Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Boxing Champion Oyekola Attacked By Gun Men After Oyo Gov Makinde Gifted Him N10 Million

Friday, March 12, 2021

Boxing Champion Oyekola Attacked By Gun Men After Oyo Gov Makinde Gifted Him N10 Million

Unknown gunmen attacked Ridwan Oyekola,the current World Boxing Federation International Super Featherweight Champion after he was gifted a 10 million check by governor Makinde for making the state proud over Montesino..

According to reports, Oyekola was attacked by gunmen shortly after receiving a cheque of N10 million from the Oyo state governor, Seyi Makinde at the state Secretariat on Thursday evening.

Narrating his experience, Oyekola said that it was the grace of God that made him escape death with two other occupants in his car.

"As we left the government secretariat, the venue of cheque presentation, I wanted to drop a friend that accompanied me to the event at Mokola, I just saw a vehicle and it followed us along NTA to Total garden area, and the two men were pointing guns at us to stop.

“I was shocked and swerved the car to escape them but fell into a ditch. The assailants drove off after noticing that the car had fallen off from the road."

It was gathered that Oyekola was with another boxer, Habeeb ‘Ige’ Oladeji, the national bantamweight title holder and a friend, Adesina Sheriff, in the vehicle during the attack but none sustained serious injury.

Confirming the incident, Oyekola's manager and promoter, Sola Ayodele, called on the government to provide adequate security for the boxer, saying the assailants might still be on his trail.

Oyekola had defeated his counterpart from Argentina, Lucas Montesino at Ilaji Sports Resorts, Ibadan in December 2020 after which he was decorated as the World Boxing Federation (WBF) International Super Featherweight Champion.

From Sahara reporters

12 comments:

1. Thank God for sparing his life. He needs to be very careful.

2. He should leave this country by any means. What a place to live as a citizen.

1. Na wa oh...The cheque never cool for him hand and they had to follow the guy...Hmm Governor be very kiaful

3. Stella, I think the first/beginning sentence "Unknown gunmen Ridwan Oyekola..." is wrong

4. They should stop giving some people money openly.

Thank God for his life.

1. Thank you...This boastful life na wa...When children of anger are on the rise

2. Thank you...This boastful life na wa...When children of anger are on the rise

5. Why are Nigerians this wicked?

6. Thank God for his life 🙏🏿

7. Alakoba government. Hope he is doing ok