Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Pete Edochie Blames Feminism For Domestic Violence In Marriages

Thursday, April 01, 2021

Actor Pete Edochie Blames Feminism For Domestic Violence In Marriages

Nollywood veteran actor Pete Edochie has faulted feminism as one of the reasons for domestic violence against women in marriages..

Edochie while speaking with BBC Igbo recently said feminism is alien and has no place in the African culture.

“Feminism isn’t something black people are known for. Once a woman leaves her parents to meet her husband and take his surname, she is to be submissive to him. If she wasn’t married, she can do whatever she wants.

“Women walk and show off their behinds, it’s so that men would find them. If you see such a woman and express your marriage interest, then she starts walking properly. Our women now plunge into feminism nowadays.

“They can’t even keep their husbands anymore. Is that a good thing? These women are schooled but a lot of wives now can’t even cook — one thing that a woman should be good in so as to be able to keep her husband.

“My mother was not educated but she would cook all sorts of soups, including bitter leaf, oha, ogbono, okro, egusi, ukwa, and what have you. My father would always get back home hurriedly to eat what his wife had cooked.

“Today, our wives can’t even cook anymore. Women who can’t cook aren’t supposed to call themselves women. And feminism is what causes women to be beaten up in marriages. You complain to a woman and she retorts.

“It becomes unbearable, so you stretch your arm and deal her a slap. Domestic violence starts. I don’t like seeing women crying because it hurts me deeply. But it is the fault of the woman herself a lot of times.

“To be honest, the understanding of women is low. I’m not a misogynist but I’ve associated with them a lot, even at work. Feminism has no place in our culture. We don’t worship women as the whites do.

“In the west, women could join forces and accuse a male colleague of assault. The man resigns. This can’t happen in our culture. As a young woman, if pedestrians don’t admire you, you’d weep for fear of not being beautiful.

“I’m a strong adherent of culture. Kneeling to put a ring on a woman’s hands is not our culture. Any man who does that transfers the headship of his family to that woman. Until my dad died at 96, he never knelt to propose.

“It’s just like kneeling down on entering a church because there’s a higher being to whom you’re paying respect. Men climb trees to tap palm wine. How does it look if women do the same? Today women dictate to me.

“It wasn’t like that in our days. How women talk to men nowadays isn’t how we were raised. My mother was never beaten. My wife and I have been married for 52 years. I never beat. My five married sons don’t beat their wives#,” the 74-year-old said.

This is coming barely two weeks after he was slammed for his advice on how married women should deal with their cheating husbands ...

from Pmnews

*WHAT!!! Seriously??? He needs to stop granting all these kinds of Interviews before people lose respect for him.

122 comments:

1. Pete Edochie is a very traditional man. You can't teach an old dog new tricks. His life, his opinion. We've all got ours

1. I totally agree with you Richie Rich, totally!

He is still an amazing actor to me shaa.

2. Oga Pete, times have evolved o. Back then women will relax while the husband provides but these days, hmmm.

I agree with a few things though but others hell No.

Having said, nothing can change my love or respect for this man. He is a typical old school like most of our parents.

3. There are lots of deep truths in what he's saying. However domestic violence is never justified no matter how provoked. Grandpa Pete is old school and traditional and entitled to his own views. And i respect him for that

2. The truth they say is bitter. Daddy Pete, watch them come for you in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1,... boom! Here they are...

1. 😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂 you sef!

3. Wahala dey ohhh. Everyone blaming Feminism for even the sour soup they ate yesterday night😂😂

1. Feminism is the reason why men his age are overweight. It was the reason for Abacha. It is the reason for malaria. Flat tyre? Blame feminism.

2. The reason Pete is a one-role kind of actor is feminism. The interview drops next week.

4. This man just needs to stop talking.

Yul advice your father abeg.

