Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - August Meeting In Nigeria

Thursday, August 06, 2020

Couch Convo - August Meeting In Nigeria

August meeting is the massive return of igbo women from different locations to their matrimonial hometowns. 

These women in conjunction with their home based colleagues gather in their different churches to discuss on how to move their hometowns and various parishes forward.

Monies realized from these meetings are used for rural community,church and human development. The meetings lasts for 2-3 days and on Sunday, they wrap up with Thanksgiving in church.
Some women use the time for showoff though...hehehe.

Now I ask,do other tribes also have August meetings?

Can Any igbo woman here tell us how the August meeting has impacted on her?
Can you gist us things that happen at these August meetings?Is it holding this year despite the COVID 19 pandemic?

Lets gist!!!

35 comments:

1. Yes oh August Meetings are holding..I learnt some Anambra women are organizing theirs via ZOOM meeting...Well it is now for competition on who dey wear the best abada or latest wrappers..Plenty infighting and katakata

1. Phoenix you are right. It is a competition of "who get money pass".

2. The competition has been reduced long time by branches having their own uniform blouses and wrappers.

3. Baltika that's a good improvement too.

4. Zoom me?? August meeting dey hold wella here

5. @Batika..U are right but they still show off with their gold and diamond jewelries,designers shoes,bags and exotic cars and SUVs..U can't really stop these women from showing off..Even with the cheap abada and blouse,u will still see their expensive human hairs flowing down from their headties...My mom no dey attend(as a born again Christian)..They have removed her from every women activities but she still pays her dues..

2. My mama no dey go sha. Where she wan see tfare that year dey travel anyhow just for meeting.

Dem get branch sha for ikorodu there wey dem dey do monthly. I could remember my mum used to be the host as our then landlord (may God rest his soul) was very accommodating and would let them use the compound for meeting.

My favourite time of the year was usually their end of the year party with lots of food and dances and yea, my mum is a terrific Enugu dance dancer 😘😘😘😘

1. Eka Joy, I think the one you are talking about is "meeting umu Ada". August meeting is done once in a year in the village every August...

2. Yea, probably. Different groups have it. Opposite my house then, my neighbour used to hold for their village too. I think she was from Nsukka

3. Chike the one Eka is talking about is the normal monthly village meeting.You know the meeting is separated(men from women);those that have money get a hall and divide the space to accommodate both meetings,others will pick a members house. It is usually from this meeting they select and sponsor their August meeting reps.If you are not picked but want to go,bills on you.

So Chike it means you have not been going for your umunna meetings oooo.

4. Nkay I'm not aware that women still do village meeting like men.

5. Wow.Enugu women and their dance eh..They used to do meeting in our compound..If u see the way they shake and twist their waists eh..I love their dance steps..Imezi Owa precisely.. They do come for rehearsals too bcos their Chairlady lives in our compound then..
      They can cook and dash people food especially their abacha and palm wine..I remember those good old days..

3. Hahahaha. Never heard of it before oh. Can't wait to read hilarious comments.

4. Igbo women that believe so much in this August meeting should speak out. For me I don't know anything about it because my hometown do not observe it.

I was told some women end their marriage because of it especially when their husbands cannot afford the August meeting wears.

1. Unfortunately,it became a humongous contest amongst the women.Lots committed atrocities to not only attend but become leaders.

The intent of the meeting as stated in the post was for rural development,promoting unity,love and peace.Networking between the poor and the rich to foster good business relationship,etc.

But trust women.....

2. Don't say ur village doesn't observe it..Just say u don't know anything about it..Except u are not from Igboland..Every town in 5 states in Igboland partakes in it..Gaa juo ese!

5. Haaa! I don't think having August meeting this year will be a good idea o.
    This pandemic period is not the time for that kind move at all...... my own opinion shaa.

1. This year's meeting rounded off yesterday in my Hubby's hometown.. This 2020 things were done moderately and mostly attended by those home based because of coro.. If not for Coro it is normally one week straight for the event.Those not home based were asked not to come and meaning no fine for being absent this year which is supposed to be general. To me it is boring abeg, I no kuku see the head and tail

6. Wow, just hearing this for the first time . I'm not Igbo though.

7. I am not Igbo. But I know one Igbo mama that do not joke with this August meeting.

8. My mum said they won't be having it this year but they were told to collect #200 each from each woman and the branch leader will send it to the general chairlady through bank.

The meeting has really impacted especially in the community and church's development. The women discuss ways to move the church forward and make contribution towards it. In my home town (not hubby's), a lot of projects were carried out both in the town and in the various parishes like construction of nursery and primary schools, Town Halls, renovation of the church, erection of the father's house, etc.

For those saying is now a fashion galore I doubt if that is still in place at least in my place. There's a general uniform wch is d CWO Onitsha diocese uniform and the blouse must be made with that #400 a yard white, the style is sewed the same way, two buttons at the top part of the back no zipper. Unless you used all your money to buy shoes, bags and jewelries na u Sabi.
    The payment is usually uniform, everybody contribute the same amount. Although they do donation and that is strictly volutary...nobody forces or expects you to donate.

So if anyone is saying August meeting chased her out of her husband's house check the woman well...her wys no pure at all.

1. Mhiz A what do you want with nkwobi????? hehehehehehehe
      Your last line said it all...

I truly look forward to going for such meetings oooo,that's if time permits...

9. The impact of August meetings is that,
    the women gather to not only show off
    but to settle scores -jealousy, bickering,
    poisoning, snatching, "jazzing,"...all kinds
    of evil stuff that ladies are made up of are
    on display in these meetings. It got so bad that
    some sane community heads had to come together to
    give a dress and behavioral code to these women.
    Actually mandated them to wear white clothing and no
    jewelries to sort of rein them in.
    😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

10. August covens
    😏😏😏😏😏

11. August meeting may have its good and positive side but sometimes,the negativity and toxicity associated with the meeting is overwhelming.In my hometown,at a point they had to stop everyone from wearing whatever they want to wear and ordered everyone to be in the general women uniform.That way,no body will come to intimidate others with whatever they are wearing.Though trust some women to show off in other ways but at least everyone is on uniform

1. DeHeroine where are u from?they did exact thing in my village,the women now wear uniform but them still dey show class by wearing expensive jewelries and foot wears😁

2. i was told the order is in almost all parts of the east

of course they'll show off some other ways since they are not also restricted from wearing jewelries and others

12. The August meeting I know is a Catholic and Anglican Church thing.
    The go for the meetings with their uniforms, so I don’t know where they do the display of clothes.

1. Leave them na. They are already judging based on what they watch from Africa magic epic

2. Eka Joy no body is jugding based on Africa magic it's real.It was the display of clothes that made them to start wearing uniform

3. Eka change for your own good, you are problematic.
      Let people share their experiences in peace.

13. I heard about this August meeting in a movie, I can't remember the title now. Some women were fighting their husband for money to buy expensive wrapper to show off

14. Women in Igbo states including Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu and Imo are holding their yearly August meetings in their various communities to contribute their quota towards developing of their home towns.

Although, this year's meetings are not glamorous as they used to be because of the economic recession, which has brought gloom to most families, the yearly meetings, which began over 20 years ago, have become a yearly ritual as Igbo women living at home and abroad return home as part of their efforts to complement the efforts of the men in providing essential amenities like roads, health centres, electricity and churches among others in their communities.

15. Yeah, our August meeting will still hold. Because of the show off in those days, it has been agreed that we only wear China white blouse and a blue background wax wrapper. The only thing that will differentiate people now is just the accessories, if necessary. Igbo women, let's go!!