Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Monday, November 16, 2020

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

This is a wonderful Narrative and trust me,you will glad you read it!!!

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
LIFE IN CANADA

Dear Stella,

I want to share my story to encourage the poster who is confused about relocating to Canada or not. 

First of all, do you intend to come legally or not, if yes, then this post is for you, if not, please have a re-think. I read some comments about how it’s not rosy abroad bla bla, while I can say it’s not rosy at first, don’t believe anything you read online especially coming from someone who hasn’t lived abroad. The people that have it worst are those that relocated illegally as they cannot get jobs and live from hand to mouth, live in shelters, roam and beg etc.

I relocated to Canada through the express entry mode 2 years ago, one major advice I give everyone is follow all the steps laid down by Canada and you’ll be fine. When they say come with proof of fund of 6million naira for a family of 3, please try to get at least more than half of that money when landing, it’ll make life easier for you. I’ll be honest with my story by sharing breakdown of life and how we survived.

One important thing to note when relocating is give yourself one year to build your foundation, I can assure you that you’ll be fine. Another is not to be lazy or proud to do any odd job, as there is dignity of labour here.

This is my story from the day I landed:

We came with more than three-quarter of the recommended POF for a family of 3. From that money, we got an Airbnb where we stayed for 2 weeks, started house hunting, found something we liked and paid 3 months rent upfront (this is to reduce the tension of looking for job to pay bills).

In Canada, most times your experience is disregarded, so people go back to school, do certifications or anything to make your credentials equivalent to Canada’s. So we knew this and gave ourselves one year to work on that while we take up minimum wage jobs. We landed in October, my husband got a job at a warehouse In November, I’m lazy and didn’t have strength for all those tasking jobs of standing especially for cashiers in Walmart and malls, so I was searching for customer service job, and luckily I got a clerk job. My husband made 2,500 while I made 2,200. Together we brought in $4,700 monthly.

This is a breakdown of our expenses:

Rent – 1250

Home internet – 65

Power (NEPA) – 59

Phone bill for both of us – 110

Insurance for our car – 145

Total – 1,629.

We budgeted 1000 for groceries (this is a lot, but it was our budget). Our total expense came to 2,629. From the $2,071 left, we saved 1500 monthly and left the rest for miscellaneous (mostly for bulk purchase or to send money home to our folks, hang out with friends, shop once in a while etc.). By the way, there’ll hardly be any emergency where you have to spend your money on hospital bills etc. as medical is free here, education is free up till secondary school except for daycare.

We enrolled our daughter in a daycare that cost almost $1000 monthly. Govt of Canada pays kids up till 18years depending on household income something called child benefit. Our daughter got 560 monthly and another quarterly payment. The govt also pays daycare subsidy for each eligible child for 640 monthly. So since the govt paid 640 to the daycare on behalf of my daughter, I only paid the balance of 360. This was funded from her child benefit of 560. She had change of 200 which was paid into an account we opened for her.

Now this is our life as newly landed immigrants, while we were doing this, I was working on my HR certifications (I’m a HR professional), while my husband was studying online for his diploma. We were both studying and working.

While in naija, we earned well, we had savings of more than 300k monthly which we put away, in a year that gave us 3.6million. After house rent of almost 700k, hospital bills, (my daughter was a regular hospital visitor, sometimes we spent 50k, 100k in hospital bills). At the end of the year, we may have about 2m left in savings. Now go back to my monthly savings in Canada of 1500 per month which is about 18,000 Canadian dollars in a year, converted to naira, that’s almost 6million naira. 

This is from people doing minimum wage jobs that included overtime o. it’ll be hard and stressful, combining studies and working is stressful. The stress from a physically demanding job can get to you, my husband was stressed for the first 3 months, back pain, neck and muscle strain etc. but we persevered, he was taken care of, he had regular massages, pain killers and ointment for joint pain but overtime he got used to it, he even moved from that role to a less demanding role.

Today, we’ve completed our studies, we’ve transitioned to professional jobs, and we have more than 4k monthly in savings from our income. You can actually have same expenditure every month as most bills are fixed, you can plan well, medical is free, nothing like emergency money for hospital bills. Unlike in naija, where we bought fuel everyday as per minister of power in our house, had 2 gens, repaired gen almost every 2 weeks, spent money on mechanics due to bad road and crazy drivers etc.

