Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner -Abortion And Religion

Friday, August 07, 2020

Mrs Dee's Corner -Abortion And Religion

Most religions, including Christianity from time immemorial have clearly stated its stance on the great value and sanctity for human life.

The Bible severally admonishes us on the "Thou shalt not kill" injunction and even though I have no opposition to this, there are still situations that warrant questions on whether to take the life of a foetus based on; threat to the life of the mother, terminal illness and grossly malformed babies.

If a mother's life is at risk while she is pregnant, the doctor may advise her to take out the baby ......

At other times, medical procedure like chemotherapy adversely affects and kills the foetus and in a situation where the baby is grossly malformed or has a condition that can lead to lifelong consequences or gross defect after birth, the logical thing to do would be to take the baby out.

Most Christians who find themselves in this fix struggle with the guilt that comes with abortion not necessarily because they do not want the child, but because they are not ready to deal with the psychological, mental and physical effects of raising that child and the best viable option for them would be to terminate the pregnancy.

I know a woman who gave birth to a child with spina bifida, the boy is over 7 years and he can't sit, stand nor do anything for himself. The mum basically does everything for him and I can imagine how daunting a task it is for her.

I suppose if she had been presented with the option of abortion during pregnancy, she may have chosen it to prevent her present predicament.

One wonders if abortion is still a sin if it is done with the intention of preventing a lifetime of agony both for child and parents especially the mother.....

29 comments:

1. When it is done base on threat to life, I see no reason it's should be a sin.

1. Well,that's why we have to eat nutritious foods, be serious with routine drugs and go for 4D scan for abnormalities and most importantly pray to God.
      If a feotus has abnormalities, na to abort sure pass cos you won't nurture that child in happiness.

2. I don't think it is a sin if it is done with the intention of preventing the death of the mother or lifetime agony for both of them.

3. I have never met any girl who committed abortion and lived a guilt -free happy life. Unless she repented and
    brought Christ into her life.
    EVen at that, they still feel the pain of not having that child to nurse and play with.

1. Who no go no know.

2. I had a friend in school that basically mourned her aborted fetus every year till we left school. Was sad to watch.

3. I had an abortion, I aborted a 2 and a half week pregnancy.
      I did it because I wasn't ready to be a mother as I wanted to be a full-time mum, to give my kids the attention I never got as to me that was more important. No need bringing a child into the world to suffer.
      I knew exactly what I was doing when I did it, if I could go back, I definitely would have taken the morning after pill instead of going through an abortion and that is my only regret.
      I don't regret anything in life because I am responsible for every decisions I make.

4. I feel bad about the abortions I've done. Though I'm married now with 3 kids, I probably would have had 7 or more now 😓

1. See the comment above yours 👆🏽
      Jesus is the answer to your soul's yearnings.

2. Taaaa anon 13.08 and 13.13 are one and the same commenters.

5. Abortion is not a sin when it's done to save life, I think it's even advisable when ectopic pregnancy occurs,no woman should lose her life in her quest to beget another.

6. If it's under a medical condition that is life threatning for both the mum and child or one, I don't think it is a sin.

Aborting when nothing of such is involved, then I feel it's wrong. From all I've read here, the guilt is something else sef!

7. Abortion, killing of innocent blood is a sin and God hates it:
    Proverbs 6:17 There are six things that THE LORD HATES, seven that are detestable to Him: 17haughty eyes, a lying tongue, HANDS THAT SHED INNOCENT BLOOD, 18a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that run swiftly to evil,…
    Consequences:
    Gen. 6:9 The person that sheds human blood, another human will shed that person's blood...(also Matthew 26:52)
    Exodus 1:15-21 The person that spares the lives of innocent babies, receives good happy family from God.
    NB: Being married (into chaos) isn't having a family.
    Rev. 21:8 Sexually immoral and murderers shall have Lake of fire as their eternal home
    Solution:
    Repentance: 1 John 1:8 if we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves. If we confess our sins, he is faithful to
    forgive us and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.
    Mourn: fast for those killed babies
    2 Cor. 7:10 for godly sorrow brings about repentance.😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

1. So if it's medical it's still a sin or what?

2. So a woman should carry an ectopic pregnancy to full term (that is if she even gets up to 4 months alive) and die in the process?
      Whoever you are, you are very very evil. In fact, you are too evil.

8. If abortion is done due to threat to mother's life or based on medical advice to prevent giving birth to a child with severe malformation I believe it is not a sin

9. When it's done to save a life or prevent a lifetime of pain and suffering for the child then it should be considered. Nigeria pastors will life began at conception, so even if the mother's health is under threat, don't abort but pray and expect a miracle. I've heard cases of mothers advised to abort but they refuse and give birth to healthy babies but you would agree that the percentage of such miracles are minutiae compared to the reality.

Well, if the mother wants to risk her life, and that's the only thing at stake, it's her choice but she should also consider who would care for her child well. However, I think it's very selfish for parents to know there's something wrong with the baby and have an option of termination but refuse it. No child should be made to go through needless pain because you can't make tough decisions or your selfish decision is based on religion.

10. Its not a sin when it involves threat to life

11. I will also advise one to do it, in a case of deformity.

12. Please let's note that "spina bifida" is correctable by surgery (just like
    cleft palate or lips).
    I have worked in hospitals where babies with that had surgeries
    done and they went ahead to live fulfilling lives.

1. Yes,some foundations do it free of charge in government hospitals.
      The most important is to sensitize pregnant women on importance of folic acid in form of supplement and eating vegetables. These help to prevent spins bifida and mental deformities.

13. Abortion is not a sin if its a threat to the mothers life. But as for me i don't blame any girl that decides to have an abortion intentionally especially when you can't handle a dead beat father and you are not financially buoyant to Care for d child alone.

1. But she can conceive with a dead beat.
      She get double portion blame self if that is her excuse.

14. Highly emotional and sensitive topic.
    May we not be tempted.

Finally, it is Almighty God ALONE that forgives.

15. I think it's not a sin if it's based on medical condition, to save life.

But based on baby deformity, I don't really know oh.

Maybe it will depend on the type of how bad the deformity is

16. I noticed that people that have done abortion goes to have more children than people who didn't do it but are labelled barren by the society. From our parent, society to Nollywood, the storyline is the same. They judge the woman that she has donated all her children in her youth to abortions when in most cases the man is the one with low sperm count and some cases miscarriages that arises cos they're not medically compatible cause of Rhesus factor. I know I read something like that some years back. People that have done abortion means they are capable of getting pregnant in the first place. There are lots of cases whereby a woman has never been pregnant for once in her entire life due to many factors from PCOS, some cases of fibroid not all, endometriosis . So to Nollywood writers,contrary to their belief, many of these women go on to have children in marriage only few cases where complications is involved remain infertile.stop the stigmatisation, many marry virgins and are waiting 10yrs to have children.

17. I have always been pro-choice from a very young age. I have always felt that abortions need to available. My younger sister has always been anti-abortion, she never agreed with it and saw it as a grave sin. Well, life has a way of fckn with you, she got pregnant and the child had defects and after talking it over with her husband, he told he he could not deal with a child who would need special care, so she opted to abort the fetus. It messed her up for a while because they were both young in age, and nobody would expect that at their age they would have to deal with such. The way I saw her experience, was that no matter what you believe about any topic, never judge anybody because you may find yourself faced with having to do the very thing you have always despised.

I am still pro-choice and will forever be.