Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Family Accuses Premier Medical Centre Of Negligence Leading To The Shocking Death Of Pastry Chef Peju Ugboma

Monday, May 10, 2021

Family Accuses Premier Medical Centre Of Negligence Leading To The Shocking Death Of Pastry Chef Peju Ugboma

Please read this story and be careful of the Hospitals you take your loved ones to.......

Trouble is brewing between Premier Specialist Medical Centre, Victoria Island, and the Family of award-winning Lagos-based founder and CEO of I Luv Desserts, Mrs. Peju Ugboma, on what the family has termed gross negligence on the part of the Hospital, which led to her untimely death.

An independent autopsy carried out by pathologists at LASUTH with credible observers and Premier hospital in attendance revealed that Peju suffered internal bleeding. It was discovered that she had about 2 Litres of blood in her abdomen and pelvic area.

The family revealed that Peju was admitted into Premier Specialist Hospital on Thursday, April 22nd, 2021, as directed by the Hospital, to carry out an elective surgery for a fibroid issue.

She walked into the Hospital by herself unaided as it was by no means an emergency surgical procedure. She had concluded all the necessary tests required before the surgery, including ECG, PCV, and Covid -19 tests. Her vitals were okay and she had no preexisting conditions prior to surgery.

All payments were made for the preliminary tests. The hospital demanded their account be funded to the tune of N1.5 million and the family deposited N1 million immediately.

The surgery was carried out on the morning of Friday 23rd April 2021, by Drs. Akinsiku, Iwuh, Asemota, Renner, and some other medical personnel in Premier Specialist Hospital, Victoria Island.

Peju’s husband saw her after the surgery on Friday, and she complained about severe abdominal pain and discomfort, which he felt was not unusual for someone who had just come out of surgery. However, her blood pressure had dropped to as
low as the range of 50/30. The doctors then gave her blood transfusion because she had lost a lot of blood during the surgery.

Early on Saturday morning, she told her husband that the veins on her hands had collapsed and the Hospital wanted to give her fluids on a vein close to her neck and collarbone. She also mentioned that the doctors said her kidneys were not functioning optimally, and a Consultant Nephrologist had been called in to come in that Saturday morning. This was a shock to them both as all tests prior to surgery were fine. The Consultant eventually came in as scheduled but dismissed both their concerns.

By Saturday evening, she had been given 3 pints of blood. It’s worthy to note that none of the gynecologists who performed the surgery attended to her throughout that Saturday despite all her pain and concerns expressed by her husband.

That same Saturday evening, her blood pressure dipped further. Dr. Renner told her husband that they would need to move her to the ICU. He was asked to pay an additional N1.5 million before she could be moved to the ICU and he paid the money without delay. Peju was admitted into the ICU immediately after payment.

Dr. Renner then told her husband that he needed an additional 3 pints of freshly donated B+ blood, as Premier Specialist hospital did not have any in the Hospital's blood banks. This left him with no choice but to go on a blood donation drive from friends and family. Several donors were screened and they donated a total of 9 pints of blood that night.

As this was going on, Peju kept complaining of severe pains, and her eyes had turned yellowish. At about midnight that Saturday, she was sedated intravenously.

By 6.30 am on Sunday, her husband was surprised to find out that his wife had been placed on a respirator. Dr Renner told him that her condition had deteriorated through the night. Her husband saw that she looked pale, and her eyes had been taped as if to keep them closed, but she was still breathing and the monitors were still reading.

Peju’s husband had been in touch with a family friend who is a UK based consultant gynecologist. The consultant raised alarm and insisted on speaking with the doctors at Premier hospital. He spoke with Drs. Asemota, Iwuh and the medical director Dr Oshinowo. He stated expressly that he was of the opinion that she had severe internal bleeding and needed to be moved back to the operating theatre for the bleeding to be arrested immediately. Premier team however ignored his advice.

Premier decided to move Peju to a hospital where she could have a CT Scan and possible dialysis. By 10 am on Sunday, her husband was informed that his wife would be moved to Evercare Hospital, Lekki Phase 1. However, it took 3 hours before she was moved to Evercare.

Immediately she arrived there she was met by their medical team and taken to the ICU. Her husband was asked to pay another N1 million at Evercare, and he made the payment immediately.

The head of the ICU detected that Peju did not have a pulse and emergency CPR commenced immediately. This failed and she was pronounced dead by 2.20pm on Sunday.

Premier Specialist Hospital offered to do an autopsy, however, the family insisted on an independent autopsy. The independent pathologist requested Peju’s full medical report prior to the autopsy as is normal practice but Premier Specialist Hospital management played games to stall releasing it.

