Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Celeb Stylist Toyin Lawani Talks About The Horrific Pains Of Living With Fibroids..

Thursday, August 06, 2020

Celeb Stylist Toyin Lawani Talks About The Horrific Pains Of Living With Fibroids..

Toyin Lawani battles Fibroids but has grown the strength to fight back....
A lot of women are battling this Fibroid thing and its not funny at all.......

Please share your story if you have Fibroids.............

127 comments:

1. Wow, thank God for her. I know people who are single who go through this shit and they are advanced in age too. God will see you through Toyin.

1. It's safe to say that the research conducted is true as regards hair relaxers and fibroid.

May God visit everybody going through one ailment or the other.
      Love

2. I'm a living testimony too. Fibroid dealt with me, funny thing is I never knew I had it. I got to know while on admission in hospital (had acute malaria),then went for normal scan and then it was discovered..I was confused cos my period was normal(same pattern of flow) but with excruciating pain,my tommy isn't that big as per fibroid( oh how ignorant I was), lower back pain,pain down my legs in my bones,painful sex,always dry down there, highly low libido..The monster was discovered in 2018 then finally it was taken out May this year(2 big disgusting something and one small one) as hard as a stone.. I even sent Stella a mail about my testimony, the surgery was successful and recovery so amazing..God I can't thank you enough, now sex is SWEET and I believe my testimony for my miracle babies is here..Amen

3. God will answer your prayers, AMEN.

4. Beekkeee, I'm really happy for you. You are truly a testimony and may all your heart desires be granted very soon in Jesus name

5. Big lies @ It's safe to say that the research conducted is true as regards hair relaxers and fibroid.

2. I love her courage, it's not easy to talk about things like this in Nigeria because people read and understand what they read in a different way.
    May God heal you perfectly Toyin.

3. Its well. Most times you see people smiling but you don't know the pains they're going through.
    The good Lord who sees in secret will grant his divine healing to everyone suffering from different pains, Amen.

4. I found out I had fibroid at the age of 40. I don't hv pains mine comes with heavy period. I use transexamic acid whenever am in my period. It helps reduce the flow UpTo 50 percent. My doctor advice I should take drugs that will put me to premature menopause since am done with childbirth. I am just too scared. I don't want surgery.i am 42, I am praying that menopause should come too fast.

1. Your own is good. Transenamic acid did not work for me. I had to go do surgery. I've discussed the option of forced menopause with my doctor. Once I'm done having children,I'll go for it straight. I'm in my 30s. Waiting for menopause go tey.

2. So sorry about that ma'am. My fibroid comes with pregnany and shrinks gradually after deliver ofcourse with some supplements. I doubt if SDK will let me share the supplements here so you can click on blog Id.

3. Also cut out sugar completely from your diet, avoid alcohol as well. These two things give the fibroid an enabling environment to grow. Drink lots of water,exercise regularly and dont take hormonal drugs unless your Doctor prescribed it.

5. Hmmmmmm kind of relieve reading this, i have done fibroid surgery in 2012 and still battling with another growth, this thing is killing ladies secretly. You will be fine my fellow woman, please come back to share your testimony so that i can be part of it.

6. Awww...fibroid at 23? God see you through Tiannah

1. I heard of a girl that had fibroids in her teens that fibroid thing can distroy one's joy

7. So sad to read about your plight Toyin.
    I have a story to tell about fibroid. I have
    never suffered from one. But If I tell it,
    and how to avoid it, these ladies, won't believe
    me. They will only tear me apart. So let me just
    🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️ in peace.

1. Say it. I'm listening

2. We dont want to hear ur abortion story pls.THANK YOU as u comply......

3. @Beds
      How and from where did you bring abortions into this discussion?
      If I did, you would have aborted me from this blog and used me to make suya long time ago eh?
      😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊

4. Oh please, I would love to know. What really causes fibroids? How can it be avoided?

5. Pls say it out I'm interested in knowing so as to pass the knowledge to others especially the younger women.

8. Quite empathize with yo Toyin.
    My main concern and question is;
    Why is it that when Nigerians, women especially,
    no matter their level of education and exposure,
    once they have challenges in life, they try the
    orthodox (medicine) in this case. The next, the
    quickly rush to herbs, concoctions and the
    Kingdom of darkness for help only to complicate
    issues both healthwise and spiritually?
    If you dare mention to them to seek God in fasting
    and prayer, they will look at you like a murderer.
    Why? 🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️

1. Stop misleading people with your opinion. There is no where in the bible that seeking help from doctors and herbs was faulted. Even the bible talked about the balm in Gilead and that if anyone is sick, he should call the elders to pray.

