Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

Tuesday, August 04, 2020

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

Na wah............

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
TORN BETWEEN PAID EMPLOYMENT AND BUSINESS

Dear Stella,
You are doing well  .
please I need help in making this decision..

I'm torn between paid employment and starting a business.

I lost a well paid sales job in **** in March this year. It was a relief actually, because the pressure and stress was getting way too much.
I'm married with 3 kids and it wasn't even giving me time for my family.

Now, I have another sales job offer in another ***** company and the pay is around 300k to 350k monthly, with official pick up truck and other little benefits, but the truth is I'm tired of sales job. If the offer is in another "stay in the office department", I would have considered it.

Now my second plan is starting a clothing business, I hope to import everything female fashion item. I have 6 million naira saved for this and I plan to travel to China or Vietnam next year once all border is opened, to source the goods myself.

I have never run a business before, which is why I'm a little confused or which option to go for. I don't know if I should take up the paid job, which will not even allow me to run a side business, because the job requires me to work late in the night(company produces alcoholic drinks too), the time, mental and physical work needed plus managing 3 kids.

Or

Go ahead with my business and divert the whole energy in creating my own brand. It will be worthwhile, right?

I know job is hard to find in this country, so somehow I should be thankful that I have an offer just few months of leaving a job. But, sales job wahala is really not something I'm excited about anymore. I'm very zealous which was why I grew in my previous work and it gave me recommendation for this new offer, but that road is something I don't think I want to trade again. I'm just so confused.

why don't you wait until things get back a bit to normal and then you can decide?Otherwise it might be a wrong investment in these pandemic times and probably thereafter,its all about foodstuff business right now,so you might also want to look into that......

71 comments:

1. Poster, take the sale job offer and continue until things normalizes if you are a guy. Just restrategize on how to do the job so the stress wont be too burdensome on you.

1. Poster, take the job. Manage. Continue saving. Start your Canada relocation process before the year ends. Don't mess that 6m up, I take God beg you. Business is not easy like that esp clothing in this pandemic

2. Poster, take the job. Manage. Continue saving. Start your Canada relocation process before the year ends. Don't mess that 6m up, I take God beg you. Business is not easy like that esp clothing in this pandemic

3. take the job and start the ground work for your business with 2M. keep the rest.

4. It's left for you to decide what you sure wanna be on about and i wish you all the best

5. Or you can open the business whilst still working but monitor it with security cameras I run a business in Nigeria from abroad with security cameras don’t jump ship too fast look into kids clothing too mix it up everyone is selling female clothes

6. Clothing business in Nigeria? That business is all about debts and people will owe you,they will first buy and pay,and establish a relationship then start collecting credit, 🤣🤣🤣 you go draw gbese tire.
      My honest advice is,take the job,wait it out till next year,whilst doing that speak to your husband about relocation to Canada or somewhere else.
      Please don't throw that money away just in the name of "business" and if you don't fancy travelling out or relocation, then food business is the the kind of business that never goes out of fashion.
      All the best but PRAY about every and any step you want to take.

7. I totally agree with Stellz on this. This is not a good time to be taking risks building a business especially the likes of the one you have in mind.. Please take the job and keeping managing it for now till things are a little stable.

All the best

8. Poster take the job and continue to save . 6m is not that much for your clothing business with no additional income

9. The business you have in mind is the problem. Clothes in this covid era when there is economic recession??? Who is still buying clothes self when they can manage the ones they have? If you must do business, look at food, medicine, sanitizers etc. I know food and medicine will always move. Do not waste your 6m.

You can take the marketing job and resign when you are ready to start business but the truth is business is a bit slow for a lot of entrepreneurs now.

10. @ Poster, what about farming? Go and do a bit of research and see If it something you can do.

2. Importation, especially female clothes is not a good business idea at the moment.
    Let the covid road and air clear.
    And Do you know Buhari's policies on such importation.
    My advice; continue with a paid job and continue to build your savings.
    Above all, involve Christ Jesus in your life and
    business because he is the Lord that
    gives you power to create wealth, enduring wealth with peace of mind.
    🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️

1. For me. I think u should work and chill a little. This period is not an ideal time for business. The new method people use online now.

Creating WhatsApp group. People help u advertise on socdial media and u do delivery.

