Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CNN Replies Nigerian Govt And Says It Stands By It's Investigative Report On The Lekki Tollgate Shootings

Friday, November 20, 2020

CNN Replies Nigerian Govt And Says It Stands By It's Investigative Report On The Lekki Tollgate Shootings

CNN recently published an investigation on the Lekki incident, alleging that soldiers used live rounds on EndSARS protesters who converged at Lekki tollgate on October 20,2020 
and says it is standing by its report after the Nigerian government disputed the report and call it ''Irresponsible reporting' threatening to sanction it..

At a press conference on Thursday minister of information, Lai Mohammed described the alleged killings at the tollgate as “massacre without bodies” but in a statement on Thursday, CNN said the report was carefully and meticulously researched.

The news outlet said the report is based on multiple witness account, adding that the army and police declined calls to respond to the investigation before the story was published.

“Our reporting was carefully and meticulously researched, and we stand by it,” 
The report was based on testimony from dozens of witnesses, and photos and video obtained and geolocated by CNN. It painted a picture of how members of the Nigerian army and the police shot at the crowd, killing at least one person and wounding dozens more.

“CNN verified photos and videos acquired from multiple eyewitnesses and protesters using timestamps and other data from the video files.

“Video footage shows soldiers who appear to be shooting in the direction of protesters. And accounts from eyewitnesses established that after the army withdrew, a second round of shooting happened later in the evening.

“Prior to publishing the report, CNN tried multiple times to elicit comment from the Nigerian army and police. A Lagos State police spokesman declined to comment because of an ongoing investigation.

“While a statement from the Lagos State government said that there would be no comment while a judicial tribunal was underway.”
from cable.ng

33 comments:

1. Imagine a country built from lies, on lies and with lies.

1. In my lifetime i have NEVER seen a Govt dat lies as much as APC. Many of their lies are even embarrasing as they dont even lie intelligently.
      Btw Lia Mohammed, Lauretta and Femi Adeshina i dont know who i detest the most.
      Buhari d most clueless President Nigeria has ever produced.

2. You are very correct and you just took the exact words out of my mouth

3. Indeed, there was a country. See how these fools messed up Nigerians

4. @ B&R, I detest all 3 with so much passion. My prayer for them is to live to witness and experience all of their lies.

2. This is the sole reason the idiots in power wants to sanction and regulate the media as to silence voice of dissent.

I am happy Buhari became president after three successful failures. If he hadn't succeeded, we may be thinking he would have been the best president Nigeria never had. The 'mighty' northern messiah indeed.

1. Teejay said he is happy ? You can lie shall.we all know you don't like the president and you have every right ...and you can never be happy..irony is ..some other people have been blessed .thats life at the end of the day we all make personal choic s .just ba sincere and honest and straight forward in yourdoings and watch nature and reality align for you ..only in this country sinners are asking God and passing judgment .my happiness is man is not God and he sees all..and any person that has hand in the lekki ng killings ..God alone should pass judgement !

3. Shameless government. They should go and hide their faces.

4. I am waiting for that shameless and heartless eesah

1. Why do I have that feeling like he is a Northern APC government official because his vile & hatred are constant.

2. You are shameless and stupid and your education is a waste because you don't understand the legitimate right others have for airing opinion just like you did..let the guy be with his thoughts same way you always side your thoughts ..I am sure your state and leaders are doing well.you should be all round successful now I want to take a cue from your state ..please which state ?

5. Nigeria will keep embarrassing someone upandan. First military denied they were there. Then it became about who invited them. Then they accepted they were there but didnt fire anything and the protesters threw things at them but they showed restraint. Then they admitted they fired but in the air. Current story is they fired banks. Today is exactly a month since the horrific incident and Naija government has fed us 30 different stories, one per day. They don't rate us and we know but stop disgracing us in the international community.

