Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Elegant Stallion Onyeka Onwenu

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Nigeria's Elegant Stallion Onyeka Onwenu

Hold it right there!!!

If you do not know who Onyeka Onwenu is,abeg you comot for Internet and stop wasting your time oh!!!

Nigeria's music legend Onyeka Onwenu,Popularly dubbed as the “Elegant Stallion” by the Nigerian press has always showcased the temperament to not only thrive but also make major contributions to the development of industries within which she took an interest in. 

Onyeka Onwenu’s life is a worthy novel, transitioning multiple careers in music, acting, human rights activism, social activism, journalism, and politics. Onwenu, who is from Arondizuogu, a small town in Ideato North, Imo State, is a proud human activist with an impressive profile to show for it.

One of Onwenu’s greatest social activism feats was in 1984 after she released a scathing documentary for BBC/NTA, Nigeria: A Squandering of Riches. This documentary drew attention to and changed the course of Nigerians’ view on corruption and the environmental degradation of the oil-rich regions forever.

While Onyeka was an accomplished singer and activist at the time, she did not stray too far from the tree either – politics was always in her blood. A daughter of Dickson Kanu Onwenu, a politician who represented Port Harcourt at the Federal House of Representatives from 1954 until his death in 1956, Onyeka Onwenu soon ventured into politics herself.

A member of the People’s Democratic Party, Onyeka was appointed as Chairperson of Imo State Council for Arts and Culture after which she was appointed as Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of the National Centre for Women Development

She also enjoyed a stellar career in Nollywood, starring in hundreds of movies such as Half of A Yellow Sun, Lionheart, Conspiracy, Chain Reaction, To Love An Angel, and many more.

While she’s described by many as a “no-nonsense and high-principled” woman, her interior is surprisingly soft as revealed by Azuh Arinze who revealed the kindness she showed him in the early stages of his journalism career, in his new book Encounters – Lessons From My Journalism Career.

from thenetng.com

44 comments:

1. A fan of her music. I still love One love keep us together and others.

2. A woman with powerful vocals.

3. Asa Nwanyi with hot brain.

I wonder why she has not been in Senate up till now,I always see her as a senator to be.
    Good luck Ma

1. Please don't wonder o. Nigerians have a penchant for rewarding touts and scammers with political offices

2. On point! πŸ”¨ @Mrs E

3. Hmmm Mrs E. It Is well with Nigeria

4. Beautiful woman with talent. I celebrate you ma

5. Beautiful woman ,role model. I remembered her song with KSA back in those days.

6. Great woman,i love her songs and her acting ain't bad either.

7. Woman of substance.πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

8. I have always loved her for her voice and natural beauty. She can be arrogant sometimes.
    Did she not support Abacha?

9. This is the real MAMA AFRICA..I remember my dad playing her cassette in his car which was made by Benson and Hedges then..Even my sister was named after her..Very beautiful lady..She was also a fashion model.

10. My mom says she was quite the trendsetter, because of her academic pedigree. She was a masters degree holder that returned from the United states to become a broadcaster when she ventured into music

I have her on my list of top musical collaborations, with King Sunny Ade for their choices/ wait for me song

I'll also watch any Nollywood movie that has Onyeka Onwenu as I realise that the casting director/ director means business.

Thanks

11. Impressive profileπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

12. Great woman!!! if she was in diaspora she would have gotten a life time achievement award and a star on Hollywood walk of fame. Her records would have been remade by younger artists and a movie made in her honour. whats the difference between her and Tina Turner?Powerful women with powerful voices.

I grew up listening to her songs and also saw her transition to a newscaster on NTA. Awon younger artistes kindly do a remake of her songs and other greats lets see how versatile y'all are.

1. You couldn't have said it better.@10:05

Unfortunately, the country and its people promote and reward mediocrity, nepotism and majors on corruption❗

13. You are worth celebrating mama

14. My love for this woman eh😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

15. Very talented woman. I watched a few of her Nollywood films I those days especially the epic movies. She is a good actress and singer

1. Brilliant actor! I watched a re-run of Widows Cot recently. She starred with Joke Jacobs. She 'killed' her role 110%. Impeccable and flawless acting. Her diction and carriage was awesome!

16. The Stallion herself . I love you Maama....

17. She has indeed accomplished a lotπŸ’ͺ

18. Great woman..yes she is worth celebrating

19. The elegant stallion herself. I lov her acting as well as her music.

20. Some said she is the greatest female artist ever in Nigeria.
    Great singer I hail.

21. woman of substance....Love you Mama...

22. Agu nwanyiπŸ‘πŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ

23. I remember in the 80s at birthday parties. It was only Onyeka and Michael Jackson we danced to. πŸ™‚she is an icon.

24. Elegant Stallion in every way - a thoroughbred!πŸ’–πŸ€©

*Arondizuogu is not a small town by land mass.*

25. I visited arondizuogu one time and my friend showed me her house.
    A great woman, her diction gets me every time

26. Omo this is a woman of substance o. My God in her days we rojoice whenever we see her o and telly. That's is when we still dream of greater Nigeria. Not knowing they will eventually throw the country to the dogs.. Much love and respect ma.