3. Nice advice from Stella. and please if you do decide to do business, don't invest the full 6M. Invest like 2M for it.
    Business is good cos there would be time for the kids. Taking care of 3 kids is a loy of time investing.
    I believe you will do well in business cos you did well as a sales person for others.
    Also wait for the ripples effect of the pandemic to be over before delving into business.. And while waiting, you could accept this job because it took take as much as a year for everything to settle down.
    Goodluck.

1. Poster, pray to God for guidance.
      I know exactly how you feel about your job.
      Please, even if you don't want your new job offer DO NOT GO INTO CLOTHING BUSINESS for now.

This Covid-19 pandemic made me realise I have excess clothes, shoes and bags (giving them out already). I DON'T plan to buy more.

Take Stella's advice and go for food or fast-moving consumer goods.

2. Bianca long time howdy. Where’s pepper ose oku

4. I'm not a business person. I admire those who are.

1. I keep saying it.
      Not all of us are cut out for business.

Corona really helped me be more convinced. Do you know how many buisnesses got stuck during this corona? Simply because they were not essential services?

If you get an opportunity to work for the government or at a very reputable company. Take it please! There is a way you plan with money that comes at a particular time of the month...

If you want to ADD business to it. That's good.

But don't leave a paid job for business please unless its really tasking your life and causing you any form of harm..

2. There is no difference between a business person and a field sales person, the only difference is you are selling other people’s products and getting paid every month, poster I’ll advice you to start a business but food business in any form, e.g baking products or other raw food, put in same effort you are using to market other people’s product, I promise you’ll make it, also start small, invest 1m and see how it goes. As a sales person you’ll always get job offers but it’s same heartache, pressure and depression that comes with the money, it’s not worth it abeg. Break freee

5. First Yh food biz is the main ish right now , clothes sell but not as much as food at all, secondly u can always merge the two together , work and business ! That’s wat I’m doing right now .

6. Instead of giving Chingo people this 6 million naira, why not find good Nigerian tailors in Aba and invest in them.
    I tell you, a lot of Aba guys sew better than whatever Chingo people can
    come up with.
    And you avoid all the import duties and airport extortion wahala.
    Make such products your label and
    sell them as "Made in Nigeria."
    Besides, let Covid waka pass before you rush in.
    👗👗👗👗🎩🎩

1. Yeahhh lookf for good tailors, buy good machines, go to aba and buy good crêpes, chiffon, scuba, cashmere

Give those tailors and start your clothing line..

3 million is enough.. Don't go n waster our money outside..🤗🤗🤗🤗

Machine (3). #350000
      Shop depends #300000
      Materials #1,000,000
      Employers #500,000 for 3 in 6 months
      Logistics n miscalleneous 100k

3 million too much self..🤗🤗🤗

2. True that. Aba tailors export to China and Turkey. My colleague met someone that coordinates it for them on a flight. They still import it back to Nigeria.

7. Poster, I'll advised you to take the job. No harm in adding more money to what you have saved. You can resign later, and do your business.

8. Take the job first. Only resign when you've set up your business. You may be lucky to collect 2-4 months salary from them before they fire you (you may even perform well). Please use the job to occupy yourself while you set up your business

9. Oga take the job for now. What's your wife doing? She can run the business nah. Tell her to do market survey thoroughly meanwhile focus on your new job. I need that type of sales job too.

10. I agree with food business. It's the only essential commodity right now.. people would think twice before buying clothes but food stuff? Everyone eats on a daily. Try use some money to start a little food stuff business..it sells!

11. It will better you pick up the job first. Later on after the coast is clear you can decide on the business. With what is happening now only few businesses are profiting in this period

12. You are experiencing burnout. so sorry. it happens to the best of us.
    When I got mine,I wanted to leave everything and start a business.
    I left the country instead,I still have the same job but very happy.

Take a 2 month break. Travel or sleep. anything you want. Then decide if you still want the job. God bless you as you make your choice.

1. Thank you for this response . I wonder why everyone is pushing food business at the poster. Of he/she was interested in that it would have been mentioned. Dear poster please breathe. The last few months have shown how fickle life is. May you find clarity.

2. Take time off your job to refresh and rejuvenate.Maybe you can apply for an extended leave with or without pay.you are having a burnout which is common with some jobs. I am sure when you return you will have a different perception about your job and better zeal.