1. His diokpara should go get him. Yul is his last born. I personally feel this is a conspiracy theory against this man's legacy and all he's worked for. Because i absolutely can not wrap my head around the fact that a so called journalist will have an ancestor like Pete and all they want to ask or rather learn from him is "FEMINISM". Lol. Dear golden sons of Legend Pete, y'all better go get your father. These never do wells won't stop at nothing till they successfully snatch the glory, love and respect Africans have for him. It is a conspiracy theory, muru anya ka azu o. Imagine meeting someone like Ngugi wathiongo and all i want to ask him is his conceptions about "feminism" or even getting sperms from a sperm bank because one is unmarried and unwilling to, does this make any sense at all? This man is a hard core traditionlist so why won't they ask him questions regarding our roots, cultures and struggles as Africans, why aren't they asking him questions in his field as a super successful actor that he is? Why are all the so called journalist asking a seventy something year old man about "FEMINISM"? when they get the opportunity to sit and interview the likes of Genevieve, Chimanda and Tayo Adeyemi, what will these wack ass ask these set of people? Dear children of Pete Edochie, these people don't mean well for your father, y'all should read between the lines and put these jealous "we must bring him down" vultures using these "so called journalist" to archive their aims. Ekene kwam unu!! It's always a media war against a strong lion they know can never be easily broken.

2. Why should he stop talking,

3. My dear Chisom, journalists must chop na. They have to keep trending on controversial issues. What's more controversial than women talk? Make dem dey use us shine. Las las everybody go soon face front.

4. Chisom you are very correct!!!
      By the time the will realize it, I hope it won't be too late.

5. Chisom I think you are right. All of this will lead to him and his children being ‘cancelled’ by the new woke culture. It’s time for him to do interviews on other issues abeg. His views may contain some sense but they are outdated. Slapping anyone let alone your wife is wrong and can never be justified.

5. It’s easy to speak when you don’t get the short end of the stick. However, things are evolving, men should too. Don’t be traditional and look for a liberal woman, you will be miserable and she will not be afraid to leave. If you have certain ideals, it’s only logical to settle with someone who shares them. And if you’re a liberal woman, the biggest mistake you can make is to settle for a traditional man and think you can change him and that’s a common mistake women make. Just settle with someone who shares your mentality and be happy, is it not common sense?

1. Hmmm my dear, he forgets to add that the quality of men they raised, currently aren't as manly as they were. I am married, This is a time that despite working as a wife, you feed, tend to the home and build just to help your husband as a wife but what does he the husband do with his own money!!!
      Carry babes and tell lies and when you react, problem. I am currently building in my hubby's village instead for him to join up, he rather ask me to give back his money if he adds anything to a house that is being built in his village for crying out loud!!!! Behaving as if adding his money is a taboo.
      In the days of my father, men were men and were not shying away from responsibilities!!!
      Then men knew that they must"show" that they love their wives by doing what they are supposed to do as men. Not shy away from responsibilities. Being the head of a home is not by the size and length of your manhood!!!!

2. Anon 15:42 Building what in ur husband's village. Biko stop it sharply. For that kind of man. Buy all the properties elsewhere close or in the city. Except u have no choice but to be going to the village. No matter the love me i just kent. I would build 100 houses in my Dad's village first. Wetin happen?

3. Madam " I am building in my husband's village" please miss me with that BS you have been spewing all week. You keep complaining about the building yet, Mrs Bob the Builder is still building.

What do you want us to tell you? Congrats? On a house that will never appreciate in value? That no one obligated you to build? That you are pretending and lying is being financed by your husband? The way you sing this song of the building everyday, I bet you are directly or indirectly sending the signal to him as well- that you are unqualified for the ring you have and want to earn his love with a house. Humans step on and over doormats. You are forcing this man to be hostile to you because you are not permiting him to be a man. It is a woman he is sponsoring that would live in that house at the end of the day because you are usurping his role in the home.

If you want to continue to write exam for the marriage certificate you already have (that is if you have one), by all means keep stressing your pregnant self and doing the most all for nothing but please pity us- we are not the man you are literally dying for. E Don dey too much abeg. You saw Zenith bank shares saw MTN and dangote sugar you didn't buy. Land for Lagos nko? You said no and now you want us to go and flog a man that didn't send you message.

