Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists - Myths And Reality..

Sunday, January 17, 2021

Sunday In House Gists - Myths And Reality..

In Rivers state in Nigeria,there is a myth that if you kill a wall gecko you will pee on the bed while sleeping...

Some even say a wall gecko is a monitoring spirit,so people hardly kill it there.....

Some people do not kill snakes,they say it brings bad luck but the reality is that a snake can kill you if you do not kill it...

Some say it is bad luck to look into a mirror at night....

Some say you do not show a child without teeth to mirror to look into,if you do,the child will not grow teeth.....

What other Myths and Reality in Nigeria do you know of and how true are they?

Let's gist!

63 comments:

1. They say u don't sweep at night,if you do you, you have unleash the demons in the area

1. I like to clean at night o

Na wa

2. Me that use to sweep late at night I never see any demons o.

3. I heard, you're sweeping your "riches" away. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

4. I clean my house at night oh.

2. I know of the wall gecko, that if a person urinates in the bed always, they cook it as pepper soup then you you drink the water and it will stop. But hey wall gecko and urine ogini 😩😩🤣🤣

1. 😂😂😂

I hate gecko😩

Pls how can I get rid of it?

2. Some will say dnt look at mirror at night. Abeg🤣

3. Gifty, use spray insecticide once you see it.

4. I have killed them. Nothing de happen

3. Heard this before and don’t know whether na myth or reality, in some parts of 9ja, when a woman cheats, na her husband go die, why is this so? Someone committed adultery and another paying for her sins, men don suffer, is this true my fellow bv’s? But if a man cheats, her wife won’t die, this life no balance o

1. Esan people are sitting on this table. Those people are deep mehn

2. Heard of it.that the husband will become sick,and the children will start dieing if she does not confess.

3. I'm from Akwa Ibom and it's very true. In some families sha. A very small percentage though and it isn't a myth,it's real.
      Another one is that if a married woman cheats on her husband. If she takes in,she won't be able to deliver no matter what unless she is able to mention the names of the person(s) she slept with

4. Pounding mortar at night means you're inviting evil spirit

Sweeping your compound at night is bad omen as well as sweeping out the sand from your room

There's this insect whether it's centipede abi it's millipede but its bite is poisonous, if you should see it and call it by it's name it will varnish.. it is believed it is not seen in someone's room except it's been sent by someone spiritually to kill you

1. Centipede and millipede na insect? Anyway, do you mean scorpion? Omg!!!

2. Centipede... Might be true if it was sent but to what I know, shit is so fast and has mad hiding skills..
      More like snake, we do call it eriri (rope) cause we were told if you call it by its name, the idiot will just hide away.

3. Shooter gyal I don't know what I will call them o probably they're arthropods or animal in general 🤣🤣🤣

5. Wall gecko, monitoring spirits ke! I wee kee them sharply. I HATE seeing them indoors. I heard if you show a baby a mirror, the baby will have "4 o'clock" eyes. 🙄🙄🙄

1. some say if you kill wall gecko: one will keep breaking plates........ the way i hate seeing that thing ehen......i tried killing one all to no avail. i poured hot water, used insecticide, it refused to die..... na so i leave am

2. That wall gecko is so irritating.

3. I haaaaate wall geckos eh. When I see them, I just use raid to spray that their black eyes, when they fall, I use broom to finish them.

4. The Great Wall Gecko17 January 2021 at 17:29

You guys should stop killing geckos. They are there for a reason. They help in killing harmful insects. That is why the world is experiencing climate change. Do you know they are custodians? Nigerians u love to kill what you dont understand. Read about geckos and you ll know better.

5. Oh really,? Thanks Great wall gecko.

6. Some say eating food directly from the pot when you're on medication will reduce its potency

7. Don't eat at the door,o don't know why.

Don't pack the dirt if you sweep at night

Baby must not fall on the mothers back.

You must not pound an empty mortal,else your mother will die

You must breath3 times on chicken gizzard before you open it.

A pregnanwoman must not cook moimoi with leaf,it will be undone unless she tied bow tie on it with the leaf

1. About baby falling off their mother's back I've seen where a mother was doing cleansing cause her baby fell off her back when her husband was beating her...she was walking around the market Stark naked with her baby on her back

2. 🤣🤣Breathe on gizzard 3x. If someone walks in, won’t it be like you are doing jazz/making incantations?

