Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Renowned Poet And Playwright J.P. Clark Is Dead...

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

Renowned Poet And Playwright J.P. Clark Is Dead...

Nigeria's renowned Poet J.P Clark has passed on.............

46 comments:

1. JP Clark that I've been reading his poems since time immemorial is even alive as at this year is even a serious surprise. May he rip and my condolences to his family and friends.

1. JP Clark Bekederemo RIP.

2. RIP great poet...........

3. MY LAST TESTAMENT

This is to my family
      Do not take me to a mortuary,
      Do not take me to a church,
      Whether I die in or out of town,
      But take me home to my own, and
      To lines and tunes, tested on the waves
      Of time, let me lie in my place
      On the Kiagbodo River.

If Moslems do it in a day,
      You certainly can do it in three,
      Avoiding blood and waste,
      And whatever you do after,
      My three daughters and my son
      By the only wife I have,
      Do not fight over anything
      I may be pleased to leave behind

THE ABOVE POEM IS FROM JP CLARK’S BOOK, FULL TIDE(COLLECTED POEMS)

2. John Pepper Clark
    A great poet
    I remember studying “The casualties”
    FAREWELL SIR

3. Ohh may his soul rest in peace!! I was just reminiscing his books last week ''Wives Revolt'', ''Song of a Goat'' ''The Masquarade" 😭😭😭😭

1. ''River Bird'' River Bird'' Sitting all day long, on hook over grass..River bird River bird sing to me a song of all that pass and say ''You should not know and should not bother.. Tide and market come and go and so shall your mother...Mehn I try oh I was taught this in JSS2..

2. I directed Song of a Goat as part of my 300l Acting & Directing course

4. RIP to a great man that wrote a wonderful poem on my city.

5. Rip sir!!! You made those lectures in Uniben showed me shege in literature

1. Akporo babe no be small shege o.
      Oracle,kola and co.

2. @Bless. My fellow ENL!!! Oracle and kola the two demons in that department

6. RIP to one of the pioneers of modern African literature,I hope you get to rest where things work because here nothing works, Rest with the angels legend.

7. Quality models in literature and expression

Talented one

Adieu

8. May he rest in peace. Amen.

9. Rip Sir. Really enjoy reading most of your poem.

10. "What time of night is it?
    I do not know
    Except that like some fish doped out of the deep. I have bobbed up belly wise from stream of sleep and no cocks crow". After more than 20 years, i still remember how they made us cram your epic "night rain" in secondary school. Rest in peace J.P Clark

11. Rip Sir. Really enjoy reading most of your poem. "The casualties" depict what Nigeria citizens is going through at present.

12. Wow RIP Mr Clark

13. Rip great poet and writer !! Do we even still have the likes of him ,Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe in this country?. Oh greater writer,rest in peace!!!

1. Exact statement my mum made yesterday when we heard the news.

14. Ooooooh J.P. Clark rest on sir!!!!!!!!

15. He was such a great writer! RIP

16. Rest in peace sir, thank for giving me childhood memories.

17. A renowned legend is gone-John Pepper Clark.I read his poem "Ibadan"....

Ibadan,
    running splash of rust
    and gold-flung and scattered
    among seven hills like broken China in the sun.▶He conveyed his ideas by using "rust" "gold" "seven hills" for the purpose of telling us something about the physical appearance of the city of Ibadan-which happens to be the largest city in Africa.

Sun re oooo😴🌑.

18. Wow! I do much respect and admire people like this with their indescribable gift of wordsmithing. May his soul sleep in peace.

19. A star is gone. Oh keep resting Sir

20. Rainfall and Abiku were my favourite among his poems.
    Adieu, JP Clark!

21. Coming and going these several seasons,
    Do stay out of the baobab tree,
    Follow where you please your kindred spirits

If indoors is not enough for you.
    True, it leaks through the thatch
    When floods brim the banks,
    And the bats and owls
    Often tear in at night through the eaves,
    And at harmattan, the bamboo walls
    Are ready tinder for the fire
    That dries the fresh fish up on the rack.
    Still, it’s been the healthy stock
    To several fingers, to many more will be
    Who reach to the sun. ABIKU ...J.P Clark