It took a visit by family of the deceased to Premier Hospital who engaged the doctors and management in a shouting match that nearly resulted in a physical confrontation before the medical reports were released.

The deceased's family allege that the medical reports sent to the independent pathologist may have been tampered with or altered.

It is clear that Peju bled internally from Friday after the surgery till Sunday when she died, and it is shocking to note that Premier hospital was negligent enough not to pick this up and save her life.

Peju’s tragic and unfortunate death has left behind two heartbroken little girls, a grieving husband and an aged mother and loved ones.

66 comments:

1. So sad,May God rest her soul and grant the family the fortitude to bear the loss.

1. My Sis-inlaw trust this Premier so much,she had her 3kids there,all delivered by Dr Oshinowo. I also did my Ante-natal there.
      One thing i know is they are money hungry....i didnt pay a kobo though they were under my Companies HMO scheme. So many Banks and Oil and gas companies use them for their HMO. I know countless ppl dat have had their babies there.
      What happened to Premier exactly,been hearing so many horror stories lately,seems the hospital is now messed up and full of juvenille incompetent doctors. All they know is money money money. Any simple procedures there they are very fast to call millions.
      RIP Beaitiful Peju

2. If I have that kind of money they mentioned, I will not bother doing the surgery in Nigeria. This is pure carelessness. All what Nigerian hospitals care about these days is money, money and money. They don't care about humanity at all. Upon a doctor suggested internal bleeding, yet they didn't adhere. May her soul rest in peace

3. Chiding,easier said. You think going abroad is easy right? You will just wake up enter plane and land there then walk into any hospital and they will operate you?

Make una dey think before typing.

4. Am shivering as am reading dis sad news, kilode even some hospital that won't collect such an huge amt will do a perfect job,Haa o ma se ooo,am so so sad...may her soul Rip

5. Chidimma,the best place to get fibroid surgeries done is in Nigeria.People fly into the country regularly to do myomectomies.Fibroid is a black woman thing,d whites don't do it well.its unfortunate Peju is a victim of an incompetent private centre.who does a surgery without leaving a drain to monitor bleeding.when her bp kept dropping,what where they thinking of? Patient remained pale after transfusion yet they weren't thinking of a bleeding going on internally.odikwa egwu

6. General Hospital 150k. But if is not God's will u will pull Tru, even if d Operation is done freelPUFFIN BROWSERy,u will not mk it. God knows best. Some avoidable shyt. 9pints of blood and none of them tot of internal bleeding? Devil I bu EKWENSU.
      Rip ma

7. Chai!...this is sad. She was in hypovolemic shock, which her B/P shows. That should indicate something is going wrong internally. Hypovolemic shock can lead to organ failure(e.g her kidneys).
      R.I.P beautiful woman.

2. Over to the medical practitioners.

1. Wahalaaa, I know Dr Renner ohh.
      Which kain thing be this nau. Nigerian hospitals and not being prompt to attend to complaint from patients.

2. @ Dainty, because they are not heard accountable for their actions, that is why they can play domino with someone health and life.

3. God we are tired of bad news every minute...
    Have mercy on us
    Rip to her and may God comfort the family she left behind

4. This is so heartbreaking. Why so much negligence from the hospital?

May her soul rest in peace.

5. Jesus.This is heartbreaking.omg

6. This is so sad
    For fibroids that people stand up the next day.When one pay so much to get good quality services in privates hospitals yet this happened.

Nigeria health sector needs a total overhaul.Hope the minister of health is still very much alive.

Reason some prefer Teaching hospitals.

Rest in peace beautiful Peju 😥😥🕊

1. My dear even general hospital will tell you no bed..
      This country ehnnn

2. Anon 10:13
      Even teaching hospitals are not any better, their own negligence is worse in some cases. Its only God that is keeping us alive in this country

3. Anonymous no hospital is safe at all..Just pray for God's mercy..Once one has health, you are very rich...The truth is its high time for some of these hospitals to pay for their gross negligence..So many souls have been victims of such cases..It is so sad...

4. Likeeee, it is to just be praying for God's mercy. All these hospitals are a gamble, whether private or government.

7. I started crying at a point while reading through. They just wasted life of a beautiful woman after paying millions of naira.

1. You can imagine, just wasted her life after all the millions.
      God forbid!

2. It's really painful. What shouldn't led to death did all because of carelessness. Rest in peace Peju and comforts to her family...

I hope this case will get the desired justice...

8. God! This is very sad. May her soul RIP

9. This is really heartbreaking 😰😰😰 may her soul rest in peace. Why were they collecting such huge sums of money if they aren't competent? Na wa o

10. Nigeria hospitals are killing patients on a daily with their negligence and quest for money... Rip to d dead

11. So heartbreaking,chai!
    Beautiful woman just died like that because of carelessness..

Rip peju, May God comfort your family.