I have a friend earning more than a million per month in naija, he had an accident, had to be flown to Germany for surgery, sold some of his properties as the bill was mad, he lost that job because he was away for more than 2 years, his life never remained the same, he took the money left and relocated with his family (this is for people that keep saying if they earn millions, they won’t go anywhere), remember that in naija, an emergency can send you from grace to grass. If he were in Canada, his bills would have been free, he would have had employment insurance and be able to return to work.

The reason for this post is, please if you have the means and are eligible for express entry, please don’t be discouraged, I had friends that did security work, cleaning jobs while they were writing their bank certifications exams, to Nigerians, the jobs are degrading, but here nobody send you, our cleaner for office de drive range rover sef. 

Today my friends have all transitioned to professional jobs. By the way I stay in Alberta where minimum wage is $15 per hour, so anyhow anyhow you must see like 2k take home job every month, and these minimum wage jobs are not hard to find, Walmart recruits everyday, stores, customer service jobs plenty just keep at it you’ll get one.

People are losing their jobs because of covid bla bla, very true, but like I said, are you lazy? My friend in HR was laid off in April, he jejely went to get a warehouse job and in September he got another HR role. Plenty things to do if you don’t get a job easily. My husband was doing something like uber, but this was like for food, you get to deliver online orders to people, he made like $200 every week (he didn’t do it full time, only on his off days). The money we got from selling our car in naija was kept differently for a car here, when we landed in winter we didn’t want to be carrying our then 1+ daughter up and down in the cold, so we got a car immediately (a small car of about $3,000).

Today we live in our home, doing far better, infact while on minimum wage we did far better than naija sef. Baby number two is on the way, everything is free, I’m getting the best medical attention, lots of freebies for pregnant mum lol.

To conclude, don’t let anyone discourage you from relocating, but do so legally, forget pride and take on minimum wage jobs while you look for professional jobs in your field. Don’t just sit around to wait for it to come, it took some people more than a year to get one, get busy, get certified and you’ll land one. Good thing is to be eligible for express entry, you must have relevant qualifications and experience so it’s easier to search for jobs with your certificate when you land.

By the way, a lot of people live comfortably on minimum wage jobs and never transitioned to professional jobs.

Thanks for reading lol.

What an interesting post!!!!...Thank you so much for sharing dearie!!!

151 comments:

1. Thank you for looking out for the poster.
    Really kind of you to give a detailed info .

1. Please permit me to rent a space here..

When people talk about how living a better life outside Nigeria is not guaranteed.. I just shake my head.. especially when it comes from the young person who still has a long life ahead of him..

This nonsense country with insecurity everywhere, even if you earn 1million monthly, what happens when you get kidnapped and the kidnappers demand 100 million as ransom.. that's when you'll understand the value of living in a sane environment..
      If una like come and be yarning trash.. who no go no go know.. the day some one you would travel out of Africa, you'll shed tears on how empty your past life was..

My only advice is never to become an illegal immigrants.. that's the only thing worse than being a Nigerian.

2. This is beautiful. God bless you for doing this write up..

I hope that many people will benefit from this.. Congratulations in advance.

3. Poster, God bless you for this analysis. You have encouraged me let me go and read for my IELTS. God will help us.

4. Oh God bless you poster for this and for you Stella nwanyioma I can’t thank you enough 🙏🏾❤️.

Poster please if you can list all the required documents for express entry and if you have a trusted agent i will be glad . You can send to Stella then Stella can give me abeg 🙏🏾. Once again God bless you richly for this ❤️

5. Ada,you don't need an agent!!

I'll just summarize to the best of my knowledge!!

Try to get a CLB 10 in IELTS
      Have 2 degrees or a degree and some certification courses like CIPM, ACCA and the likes
      Are you single?
      Age is also a factor (for good point)
      Work experience (3 years and above)
      Job offer in canada(makes it easier and increases your point)

Etc......

6. TRUE STORY. I AM LIVING IT. BUT THIS IS ONLY POSSIBLE IF THE RELOCATION IS LEGAL.

7. Poster, God bless you. One bottle of your favourite on me when I get there. Someone I met on here is trying to help me with the express entry.

I'll be grateful to leave Nigeria because like Dante ☝️ up there said,no matter how great you earn, there may be hoodlums lurking to kidnap you. All your savings will definitely be gone cos those mofos don't joke.

May God help us all. God bless you too Stella for enabling this 'cause this is priceless info that we would have paid to get.