13. I agree with Stella, and it seems you have already made up your mind. If the stress is too much don't accept the job, but a clothing business? Hmmmmmm it's not easy she and people don't buy clothes like that sef. You might want to change business. All the best

14. Poster I will advise you to take the job.
    Business is not what you just wake up one morning and start. You have to learn the business and have idea about it before you start.
    Having the money is good but having good idea about the business is the real deal.

15. So why did you apply from rnthebjob when you know younwerentired of sales work? Anyway I'll suggest you take up the job for now and keep saving pending when they reopen border.. you can get a matured nanny or your relatives that can stay with your kids pending when you get back home.

Or rent a shop and start foodstuffs business.. it's very very lucrative.

16. Start small first. It's not by traveling to Vietnam to source for the goods yourself. Business has its own wahala oo. Please start small and don't put in all that money before you acquire hypertension

17. Why do Nigerians always think abroad in everything?
    You have 6 million naira and your are already thinking China, vietnam?
    Why not think Enugu, Aba, Lagos, Port Harcourt?
    Wow!

18. Please go with the sales job for now till things normalize, then you can focus on other things. I like Stella's idea on food. It's very ok to do. Above all, please pray to God about this for direction. He knows it all...

I wish you well.

19. Follow Stella's advise. Clothing is not really marketable for now. Take the job and resign when things go back to normal.

20. If you know you won’t be miserable at the sales job, take it. When the world is back to normal, say in 6 months time, you can plan your exit and start your business. But if you would be unhappy and miserable in the sales job, don’t take it.

21. Dear poster, please continue with the sales job and keep saving

22. Please take the new offer first while thinking of the appropriate business to venture into(visibility studies)Meanwhile, if you are a man, you can empower your woman with part of the money and monitor things.

23. Madam pls take the job business is very bad now

24. I think food business or any Agricultural Venture is the best business to go into. I understand your feeling about not being enthusiastic about your job....but food or Agriculture is best for now and you don't need more than two million to start. There is poultry, fishery, snail farming and so much more with sure returns on profits. Start on a small or medium scale and grow. Be your own boss.

25. I wont advise anybody to venture into business this period..o ,take the job and continue saving, go into food business or minimart that you can sell everything including food stuff.

26. Since you are used to sales marketing why don't you look for a way to become a distributor to golden penny and sell their semolina, spaghetti , noodles and other products they produce. With that money you could also get a little truck to aid distribution to your customers. Clothing business for now is not advisable. Think about it and good luck.

27. Poster,kindly note that not everyone is good in business,same way everyone can't do a paid job..
    You just have to find what you are good at,then do it if it works for you..

Forget all the hype you see online or hear of;handling a business itself and making "reasonable" profit after sales isn't a joke.

Don't go into that business because You HEARD that it is profitable..

Custom clearance rate plus dollar rate right now is very high? And it's really affecting prices of good;hence less profit after sales(because business is competitive now and everyone is giving the best price to make sales daily)..

Another factor is Covid-19,people need to eat;after that they can think of what to wear.
    Jobs are being lost;where are they wearing the Clothes to?

Except there is an improvement in the economy by next year;I would advice you don't put all that money into fashion business..
    You can invest like 2M to 3M(but I would advice you rather go into foodstuff and drinks with the amount instead of fashion)..

Lastly;how good are you in business? Can you differentiate various quality of clothes?
    Can you run the business yourself? Or do you plan on employing someone to manage for you??(wrong move for a starter)

Please before you go into fashion Biz,learn it a bit from someone? There are things to do and know..
    Example,you don't pack all designs and stock in your shop;it phases out with time..
    You buy gradually and keep restocking the latest trend;that is where Mini-Importation comes in..

Do you know that?

Forget all the hype and reviews you see online;business isn't easy now,and yes there are lots of apps used to generate those "Sales review" online From customers which make you rush to buy thinking it's legit..

You might see the above as a discouragement but trust me;you won't know how deep an ocean is till you are inside..

Do what gives you peace,i wish you the best..

@MARTINS

28. can i get the job? start business i this pandemic? emmmm please send the job link to me ooooo i de find work

29. Mostly pple doesn't really understand what sales job entails.hmm poster is even considering another department I swear sales job drains u wen ur explaining ur pains to pple they don't even understand u won't even have time for ursrlf talkmore of ur kids.poster just hang in there pls thus new one might not be like d lastone.just save more n think of wen to leave after saving up a reasonable amount.