12. This brought tears to my eyes. After spending millions just because they thought the hospital is good, they still lost their loved ones.
    No operation is minor in Nigeria, if you do appendix operation and come out alive, keep thanking God.

13. Just look at!! Basic Amenities are what nigerians are suffering for!! Basic healthcare!! God!! This is just gross negligence and misconduct...They should just sue them abeg..Kept collecting money from the poor man...Haaa I am tired of this bad news...Ma her soul rest in peace...This is so painful..

14. Rip, May God comfort the family. What a nation 😰

15. This is so sad. Ah Ah. How will this fine woman loose her life just like that. The doctors were negligent. We are talking about human life here. May her soul rest in peace and give the family the grace to bear the lose

1. If people start saying their stories enn. Lots of hospitals will have to be closed up. High level of negligence is too much in these hospitals. That family should sue their ass and they should pay heavily and licenses revoked

2. The annoying part is refusing to listen to voice of reasoning. Lives they are meant to protect is what they are neglected....

3. Bini it is not negligence. It is crass EVIL IGNORANCE.

16. That's how my pregnant Aunty lost her baby 2 years ago to negligence. Things these hospitals do enn. God help this country

17. Some of these doctors are strictly in the profession for money not passion.

I do understand that things can occasionally go wrong even with the best of doctors but how they continued to demand for more money even when she was dying irked me.

A patient should be monitored hourly after surgery so that if there is any issue, the doctor can quickly pick it up.

The things we take for granted in this life, same surgery I did.

Dear Lord please comfort this family. I pray they get justice, sad indeed!!

1. @ Ms Aboroadian, a patient should be monitored after post op for first 15 minutes (4 times), then 30 minutes (4 times) according to NICE guidelines. If the vital signs are okay within this period, it will then be increased to 1hr (4times), then 4 hourly until the patient is stable.
      In this case, it was determined that something is wrong by the reading of the blood pressure. This would have given the surgeon a clear sign that, bleeding is occurring internally . They were careless, wicked and no passionate in their job.

2. Posh midwife do a lot of them even know what NICE Guideline is?? A lot of them are proudly ignorant.

3. I just tire @ Posh midwife.

I desperately wanted to sleep after my myomectomy but you need to see the way your colleagues were screaming my name and waking me up at intervals, they took my bp, pulse, checked my pad to see the extent of bleeding, asked about pains in my abdomen, any headaches, visual disturbances etc.

How they just left this lady to die is beyond me even despite her complaints.

18. Premier and negligence are 5 and 6.

In the peak of covid 19,they didn't even provide PPE for their staff. Government had to shut the hospital down then.

Most big companies in lagos use them as HMO. They are all leaving now.

That was how one GTB woman died there in 2019 or so from a minor surgery.

May Peju's soul rest in peace.

That hospital needs to be shut down permanently.

1. If she have known all dis she will not go there,even some hospital that will not collect this amt from them will carry out the operation successful, they even tamper wt her kidney, Haa o ma se ooo.

19. This is heartbreaking..May God rest her soul in peace.

20. They just wasted Peju's life like that.
    May her soul rest in peace 🙏🏾

Nigerian doctors should learn to do better for Christ's sake

21. Even with your money,good healthcare is not guaranteed in this country.
    May her soul rest in peace.

22. Rest in peace beautiful soul. No hospital is safe in this Country, even government hospital.

23. When the good Doctors are frustrated by incompetent leadership in the country to pursue their career abroad, the remaining 'manageable' ones are left to 'tinker' with peoples' health, what do you expect?

1. The remaining 'manageable' ones. most of them don't update their knowledge.

24. UBTH October 27 2020. I paid 50,000 for my wife's fibroid operation. I deposited 36,000 for bed space. The operation lasted for 5 hours and it was successful. The day she was discharged I paid 56,000 for drugs, 26,000 for two blood transfusions and 38,000 for various test.. That was all . After she discharged, l spent 6,000 every week on drugs for 16 weeks.I was shocked when I read the amount they paid for a fibroid operation. If the doctors had dropped their overblown ego and followed the advice of the UK based gynaecologist, the young lady would probably be alive today. Nobody in my family goes to private hospitals or general hospitals if and when we are within the geographical entity called Nigeria. Private and general hospitals will eventually refer you to a teaching hospital where we have the best in all medical fields, so why do l have to go to private and general hospitals. Yes, you will spend more time waiting to see a doctor and yes , the nurses can be very rude , disrespectful and abusive to some people. For me, teaching hospitals are the best. May the good Lord rest her soul

1. I lost a sibling in that same UBTH.
      Las Las na God hand we dey.

2. Na just God. Forget government hospitals too. I went in for a surgery at LUTH and my intestine was punctured in error. The story long but thank God I survived.