6. This one is gradually going senile.

Justifying violence. So because a wife response seem rude she deserves to be dealt a slap.
    Age is really not a measure to of wisdom

Soon he would say women and under aged girls' dressing is the cause of rape

1. You really had to call a man of such pedigree senile to buttress your point? Where in his write up did you see insult? You are the type of woman he's talking about. So disrespectful. But you want a man to treat you right. Smh.

2. Chill babe. Guo comment ndee, che ya ofuma.

3. Referring to an older person as this one? You clearly lack manners, completely.

4. Yvonne O.
      That your opening sentence is disrespectful and disturbing.
      Check it.
      Does it sound cool to you?

Okay, bye.

5. It's nonsense comments such as this that pushes DANTE to deal with you.
      You be mannerless mofo o🤯

6. Show some respect Yvonne

7. You cannot respect a man that does not respect himself.

The rubbish this man has been vomiting is too much. Pete should keep his nonsense and rubbish comments for his family members and stop making a fool of himself in the name of culture and tradition.

Not everyone comes from igbo land and shares the same culture and tradition as him so he should keep his nonsensical talks within his family.

At his age he talks stupid and expects not be called stupid and disrespected.

8. Calling him a senile is uncalled for . we should always watch the way we talk , all in a bid to be woke . Nawaoooo

9. Most of the women forming ‘woke’ and insulting this man are the women he is talking about. They are the ones causing problems for we women folks! Respect his opinion, he is not forcing you. They asked him questions and he responded in his own opinion, he did not invite the interviewers. At his age, he should express himself the way he deems fit and not say things to impress you “woke” generation. You heard him say that his children may not entirely agree with him, that is up to them. He is telling you facts and that fact is that feminism is not an African thing, kneeling to propose to a woman is not an African thing, divorce cases tripled since the era of this feminism brouhaha filtered into Nigeria. What is lie in all these? If you think he is telling lies, you can disagree with him in a constructive manner and not insults. You can also know that he is a respectable man without scandal. During his famous years, he was not in the news being reckless with women, nor did he take advantage of his fame to use women. He looks like he respects his wife and family, and a real family man. His age is the age of accountability, and as a titled man, he will say what he feels is truth to him, without fear or favor. He is in his house, go and beat him if you like!

10. Yvonne uncouth and rude as usual. What a disgraceful fellow

11. Respect is reciprocal. If Pete Edochie wants respect off of the stage, he should earn it. It is not by wasting his golden years picking on women and saying nonsense.

There was a time he gave an interview saying Igbo producers and marketers should only engage Igbos in the entertainment sector- if other tribes thought like him, would he have a career? This same man went to a birthday celebration hosted on the field ( because it clearly wasn't a golf course) of a a randy ancestor who bought one of his actor colleagues as a wife- why didn't he give an epistle there about how traditional marriage ought to be and how young women should not see money as everything? Why not advice allegedly titled men to respect the kingdoms they represent and live respectably? His hypocrisy is funny and sad at the same time. Pete should focus on making heaven. Enough of policing women and young girls. He's too old for that kind of perverseness.

The people crying for respect are the type of people who hailed the naked emperor until a child told the truth and saved the kingdom from further ridicule. I don't want people of younger generations to read this and mistake his words for African wisdom. Pete, even in his generation, hold a number of minority views eg that a woman would weep if street hoodlums don't harass her. What a joke. He should ask his relatives how easy being female was in their time.

12. WTH!!! Nawa o, all these our woke youths misyarning all the time ehn. Most of our parents have same mentality but can you look them in the face and say this? Social media age indeed!