God our heavenly father is the giver of all knowledge: orthodox, traditional and otherwise. The Holy Spirit through prayer will guide on the necessary and best approach to take for complete healing.

instant miracle still happens but by His grace and mercy.

Abeg oooo don"t tell someone whose appendicitis burst to pray and fast instead of rushing the person to the hospital.

God help us all.

9. Why are Nigerian young women suddenly having fibroids?
    Is it what they eat or their general lifestyle that is causing the fibroids to grow when its not supposed to?

There must be something wrong somewhere. Its almost as if fibroids is now the new malaria among young Nigerian ladies.

They should do a thorough study on it. People should know what they should avoid and not to provoke the fibroids.

I pray healing upon every one of you

1. I think it is our food. I had surgery and mine never came back. I try to eat healthy and exercise. Plus I rarely use relaxers which I heard is also a contributory factor.

If you have fibroids take out sugar or cut down on sugar, cut down on alcohol as well.

It is well.

2. Harsh relaxers we use to retouch our hair is the cause

3. How I manage to have two wonderful babies while battling fibroid is miracle.

4. I don think it has anything to do with relaxer.I retouch my hair every month bcos I have strong hair.I used cheap ones they sell 500 naira.I am 37yrs old,a single mom but I don't have fibroid.If relaxer causes it,then I would have had it long ago.I dont eat healthy.I eat anything I want.no meal plans.I bleached my skin join.
      I think fibroid is like cancer.Nobody knows the cause.

5. 21:58. Did you have you child early in life?some women that have kids on time don't have it.

6. @anon 06:43 I had my son at d age of 31..that's 6yrs ago.

7. More lies @ Harsh relaxers we use to retouch our hair is the cause.

Such ignorance

10. I found out I had fibriods over 10 yrs ago. I was asked not to remove it, cos I had not started having kids. I had no issues with it until 2015/2016. I loose a lot of blood when on my period, I feel dizzy like I'm going to pass out, and the pain was not here. I start taking pain meds days before my period comes, so I won't really feel it. My tummy, gosh I looked 6/7 month preggy, had to wear loose cloth. The day I did the surgery, in 2016, I was given 4epidurals, they said my body was too used to pain meds, lost a lot of blood, had to been given blood, which made me sick cos my body was rejecting it. Couldn't walk till day 3. I spent almost 2weeks in the hospital. I came out alive. That's why I'm grateful for every blessed day.

1. Awwww candy babe🤗🤗🤗..worth to be grateful for.

2. Wow. I thank God for your life.

3. Wow... I thank God for you darling 🤗🤗💖

4. Omg! So sorry sweetheart! Thank God you are doing fine. I have too but it is finger like fibroid on my uterus. I bleed heavily but I am on medication to reduce the bleeding. Sending you love and light🥰🥰🥰😘😘😘

5. Candy love💞💞.

I really thank God for your life.God's healing is permanent my dear.

E-hug💞

6. Pele Candy, you are a strong woman.

7. Awww!!! Thank GOD for your life

8. @Obianuju dearie, I am thankful for everything o, even going to the restroom.🤗🤗🤗
      @Radiant, thanks love.🤗🤗🤗
      @Ms A, thanks darling.🤗🤗🤗
      @LEE70, thanks love. I pray yours just goes away.🤗🤗🤗
      @Essa darling, thanks babes.🤗🤗🤗
      @Gem dearie, Amen ooo.🤗🤗🤗

9. Oh Candy, thank God for you. Your testimony is permanent.

10. @Ms Abroadian, thanks love.🤗🤗🤗
      @Amanda Favour, Thank God ooo🤗🤗🤗

11. @Nique, Amen ooo🤗🤗🤗
      @Convince Me, all the time o.🤗🤗🤗

12. Candy love, thank God for your life. May your testimony be permanent

13. I thank God for your life.
      Affliction shall never rise again in Jesus name. Amen

11. My mum had fibroid but it's no longer disturbing her.

My elder sister's own is terrible. Her first child was through CS, so from there they took out some of the fibroids. She's currently pregnant for the second. Seeing her in pains is terrible.

1. Lies...
      No doctor can take out fibroids after a CS delivery...
      A very fat lie!!...

2. My mum also had fibroid she removed her womb after having me. She gave birth to two children, my elder brother and I

3. Queen, quack doctors do. I've seen. It's medically wrong though and such doctors can be sanctioned.

4. Please, it's very possible to take out fibroids while doing a Caesarean section. It's just that there are o ly a few Obstetrician & Gynaecologists that would do such...they call them cowboy doctors.

