Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner -Products Wey Don Reign Pass....

Friday, July 31, 2020

Mrs Dee's Corner -Products Wey Don Reign Pass....

days of our growing up were filled with products that were very popular and loved by so many based on the way most families and neighbours patronized and used these products.

The preparation of party jollof rice was never complete then without sighting littered tins of La'Bianca, Derica and Tomapep tomato paste at the scene of the food preparation. The rich and thick consistency of these tomato products gave the jollof rice its beautifully red and attractive colour, unlike today where red coloured condiments are added to enrich the colour of the food.

Popular spices like Delice and seasonings like Doyin cubes were also used to prepare sumptuous meals for the family, and the people from the Western part of the country never missed any opportunity to use the controversial white seasoning that leaves most of the party guests frequently visiting the loo.

Another product that was a household name and used by most persons to treat mouth sores and toothache was TCP.
I still remember my mum gurgling the antiseptic for 5 minutes and spitting it out anytime she had toothache or a sore.

Our favourite milk then was Nido and we were not the only ones who loved it so much, I still wonder why it's not in the market anymore.

Giv was our all time bath soap and the pleasant different fragrances was an added advantage. The most popular medicated soap then was Tura and fair folks used it to maintain their complexion.

Even though there are still good products in stores, pharmacies and malls, some of these new versions cannot measure up in quality to the ones we used during our childhood days.

So many of them have been watered down to maximize profits and cut costs.

If comparisons are made, the products from our young days would beat them hands down.

*How can you forget to mention Stella Pomade?

104 comments:

1. Pronto beverage

Please is tinker box still alive?
    I remember my mum buying it for me in Jss1 to take to the dormitory.
    Last last,the box didn't follow me back home as I got a new one before I finished school.

I remember when miksi milk was sold for #10 for a very long time and the content was worth it.
    Now it's being sold for #40 and the content isn't even up to a full desert spoon.

Please don't let me talk about cabin biscuit that is now 3 pieces inside and VERY flat and light.
    This life

2. If you used Stella pomade, Giv soap, and your mom cooked with Tomapep,
    gather here for...
    You are not less than 45 years.
    😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜

1. Hahaha😁😁😁, i used all and i'm in my 30s

2. My mom used tomapep for us and I'm not up to 40 infarct I'm 36

3. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

4. How come because I am just 32

5. We used all but I am still my 30’s 😛😂

6. All the 45 and above have gathered for...
      Age cheaters. 😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜
      See them still lying between their boobies🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

7. Not true, @ anon 17:35, I am 30 and I used these products.

8. The Original Shugar Girl31 July 2020 at 17:49

!!!

9. I used GIV soap,i know Stella pomade(though i did not use it),but i'm still in my late twenties,i saw Stella pomade at ROBAN STORES in Enugu.

10. I used some but know all and am not up to 40.

3. NIDO no longer in Nigerian market?
    Wow. Naija have changed a lot.
    Where I live, NIDO fortificada is still the brand to beat.

1. NIDO is still in the market..

I see it always at Twins Faja..

@MARTINS

2. Who drank crush, goody goody, gogo. Those days were the best

3. I wish I can NIDO milk here 🤔

4. If you need Nido milk,go to SPAR Enugu,you will find it there.

5. Mirinda too @ when the 3 orange men were cited in most places in Lagos ( not the dilute three top that’s being sold now ) lol

Folalonpe

6. Nido is available but very expensive and with low demand reason most supermarket don't have and it is inconsistent when it comes regular supply from nestle foods but still with same great cream taste.

4. Nido is still very much around.
    I still can’t forgive Okon biscuits (4 corner). What of Elephant detergent, gone. Tandi Guranda? Gone
    To run and sustain a business isn't easy.

1. Just noticed the ‘Okon’. Thanks Giftmoesha.

2. Yes o okin biscuit and their short cake. The factory wasting away there in Ijagbo Kwara state. I remember we were there for excursion in my primary six.