1. Only a miracle can restore this country. I will leave this country even of it is at old age. My child deserves better

2. They are disgracing themselves not me

3. Lol @ even if it is at old age😂😂.

6. In 2015, as Obama was to visit Kenya, CNN ran a report describing Kenya as a “hotbed of terrorism”.

Kenyan govt threatened to pull all ads off CNN. CNN’s Global Exec VP/MD, flew to Nairobi to personally apologize to Pres Uhuru Kenyatta & Kenyans.

Believe CNN all you want....

Aug 2019, during riots in Hong Kong, @CNN ran a story accusing the police of using “Petrol Bombs and Water Cannons Against Protesters”. It was false.

CNN’s Hong Kong Bureau Chief admitted in a letter to police that the headline was “erroneous.”

Believe CNN all you want....

Early this year, Kim Jong Un’s health was news. CNN ran a story on the issue using a South Korean actor to depict the North Korean leader.

CNN had to issue an apology for what it described as a “fatal mistake”.

Pls laugh at people like us all you want. We’ll be here when CNN apologises.

1. “Our reporting was carefully and meticulously researched, and we stand by it,”
      The report was based on testimony from dozens of witnesses, and photos and video obtained and geolocated by CNN. It painted a picture of how members of the Nigerian army and the police shot at the crowd, killing at least one person and wounding dozens more.

2. Sealord, all CNN pushed out was do a DJ mix of the pics and vidoes that have been in circulation on social media over the last one month. They didn't even have a reporter on ground that day. Meanwhile BBC had a reporter on ground that day. Go check for her clip and hear what she said on the LekkiLies

3. Don’t bother responding because this discussion cum argument will get to the point you wanna pull your hair. You will be left in worse state than when you started.

7. This government has failed us biggerly and the funny thing is that they're not remorseful at all, bunch of heartless cows

8. "CNN stands by its investigation, a spokesperson said."

CNN said the same thing in 2007 when it was accused of stage-managing another news in Nigeria. They later quietly admitted the error and silently fired the erring journalist for a different reason.

I'm outtie

9. This government and lies are like 5/6. Nothing lasts forever. But they should remember that karma never forgets.

10. Shameless Buhari, the most corrupt president of Nigeria with lack of education and obedience to the constitution

11. In a sane country that shameless agbaya Lie Muhammed should have been sacked immediately after that broadcast. This country is only at the mercy of God. This government is the worse thing to happen to this country

12. I watched the so called press conference and was ashamed for the country. Oga lie Muhammed could not read what was printed before him comfortably, shaking, bouncing like tennis ball. His body language exposed him. He epitomized all that is wrong with the country; tired yet can't go away, corrupt, bereft of ideas, wicked and lack compassion. How could he say no one was killed by the soldiers?

Sanction CNN? Fear no dey fear fear? Long throat of not traveling to go enjoy their stolen wealth from being banned will not allow them try it.

From the army that shot the protesters, those that sent them, those that deny it happened and to any supporter of these killings, may you receive double of the anguish the families of the grieving families pass through.

Can all these old folks go away from our public lives? Watching that man yesterday was was not pleasant for me at all.

1. HOW and WHO does Lie Mohammed or FG EXPECT TO SANCTION CNN? Laughable! 🤣🤦‍♀️

2. There is a Northern coalition behind all of these. They plan on bringing the entire country down to its knees for the religious movement and take over. We need to wake up and smell the coffee. They need to be tracked down. They are the ones using stooges all over.

13. I knew and told people around me that Buhari is not the president Nigeria needs but many did not listen.

My reasons:
    1. he was 30 years behind time without any considerable improvement to meet up with the modern economy and digital age.

2. how was he going to fight corruption if he is not acquainted with technology?

3. the stories of his first stint as Military Head of State was fraught with hardship (Austerity Measure) and human rights abuses.

He was simply too old and set in his ways.
    Now, I've been proven right.

His administration has set Nigeria back to 6000 years BC.☹️☹️☹️