Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Akinwunmi Adesina Has Been Re-Elected As AFDB President

Thursday, August 27, 2020

Nigeria's Akinwunmi Adesina Has Been Re-Elected As AFDB President

The former Nigerian agriculture minister, Akinwunmi Adesina has been re-elected as president of the African Development Bank (AFDB) for another term by the board of governors of AFDB on Thursday.

Adesina, who was first elected in May 2015, was the only candidate in the election.

His chances of re-election were almost scuppered when the United States authorities insisted he faced investigation for corruption claims made by a whistleblower.

The whistleblowers had accused Adesina of 20 breaches of the bank’s code of conduct. But the ‘Ethics Committee’ of the continental bank, headed by Takuji Yano, on May 5, absolved Adesina of any wrong doing.

Adesina in a statement on Wednesday also maintained his innocence.
from thewillnigeria

18 comments:

1. Congratulations to him, more wins.

2. This man is really doing well. Congrats sir..

3. Shame to America and its treasury department. Coming to buy shares in our own bank and trying to decide and Keep it at their necks and calls. Congratulations to you sir

4. Thank God he survived the witch hunting
    Congratulations

5. Congrats Sir.
    I applied for a job with them...I hope the process of short listing can now start. God abeg o

6. A big congratulations.
    Hoping and praying for more Nigerians to excel all over the world. We have what it takes.

7. Congrats Sir this's well deserved.

Thenterprise most complex

8. Congratulations, please buy out all the foreign countries, their administrative expertise can still be appreciated through outsourcing for their skills. Pay them off and pay them each time they render their services abeg, make we reduce re colonization attempts. I don't think Nigeria or any other African country sits on the board of Afdb equivalent in other continents.

9. After so much drama, Nigeria government gave the right support and play the international politics real good. Congratulations to him.

10. Ekpele sir. Well done.