How do I know this? I searched for them some years ago when I wanted to give birth to my 3rd child. There was only one doctor who agreed to do that for me and he's in Surulere. I've forgotten his name now but a very senior female O&G doctor referred me to him. Eventually, I backed out because my father (also a senior doctor) was totally against it. The risks are too high. Both surgeries involve high volume of blood loss which could lead to so many other complications.

I had my baby and used natural remedies...the fibroids are not growing anymore, bleeding during period is normal and pains greatly reduced.

For those who want to know, I stopped using relaxer and considerably reduced my sugar, bread and processed food intake.

5. @Nique, removing fibroid during CS? Is that doctor ok? It's not advisable at all except the doctor wants you to bleed to death. I had by 2 children through CS , for my 2nd baby I asked them to take off thhe fibroids , they said its not done like that otherwise I might bleed to death, mind you this is at one of the hospitals, in a country with one of the best health care in the world.

12. What we eat contributes to fibroid growth. If you've done surgery before, change your diet. Eliminate rice, pasta, flour, bread, read meat, alcohol, diary and go on a plant based diet. It won't grow back. If you have little once you can still go on this diet and it will shrink. Mine is shrinking and I'm glad.

1. I forgot to add, also stop seasoning cubes. Seasoning cubes and fibroid are enemies. Use natural spices to cook your food.

2. So what kind of foods do you eat now @anon 14:14

3. My God, if someone eliminate all these foods at this age, where is the enjoyment in life, which food train😪😪😕

4. We should kuku stop eating be that. Are these not our staple foods in Nigeria?

5. Fruits and vegetables. Just eat clean. I'm doing it and it's working for me. It's cheaper than spending money for drugs and all the pains associated with fibroid and maybe surgery eventually.

6. I don't think It is possible to live on fruits and vegetables only. Yoy need all the classes of food, however, proportion is key, very little carbs, no alcohol, no sugar,no processed foods, switch to healthy oils, eat lots of protein, fibre, veggies and fruits, detox from time to time.

I heard milk feeds fibroids, can't verify.

I cannot over emphasize the need to exercise, lose weight and maintain a healthy BMI.

7. Conctraceptive is a major cause of it

8. 20:51 so virgins that have it nko? My first fibroid diagnosis was my early 20s and I was still a virgin. Just shut it if you know nothing.

9. Contraceptives aren’t a major cause of it. Gosh ignorance.

13. I just has my fibroid surgery.Still recovering. Now they say I should conceive fast so it does not regrow.Will I impregnate myself. The pain of the surgery alone.Abeg.

1. I pray for speedy recovery for you dear. 🤗🤗🤗🤗

2. Speedy recovery in Jesus name(Amen)

3. Thank God for a successful surgery. Wishing you a quick recovery 🥰🤗

4. Speedy recovery for you in Jesus Name. Amen

14. Hmmmnn I can relate,it took loosing my first pregnancy to realize I had it.The pains you experience when pregnant and carrying fibroids are just out of this world...

1. True. My sister really suffered in her first pregnancy.

15. This killer disease called fibroid is so terrible, I don't have strength to type much about it today but maybe someday I will have the strength to talk about it.

16. It's well with u Toyin ❤️❤️❤️

17. Woow i think im part of d few women dat dont feel a thing during their period. Iv never even taken pain reliever before cos i feel no pain whatsoever. Mine just last long,for like 5days. Dats d only inconvenience i get.

1. Hello BnR, I used to feel lots of pains and with very heavy flow few years after I started menstruating, when I say heavy rush, you know how those borehole tap used to rush out water, that was how my period was. Mind you, I've always been a sport girl, so, I've always lived a healthy lifestyle. I ate more veggies, fish and legumes while growing up.

The pains suddenly stopped after I moved from Nigeria. Still have heavy flow but, not like the way it was almost twenty years ago.

As for fibroids, I think many people should change their lifestyle, diet and all those hair/skin chemicals.

2. BnR not all fibroid is associated with pains. My sister's period was 4days and no pain whatsoever but her fibroid is like a 38weeks old pregnancy.