8. Exactly my response on that other post...don't allow people who never cross border or those who did so illegally tell you rubbish...Even if you're earning N1m monthly, you are only one sickness away from poverty.

Find way and legally port.

2. Madam thanks for the detailed explanation. Really enjoy reading your write-up.

1. All I have read here is the chronicle of a real woman! A woman who work, manage, save, build, plan(nne see detailing), and is in unity with her husband.

She is not a "My money is mine, his money is ours" kinda woman. She never sat back for a husband to set her up. She made her own living and they became a formidable force when combined.

Did you sense the bond, mutual support and openness? Their income and expenditure is open knowledge to both parties.

Madam I salute.

2. Saphire, na naija person fit dey do 'my money is mine'. Abroad, you plan together and bring value to the table individually. I just laugh when I read ladies in naija talking about not contributing to the home.

3. Beautiful story poster. Thank you for allaying the fears of those hoping to migrate. God bless you.

1. Poster, thanks so much for this thorough explanations, God bless you more.

Please find time and try to educate us on how you went there through legal means. I wrote IELTS and got 6 band overall, so I'm planning to write another one.

Also, is it a must for my husband to write this exams as well? Please he's not ready to write it because it will be very difficult for him to pass them.

I'm 32 years now and they're saying I can't do express entry but nomination due to my age, please how true is this? We're family of 4

Thank you so much once again, I really appreciate this lecture

2. Anon, band six is quite low.... Your husband writing is not really compulsory but it will Increase your point!!

PNP, EE, Academic, just do what you can to leave!!

3. At 32...please your husband should write o..even evaluate his own degree too.You need everything to increase your points even if its nomination.

4. You can even print your name on advert as a cleaner, post it in people houses.. few people can call you to come clean their houses and you get your hourly pay.... only a lazy person will say no jobs

Aproko Queen

5. Reading this made a whole lot of sense

6. Canada my dream land. Thanks for sharing

Pretty Patience

7. My CRS isn't up to the required point but I qualified for Saks n BC via P.N..but I'm yet to apply cos I dont wanna enter EE with a low CRS, what if I don't get nominated? Daz only what is holding me.

1. The last question comes to my mind too.

2. @Blackberry,it’s better you are in the pool.Waiting doesn’t help or add anything.Pls enter the pool.
      Labake

3. Sorry to ask oo, are you okay at all?? What's the big deal in entering the pool with a low CSR?? So you had rather die before the real death comes?? A positive mindset is EXTREMELY IMPORTANT in all we do in life. Abeg, enter the pool and apply for that provincial nomination before I pour hot water on you 😡

4. Are you joking BB?? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

What's wrong with applying for Saks? Don't let me finger your brain oooh

5. BB use your wait time to apply for another degree,learn French and do all you can to improve your scores.

8. You did not say anything about kids' discipline and how they eventually turn out?

1. So you think it is every kid there that turn out badly. I’m guessing all Nigerian kids with ur perfect discipline turned out very good

2. Really what has kids discipline have to do with relocating abroad.
      You are allowed to raise your kids as you please as long as you treat them well within the laws and aren't harming them in anyway.

LEP😊

3. What do you want her to say about kids discipline? Is it every child that turns out well in Nigeria? Who are the cultists, kidnappers, armed robbers and robbers?

God bless you poster, very insightful.

4. What are you saying, my cousins are well behaved. Come to think of it, those hoodlums that looted people's shops, burnt police stations where were they raised?

That young man that murdered his fiancé and pulled out her braids, where was he raised?

All our politicians that lie for a living nko. What of all these killer herdsmen and Boko H. terrorists.

I can go on and on.

5. armed robbers and runs girls I mean. Some1 wrote something this useful but it is kids discipline that is your own headache. Wait for her to come and teach you how to discipline your kids inugo??

6. If you need tips on how to discipline your kids abroad and how they will turn out since we are psychics, please send a mail to Stella.

This poster is responding to a BV who needed advise on relocation to Canada.

7. All my nephews and nieces abroad are doing well.
      Some on honors list already , calm , very level headed , have the fear of God and are quite humble as well.
      That she didn't state it doesn't mean they're not turning out fine, when it comes to discipline a place doesn't really matter .

8. No be you go train your kids???

9. Anon asked a valid question though may not be directly related. You train your kids yourself and it's quite different from naija ways. Instil the fear of God in them daily so they don't derail. Every system has it's own pros and cons. Its left for you to weigh your options and plan well.

