The preparation of party jollof rice was never complete then without sighting littered tins of La'Bianca, Derica and Tomapep tomato paste at the scene of the food preparation. The rich and thick consistency of these tomato products gave the jollof rice its beautifully red and attractive colour, unlike today where red coloured condiments are added to enrich the colour of the food.
Popular spices like Delice and seasonings like Doyin cubes were also used to prepare sumptuous meals for the family, and the people from the Western part of the country never missed any opportunity to use the controversial white seasoning that leaves most of the party guests frequently visiting the loo.
Another product that was a household name and used by most persons to treat mouth sores and toothache was TCP.
I still remember my mum gurgling the antiseptic for 5 minutes and spitting it out anytime she had toothache or a sore.
Our favourite milk then was Nido and we were not the only ones who loved it so much, I still wonder why it's not in the market anymore.
Giv was our all time bath soap and the pleasant different fragrances was an added advantage. The most popular medicated soap then was Tura and fair folks used it to maintain their complexion.
Even though there are still good products in stores, pharmacies and malls, some of these new versions cannot measure up in quality to the ones we used during our childhood days.
So many of them have been watered down to maximize profits and cut costs.
If comparisons are made, the products from our young days would beat them hands down.
*How can you forget to mention Stella Pomade?

104 comments:
Pronto beverage
Please is tinker box still alive?
I remember my mum buying it for me in Jss1 to take to the dormitory.
Last last,the box didn't follow me back home as I got a new one before I finished school.
I remember when miksi milk was sold for #10 for a very long time and the content was worth it.
Now it's being sold for #40 and the content isn't even up to a full desert spoon.
Please don't let me talk about cabin biscuit that is now 3 pieces inside and VERY flat and light.
This life
If you used Stella pomade, Giv soap, and your mom cooked with Tomapep,
gather here for...
You are not less than 45 years.
πππππππππ
NIDO no longer in Nigerian market?
Wow. Naija have changed a lot.
Where I live, NIDO fortificada is still the brand to beat.
Nido is still very much around.
I still can’t forgive Okon biscuits (4 corner). What of Elephant detergent, gone. Tandi Guranda? Gone
To run and sustain a business isn't easy.
How come I still see Derica and tomapep on the African Isle in the grocery store where I shop, and it's no longer in Nigeria?
That means, other African countries are still producing these?
Who did we offend?
No wonder jollof rice in Naija has
become adulterated. π€’π€’π€’π€’π€’
Mrs Dee
Let's help you;
Parazone
Jik
Goody goody
Lifebuoy soap
O heptal tonic
Cortina and Opanka (school shoes)
Dr. pepper soft drink
Limca
Aba palmolive (different from the regular)
TV programs; New masquerade, Village headmaster, samanja, Bassey and company,
πππππππππ
NIDO is still in the market..
I see it always at Twins Faja..
@MARTINS
Down memory lane!!!
Yellow greasy Stella pomade
Asepso soap
Robert soap
Saturday night powder
Apc tablet
Cafenol
Phendic
Vegfru π (was it d one mothers called oju ologbo) or Alaska.
Ciao π
Frisiana milk
Good old Maltex
let me read comments; I don't know all these u mentioned o
Premier soap with it's original sticker. The sticker is the last you will use of that soap.
Okay o
π
I miss Okin short cake so much
Limca is still very much around
Okin biscuit (square) was my favourite biscuit then.
Hahahaπππ, i used all and i'm in my 30s
Derica is still in the market but its more expensive than other tomato paste
You forgot to add Goldspot drink
Kito sandals nko? And skull slippers for women
I still crave for Okin shortcake buscuit sometimes..lol
Spirint chew gum
I always wonder why things usually reduce in value with time in Naija.
My mom used tomapep for us and I'm not up to 40 infarct I'm 36
Good old days!
I remember pronto
Choco Milo(the taste is different now).
Goody goody sweet.
Planta margarine.
Nasco biscuit and cornflakes(Still in the market but not as good as before).
Opanka rubber shoes.
Fanta champman
Chai. So many of them.
Tales by moonlight
Willie Willie( I used to be scared of this soap opera back then)
Checkmate
Chief Zebrudaya and clarus(hope I got the name)
Back then when 10 naira could buy you a lot of things.
Thank God for life ❤️❤️
πππ
Planta Margarine
@Official Prestige;I actually think the sticker of Imperial Leather soap beats it..
That one won't even go till you are done with the soap;then you throwaway..πππ
@MARTINS
Planta butter, Okin round biscuits, Nku body cream,Chupa chops lollipop,Bazooka chewing gum and many others are off the market! Good old days of products worth the money!
VIP. Its a fruit drink like caprisone. Who remembers it?
The good old days. Even if you see some of the products used in the past noe, the quality ain't the same.
Very true with imperial leather, that sticker was the real deal.....and it was strong and could last for long.it's still in the market
Planta
π€π€ your head dey dia....i miss goody goody was my second name those days
Carnation milk,coast milk, pronto, treetop,breeze family soap, planta butter, reward soap, love and flower soap, dadawa cubes, jumbo cubes, A_one, Vedan, richocco etc
Tandi golanda, crush, parle soda
Ikb range of beauty products
Jet pomade
ππππππππππ
Who drank crush, goody goody, gogo. Those days were the best
Official Prestige, you mean imperial leather soap with the sticker?