13. Leave woke people one. As for me, I don't read any of his interviews. I lost any respect I ever had for Peter way back at Enugu during our uni days. This Man was hanging somewhere at Mgbokiti junction, we couldn't get a bus as our lectured finished late,so we treated down to that road that lead to winners chapel, when some student saw him and was fanning him, she gave them a fuck you sign, it was done repeatedly and continously that I felt disgusted. How can a so called titled man not respect his tittle and age and be giving fuck you finger to kids he can father.his bead was so rough and he was looking like a perv with that his fuck you finger.i never saw him with the same eyes again. I don't even bother reading anything he says.

7. This man has a problem with women being equal to him and that’s his personal problem cos he’s still stuck in the past. He thinks women are beneath him..maybe women in his household (God bless them).

Domestic violence stems from trying to control, subdue and dominate in marital relationships and only men who don’t see the spouse as equal will do that.

1. Thank you. Seldom will irate best friends hit each other but the moment you are going at it with a woman you took before God, fists become an option- What a silly way to think. Even at some point, parents stop hitting their kids but you excuse adults acting like toddlers who don't have enough words? Sick!

2. Until the day you grow balls, you can never be equal to him. You were made from one, just one of a man's ribs!!

3. Made from one of his ribs you say, yet many female FEMINIST movie producers employ him. 🙄

4. 19.01
      And you were made from dust?

And your point is?

5. Late to this post.. But anonymous if I was made from your ribs and you are made from dust... We are both dust... Don't be deceived that Bible was written by men like you..

8. The person I pity most is Yul. His father is just pouring sand sand inside his 2023 presidential ambitions!

1. I feel for him. He keeps countering his father's opinions. The more he does, the more the man vomits more.

2. Yul is one intelligent and wise man ehh, his wife should be proud.

9. Domestic violence against women started even before the time of my grandparents. I knew and understood what domestic violence is before I heard of the word feminism.
    Papa Onyinye that beats the wife in the village, do they know what feminism is.

1. Don't mind them. Instead of admitting shortcomings of our heritage, we project and therefore, make things worse.

10. Before people lose respect for him?
    I've lost respect for him since he started talking crap. This nonsense interview of his just opened old wounds. Wisdom truly doesn't come with age!

1. Who cares, he is saying his truth,say yours

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. Sweetness why are you under peoples post saying trash, go and look for a clean space and say your own truth and leave others to say their own... Stop jumping up and down and go school yourself about what feminism really is and not the twisted version some people are pushing

4. If daft was a person it'll be you @bitterness. Mtchewww

11. He's right. As in very right. My only problem is not all men deserve that kind of submission. All these crackheads, gigolos, loafers, layabouts, etc. will also come out and be asking for submission? Haha. No.

Get you a good Christian man that loves God more than anything else in life and you'll do all Pa Edochie has said without thinking twice. A man that knows what fatherhood and husbandry are. Such a man will think of his woman before taking any decision. He'll carry her like egg, make sure he provides for her to the best of his ability. He'll lead his family in the way of the Lord. Of course, cheating, beating and all other forms of misbehaviours will be far from such a man.

Pa Edochie maybe doesn't know that such men are almost extinct in our present day society. He's speaking based on his own time and generation. May God help this generation.

1. I also add that women should be of good character. If you are a good woman, what on earth will make your husband to raise his hand against you except he is mad? Remember, not all men are wired with patience to condone foul mouthed women.

Bottom line is: women develop good character; men become responsible. Both genders should give their lives to Christ because, it is only the Holy Spirit that can give you the enablement to become the best of the person you were created to be.

2. Hmmmmmmmmm.
      I respect this your view well.
      You just listed an ideal couple, God fearing couple too.

When people fear God and respect their partners, it means submission very easy.

Nice one Jechix.

3. Jechix so a man should not have *good character*?
      Good character is now gender-based.

Please, who told you wives of good character and absolute submission have not been killed by their poorly-behaved in marriages.

I am talking about hard facts I know.

Why are women expected to DO THE MOST to keep the marriage going and men expected to DO THE WORST?

Is that how CHRIST redeemed and ransomed the CHURCH, his bride?

