Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Victim Of Lekki Tollgate Shooting Whose Leg Was Cut Off Says He Is Unable To Wake Up From The Nightmare

Sunday, November 29, 2020

Victim Of Lekki Tollgate Shooting Whose Leg Was Cut Off Says He Is Unable To Wake Up From The Nightmare

23-year-old Olalekan Faleye claims to be a victim of EndSARS Lekki Toll Gate shooting Which occurred on Tuesday October 20,2020,and says the subsequent amputation of his right leg is a nightmare he has been unable to wake up from..

Speaking exclusively with PUNCH HealthWise Adebayo Francis a few days after he was discharged from the National Orthopaedic Hospital, Igbobi, Lagos, Olalekan said until the Lekki shooting, he had temporarily worked as a labourer with a construction company in Ikoyi to raise money for his ‘freedom’ as an apprentice cobbler.
He also planned to use whatever was left after his freedom ceremony to rent a shop where he could carry out his cobbler trade.
“Any time we had little or nothing to do at the construction site, I would join the #ENDSARS protesters at Lekki Toll Gate to demonstrate against Police brutality and bad governance.
“I recalled attending the protest on three different occasions (October 15, 16 and 17) before the soldiers’ invasion on October 20,” he said.

Struck by soldiers’ bullet

Looking pale and sad, he struggled to recollect the incident of the Black Tuesday, saying the whole episode still feels like a bad dream.
“They (soldiers) arrived in a group and, without warning, started shooting at us. As people ran helter-skelter, I recalled hearing the protest coordinators screaming, ‘Don’t panic, sit on the floor together and keep waving the Nigerian flag.,But it was too late. People panicked when they saw the soldiers advancing and shooting at us...In the panic that ensued, I was hit on the right leg by a stray bullet. The force of the shot was so intense that I found myself on the ground..."

--.The shooting incident had attracted national and international outcry, with the Lagos State and Federal governments being urged to unravel the identity of the shooters and who deployed them
@punchnewspaper on Instagram

27 comments:

1. Nna sorry, I pray for total healing and justice for the victims of lekki shooting.

1. And this same coward soldiers can't face boko haram, they are only strong when they see unarmed innocent citizens. Buhari, Sanwo Olu, and Tinubu, your day of judgement will surely meet you all while alive, not when you die! Soon and very soon!

2. Hian. Hope he’s not using this to cash out o. How come we never heard his name mentioned before? Anyway I think this has to be fully investigated and if true he must be compensated but if not then he must be prosecuted cos that would be making a mockery of a serious issue.

1. I believe one of the reports had mentioned a patient had to have his leg amputated. A doctor mentioned it earlier after the crisis

2. Why is it that your first instinct is that he lied rather than being emphatic for the loss of his limbs? Some of you are worse than the soldiers thst pull that trigger on Oct 20. Monsters amongst us

3. You dey mind the wicked soul.
      People that always sees loopholes in everything without showing empathy first are demonic.
      He thinks the young man will be bold to grant interviewed to a national dialy judging from how this govt is treating people that are speaking up,if he is not saying the truth.

3. pardon my question o, but why is it that Nigerian doctors doesn't try to help people who are hit by a bullet fix the leg without amputation,any gunshot to the leg in Nigeria is immediate amputation,why?

1. i thought as much while staring at the picture.

2. Anon 13: 46 I follow you ask.

3. it depends on the extent of the damage, sometimes the only way the doctors could save the patient is by amputating the affected foot or leg

4. You should see a picture of his leg before it was bandaged. It was all over twitter; you'd perhaps understand why it needed to be cut off.

4. Eyaah this is really really sad.

5. Just 23years😰😰😰😰may those behind this horrific incident never find rest until justice is served. Amen

6. This is really sad. I hope the victims get the justice dey deserve 💔

7. this is heart breaking, Nigerian government this is the condition you want to see your citizens in?

8. Maybe these local bone healers might have fixed this oo. Traditional medicine has saved many people from amputation.
    As for those killers in uniform, May y’all be judged.

9. This is really sad😭😭😭
    Chai!!!!!!!!

May they all get justice.

10. Nigerian Army/Government: Nobody was shot, we used rubber bullets, the army did not go there...

One government, twenty different statements in one minute? 😏😏😏😏

11. I won't be surprised the police will soon catch this boy and say he is the robber they have been looking for since 5 years.
    🙄🙄🙄🙄

1. Iam telling you.
      The irony of being a Nigerian and speaking the truth.

12. Every story should be properly investigated, when emotions start running high now, and it turns to a fakenews and this guy would be abroad visiting CNN while the real news would be hoodlums hijacked a peaceful protest.

1. The ones that have been properly investigated, what did your clueless govt do about it other than witch hint the victims? Like govt like citizens. Shame

2. What gibberish are you spewing, you wicked soul!