopic it’s cryptic pregnancy...you are very right. An in-law has been waiting almost 2 years to give birth...lol she still believes she is pregnant.

25. They should reveal the face of the OWNER OF THE BABY FACTORY, not the innocent teenagers.

26. Why are humans so wicked towards their fellow human. Taking advantage of "grieving" couple. Because "waiting" (TTC) on its own is enough grief.

May the Lord come through for every woman waiting on Him for fruits of the womb 🙏

27. The thing is common in PH.
    Poor couple,its desperation that got them there and lack of education.
    They would have done IVF with dat money. But i feel their pain,TTC can drive couples to do almost anything for a baby.

28. One of the reasons a friend told they stopped donating to some orphanage homes, most are just cover for child trafficking. God help us.

1. They don't even allow people to adopt the children. Most of them just use them to make money.

2. Hmmmmmmm, I saw one school for the blind that is looking for donations but I don't know why I am so suspicious as if they gathered them there to use to make money. Holy spirit, Father Lord please forgive me if I am judging them falsely but I am just afraid as I feel they are using them for money and because of how Naija is nobody will notice a thing and them being desperate may cooperate so that they have a roof over their head.

29. What a sad story 😥 but looking at it from another angle,who pays 3.5M for delivery and antenatal? Even the privates hospital's that are quiet expensive won't amount to 3.5M! Didn't they ask what's the heavy amount for? I don't buy their story abeg!

30. Should I feel sorry for them? Not sure, if you let society push you into doing the unthinkable, then you are to blame not society. Pastors, people and the devil play on your desperation in life, but then you bear the consequences of your actions when you allow your despair push you to unimaginable dealings.

1. True. As an adult you are totally responsible for your actions.

2. Congratulations

3. Just pray never to be in that position.....

31. Their desperation pushed them to this. No pity from me

32. na wah ooo this life no balance at all.see me afraid of sleeping with hubby because of pregnancy

33. You all mocking the couple, may you never find yourself in a situation where desperation will cause you to lose common sense.

The sad thing is the people mocking them now also mocked them for their childlessness.

I feel bad for them. I hope they are released.

1. I feel bad, you cannot understand TTC n how desperate it can make one until u be gone thru it. Some have even died in the process of ttcing. Pressure from society doesn't even help out, is it the mockery. I for one ve grown a tough skin but I know of some who can't even help but cry. Worse part is when u know ur solution n cannot afford it. May God come thru for us all

2. Oh pls Stop with the emotional manipulation. I read through all the comments looking for the mockery. All I see are people who believe them or not, and both parties are valid. There is no proof that they didn't know, none. And child sale of any sort is a crime and should be condemned by any sane society. Beacuse well, tomorrow your child or mine could be stolen at birth because someone desperately needs a child and is willing to pay millions for it. It is wrong and even more sad for the real owners of the child too. It puts every child in danger.

3. NiB sory but I don't understand. Do you think the people who patronise baby factory know that the children or child they are given are stolen. Go and check you will see maternity home/ Clinic or hospital as the name of the place, you will see it is a qualified nurse and even a doctor may work there. They would be told that there problem is spiritual, is it people who see cockroaches and wall geckos as their enemy spying on them that won't believe they have cryptic pregnancy and the devil is trying to sabotage their pregnancy that is why they are the way they are.
      What we should really be talking about is a re orientation of the citizens on child birth and make legal adoption easier.

4. Well, you have a point. There could be people who were misled. But I think that most people refuse to know the truth. They suspect that something is amiss but they deliberately do not investigate or ask for clarity because of fear of what they would find out. They do this so that when the bough breaks, they can claim to be unaware. Technically, it is true, but it is not truth. Same way celebs or even parents will receive money gifts from a Hushpuppi and not ask for clarity just so they won't be involved. But you collected the money, you collected the child. You believe whatever you are told because of fear of truth. They know but want to not know. Why do they do this? Denialism. "In the psychology of human behavior, denialism is a person's choice to deny reality as a way to avoid a psychologically uncomfortable truth." They want the comfortability of denial so they simply refuse to ask.

But when the bough breaks, the cradle falls. And here, sadly, the cradle has fallen.

34. So sad...Lord please bless them with a child of their own

35. I’m surprised this Madam B still operate this scam of a business,this proved she’s working with the police in Rivers State.I have known about this woman for over 23 years.The couple involved might be telling the truth because most people that got babies through that source have same story to tell.Problem with most Nigerians is lack of awareness and uneducated ,the N3.5 Million they paid for the twins they would have use it for IVF treatment and proper medical treatment.The government should into this issue of baby factory,is going out of hands.People should go for proper adoption that will be documented.it’s a pity with the rate this baby factory is going with tome people might start getting married to their blood relative.

1. You can just imagine, you can imagine that.
      Throw away the country. Mscheee

2. Educated people you say? My dear Nigerians are unsually so emotional and sentimental, that is why pastors scam them.have never seen gullible people like we Nigerians.Even if someone there starts to speak up and ask the right question, they will gather and shout her down,like she is doing ITK. Instead of answering her question with facts and evidence and science if warranted.you automatically become enemy of progress.when something happens they will come with, we didn't know, well, you should know. Ignorance is not an excuse.my mom once advised my aunt to go and( kute nwa)carry a child wherever infertile people are bringing theirs from. Not like she knows anybody or any place. So one day, a child from one neighborhood village got missing, one wicked woman tricked the little girl minding the baby boy and stole him up till today. The mother has been mourning non stop.she told me the story and trust me, I told her point black that ,that was how those babies she was advising people to go get are got, that some family are somewhere mourning. And she shouted eh? I was like so this woman brain never connected the dots, that most babies from these baby factory's are ill gotten.churches ,I mean real churches should take up the job of sensitizing people, create awareness, no they won't cause,that will affect their pockets.this our culture of silencing people when they speak up about any ill or tell the truth about anything in the society will be our undoing. One day,it will affect everyone of us.

36. My sister in law is on this table. She knew her infertility condition yet married my brother and went to PH to do this arranged pregnancy. She is still deceiving everybody that she was actually pregnant and gave birth. Me,I dey my lane because my brother na margareth tacha,he no dey hear word.

1. did she tell you she was infertile?

ONU KANDA

37. Chei..I believe them o. They will brainwash them that no scan or any other doctor can see the pregnancy because it is cryptic. They will tell them that it is God hiding the pregnancy. It is very common in the east. Please the police should free them,they are victims of their circumstances

38. God will surely give them double for their pain.

39. They go for it becos they are told it's guaranteed while ivf is not.av been there but opted for the ivf when I cld not get clarifications and why I should leave where I stay to go all the way to pH and give birth.thank God my ivf worked after 3 attempts.pressure has lead a lot of people into it.most don't know how the babies come because you won't be told.