18. Thank God for u Toyin..fibriod is terrible.

19. Fibriod is now very common among young ladies, what can be the cause? It's scary

1. Fibroid is very common in black women. Just the way cancer is common among white women. It’s a genetic thing I think, from what I read.
      Sorry to all ladies going through this💔

2. Nothing genetic about, lifestyle/unhealthy diets triggers it.

3. It’s genetic. All the females in my family have had it.

20. I do. Did a surgery about 5 years ago and they've grown back. I'm too weak, scared and anxious to type much. Reading this post drains me and scares me even more. I'm 39 by the way and no kids yet, no serious boyfriend not husband. I can't come and go and kill myself. What will be will be. My major concern is staying alive and healthy.

1. I prayed for you and I know the Most High God of heaven heard me! Your case is settled! You are healed and blessed.

2. I had Fibroid issue since my twenties , i got married and had one child , removed the fibroid and had second child but in my 30s the period flow became so heavy that it will be coming out like miscarriage ..very thick i used tranxemic acid it will help then continue eventually i decided to have my womb removed because i had 2 kids to me i feel relieved it was a major problem and i considered the matter seriously for some time before agreeing to do the surgery by a yoruba consultant in UK i dont really regret it ..how can you be uncomfortable going out during menses because you have to change pad and tampon many times ,be staining chairs , bed ...every where because of issue of blood like river ..

21. Hmmmmmmmm, God help us.

22. Please this fibroid thing is scary , how can we use spices to cook instead of Maggie, and how can we switch to plant based food especially for us trying to get pregnant

1. Hello anon, if you want to stop cooking with seasoning cubes,it's possible. Buy stockfish(okporoko),the fish itself or the bones,(i use the bones),driedfish or the bones (i use the bones too),and crayfish. Blend it to powder and use it as your seasoning powder. I use dried blended ginger,thyme,rosemary,garlic and onions to boil my meat with the blended fish seasoning to get my meat stock. Don't add much water to your meat to get a really tasty stock. If you're cooking our Nigerian soups,add ogiri,iru,blended calabash nutmeg(ehuru) to your soup, it gives it a natural traditional taste. I hope this helps

2. With all Amanda listed, you can also add uziza seed too. Stock fish is very important. It has a natural sweet taste and flavor.

Since I stopped using seasoning cubes, my life has been good. I don't even eat out again no matter what.

23. Hmmmm....I have listened to some messages from some men of God and fibroid is said to be caused by spirit husband that it is a deposit of the spirit husband.... Go and listen to Stella Immanuel's message fire ministry on YouTube ( that doctor that spoke about curing 400 patients with coronavirus in the USA).... She is a prophet by the way... And she is not first person talking about fibroid being a spiritual attack... May God help us all

1. Caused by spirit husband, really???🙄🙄🙄. Just when you think you've heard it all, booom, another one.

2. Make we dey careful ooo, ahhhh..... Na wa , thank you Lord that you are God and you are who you are.

24. How can we switch to using herbs to cook in place of Maggie and plant based food , please help I want to change my diet

1. Scroll up Amanda Favour has prescribed some natural spices

25. Hmmmm. How I didn't die between 2015 and 2019 was just by Gods mercy. Mine was very small but it was in the uterus causing so much havoc. I bled like a lamb at slaughter. 2018 was the worst year for me,was admitted at the teaching hospital twice. Nothing worked for me,tranexamic acid,depovera, and so many I can't remember.Had to be taking Tramadol for pain as no other pain deliver was working. At a time tramadol stopped working and it made me vomit so bad. The doctors were even confused, I just kept bleeding. 14th Feb 2019 is the day I will never forget in my life,had myomectomy and started living like a Normal human being. 6 months later,God completed his miracle in my life.
    About fibroids regrowing, my doctor explained something's to me,he said fibroids shouldn't just be removed at anytime. There are specific times in a woman's cycle where all the fibroids will be seen and can be removed. Most of the regrowth stories are the very small ones that were too small to be removed in previous surgeries.
    Ladies,please if you are bleeding too much with pain,go to a specialist gynaecologist preferably a fertility specialist and discuss your options. That thing can kill abeg.

