Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Government Says It Has Recovered N700 Billion Through Whistleblowers In 4 Years..

Thursday, October 01, 2020

Nigerian Government Says It Has Recovered N700 Billion Through Whistleblowers In 4 Years..

Assets and cash worth more than N700bn have been recovered through the whistleblower policy of the Federal Government, the Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed, said on Tuesday..

In 2016 the Federal Government commenced the implementation of the whistleblower policy in its drive to stem corruption in Nigeria.
On the side-lines of the National Conference on Whistleblower Policy in Abuja, Ahmed told journalists that since the implementation of the policy four years ago, the government had been making recoveries.
She said, “The whistleblower policy has been implemented since 2016 and till date we have been able to recover funds into the treasury.
“Over N700bn has been collected in which some are in foreign currencies such as dollars and also some physical assets have been recovered.”
She added, “What we want to do now is step up the process by working towards producing the whistleblower protection law.
“This meeting is gathering inputs for that to be possible so that when people provide information, they should be very well protected.”
The primary goal of the policy, according to the finance minister, is to strengthen the fight against financial crimes and corruption.
This, she said, would be by increasing enabling laws on whistleblower, as implementation was being carried out by representatives of anti-graft agencies, Office of the Attorney-General of the Federation and Inspector-General of Police.
During the conference, the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, in his virtual speech said the first initiative of the current government was to validate control and ensure compliance in public financial management system.
He said the whistleblower policy would develop a tool to expose corruption and corrupt practices in government.

from @punchnewspapers on instagram

So where is all the money?

19 comments:

1. This government of bigger thieves should stop disturbing us abeg..We are tired of this their recovery nonsense talks!

1. These people are so insensitive and I think they enjoy getting the masses aggravated.
      How is this news if you cannot account for what you thieves have done with a whole 700 billion??

2. Yet you still dey borrow money up and down..where is the recovered money,what did you do with it and who did you recover it from..Oshisco PLC!

3. So where is it?

4. I woke up so angry today. This country is in a mess. Even the little savings you have is losing value everyday.I remembered while growing up how we used to jubilate on Independence Day. God help us.

5. So where's the money and how come there's still no improvement on the economy. This government is big joke πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

6. So where is the money and what has it been used to achieve?

7. But you keep borrowing money.. God go punish all of una..

Stella can you believe that light tariff increase was only reversed on paper.. I bought light yesterday and it's the same unit since it was increased that I got..

This was 3 days after the strike was suspended with the false opinion that the increment has been reversed for 2weeks.. abi I didn't understand the news well? God punish NLC..

1. NLC was simply playing a game. You guys should know the MO of NLC by now. Na tea, coffee and biscuits dem go there for.

8. They recovered 700billion then they now loot it to their individual pocket.
    This corruption has eaten deep into people that those warming up to embezzle funds will be worst than the present.

9. And how's this our business and why are they disturbing us with this this early morning?? We don't give a damn please.

10. Recovered
    Shared
    Looted and
    Squandered

Welcome to lootocracy.

11. If they say they've recovered 700 billion
    know that it is 700 trillion. πŸ¦‰πŸ¦‰πŸ¦‰

12. Ndi oshi with pen! Where is the audio money Kwanu?

13. But we still dey borrow moneyπŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

14. Where is the money thieves

15. And still looking to borrow money up and down. Mtscchw

16. I follow you too ask Stella, "Abeg, wey the money?