10. you raise your kids how they want to turn out and let God do the rest. yes they dont encourage spanking or certain punishement but africans still have to find a way. my cousin lives in canada with 4 girls and she is very firm...they work oh, she will tell them i cannot come and kill myself for you guys oh..lol..her oldest daughter will use exam and reading to wanna dodge some chores but you have to be firm. talk talk talk to them and get them to be free to always open to you. my friend in london will drum into her kids ears that if you talk about the spanking they will come and carry you away to another family. do you want them to take you away? lol..do you want another mummy? subtle emotional blackmail. just be wise

9. What are the steps you took to relocate legally?

1. She just told you. What else do you want her to say? Google Canada express entry and follow the steps. That’s a legal way to go to Canada. You can do this all on your own or pay someone to assist you.

2. Exactly. Pls help because this is what I am not clear about.

10. UK-I comest to you by next year for my masters in Jesus name. After that,I goest to Canada or Australia. Amen Amen Amen...

1. Why UK first when Canada offers better plan??? More money to spend in UK. You sha want to waste money 🙄. Na you sabi

2. Madam Sozaya go straight for masters in either Australia or Canada since you want to migrate there.
      Waste of money going to UK first. Waste of time as well.

3. Why do you want to waste time and money going to the UK for masters , just go straight to Canada, I wish I never went to UK for masters, I’m now in America trying to put my self in order doing CNA job. If I had gone to Canada for my masters The year and money I spent in Canada wouldn’t have gone to total waste and by now I would have had my papers. It hurts me badly but it’s what lack of info can cause, now you are getting advice if you like listen , to ya tent oh Israel

11. You hit it nail on the head. Key word: Dont be lazy.

12. Thanks for sharing this 👍👍👍

13. I guess this is for the poster from last week's chronicle and it be nice you get in here

14. Beautiful analysis, to the poster that sent the chronicle i pray you get to read this. Please if you have the means to travel with your family please do.

15. You nailed it poster.

Don't relocate illegally biko

16. God bless you for this interesting write up.

17. Thanks a lot. Where in Canada are you based please ?

1. Did you read?
      She said Alberta.

2. Alberta province.
      Poster thanks very much. I'm encouraged. Let me start hustling my proof of funds then. Study for my IELts.

18. Canada is ranked as the second-best country in the world behind Germany, from a field of 60 countries for overall sustainability, cultural influence, entrepreneurship, economic influence and most importantly, quality of life.It placed ahead of the U.K., the U.S., and Sweden (if you’re keeping score).

If you’re part of the booming Boomer generation, you’ll be happy to know Canada is the 5th best country to grow old...Really love to raise ma kids in Canada😍

1. Isnt Germany overrated?
      3 of my siblings are there and seek to relocate to canada.
      They speak German but not able to get professional jobs.They changed moved cities and one is even a German citizen.

2. Canada isn't behind germany it is behind Switzerland while germany is two steps behind canada

19. Thank you so much for this encouraging piece.

If anyone has info on Australia or Sweden, please kindly share too. Let's be getting motivated as we prepare to leave Nigeria for our original motherland. lol

1. Thank you most especially Sweden..Abeg who get info help a sister biko

2. Lmao @ original motherland lmao !!!!!!

3. Nocturnal and phoenix I follow una ask oooo.

Lovelace

20. Wow this makes a lot of sense.
    Please poster how can a single person get express entry to Canada....please come back to this post to educate us more...abeg o

1. You just spoke my mind. Please reply poster.

2. It's hard a bit, it brought down my score.

3. Please poster, I also need to know how a single person above 40 can get express entry

4. Start by writing IELTS
      Evaluate your result
      Create a profile

21. Thanks a million for sharing

22. Wow! This blew my mind, this is encouraging. Poster may God continue to bless your hustle and thank you so much for sharing.

1. Yes ooo you are blessed poster. Thanks for doing this.

23. God bless you Poster

24. 3gbosa fr Yu poster, Yu v done well

25. First time reading something so encouraging! I love people who don't see negativity in everything. So many unreasonable callous people that will tell you not to travel whether legally or illegally, meanwhile almost all their family are relocating and doing better but they don't want you to progress, why? Because they don't want you to soar higher than them. Wicked people!
    Please guys, don't listen to what people say, do what makes you happy, distance yourself from contrarian people, above all, talk to God in every step you take.
    Choi I love this poster already. You said the whole truth, no negativity. I love peeps like this. I shall take this advice.