Lifebuoy soap is still in d market
Limca still avaliable
My favorite biscuit then
Key soap
Krest drink
Gold Spot
Cowbell milk
Pronto
Blue omo
Venda
Ajino moto
Joy soap
While Ffor TV programs
Beyound the dreams
Tales by moonlight
Krest drink
Maltex malt
The days of Black and White Tvππππππ
The Days of Black and White Television
Iron bed
Wen Nigeria was a country.
Yes sprint chew gum. 5 for #5
How come because I am just 32
IKB body cream too
Jik still dey market.
Goody Goody contributed to my dental wahala msteewwπ
That Sprint gum was so sticky, not easy to manage but tasted nice.
I saw Chupa Chups recently, though a bit expensive compared to others
Beyond our dreams, beyond our dreams, those who walked on the wrong path. Where realities are formed, beyond our dreams, beyond our dreams... πΆπ
TV programs - Behind the clouds
TV with double doorsπ
It's beyond the clouds
We used all but I am still my 30’s ππ
I wish I can NIDO milk here π€
Dem don spoil LIMCA for me ☹️. Parazone was very good then.... chei
Saturday night powder lasts very long that’s why I love it
You mean imperial leather? The scent of the ones they make now is not like the former .
Wow IKB one of my favorites nawa ooo Nostalgia !
Sprint chewing gum mint lasts very long for a cheap price then.
I still miss Planta margarine π§
Brahma Gwarana
Tinned blue band
Fresh body cream
Brownish butter mint
Sunday Sunday medicine
Egovin
Yellow sunlight soap
Nasco biscuits
Bebe and Mama Vaseline
Tree top drink
Avop cooking oil
Zarina cream
Mills and boons novel
Kiddies vision
Tales by moonlight
MacMillan ( Ali and Simbi, Mr. Nwosu and his two daughters, Rails the poor girl)....
Chico Milo...
All these sounds strange to me
tandi gurana, nasco wafers, ekanna gowon
My dearest it's true a lot of those old fantastic products we no longer see in Lagos are still being manufactured by some other countries sometime ago I saw carnation milk,big geisha,bongo coffee,kettle tea in Kano and I was like is the north really part of Nigeria?
Ikb cosmetics gave me a nightmare,back at school I was daydreaming of becoming lighter than my already bleached classmates ,the rest is history because I burnt my face and legs with over mixing,okin shortcake and mascot biscuits were my favourites, Nigeria was so good I even forgot where I came from
Not true oo.
I never reach 40 but I used all
Lol...
Na imperial leather not premier
πππ
The only biscuit i miss. Is Bigbite biscuit nd coconut biscuit
Kiss perfume
Venus cream
All the 45 and above have gathered for...
Age cheaters. ππππππππππ
See them still lying between their boobiesπ€£π€£π€£π€£π€£π€£π€£π€£π€£π€£π€£π€£
π π π Imperial soap my people.
Not true, @ anon 17:35, I am 30 and I used these products.
Oh how I love Venus cream with that beautiful lady as advert , I used to think applying the cream would make me look like her.
How naive I was.
That means you're a small girl
!!!
Okin biscuit
Just noticed the ‘Okon’. Thanks Giftmoesha.
Memories
Ah, sprint chewing gum that I use my offering money to buy every Sunday morning
You can still find Nido milk in all these mega supermarkets,i know someone that buys it always.
I used GIV soap,i know Stella pomade(though i did not use it),but i'm still in my late twenties,i saw Stella pomade at ROBAN STORES in Enugu.
There was one margarine I used to love then called Planta. Also nasco cornflakes and biscuits and titus sardine which still exists.
If you need Nido milk,go to SPAR Enugu,you will find it there.
Bazuka chewing gum and Olympic exercise books
And cabin biscuits which taste so different today.
That red rechargeable lantern that has radio,
Jenka bubble gum,
Coconut biscuit,
Trebbor sweet,
Pronto tea,
Joy soap,
Delta soap,
Tandi Guranda
Malta Sweet
Green sand shandy, I hope I got it right, Parle Soda
I used some but know all and am not up to 40.
@ shooter gyal I swear ooo, and i was born in 1997 abi 1997 no follow for the people that are born in the 90sπππ€
It's Behind the Clouds. Beyond the Clouds is a Korean series
The Filipinos have brought coconut biscuits back! I was thinking of it and found it at a store! See dance! My children thought I had found diamonds!
Cadbury's Chocolate Spread.
Tree Top Drink.
Nasco Cornflakes.
Nasco Wafers..,that stealing teacher,haha.
Parle Soda.
Ginger Ale.
Green Sands Shandy.
Maltex...this one if you commit and,forget to give me,once Daddy comes back I turn to okiri mgba ama,kikiki.
Naira chewing gum.
Bubble Gum,with wrist stickers inside.
Bazooka gum.
Mirinda too @ when the 3 orange men were cited in most places in Lagos ( not the dilute three top that’s being sold now ) lol
Folalonpe
Nido is available but very expensive and with low demand reason most supermarket don't have and it is inconsistent when it comes regular supply from nestle foods but still with same great cream taste.
Yes o okin biscuit and their short cake. The factory wasting away there in Ijagbo Kwara state. I remember we were there for excursion in my primary six.
Nku cream. Flash detergent, Dent o clean,prime milk.
There was also rin soap, I love then more than key soap. Those days in boarding house.
Planta the planta for the creamier butter taste. Then blue band was in tin so I prefer planta.
Who remember elephant detergent and "surfur" detergent I can remember the spelling.
Chi chi sweet
Isi busu tin tomato
Nido still exists, I always buy it in the African store.
A3 cream..A3 triple action, nourishing and protective (who remembers the advert of the that cream
Post a Comment