3. Teaching hospitals is my choice and will always be. I live in Benin city , we don't really have private hospitals that are well funded and equipped. Some of our people go to private hospitals that are operating in one room and hired flats. When private hospitals have done damages to their patients and exhausted their money, the doctors refer them to teaching hospitals. Most people, even the educated behave like robots in the consulting rooms. They don't ask questions, doctors don't know everything, they are not magicians. Read extensively before going to the hospital. Why do you think some doctors are uncomfortable with patients that ask informed questions

4. Same rubbish teaching hospitals where the average consultant wants to work for just 2hrs (10am - 12pm) in a day and rush to their private hospitals?? And then the residents are overworked and underpaid and so are stretched beyond limit?
      Just be grateful to God for mercy so far and continue to seek for mercy because teaching hospitals inclusive are freaking messed up!.

25. Everybody was shocked by her death, especially in the cake industry.She had classes scheduled prior to her death,and was fine and fit.especially considering we also lost a top PH baker a week before her( who was strangled in the shower).
    We were all wondering what happened and what her story was? reading this now even worsen the grieve as it could have been avoided.
    Premier is a big hospital, and am wondering if this can slide by them, what will happen in with smaller hospitals....God is the greatest physician. May God console her family and take care of her kids...RIP Peju

26. All these big packaged facilities no sabi anything I swear

27. All these big packaged privat hospitals (facilities) no sabi anything I swear money dem sabi

28. Its really sad i must say. So many demonic doctors in Nigeria, demons

29. This is such a painful incident. For the main time, if you have money and you need a medical attention, your best bet is to just travel abroad. Only God is saving us in this country. May her soul rest in peace.

1. Only God can save o. Some people still die abroad with good medical facility only that they have human sympathy abroad than in Nigeria.

30. If yourpost surgery patient is still pale and the BP keeps dropping after so many pints, come on!!! It's obvious what is the best guess is!!! How come none of the doctors who operated followed up??? How come no medical personnel on ground guess what the issue was? That is a very dangerous hospital culture where no one can suggest a different route or question authority. What is this nonsense? I'm so disgusted and disappointed with all this. Ma the family be comforted. The hospital should not be permitted to hoard or alter the medical records of the deceased.

1. Anon18:13, this is just gross negligence manslaughter.

2. It is indeed gross negligence.
      Any surgeon knows that no. 1 complication of surgery is bleeding. Yet they still missed it even with all the glaring signs. And there were more than 2 surgeons on her case. Haba!

This is really sad.

3. The Nigerian doctor has a god complex. Even a British Nigerian consultant helped lead them in diagnosing the problem. The annoying part is that this was an elective surgery as fibroids can be uncomfortable but do not generally kill, unless there is a malignancy involved.
      Secondly because they are not held liable for their mistakes, they ask for more money to treat their own mistakes! He should Sue them in the UK. At least bring a civil suit against them. In case they have as British assets and passports

Fellow women, fibroids do not stop you from carrying babies. Removing it leaves scars in the womb which could even become a problem later. They don’t listen to their colleague who practice abroad. If you don’t have a passion for care don’t go to med school because your parents want you to become a physician. Many programs now have entry level as doctorate. “Your parents know the vc” cannot sustain a passion for saving lives and caring. The man should sue them. I’m sorry for his loss!

31. Let's see what the autopsy result says.i read on a group that she had hysterectomy done and not myomectomy. She had two previous CS and one previous myomectomy done in the past (that was her gyne history).Two gynaecologist ,a general surgeon had to be present for the surgery cause of the complexity due to her past gyne history. Again,it was said that a drain was passed following surgery and there was no effluent. It was said that she developed DIC from blood transfusion

1. A total vaginal hysterectomy is still not a complicated surgery. You can use your hands and have a robot on stand by or Vice versa depending on the experience of the Gynaecologist, anaethesiogist and other team members and the patient preference! For an experienced gynecologist it’s less than 3 hours with an overnight stay and 6 weeks recovery at home. Must everything be mediocre in Naija?

2. Anon 10.56," total vaginal hysterectomy" is a straight forward procedures.

But, in Nigeria is something I don't know, infact any thing medical. Healthcare professionals no longer have feelings and passion for human life. They should try to put their self in the person or family members position. Treat or care for your patient as you want to be treated.
      May the good Lord comfort her family 🙏🙏