26. I have always said it, the most important thing is to relocate legally and if u are not lazy, u will definitely have a good life, u may not even be rich but u will be comfortable.

Thank God for this post. Don’t let anyone discourage you if you want to leave. If u have it good in Nigeria fine but if you think you’d be better off relocating and u have the means, pls do abeg.

27. Hmm I am so motivated and I am proud of you and your hubby..However I want to ask if you do like CIPM here and then you migrate to Canada, can I use that certificate or I have to do CIPD or SHRM..If you are at the comment section, your response will be well appreciated...

1. Do the internationally accepted one.

2. Do CIPD instead if you haven't done CIPM

28. Thank you poster

29. Thanks so much for sharing.

30. Makes a lot of sense. I plan to relocate to Canada someday.

31. Thank you poster for your honesty.

Lovelace

32. Chai I had to read this chronicle 3 times as in the thing sweet my belle...Mmadu na-ata fufu na Obodo Nigeria..So by the time you child is reading for university you would have saved enough for his/her tuition..God why did I not reach the JAMB cut off to be a Canadian or Swedish person before I came into this world...

33. Thank You poster.
    This wins the award for the best Chronicle in 2020.

1. Yes 🙌🏽 Hands down‼️ Stella you don't know how happy i am to read this. Poster you are the best ❤️

2. A positive vibe to this relocation stuff I have been looking for in a long while.you are blessed.

34. Now, this is a country. Thanks for sharing.

35. This is so insightful.thanks alot dear poster.

36. Thank you very much. I am a health care professional with a masters degree receiving peanuts as pay here. God please touch my husband to agree. God abeg, your daughter is ready to migrate with her child. Chineke meeee

1. Chidiogo, register for IELTS first, study and take the test.
      When you pass it, let your husband know and it could motivate him to agree to relocate.

37. What an interesting read. What of those who can't do express entry due to some reasons like age, or no highly placed careers like Accountancy, Nursing , Engineering and the likes? Help a sister biko

1. Yes Poster biko how can 40 plus couple get EE?

2. Yes please poster answer. I just read up there a lady said she is 32 and she got 6. Pls for someone like me I have 5 years Oil and Gas experience in business development. Have an MSc in UK but I am single not married. Pls what are my chances? How do I up my score. This thing has been making me feel depressed. I don’t want to do commence and then not get chosen I will be devastated. Poster pls what would u advise for someone like me ? I speak English well but the writing and reading is the fear.

3. Why can't you try to go via Education? Masters, PHD and the likes 🤷🤷

4. Try federal skilled worker, thou it’s not as fast as express entry but with patience you will get it

38. Interesting read, thank you poster.
    I am married to myself with a 3years old daughter (hubby doesn't care about me) i lost over 3million naira to my dad's ill health 2years ago and we still lost him. I have a 3rd class (don't ask me why pls). I dream of moving to Canada but how with which money. My life is hard. I wish i had married the other guy who is a UK citizen. Atleast i would have gained citizenship even if marriage turn sour. It is well.

CUPID

1. 16:40 All hope is not lost. Register for IELTS and take the start first.

Start the relocation process for you and your daughter. The proof of funds you need will be just for you and your daughter since your husband does not care for you.
      When he is ready to be a husband , he will process his own and join you later.

39. Hardworking n honesty pays abroad. Just be ready to throw your pride away and work your way up. Else you will end up with minimum wage jobs.

40. I mean doing minimum wage jobs forever

41. Thanks for the helpful write up Poster. Is it possible to do some of these certifications while in Nigeria before relocating to Canada? Thanks and God bless your family.

42. Good evening poster

Pls can u shed more light on how a single person can relocate to Canada
    The procedures n requirements
    Am a student and I have plans of relocating in 3 years time.

Thanks

43. Brilliant article! Woow life in Canada is way cheaper than life in the UK. Well done, Lady for telling them the truth! Whatever you do, and however desparate, never enter any western country illegally...if your life is in danger as you are physically threatened with death, them please go as an asylum seeker!

44. Thank you poster. This is appreciated. Please anyone with information on how to migrate to Canada via the academic route should kindly help out with the procedure. Thank you

1. I believe you apply for masters or PHD depending on your present qualifications. You are given work permit while schooling.
      After school, it's easier to get a job there then apply for permanent residence.
      3 years after PR, you apply for citizenship. You get your Canadian passport and can travel visa free to over 160 countries.
      Life is generally better as a citizen.