30. Poster abeg look very well before you leap...Take that job first if you set your mind and create time..It is very possible to do a side business..Don't join bandwagon businesses e.g everyone dey do am, make I do my own..Settle down in your new job first, survey your area, do a marketing survey and identify unique problems that you can easily solve, take your time my darling..I want to do business no be for mouth..Do your homework well..Dont throw your money like that.

Food business/raw material/supply chain/drink business sef will sell because whether man happy or sad him must drink and eat sege..Above all, pray to God for wisdom and discerning spirit..All the best dear

31. My advice, take the job and from the start, begin to apply for an internal transfer to another department which is possible albeit difficult, Speaking from my experience in FMCG.
    About the boutique business, I'd say it's a no brainer right now. The best you can do for now is "ready to wear" just like someone suggested up there, you could engage Aba tailors.
    Accept the job and also start the business online. It's going to be as good as transacting from the comfort of your home then your next move could stem from the reception your brand receives.
    Good luck because you'd be needing it...

32. IMHO, I'm not sure you should quit and go into full time business, doesn't seem like you are ready. Besides i think it's best to start a side business while you work in your case selling what you know best(alcoholic beverages)
    Instead of sales why not go into brand marketing or business development. Use this period to learn about and develop yourself in the field. Another option is negotiating your work contract if you can prove that you meet target, negotiate for 2 days off so you can focus on your family and monitor the side business.

33. Asides the fact that I'm naturally team paid job( I've tested both terrains), I'll say take the job please. You can always pull out anytime in the future. You lose nothing. No sign that you can kick off any successful importation business considering the pandemic era we are in. Give it at least months and reconsider.

Meanwhile, don't accept the sales job half minded. Approach it with all the enthusiasm you've got. Be grateful to God.

If you don't accept it, you may finish your 6m before global economy returns to normal as a result of this pandemic. Even if you kicked off the business right away,it might take between six months and two years before you break even and start to make profits. What would you survive on?

The only concern I'm nursing is your safety being a woman and working late nights. How safe is this? And I hope the new job wouldn't require that.

34. Poster, ask God for direction,he will help u, we human can only say from the perspective we know, but only God knows you well, and knows what u can do perfectly, go on ur knees and ask him, he will give u an answer.

35. Dear Poster I Hope you can sieve through these responses and know the ones who are on your wavelength....

36. If u don't mind,I am a member of NURTW Lagos chapter.buy grade A Nigeria used coaster bus.u can contribute a daily contribution of 30k.u can earn as high as half a million every month.

37. Accept the work till all this pandemic is over then u can think of business but please take Stellas advice,i dont invest in clothing

38. Poster also consider hospital consumables. It's like food business.sell in whole sale,to hospitals n chemist.since u r into sales.just market/advert on it n u will b shocked at the turnover

1. Sounds very good. But doesn't that need a lot of training, been that I'm not in science line.

39. I guess i'm the only one who just assumed the Poster is a woman. I saw "managing 3 kids" hence my assumption as men don't traditionally include the kids in career decision-making

40. Poster please take the offer and work till next year for things to get back to normal abit cos right now the only thing that matters to people is essential stuffs and if you are not in that line,you won't make more sells and your money will be trapped cos a lot of people are working from home now.

41. Thank you so much for taking your time to comment, I totally appreciate. I just learnt that Clothing business is definitely not a good business choice. While I wait to resume work, I think I'll start making enquries on consumable products. Thank you Stella

1. Pharmacy is a good business, you don't have to invest all the money as most drugs are supplied on credit(get a pharmacist to register for you and you pay them)Drugs profit is 50% of cost price.Bakery is very good too.Get a good baker and get them to train you for at least 3 months(No bread baker will give all recipes, agree on 3 at least)Every body eats bread.Some bag of flour gives you 99 loaves (the 350 or 400 naira loaves)

42. I have a suggestion for you. My advice is to take the job offer and then teach how to sell online. Spend the little time you have writing an online course on how to sell as that seems to be your super power. It will give you passive income as you only have to record your course once. Selling clothing no be am in this current economic environment. Food will always sell but clothing is a luxury to many and one that people are comfortable to owe on.

1. You are right dear.

Take the job, learn online basic skill and stabilize, then you can face your own business.