Why are men not urged to make sacrifices and honour their wives, willingly giving up their lives for their wives.
      Husbands are the leaders of the marriage but how do they lead? By CHEATING, BEATING yet DEMANDING SUBMISSION plus the wives financial contribution.

Pete Edochie holds women in contempt. If he has a daughter, married and experiencing oppression, he will wouldn't be uttering balderdash. 🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️

4. Anon 14:42. Please read well again.
      Jechix always making sense. I appreciate u

5. Anon 14:42. Please read well again.
      Jechix always making sense. I appreciate u

12. I have been on twitter and the thought process of his supporters is totally appalling. Women married to igbo men, is this how they all reason?????

One even said a man who helps his wife with chores is a jobless man. I was thinking our generation will eventually find a way to do away with this injustice against women in the name of tradition, but to see that a lot of young men still think this way is highly scary.

1. Scary is an understatement. And we all sat with them in class o. Exchanging love letters thinking they will do better. They are even worse topped with laziness and drugs

2. Marry ur kind oh. These are the things people should check very well during courtship. It would surprise u that a lot of young me now want to eat their cake and have it. Imagine expecting a woman to be working and bringing even more money then expecting her to be serving u wen in the olden days the women were housewives and the men catered for all

13. As they say, old men don't change, Daddy Edochie, nothing you say will make me stop being your fan but you see these your personal views, they have no place in this generation. It's just like someone keeps holding on to typewriter that he doesn't want to use computer, he will soon go out of business. Much love Sir.

1. Love you sweetheart.♥🤝

2. What he says is the truth, some of our women are very very RUDE

3. And later you'll wonder why this generation is so bad?

4. @ sweetness, and some of our men are very irresponsible

5. A man whose role is being played by the woman he married will definitely find her as rude. If you want the type of respect your grandfather got, be the kind of man he was. If you are using calculator to delegate percentage and still playing away game, don't be looking for who will pound yam for you o!

14. This mans thinking doesn’t gel with the current times. Just cos in his time, men got away with their oppressions against women doesn’t mean it will happen now. Times are changing, more people are getting enlightened.

15. I don't have anything nice to say. He's an old traditionalist,they are usually fixed in their ways and opinions.

16. Ok our dearly beloved LEGEND! We got you sir, we totally understand. You'd remain an ogada gidi, the one whom we'd forever respect and cherish. These things they keep asking you, the answers you keep giving got nothing on who you are or what you stand for. It's okay. ❤️❤️❤️💐

17. Hian this man should just close his mouth and stop granting interviews.

18. Really?

This man is becoming...

Feminism that causes domestic violence? Really?

Those times that there was nothing like feminism yet husbands beat up their wives, how about that?

I'm still saying, I'm glad I wasn't born in those times.

19. They should just stop interviewing this man about marriage and women.

It's bringing insult to him.. though I won't insult him.

20. See them above,
    A responsible and respectable man is speaking now, instead of listening to his wise words and see how you fix them into your life, you're here arguing. You get sense reach am?

You'd rather listen to advice from bobrisky who told you ladies to be hoe this year, and you were all posting it on your status, and Toke makinwa who advice you girls to have one night stand and other bullshit..

Tueh!

I blame weak men for all these tho.. you'll see niggaz crying like a bitch cos their babe/wife went on dubai vacay with some other dude.. God forbid.. I'm too oldskool for these shii..

Talking about feminism, the Era of the real feminist has gone..There's equal pay, schooling etc.. infact women now enjoy than men.. what we have now are just MISANDRY, all they do is insult and try to destroy men, then also push the hoe agenda.. that's why you see them justifying how going naked means the emancipation of women e.g slut walk, free the nipples, silhouette challenge, bussit challenge and all other bullshit.. you don't see them discussing on how women can be great, join to build their home, career etc etc.. na to dey shout say them won relax and be taken careof with nothing upstairs..

