Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Weekend Arena - Tips On Becoming As Successful As Genevieve Nnaji And Omotola Ekeinde Et Al In Nollywood.

Friday, March 12, 2021

Weekend Arena - Tips On Becoming As Successful As Genevieve Nnaji And Omotola Ekeinde Et Al In Nollywood.

I get lots of calls from people who are interested in pursuing careers in Nollywood.

With the Nigerian economy, gradually sliding into something-that-looks-like-a-coma, creative-minded people, old and young, can leverage the opportunities in the industry and show the world the stuff they are made of.

I have decided to talk about Being a Nollywood star today... It is not an easy journey, but it is achievable and comes with lots of pecks: recognition, respect and mouth-watering endorsements. 

The likes of Genevieve Nnaji, Omotola Jolade Ekeinde can testify; but that journey did not start and end in a day. It took years of hard work and patience to nurture. But the most important factor in getting into the movie industry is being equipped with the talent.

How do you recognise talent? You will not go far to know because people around you will confirm it to you. When you talk, move or even keep mute, it will elicit reactions, amusement to others. The next thing after one has established he is talented enough is to interact with the relevant crowd.

The relevant crowd in this case, refers to individuals who could help you actualise the dream. In Nigeria, the movie industry is primarily located in Lagos, Enugu, Asaba, Abuja, though some local language industries are in Ibadan, Kaduna, Kano, Benin and Uyo. These cities are where one should go to be closer to the industry. Hobnobbing with the right crowd, may also be in the form of being friends with known stakeholders in the industry. 

For actress Mercy Johnson, the moment, she was convinced that she wanted to pursue a career in acting she started out by becoming friends with Tricia Eseigbe-Kerry, presenter of Bold Faces. For Genevieve Nnaji, she got linked to Alex Usifo, who was running a modeling agency in Surulere then. For Julius Agwu, he hooked up with Okey Bakassi, Basorge Tariah and Segun Arinze, before finally meeting the likes of Opa Williams, the creator of ‘Night of a Thousand Laughs’.

In most cases, one may not have the opportunity of knowing any of the established names in the industry; the bridge could be a journalist, who covers that beat. Actresses like Bukky Wright, Susan Patrick and Shan George, got their break when they expressed their desire to act to foremost movie reporter, Sunny Okim. The several Talent Hunt shows today also present bright opportunities for those who are talented to showcase their skills. 

All one needs to do is to be on the look-out for such initiatives and grab them with both hands, making sure that they put up brilliant performances at every opportunity.

In the absence of these, someone should source information concerning auditions. At an audition, which is usually thrown open, the prospective actor is expected to read a script to a panel that will assess the person’s suitability for the role in terms of diction, carriage and characterization.

Omotola Jolade Ekeinde, broke into the movie industry by performing well at an audition. She did what she was asked to and got the role, her first, which was a leading part in Mortal Inheritance, a film about sickle cell anaemia, by Fred Amata. 

Genevieve Nnaji’s first role was as newscaster in a movie, Most Wanted shot by Ralph Nwadike in the late 90s. First roles are usually a few scenes, but it is important that one does it very well, and stays focused, whether it leads to a break or not. Staying focused includes making sure that the producers do not find the person wanting in terms of discipline, because that puts a lot of them off. On the other hand, some actors do have the grace of achieving fame, when their first role translates into blockbuster movies.

Kate Henshaw did when she featured in When the Sun Sets, a film by Hints magazine. Getting more roles after the first one is a function of patience, humility and ability. Anyone who lacks these traits may not go far. Against all odds, the person should be adaptable, unique and cultivate positive publicity. After someone’s first role, there is need to build an endearing friendship with the press.

Genevieve Nnaji, Omotola Jolade-Ekeinde, Tonto Dikeh and Mercy Johnson all got boosted by the power of the press. It is advisable that an artiste makes sure that the kind of publicity that comes his or her way is positive. This is necessary in terms of endorsements.

In reality, everyone will not be a star actor, no matter what they do. In fact, only about 10% end up having a successful career afterwards. The reason is simple: becoming an A-list actor is a function of many variables beyond one’s control, including grace. Some people may not believe it, but grace of God plays a huge role. Some have tried to push boundaries to achieve it without success. Some take to drugs on account of this. In Nollywood, some also seek black powers to help them actualise their dreams of stardom, but how far can this take anyone? It became rife in the industry at a time that it became the theme of a movie by Nuella Chikere titled, Jujuwood.

When one does not become a star, he or she can opt for other careers in the industry. Many of today’s A-list actors in Nollywood did not even start as actors. Typical examples are Nkem Owoh, who started as a writer; John Okafor (Mr Ibu who started as a Production Manager) and Emeka Ani,( bedridden and seeking assistance at the moment.) He started by hawking perfumes to stars on locations! He was doing this until the day the role of a native doctor in a particular movie dropped on his laps and that changed his career-path forever.

In the absence of a breakthrough in acting, a person could try other options in the industry, which include script writing, location management, props, make-up, costuming, continuity, lighting, sound and welfare amongst others. 

People who have these skills and are HONEST are in demand in Nollywood. Take a chance.

*Which Nollywood are you talking about Ngozi? The present Nollywood is different and Honesty will not even get you anything!....

Your talent will also get you nothing except you can allegedly buy the script or allegedly lie down for it.....
I hear there is even no money there anymore and that is why most these actors have looked for other day Jobs.....Sebi nah una talk say those buying cars and house are doing so under questionable circumstances? Please let me drink water and mind my business..

11 comments:

1. Na Instagram and order social media apps people dey cash out with now. Check out Taaooma, Mr Macaroni and co. They're doing very well. Even Don Jazzy sef don dey do skits. One road no lead to the market
    In all, diversification is key.

People are doing all sorts of crazy things in the name of skits to get followers. . The list is endless

1. I don’t find Taaooma funny at all. I tried but couldn’t. I’m sure others don’t mind her skits.

2. Anonymous Same here I don't find her funny at all..If you want to laff your heads off Zicsaloma, Mad Johnny , Nons Miraj all on IG I swear you go laff die

3. Zicsaloma is a total mad man for real. I love that guy's skits.

2. All na hustle..na instagram be the new nollywood

3. Is it feasible in today's Nollywood? Halima don kuku talk sef

4. What you're saying is applicable in Hollywood sir not Nollywood

5. Sir this advice no follow o.In Nollywood today people pay to be featured in movies,should I call names?

6. Rich write-up Ngozi and I like that you named names that reiterate the power of association- placing your self in the right place. I wish you could write about the Youruba stars and the apprenticeship system with people like Ronke Odusanya (awada Keri Keri organisation), Odunade adekola with the late mentor who used to play the role of a babalawo, Taiwo Hassan Ogogo and his boss, such mentorships have created many stars and long standing careers because the training is so rigorous and broad. Even Prof Wole Soyinka was training people registered in such programmes at some point.