8. Replies
    1. The Great Vulture17 January 2021 at 17:30

Stop killing vulture. They help to clean up the earth. Google it

2. Na wa oo. Even animals get their representatives on this blog.

3. Hahaha your comment killed me Jeeeez

9. when i was little, we were told not to look into the sky at night. We were also told not to sweep outside the house at night. These are all Lies to scare people

10. In my mum's place, if you are a lady dating someone, you dare not bring the man into your father's house to sleep with you. If you do and your parents ignore it, they will die

11. Pregnant women should not sit at the door.
    Pregnant women should not walk by 1pm or their baby will change😀😀

1. Na so my neighbor tell me to,don't go out by 1pm and 8pm at night.And na that time I dey like go out go buy something 😂

2. Don't whistle at night,you invite snakes.
      Don't sweep at night,u are sweeping your blessings away
      ,osheey!
      Don't cry while giving birth,if you do you will continue crying in your subsequent deliveries🧐.

12. A pregnant woman must not eat snails, bush meat and do not walk around 1pm

13. Don't sleep with black cloth at night,you will be inviting death if you do😳😳

1. 😂😂🤣🤣! This one is funny.

2. 🤣🤣🤣🤣😂 that one be say I for don die sotey death go don tire to kill me

14. They said hitting one's leg on an object is a sign of something bad about to happen.

We don't kill snakes in my villa, if a person kills a snake, then the person must give the snake a befitting burial. Failure to do so, the snake will continue to mess with you till you eventually die.

Yes it's true. Evil people usually use Wall geckoes as a monitoring agent, this is why i kill any wall gecko i set my eyes on. (sorry to all of them if they're just innocent wall geckoes)

1. *hitting a left leg on an object.

2. So u are from isieke.my very good friend is from there.said snakes enters inside their room and u will just be praising the snake instead of killing it.

3. Your second paragraph is so true. I've heard of such traditional belief in a community in the south. It's like their mini god

4. No she is from Idemmili Anambra. Anony 15.53

5. 15:53, Not from Isieke, today is the first time i'm hearing/seeing the name. We don't praise no snakes neither do snakes enter our homes, be it in our home town or in the city.

Yes babe, @Shooter baby. It's not a myth, it's a fact. It's something like a traditional deity that everyone, be you whoever or whatever must adhere to.

6. Mine is things falling off my hands when something bad is about to happen to me or my love ones

15. It works if you believe in them,but that walk gecko thing is disgusting

1. The Great Wall Gecko17 January 2021 at 17:33

God's creation is not disgusting. If they could talk they ll say same thing to you as well. Respect nature my friend

16. In Oraifite Ananmbra state, it is an abomination to kill a snake. Especially pythons. I have seen snakes in bad ass positions but the fear of killing people's gods is the beginning of wisdom. But we killed one Sha and damned the consequences....
    You see that looking in the mirror at night, that was just to scare us as kids. Sometime in 2017,I was tired of being restrained from looking in the mirror. I am mostly awake at night, and there's this urge to look in the mirror. I did all the hallucinations, expecting the very worst turn of events, then I went to the mirror and looked straight at it. I even flash light for my face but nothing. Nothing at all. Gaddamn myth..!
    In 2014 my family and I traveled home. I was in my room, lying in my bed when one of my cousins came and the next thing I heard is "Ewo!!" I was like what's doing this one, then she told me sleeping upside down and your head facing the door is evil. Inukwa!! Me that can't sleep unless I turn upside down.
    Growing up, we watched one Yoruba movie. One witch like that, whenever it's time for her to attend her meetings, she will go to her bed and place her legs on the wall.. since then my mother never failed to warn us to abstain from such. But guess who is a pro at placings her legs on the wall especially at night? Yours truly.
    I am from Arondizuogu and one time one elderly woman told us if we feel a sudden rush of breeze, or this heaviness in our head, that means a spirit is passing. Just stay mute. Oooouuu me wey no dey hear word. Everytime I feel such, especially when I go to my home town, instead of staying mute I ask " you wanna talk? I am a great listener o". I don't doubt it, ofcourse I believe this world is too deep. Ever since my dad's kinsman came to "visit" me, I have been feeling like a Ghost whisperer.

1. What your grandmother told you is absolutely nothing but the truth,it just depends on weather it's a wicked or a kind spirit. They also cause you goose pimples and unexplained headache when they are out. Most times our pets sees them, majorly why they start making sounds and become restless at times with their attentions fixed at what they are seeing.
      You'd just be wondering what their problem is.

2. Jubilee we are from same place o.I am an ada mazi.

17. I dislike that wall gecko, in this Abuja it seems is there head quarter. I wish I can eliminate them totally to be free of wall gecko.

18. If a pregnant woman sits on mortar she will miscarry.
    False belief