Nonsense

1. Broke boys don’t deserve no kitty..I no das right!

If it’s up
      Then it’s up
      Then it’s stuck! 🤪💃🏻💃🏻

2. Please i disagree on the Era of real feminist being gone Dante,its not true.

3. Dante you’re a very broken old man. At this stage only God can save you now.

4. Perxian you got it right, broke ass boy!
      Boy go complete your relocation money and try getting a woman when you get to whatever country you wish to settle in and then come back to give us gist since all the Nigerian women you know are bad for you. Myscheew

5. 12;52 Dante broken? Lol. You are the one that is lost. But you don't know.

6. Chisom,
      If you're disagreeing, it would be nice of you to counter my claim by telling us what these feminist do with fact apart from what I stated above.. you see the things I mentioned bah, everyone can relate to it. So give us something everyone can relate to

Lol perx..
      Broke gitls don’t deserve no dick..I no das right!

If it’s wet
      Then it’s wet
      Then it’s congi! 🤪💃🏻💃🏻

7. Dante is young, actually..probably good looking and buff but y’all don’t see that he has studied social media engagement and knows exactly what to say to get you triggered.

If you follow the likes of Odanz on Twitter then you will know..

8. You're right Perxy, reason I don't even respond to his rantings. He feeds on people's triggers, like it gives his joy.
      But guy is broke sha and that good looking...naah it can't be probably. He's not.

21. Stella let me tell you some truths, in this country and life in general, THERE IS NO HONOR OR RESPECT FOR AN UNMARRIED MATURE WOMAN, two, IN AFRICA IF YOU WANT TO BE A FEMINIST AND BE DRAGGING POSITION AND TROUSERS WITH MEN, NO MAN WILL MARRY YOU. Hard truths to swallow. Single to stupor women pls don’t come for me o, go and wash your head in celestial church.

22. All these feminist and their thirst and hunger for equality...

We blacks are throwing our pearls to the pigs and look what we're getting, we're getting torn up right from the inside not just outwardly..

We copy the whites in everything to be accepted by them and be like them yet we barely get that and we're so cool with it but an igbo person with igbo accent is tagged igbotic... Funny enough, the whites don't copy us to be accepted or be like us..

We should embrace our culture.
    The world is such a beautiful place if everyone should take his place and not be like Oliver twist.

Our ladies quest for equality and by doing this, they loose their potentials, their God given value and virtue which, if understood and handled greatly, can control the Kings of strongest Kingdoms.

The old man is very sensible..

1. That's not even the issue for me.
      If you want equality then let's do equality.. but nah, they don't want equality, they want more power but not responsibility, responsibility comes with power.. as you're being given power, you're required to take up some responsibilities. That's what anyone with common sense would.

This same lady that are not ready to split bills on date with men, still expecting men to bankroll them and take care of their lives, they sit back and let us pay through our nose for marriage and will now come and be saying we're partners and equal after marriage..

Make una no dey whine unasefs oh

23. When you people start to realize a lot of old “legends” you look up to and celebrate like Pete Edochie are terrible terrible people in reality, it may be a bit too late. This man is an embodiment of all male vices and those close to him can actually testify. But because he is old his children and cult like followers are bashing others.

24. @ Eka joy, not all Igbo men are like that. I had the same thought before I met my spouse. I'm Yoruba and my man is an Igbo man and he's all shade of sweet. God paired us well. I'm very lazy when it comes to washing clothes and sweeping the floor ( I am allergic to dust, so this contributed to my laziness in sweeping). My man washes my clothes with his when he discovered that I can't wash. I've never washed his clothes before. It's not that I don't love him but I detest washing. Not less than two months, he got me a washing machine and he still washes our clothes with the machine. Sometimes if people are around, I go out to spread but if the compound is quiet, he does the spreading and removing from the wire himself. He's also very good with ironing. But on the other hand, I'm very handy in the kitchen and he's the opposite. I don't get tired cooking tasty meals and he loves food ehn. So I channel all my energy in kitchen work ( making delicacies and washing dishes) but he hardly make ordinary noodles well. When he notices I've spent much time in the kitchen, he drags me out and tell me to leave the rest till d following day. I am also going with arranging stuff but my husband lay our bed cos u can't catch me laying my bed. I arrange our wardrobe and the freezer well & he's d opposite. I don't force myself to be submissive to this kind of man cos it comes effortlessly. I do all with joy not only becos it's where my strength lies but to compliment my spouse for being the best man on earth.

