Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 64

Saturday, February 20, 2021

The Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 64

Why do people treat Taxi drivers without respect? 

A woman was once heard telling her son to concentrate on his books so as not to end up like the Uber driver taking them to school.

As Uber drivers, we encounter ill-mannered customers daily and it takes a lot of self-restraint not to react. Some treat the drivers so badly and that behaviour is also extended to how they treat the cars they commute in.

Today, I want to talk about the passengers who litter the cars when taking them to their destinations.

Often times, when customers have been dropped off at their destinations, on checking the car, one discovers that they have littered everywhere with dirt. Some leave empty food packs, plastic bottles, nylons and all sorts of filth on the seat and floor of the car.

There was a time a lady who sat at the back of the car loosened her braids as I took her home. It was so appalling to find braids littered all over the vehicle when she dropped. She didn’t even have the courtesy to clean it up.

Another similar experience was when one woman stained the back seat of the car with poopoo as she cleaned her child up. She left the soiled diaper on the floor in the car and didn’t even wrap it up in nylon ....

Also, a drunken lady puked in my car and the boyfriend almost had a fight with me when I demanded extra money from him for proper cleaning at the car wash. He said it’s my business and I should do my worst.

I was so furious with what he said and I held him down, ready to beat the hell out of him. It took the intervention of some people at the hotel where I dropped him to save the situation. He eventually dropped extra 2k for the cleaning.

The list goes on and on. Drivers are human beings too and they should be treated with respect, after all there is dignity in labour.

*Me quietly reading post and minding my business*

23 comments:

1. I'm here trying to imagine the cool Oko Ashawo in a fight. Chai... Some passengers are actually mini devils and can push drivers to the wall.

1. Yes. This is true. Sorry about the stains on your car

2. Some people are so dirty,even in church,the will give their children biscuits and bread,they won't bother to pick the the packs.

1. 3Amigos Bread @ 6 Okesalu St, Ikotun. 0813851632820 February 2021 at 15:29

I agree about some people being so dirty.

Poster, those people who litter your car are most likely the same way in their homes. How do you take off your braids in someone’s car or leave a poop filled diaper behind? That’s plain nasty.

It doesn’t take much to be kind and courteous to others...what they do for a living should not determine how you treat them. Just be respectful (unless you’re pushed to do otherwise).

3. True... Theres dignity in Labour. Some people are just gross and uncouth...

4. Reading about mannerless people amazes me. I have never encountered them. Is it that people are only mannerless when they feel they are superior to the next person? We need to do better as humans. No human is greater than the other. No matter the wealth you have, at the end of the day, we are all going to return to dust. It cost nothing to be nice.

5. You should have a bin in your car. About people treating Uber drivers without respect,it speaks large of who they are; some are suffering from esteem issues looking for where to caress their esteem. They do this to bus conductors and public bus drivers.

1. Abeg, where Oko Ashawo go put bin for car? 😬😁😁😁🤭

On a more serious note, please, a dirty and unreasonable person is the way he/she is irrespective of a waste bin being inside the car. There's a better way to do this nah. The people that do this sort of things are just plain insensitive in my opinion.
      I take taxis regularly and I don't litter the cars with dirt

6. Most people act condescendingly to people who render services to them. At that point up till the moment your service elapses they automatically put you in a subservient role. Master-servant relationship mode is activated even though they aren't doing you a favour. Whereas some are just clueless about what people in those lines of business faces. They are ignorant about these things that irk you so they fail to empathize simply because they can't relate. I am sure if the table were turned and you were a passenger all these issues you griping about will seem like a non-issue to you as well and you might end up seeing taxi-drivers as cranky lots or people just being anal-retentive. Everyone at some point in their varied line of business has complaints peculiar to their profession alone. The cashier at the bank, the attendant at the gas station, teachers, the barman etc If you have come across all these people I mentioned before trust me, by the same token you aren't a saint either. All businesses have their 'Achilles hills' and sadly that is one of yours. Sometimes it's not intentional they just have no idea how much those acts of theirs wears you out. I guess bringing it here is a silent cry and one step towards seeing a decline of such disturbing widespread conduct.

1. Oh well, in all, let's do unto others what we want to be done unto us

2. I agree with what you said up there but not in its entirety.
      We still have people who are courteous and will treat people right no matter the condition.

7. Na wao why does people have nasty attitudes like how can you clean your child's poo and drop the diaper nonchalantly in another's car? Some people need to be schooled on courtesy.

8. Eww dirty people.
    Some people are just wicked in nature

9. Why will a lady loosen her braids in your car and you let her go?, people dey o

10. Some people have in built dirt🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

11. I think you should always make it known to your clients before starting the trip to avoid unnecessary complaint or drama although you can't avoid it in its entirety...

12. Dealing with people is not easy. In my business..I meet different people with different characters. Come and see characters.

13. Being kind and thoughtful can open dooor and windows of opportunities and blessings for you.

My sister got a job in a highly coveted agency here in Nigeria, as in a place that her take home salary per month is almost 500k, and she was working where she was paid 25k monthly do the math!
    Just by being thoughtful and kind, she attracted this top person, that just asked for her CV to be sent to her email, within 3 weeks appointment letter showed up, and yes, she's a lawyer and is qualified for the job.
    Now, wait it, till date, she's yet to meet the lady who helped her, though they communicate occasionally via email.

I sincerely find it disturbing when I see the way some people treat humans, just because they are offering you a service.
    We need to be kind in words and indeed.

Nice one Oko Ashewo.

14. Every where they go they spread their nasty manners, even in aircraft cabins they filter the space with trash,it's only SDK that knows what those Lufthansa and KLM crew smile at whenever they are serving nigerians

15. Maybe invest in some nylon bags for your customers to put their disposables in and take out with them when the ride ends.

16. It's so sad the way people behave like animals. Meanwhile, you would be surprised oko ashawo that you're way richer than them, but pride would not help them. Just chin up and do the good work