45. I just noticed that nothing was mentioned about tax.

1. Do your own post on tax, awon fault finders.

2. Read it up, she has sent in hers, can you kindly send in something about TAX?

3. Send in your own experience . It may benefit everyone especially about the tax and child discipline .

4. Tax is high my people but it is not unreasonable. Let me tell you part of what my tax pays for: In ontario, when they sent the kids home in march for covid and started online school, the goverment sent mails out to all families asking them to register to receive tablet/laptop for their kids to use for online school. It was open to everyone but i did not request becuase my son already had a laptop. At the end of the term, they collected the devices back and redistributed it at the beginnning of current term for kids who opted for online learning.

People who were out of work were paid Canada Emergency Response Benefit for the covid period. Child benefit was increased once or twice in recognition of the fact that kids are home all day eating their parent out of house and home. Also got like 200cad two times to buy school supplies for the kids.

The tax works; was at an intersection where an accident happend and we were tryin to turn back and in less than 10 mins, we had more than 5 police cars, 2 ambulances, 2 firetrucks and blood bank delivery to the scene of the accident. No civilians trying to pry people out of the car and causing more damage; our job was to make way for emergency responders to do their work. Men, i shook....

A teenager of Nigerian heritage was kidnapped in a drug deal gone bad earlier this year; the news showed over 20 policemen canvasing the neigbourhood looking for him till they found him. Everyone knew it was a drug deal gone back, they had arrested the cousin who was the dealer but still searched for the poor boy till they found him safe and sound.

I used to pay tax in Naija and i can honestly say it pained everytime i entered pothole or had to go buy fuel for generator. The taxes i paid in Naija entered one chance - it was spent on 3rd wives & lavish weddings of politicians instead of building social and civic infastructures

46. I like this. Thank you so much for sharing

47. God bless the writer of this chronicle.

48. Abeg Poster, we all dey wait.

49. Just like when people say UK is rubbish. I'M here earning 400 pounds a day for doing the bare minimum.

Detective Ada.

50. Well-done poster and thanks for writing this.
    If you are a BV wanting to go to Canada and you are littering the comments section asking poster to come back and answer your questions about relocating, you are simply not ready to relocate because abroad is not for lazy people.
    Google is your friend.

1. Dear Good evening

we know Goggle is our Friend but seeking advice from someone who has experience, can give u better insights and clearance is better

2. Hahahaha abi oh... I learnt a lot just googling Canada migration.

3. Go on YouTube and watch vlogs of Nigerians that have migrated to Canada. Listen to their stories.

51. Nice one..Thanks for the info..Well appreciated.

52. Between doing a civil service job in Nigeria and relocating abroad which one is better am still single and my take home is 50k but am considering the job security of FG job. If i am to relocate the easiest way for me is to get a white man to marry me.

1. 50k is small. May God uplift you financially.

2. I work with an agency of one of the federal ministries and i earn almost 1 million a month. that you can say you earn well, but in this case you are mostly a very senior official and going to start afresh abroad might not be easy...but if you are still young, by all means relocate now if you can. 50k is small and wont do much when you start a family

53. God bless you poster, this is really educating.

54. I just noticed that nothing was mentioned about tax.
    Meanwhile thank you very much for supporting your husband and working together to achieve success.
    Unlike some that will be slaying and faking status on Instagram or Facebook.

1. Dear Nero, Tax is high but you see what it is being used for. I paid almost as high PAYE in Naija and still sorted all things out myself. Infact, here in Canada, if anyone look me with one eye, i am quick to say i am a tax payer and entitled to whatever. It iis with great pride that i walk into the government office for service.

55. Very well written poster. I am glad you pointed out that you are in Alberta. Living in Alberta is way cheaper than living in Ontario or in the GTA area. If your plan is live in the Ontario (GTA to be precise) please plan for almost twice the expenses she mentioned especially for the house rent. 2 bedroom apartment is currently going for about $2200 and daycare will cost you about $1600 a month here. Like she mentioned, the best way to relocate to reduce the hassle is legally but asylum seekers still have access to most jobs as the citizen or PR holders just a few restrictions due to uncertainty (incase your paper is not approved) and your (asylum seeker) education will not be covered by the government grant or loan except your are doing short certificate courses. You need to plan to pay out of pocket. Thanks once again poster.