5. How come I still see Derica and tomapep on the African Isle in the grocery store where I shop, and it's no longer in Nigeria?
    That means, other African countries are still producing these?
    Who did we offend?
    No wonder jollof rice in Naija has
    become adulterated. 🤢🤢🤢🤢🤢

1. Derica is still in the market but its more expensive than other tomato paste

2. My dearest it's true a lot of those old fantastic products we no longer see in Lagos are still being manufactured by some other countries sometime ago I saw carnation milk,big geisha,bongo coffee,kettle tea in Kano and I was like is the north really part of Nigeria?

6. Mrs Dee
    Let's help you;
    Parazone
    Jik
    Goody goody
    Lifebuoy soap
    O heptal tonic
    Cortina and Opanka (school shoes)
    Dr. pepper soft drink
    Limca
    Aba palmolive (different from the regular)
    TV programs; New masquerade, Village headmaster, samanja, Bassey and company,
    😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊

1. Limca is still very much around

2. 🤝🤝 your head dey dia....i miss goody goody was my second name those days

3. Lifebuoy soap is still in d market
      Limca still avaliable

4. IKB body cream too
      Jik still dey market.
      Goody Goody contributed to my dental wahala msteeww😏

5. Dem don spoil LIMCA for me ☹️. Parazone was very good then.... chei

6. Nku cream. Flash detergent, Dent o clean,prime milk.

7. Down memory lane!!!
    Yellow greasy Stella pomade
    Asepso soap
    Robert soap
    Saturday night powder
    Apc tablet
    Cafenol
    Phendic
    Vegfru 🍅 (was it d one mothers called oju ologbo) or Alaska.
    Ciao 🍅
    Frisiana milk
    Good old Maltex

1. Saturday night powder lasts very long that’s why I love it

2. There was also rin soap, I love then more than key soap. Those days in boarding house.

8. let me read comments; I don't know all these u mentioned o

1. There was one margarine I used to love then called Planta. Also nasco cornflakes and biscuits and titus sardine which still exists.

2. Planta the planta for the creamier butter taste. Then blue band was in tin so I prefer planta.

9. Premier soap with it's original sticker. The sticker is the last you will use of that soap.

1. @Official Prestige;I actually think the sticker of Imperial Leather soap beats it..

That one won't even go till you are done with the soap;then you throwaway..😀😂😀

@MARTINS

2. Very true with imperial leather, that sticker was the real deal.....and it was strong and could last for long.it's still in the market

Planta

3. Official Prestige, you mean imperial leather soap with the sticker?

4. You mean imperial leather? The scent of the ones they make now is not like the former .

5. 😂 😂 😂 Imperial soap my people.

6. Who remember elephant detergent and "surfur" detergent I can remember the spelling.

10. I miss Okin short cake so much

11. Okin biscuit (square) was my favourite biscuit then.

1. Ikb range of beauty products

2. My favorite biscuit then

3. Wow IKB one of my favorites nawa ooo Nostalgia !

4. Ikb cosmetics gave me a nightmare,back at school I was daydreaming of becoming lighter than my already bleached classmates ,the rest is history because I burnt my face and legs with over mixing,okin shortcake and mascot biscuits were my favourites, Nigeria was so good I even forgot where I came from

12. You forgot to add Goldspot drink

1. Tandi golanda, crush, parle soda

2. Krest drink
      Maltex malt

The days of Black and White Tv😂😂😂😂😂😂

3. tandi gurana, nasco wafers, ekanna gowon

13. Kito sandals nko? And skull slippers for women

14. I still crave for Okin shortcake buscuit sometimes..lol
    Spirint chew gum
    I always wonder why things usually reduce in value with time in Naija.