My point is all that total submission to a man is easy when the man LOVES his wife.

What about money? he sends his income to my account as soon as they got his account and I plan on how to spend our money together. Story plenty o. Just marry a man that loves you. I'll send in my sweet story soon.

1. I am happy for you. Things I read from igbo men online concerning their idea of relationship and marriage ehn makes me wonder if this is truly how they run or intend to run their homes.

You've got yourself a really good man tho.

2. Thank God you don't allow him to enter the kitchen else I woulda said you married a puppet. However, this story is sweet enough so, enjoy your marriage ma'am

3. Hmm...I love your story. You really have a good husband. May God keep your home

4. A man that enters the kitchen is a puppet???? OMG, what won't I read?

5. You dey mind this shooter. The more you try to sound Antifeminism,the more dumb you look. You and I know with your very rude and silly attitude, you won't settle for this. You wey guy go vex curse you, you go fire am *12, block his past, present and future. You don't take nonsense Shooter so I really do know who you're trying to impress. Relass girl, there's no award for it.
      Sounding the complete opposite of your personality.

6. Where was your Igbo husband born and brought up, that is where you will find your answer in why your Igbo husband is different from other Igbo men.

7. Thanks everyone. 14:05, he is a naive of Ebonyi, was born in Ebonyi, grew up there (did his pry & sec edu) there.

He did his tertiary institution in Nsukka, Enugu. did nysc in Calabar. He came to lag few ( any 3-4 years ago). So, he's born and brought up in the east.

There are good and bad ppl everywhere.

8. 13:59, she has no personality. She lives her imaginary life here that's why she's always bitter. She is dating her local league boy and he is subjecting her to serious trash. All that anger here is suppressed aggressions from pretending to be a submissive girlfriend in her real life.

25. Funny how men are quick to speak about the "bad" character of women but hesitate to speak about the bad characters of men, bad governance and other weightier issues.

The fact is if most men treat their wives well, their wives would not hesitate to carry their husbands on their head.

1. How many women speak about the bad characters of women? Its vice versa

2. Rainbow na another man pleaser here. Girl grab some self esteem. Did you use backyard submission to koba someone's husband?

26. The truths he said in this interview (take it or leave it);
    Kneeling to propose is not our culture
    Retorting when your husband speaks is not our culture

Thanks Mr. Pete for telling the truth.😚😚😚😚😚😚😚😚😚

1. ... If all you said above ain't our culture.. Then it means beating and enslave our wives is our culture... Too hell with your culture!

27. He is saying the truth, there is a way u handle some issues without talking back at your husband when he is angry.feminism we are talking about should not be in our homes because there is a way we are brought in africa,even the bible says we should submit to our husbands,it did not say submit to men but to your husband.when you submit,the issue of domestic violence will have no place in your homes,doing house chores will not be a problem for your husband and you will enjoy your marriage. Then the issue of cooking,how will you feel when your husbands don't rush home to eat your food or your children don't compliment your cooking?think about it.dont follow all those women that chant wife's not cook,I can't wash my hubby's clothes,I can't do this that to distract you o,be wise.we as women have power but we don't use it wisely all in a bid to do follow follow.umtil we use our God given Sense,domestic violence an divorce will continue to be on the rise

1. Let me easily break this down for u so u don't normalise slavery in ignorance.

Let's say I'm busy feeding the baby or busy doing something else, are u saying my husband should cross leg, wait for me to finish doing what I am doing then come make dinner???

Why should my husband be screaming at me in the first place??? Yes, my marriage may be young but I can tell u that my husband has never ever raised his voice at me and because of this I've never been put in a position to raise my voice back at him.