56. Let me add my two cents from a single’s point of view..

I came to the US in Nov 2016, I stayed with a cousin that turned me to her chef, driver, cleaner and nanny, I stayed for 5 months with my cousin and I survived by money I got from selling Ankara bags, dresses, braided wigs I brought from Nigeria, I also did a nanny job to stay afloat, then I moved in to house where I was paying for just a room, still without a job because I didn’t have my papers yet until 2018 I got my work permit and started a call center job, when I got my green card I joined the Millitary and became a citizen in 2020. Wrote a professional exam in 2020 and got a very good professional job in 2020. So I literally struggled for a year and a half, but in Nigeria I struggled from the moment I left University till the day I left in 2016. Move abroad if you, if you are humble and hard working you will make it

57. Replies
    1. Let me add a comment on age factor. Did express entry at 36, landed at 37 and i am currently 38. Had a job at equal level before landing through Gods grace and the kindness of people around me. My colleage landed in his mid 40s and is doing beyond well. It is not too late to make the move, better younger but not too late.

58. God bless you. Me i had already made up my mind despite those who love discouraging. I will rather try and know i tried than continue to live from hands to mouth here. At least i will know i gave it my best shot. This SARs thing further strengthened my resolve but am doing pnp because of my age

59. Omg! I am the poster. I am practically in tears. Thank you so much. We rise by lifting others.You are indeed a queen! Thank you.

60. Thank you poster

61. Thank you poster

62. Thanks for this, very enlightening.I won't mind relocating to the US even though it's tougher at the moment.I just need someone to assist with the steps.

1. You can only migrate illegal or tru education that won't take you more than 2years.

Legal immigration is somehow pending for now.But God will do it.Just believe.

63. Thank you guys for the encouraging words. I just regretted that I didn't start the processing about 11years ago, I was doing submissive wife.
    My husband just has a strange bond with a country that he has not benefited from. Have never worked with my certificate in this country jumping from one business to the other,presently a tailor, living from hands to mouth. So why won't I do it for a better pay outside the country.
    Going for the test and planning to relocate without him. If he like he can stay back and continue the suffer head.

64. Stella, I'm reading this late, so you might have to post it in IHN or something. People can get a diploma to get extra points. It gives the same point as having a masters. Try UNILAG HRDC, they have over 20 diplomas ranging from 6-12 months. You can do one of 6 or 9 months, get your transcript and have it evaluated. Its cheaper and faster than a masters degree and has the same benefit in increasing your CRS points. I hope someone finds it useful. Also if you need to take IELTS 2 or 3 times, the investment is worth it. Nigerians generally do well in speaking, listening is okay as well it's in writing we have problem and it's only because we under estimate writing. We feel we sabi English wella, and we do don't get me wrong. When it comes to writing, follow the steps. Which is more of the mechanical construction. Let me give an example, imagine its recommended you write 150 words in 3 paragraphs and it might look silly to be writing almost 2 pages in 3 paragraphs, just follow the instruction because it makes a difference between success and failure.

65. Thanks poster.It's never late than never

66. Wow, thanks poster for this..some people will just be running their mouths about how they dont want to do security jobs, wash dead bodies, drive cabs yen yen yen as if the stress they go through here is not enough. yes people do odd jobs out there but you can pay basic bills. in nigeria we are just so stuck on people living in luxury as if that is the standard to life. if we have a society where our basic needs are met then people will stop trying to steal govt money to provide the basics for themselves..i tell people the only reason i have not relocated yet is because i feel am too old to start from the scratch abroad. also i wont earn the money i earn here in naija for now except if i get a job with a multinational abroad. i have lived in london years back when i travelled to do a masters and i will take living abroad any time any day. i have just 10 more years in service and God willing am relocating back with my kids who are British..i pray i can wait till then because the kind of rubbish going on everyday under this govt is totally annoying. please if you want to relocate do it legally so you dont get stuck in the rut of illegal immigrants who suffer and waste precious years before getting their papers

67. Dear Stella , I'm a HR professional as well and would like to get in touch with the original poster. Finding information on the transition has been very difficult and it would help immensely.

68. I live in canada and I regret it everyday . I am legal and I am comfortable but I miss the communal life in Nigeria . Here I work my butt off . Life is so boring and monotonous. I regret coming here everyday !! I had a sweet job and cushy lifestyle in Nigeria . In Nigeria you can enjoy your money but here hmm . Here I just exist , I don’t feel alive