Nigeria's renowned Poet J.P Clark has passed on.............
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
46 comments:
JP Clark that I've been reading his poems since time immemorial is even alive as at this year is even a serious surprise. May he rip and my condolences to his family and friends.
ReplyDeleteExactly my thoughts!
DeleteRip sir.
RIP SIR.
DeleteJP Clark Bekederemo RIP.
DeleteRIP great poet...........
DeleteMY LAST TESTAMENT
DeleteThis is to my family
Do not take me to a mortuary,
Do not take me to a church,
Whether I die in or out of town,
But take me home to my own, and
To lines and tunes, tested on the waves
Of time, let me lie in my place
On the Kiagbodo River.
If Moslems do it in a day,
You certainly can do it in three,
Avoiding blood and waste,
And whatever you do after,
My three daughters and my son
By the only wife I have,
Do not fight over anything
I may be pleased to leave behind
THE ABOVE POEM IS FROM JP CLARK’S BOOK, FULL TIDE(COLLECTED POEMS)
Rest in peace Sir.
ReplyDeleteJohn Pepper Clark
ReplyDeleteA great poet
I remember studying “The casualties”
FAREWELL SIR
RIP Pa Clark
ReplyDeleteRIP SIR
ReplyDeleteOhh may his soul rest in peace!! I was just reminiscing his books last week ''Wives Revolt'', ''Song of a Goat'' ''The Masquarade" ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜
ReplyDelete''River Bird'' River Bird'' Sitting all day long, on hook over grass..River bird River bird sing to me a song of all that pass and say ''You should not know and should not bother.. Tide and market come and go and so shall your mother...Mehn I try oh I was taught this in JSS2..
DeleteI directed Song of a Goat as part of my 300l Acting & Directing course
DeleteMay God rest his soul.
ReplyDeleteRest in peace Sir.
ReplyDeleteRIP to a great man that wrote a wonderful poem on my city.
ReplyDeleteRip sir!!! You made those lectures in Uniben showed me shege in literature
ReplyDeleteAkporo babe no be small shege o.
DeleteOracle,kola and co.
@Bless. My fellow ENL!!! Oracle and kola the two demons in that department
DeleteRIP to one of the pioneers of modern African literature,I hope you get to rest where things work because here nothing works, Rest with the angels legend.
ReplyDeleteQuality models in literature and expression
ReplyDeleteTalented one
Adieu
Wives revolt
ReplyDeleteMay he rest in peace. Amen.
ReplyDeleteRip Sir. Really enjoy reading most of your poem.
ReplyDelete"What time of night is it?
ReplyDeleteI do not know
Except that like some fish doped out of the deep. I have bobbed up belly wise from stream of sleep and no cocks crow". After more than 20 years, i still remember how they made us cram your epic "night rain" in secondary school. Rest in peace J.P Clark
Only Literature students can relate,Lol
DeleteRip Sir. Really enjoy reading most of your poem. "The casualties" depict what Nigeria citizens is going through at present.
ReplyDeleteWow RIP Mr Clark
ReplyDeleteRest in peace sir.
ReplyDeleteR.I.P Legend.
ReplyDeleteRest in peace sir.
ReplyDeleteRip great poet and writer !! Do we even still have the likes of him ,Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe in this country?. Oh greater writer,rest in peace!!!
ReplyDeleteExact statement my mum made yesterday when we heard the news.
DeleteOoooooh J.P. Clark rest on sir!!!!!!!!
ReplyDeleteRest in peace Sir
ReplyDeleteHe was such a great writer! RIP
ReplyDeleteRest in peace, sir.
ReplyDeleteRest in peace sir, thank for giving me childhood memories.
ReplyDeleteRest in peace sir
ReplyDeleteA renowned legend is gone-John Pepper Clark.I read his poem "Ibadan"....
ReplyDeleteIbadan,
running splash of rust
and gold-flung and scattered
among seven hills like broken China in the sun.▶He conveyed his ideas by using "rust" "gold" "seven hills" for the purpose of telling us something about the physical appearance of the city of Ibadan-which happens to be the largest city in Africa.
Sun re oooo😴🌑.
Rest in peace great poet.
ReplyDeleteWow! I do much respect and admire people like this with their indescribable gift of wordsmithing. May his soul sleep in peace.
ReplyDeleteRest in peace the great poet
ReplyDeleteA star is gone. Oh keep resting Sir
ReplyDeleteRainfall and Abiku were my favourite among his poems.
ReplyDeleteAdieu, JP Clark!
Coming and going these several seasons,
ReplyDeleteDo stay out of the baobab tree,
Follow where you please your kindred spirits
If indoors is not enough for you.
True, it leaks through the thatch
When floods brim the banks,
And the bats and owls
Often tear in at night through the eaves,
And at harmattan, the bamboo walls
Are ready tinder for the fire
That dries the fresh fish up on the rack.
Still, it’s been the healthy stock
To several fingers, to many more will be
Who reach to the sun. ABIKU ...J.P Clark