My husband cooking for us doesn't mean I won't cook so he will definitely still rush home from work to eat my food and if per chance he gets home from work before me, he will definitely make the food for us.

If we didn't have a washing machine, I would have gladly washed my husband's clothes and he would definitely do same for me. The brief period we were in Nigeria together after marriage, we did the washing of clothes together. You see how it's a two-way thing???? You treat me right and I will treat you right and that's a recipe for a happy marriage. Don't forget that longevity in marriage doesn't necessarily mean it's a happy marriage. Some people have just normalised suffering.

Now when u marry someone that has sense, there will be no domestic violence in your marriage and there will be no divorce.

You need to change this ur mindset.

2. I beg go and sit down. Many men of that generation used to beat their very submissive wives. A bad man is just a bad man. Simple!!! All this trying to blame women in any form tires me. Anyway it’s cos he doesn’t have daughters!!

3. Anonymous,u don't need to sound rude.be wise

28. I understand chief Edochie's point of view but the truth is that the way we Nigerians normally turn things upside down is so crazy
    Feminism is not about ladies being disrespectful,rude or arrogant as some Nigerian ladies think it is,
    Feminism is all about being a prim and proper well cultured lady with equal human rights, meaning a lady can be a president of Nigeria and still be her normal humble self, example of ladies in Nigeria are Rita Dominic, Remi tinubu, chief opral Benson, Uriel oputa and co

1. Even Pete Edochie himself has turned FEMINISM UPSIDE DOWN with all his education and work exposure in ABS, Anambra Broadcasting Service.

The fact is, education DID NOT ENLIGHTEN his mind. He is soooo IGNORANT! 🤦‍♀️

29. Once a lady is frustrated, ugly, physically unattractive to men, she automatically becomes a feminist, using feminism to show her anger towards Men

They are mostly heartbroken, lonely, Bitter women!They want gender equality but want men to be in charge of their financial upkeep ~ Culled from Twitter

I couldn't agree more with the above definition of feminists. Feminism has really become a menace to society

1. Hehehehehe.Ugly women have suffered o.

2. You are right shooter, thats the Nigerian definition of feminist. Lonely, bitter and heart broken women, looking for thier fellow bitter women to recruit and join the ministry of hate for men

3. Ugly is in character not physical appearance -
      rude/uncouth and wicked.

4. A real menace and they don’t seem to understand.

30. So all the plenty women of his generation that experienced DV were feminists?? Yul u guys all need to calm ur father down I beg. He needs to chill!!

31. So my uneducated mum that was beaten almost everyday by my father until one of my siblings stood up against him was influenced by feminism? This man old age came too early!

32. It hurts when I see a man of his Calibre who should know better , who should do better yet when he opens his mouth ...

I liked him better when I was enthralled by his acting prowess. Some people are better off quiet to preserve their legacies.

Respect is earned. Old age does not give you an automatic right to respect. How can you say feminism is the reason for the increase in domestic violence? Our forefathers were known to beat their wives to a pulp. Their wives were considered to be nothing, just a child bearing object with no feelings. Their children had more rights than their wives. Their children could shut their mothers up.

I don't know why people are trying to stigmatize feminism. Majority of women stigmatizing feminism are desperate women who wants to be accepted as wife material by men. They seek love in the wrong places. They think if they say they aren't feminist, they will be the first to marry...super story.
    Feminism is not a gender fight. It's not a domestic fight.

1. KING XOXO MYSTERY, succinctly expressed!

Pete Edochie would've been better off SILENT on this matter. 🤐

33. Nigerian ladies abuse feminism, some have nothing to offer and be shouting feminism. feminism does not mean you should stay away from chores or see working hard in your home as suffering.
    For me, Pete has his point, i pick the point and move. Try not to argue with your husband. A man remains the head of house take it or leave it. What matter is the choice of husband you make. marry a man that complement you, know your spouse before marriage, decide if you can live with him or not.