Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos Govt Introduces New Tax For Video And Songs To The Displeasure Of Entertainers...

Friday, August 14, 2020

Lagos Govt Introduces New Tax For Video And Songs To The Displeasure Of Entertainers...

The Performing Musicians Employers Association, the umbrella body of musicians in Nigeria, has rejected the new five per cent tax introduced by the Lagos State Film and Video Censors Board.

A report published by the News Agency of Nigeria quoted the Executive Secretary, Bamidele Balogun, as giving operators a 30-day notice to duly register their contents with the body.

Balogun said, “Practitioners and stakeholders are also informed that henceforth, all audio and visual contents produced and sold within Lagos State shall attract the payment of five per cent levy on each item.

“This exercise will, however, assist the Lagos State Government in policy formulation, with regard to planning and funding for the sector.

“All practitioners and stakeholders in the entertainment sector within the state are advised to comply with this directive and cooperate with the authorised agent of the board.”

The agency also claimed to have come up with the decision after due consultation with PMAN.

However, the President of PMAN, Pretty Okafor, rejected the new directive, adding that entertainers already pay income tax like other Nigerians.

Okafor also said PMAN was not collaborating with the LSFVCB to fleece entertainers of five per cent of their hard-earned money.

The PMAN President said his organisation was not part of the arrangement, adding that they would soon take legal action.

He said, “Who are the people teaming with the film and censor’s board to do that? That is an illegality upon illegality.

“The board was wrong to have met with some people who claimed to be from PMAN. This is a plot to defraud people or impose double taxation.

“So, that will not stand and our lawyers will write them soon. Who did they negotiate with? Definitely not with us because we will never defraud people. Why are they taxing content producers when they are already paying personal income tax and VAT?

“Why are they charging five per cent? Does it even make sense? The agency doesn’t even have the authority to tax anybody. Why would people just gather and decide to perpetrate fraud?”
from punch newspapers on instagram

23 comments:

1. Business can barely thrive here
    Taxing yet you are not improving the lots of the people you taxing

1. To be honest, taxation is part of what makes thriving/developed countries function well
      Instead of complaining those taxed (and it won’t be the poor) must come together and figure out how to ensure the taxes are being spent properly (and not on SM runs girls! (And boys) or misappropriation etc)
      Alternatively, they can move production away from Lagos
      The problem with some Nigerians is that they want what is enjoyed but those in the “developed world “ but they don’t understand what those citizens have to go through to get what they need

2. No wah oh.

Sometimes all these taxes are duplicated, am think they must have been paying a form of tax to the government before

1. Every sector is looking for a way to steal from innocent nigerians. I pity this country

3. Why this people this wicked and heartless.
    Why do they derive joy in punishing Nigerians?

4. Lolzz hey Stella I no go dey wear makeup again oh before LASG will see me and collect beauty tax from me..Awon Beard Gang make una trim your beards oh..Beard keeping tax go soon come..I don talk my own

1. Hahahahaha...Lagos wants to tax everything and anything! The sad part is that there is nothing to show for it in terms of infrastructures.

2. He suspects he is not coming back, so wants to scrape every

5. Na wa ooo for this Lagos State Govt. Why all these in this Corona era where people are struggling to feed. Duplicating tax is fraudulent. This govt is stealing from Lagosians. Collecting taxes with nothing to show in terms of development. Ambode never imposed all these nonsense even though he had his failings according to some people. I guess they will start taxing us for wearing designers later. This is worst time to be in Nigeria

6. Its a world wide plan to frustrate all citizens worldwide. Then they riots nd war,hunger nd famine. Theyll nao tell you its end time. No body is disappearing anywhere. Maybe alien invasions, but no rapture.. all na wash

7. Its a world wide plan to frustrate all citizens worldwide. Then they riots nd war,hunger nd famine. Theyll nao tell you its end time. No body is disappearing anywhere. Maybe alien invasions, but no rapture.. all na wash

8. This is what happen when a state doesn't plan on sustainable development. Lagos is the most embarrassing state in Nigeria, and I say this as someone who was born and lived my first over 20years there.
    With all the monies they get daily, they don't invest in anything for the state to be able to generate money, them go just 'kolobi' everything and build projects which is supposed to be owned by the state as their personal project. Starting from the stupid Jagaban abi na jagbajanis man who is the biggest landlord in Lagos and hope to be the president of the zoo one day.

I still use a Akwa Ibom state for comparison here, Lagos state has the resources to do more than what Akwa ibom state has done so far like the state owned airport, state owned airline, state owned rice factory etc.. but boy! Will their greed allow them do the right thing!..

Lagos state doesn't have tax exemption for the petty traders who are just trying to survive there.. Let's take around ikeja along railway for instance which I was very aware of what was going on 4 years ago.. first to get a space outside there so you can stand in the road and sell you stuffs, you would first go into that Local Government office just by that railway, to see the chairman who would then bill you at least 10k for you to be able to stand on the road. Next they'll tell you that your daily time starts by 5.30pm cos anytime before that KAI officials would be there and they'll pick you up if you Shade or loiter the environment. Now from 5.30pm, you come and start you lil business, which is like selling of belts, second hands clothes, second hand shoes etc, they'll come and collect 500naira from everyone selling as ticket money.. asin from people that are just managing to feed oh.. now relax, I'm not done yet.. then TAX Force officer still comes around with Black Maria and Hilux vehicles to chase these people every night, whipping, destroying and parking their wares. I remember hanging around there one night at my favorite 'spot' on my way back from work waiting for the traffic to subside before I bounce, these Tax force guys came 3 times that night to chase these people.. I was told they first came around 7, I witnessed the other 2 times myself which was around 9 and 10pm respectively. They even took the big cooler of food and meats of a woman just beside my chilling spot πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.. omo ehn, if I start to talk of that state ehn.. e no go end oh.. Story plenty..

State weh no get oxygen.. Fashola tried planting trees so the people can at least have oxygen to breathe, Ambode came and remove all the trees not minding the billions that was invested into it. What an average Lagosian breathes is carbon monoxide from cars and generator fumes. If you see a handsome man or beautiful lady in Lagos, it's either such persons is jobless and spend most time indoors, such person just relocated or such person is a visitor.. cos an average Lagosian looks ugly- the ones working and trying to make ends meet.. na so all of them dey carry eye bag for eyes cos of lack of sleep and looking all worn out cos of stress..

Make I come dey go before Stella open special post for me Lol..

E go be abeg✌

Rubbish state weh no get ANY good road.. using wack contractors to construct substandard roads just so they can get kickbacks or give the contract to one of their companies.

1. Dante she post am because you made sense...I agree with you to some extent

2. Dante

Today I say thank you for this expose

9. Has it gotten to this? Na wa o.very soon they will start taxing us for breathing πŸ™ƒ

10. All what this politicians know is to tax and keep taxing. At the end no one challenges them for how the people who are taxed can benefit form the tax they pay.

11. They keep looking for ways to defraud the common man. It's tiring abeg

12. Lazy and clueless government. Wait until all your citizens become foreigners before you retrace your steps. In the near future, all you'll have to rule will be grass and animals.

13. Lazy and clueless government. Wait until all your citizens become foreigners before you retrace your steps. In the near future, all you'll have to rule will be grass and animals.

14. This government is the worst very useless government seeking tax from hotel owners that he has shot down their business for over 5months now in the name of clearance, now entertainers they didn't give a pin for 5months has to pay them tax again after paying personal income tax, is that not criminality