1. Yes sprint chew gum. 5 for #5

2. That Sprint gum was so sticky, not easy to manage but tasted nice.

3. Sprint chewing gum mint lasts very long for a cheap price then.

4. Ah, sprint chewing gum that I use my offering money to buy every Sunday morning

15. Good old days!
    I remember pronto
    Choco Milo(the taste is different now).
    Goody goody sweet.
    Planta margarine.
    Nasco biscuit and cornflakes(Still in the market but not as good as before).
    Opanka rubber shoes.
    Fanta champman
    Chai. So many of them.

Tales by moonlight
    Willie Willie( I used to be scared of this soap opera back then)
    Checkmate
    Chief Zebrudaya and clarus(hope I got the name)

Back then when 10 naira could buy you a lot of things.

Thank God for life ❤️❤️

1. I still miss Planta margarine 🧈

2. Bazuka chewing gum and Olympic exercise books

3. And cabin biscuits which taste so different today.

16. Planta butter, Okin round biscuits, Nku body cream,Chupa chops lollipop,Bazooka chewing gum and many others are off the market! Good old days of products worth the money!

1. I saw Chupa Chups recently, though a bit expensive compared to others

17. VIP. Its a fruit drink like caprisone. Who remembers it?

1. Cadbury's Chocolate Spread.
      Tree Top Drink.
      Nasco Cornflakes.
      Nasco Wafers..,that stealing teacher,haha.

Parle Soda.
      Ginger Ale.
      Green Sands Shandy.
      Maltex...this one if you commit and,forget to give me,once Daddy comes back I turn to okiri mgba ama,kikiki.

Naira chewing gum.
      Bubble Gum,with wrist stickers inside.
      Bazooka gum.

18. The good old days. Even if you see some of the products used in the past noe, the quality ain't the same.

19. Carnation milk,coast milk, pronto, treetop,breeze family soap, planta butter, reward soap, love and flower soap, dadawa cubes, jumbo cubes, A_one, Vedan, richocco etc

20. Cowbell milk
    Pronto
    Blue omo
    Venda
    Ajino moto
    Joy soap

While Ffor TV programs
    Beyound the dreams
    Tales by moonlight

1. Beyond our dreams, beyond our dreams, those who walked on the wrong path. Where realities are formed, beyond our dreams, beyond our dreams... 🎶🙃
      TV programs - Behind the clouds

2. It's Behind the Clouds. Beyond the Clouds is a Korean series

21. The Days of Black and White Television

Iron bed

22. Brahma Gwarana
    Tinned blue band
    Fresh body cream
    Brownish butter mint
    Sunday Sunday medicine
    Egovin
    Yellow sunlight soap
    Nasco biscuits
    Bebe and Mama Vaseline
    Tree top drink
    Avop cooking oil
    Zarina cream
    Mills and boons novel
    Kiddies vision
    Tales by moonlight
    MacMillan ( Ali and Simbi, Mr. Nwosu and his two daughters, Rails the poor girl)....
    Chico Milo...

23. All these sounds strange to me

1. That means you're a small girl

2. @ shooter gyal I swear ooo, and i was born in 1997 abi 1997 no follow for the people that are born in the 90s🙄🙄🤔

24. 😂😂😂
    The only biscuit i miss. Is Bigbite biscuit nd coconut biscuit

1. The Filipinos have brought coconut biscuits back! I was thinking of it and found it at a store! See dance! My children thought I had found diamonds!

25. Oh how I love Venus cream with that beautiful lady as advert , I used to think applying the cream would make me look like her.
    How naive I was.

26. You can still find Nido milk in all these mega supermarkets,i know someone that buys it always.

27. That red rechargeable lantern that has radio,
    Jenka bubble gum,
    Coconut biscuit,
    Trebbor sweet,
    Pronto tea,
    Joy soap,
    Delta soap,

28. Tandi Guranda

29. Green sand shandy, I hope I got it right, Parle Soda

30. Chi chi sweet
    Isi busu tin tomato

31. A3 cream..A3 triple action, nourishing and protective (who remembers the advert of the that cream