26. Heard for the first time that I had fibroid when I got pregnant with my son, uterine fibroid. I had pain once during pregnancy, then I was 4 months gone. The whole of that night I didn't sleep, the pain was unbearable and I lived alone (Single mom). The next day I went to the hospital for scan and I was told d fibroid increased in size and was dragging space with my baby that's y I had pains. I thought I was going to loose d pregnancy sef. But I just said Buta prayer quietly that if it's God's will then my baby will survive. my son will be 3 in a few days and I've never had that pain again. although it was small then but after I gave birth I haven't checked if it's still there. I just believe that it's gone

1. Our experience is similar. I am trusting God for another baby. I believe He will do it soonest for all if us TTC in Jesus name amen

27. I had fibroid when I was pregnant with my first baby which I miscarried. The doctor said it was insignificant because of how small it was. In her own words' it is too small and no matter how it grows there won't be need for surgery and intact, its not even the cause of the miscarriage' Fast forward to two months later, I became pregnant. When I was five months gone, I went for Scan to check the sex of my baby. No fibroid was detected. Fast forward again to when I was getting due, I went for antenatal and when my vitals were checked, they discovered I had high blood pressure with traces of protein in my urine. Went for another scan only for the doctor to discover fibroid was growing and the baby could not turn due to the fibroid. I was booked immediately for Cs due to the HBP. I went for antenatal on wed and had my baby on Friday. The fibroids were removed during the Cs. That was when I realised that the bulging and movement I was feeling was not the baby but fibroid. My baby is 14 weeks now all glory to God.

28. sis got married as a virgin,we were all happy for her, the husband treated her like an egg cos he net her pure, she couldn't conceive early,and she was later diagnosed with fibroid, well she was operated on, got pregnant almost immediately,everyone was happy, went for antenatal, she was tested positive to HIV, they got married in a church where all necessary blood test was done.the father started eyeing the man that he's the one that gave her, well lo and behold ,the man tested negative in fact my father took him to his own hospital to redo the test, same result, could it be the hospital where she did the fibroid operation?? Next time you see an HIV victim ,please don't condemn them as you don't know the story behind the infection, my sister lived a very chaste life and it so painful seeing her like this, though she's living positively,the hubby very supportive,kids are healthy, but the stigma,the pain😪😪, please don't pass without say is prayer for her,its almost 14 years now,she's still hoping....

1. Very sad. May God heal her

2. Her life would be a testimony.
      My prayers are with her.

3. Oh dear, so sad. So many ways to contact it even needles used in the salon.The Lord will heal your sister, amen.

4. There's nothing GOD cannot do!!
      The lord that kept her this far,will continue to sustain her

5. All will be well with your sister. Amen

29. I lost my dearest sister to fibroid during her operation.... It still hurt like ....she did the first operation at abeokuta it was successfully but it grew back, she was looking like a pregnant woman, she decided to go for the second operation because she wanted to have a child of her own, she was pregnant but the fibroid killed the baby that was when she decided to go for the second operation.... She died in the process.... Am so sad right now

1. Dis is so painful to read..May God console u..

30. Fibroid almost killed me. There was a time I bled for 6weeks straight. Was placed on transxemic acid and later OTP. Developed DVT and threw an embolus. Ended up having a filter before removing the demonic thing. I thank God I am alive and healthy now. Still believing God for my twins even though I'm almost 50.

1. sarah in the bible was older than you by far you will testify of Gods goodness

2. Sorry about your sister, may her soul continue to rest in peace, amen.

3. God will answer your prayers Amen

31. I hope she stays strong. May God continuously be with her and her family.

32. I Pray God Almighty heal everyone with Fibroid. Amen

33. Thank God for you. Please remember to share the secret with us because many women are in this too.

34. I lost two aunties to this fibroid. They post died from post operative complications after removing it.

35. Refined Carbohydrates – White foods such as pasta, white bread, white rice, cakes, and cookies have been known to alter estrogen levels, causing fibroids to increase in size.There are a number of changes you can make that might help reduce your risk for fibroids.

Follow a Mediterranean diet. Add plenty of fresh and cooked green vegetables, fresh fruit, legumes, and fish to your plate. ... Cut back on alcohol. ... Balance estrogen. ... Lower blood pressure. ... Get enough vitamin D. ... A note about smoking and diet.

36. Unhealthy diets caused body to produce excessive estrogen which form fabroid.

37. Unhealthy diets caused body to produce excessive estrogen which form fabroid. Researchers followed more than 22,000 premenopausal women and found that those who had a higher intake of fruit and preformed vitamin A – the vitamin A found in food from animal sources such 4/ as whole milk and eggs – had a lower risk of developing uterine fibroids. 

38. Exercising can also reduce the production of estrogen and progesterone, limiting the growth of the fibroids. Further research showed that BMI – body mass index – is linked to the development of uterine fibroids. By exercising and burning calories you can reduce your BMI and prevent the fibroids' growth.3 

39. My question is how has she been doing all these plastic surgeries with fibroids? In the U.K. no plastic surgeon will touch you with fibroids. Hmm Turkey quacks I guess.