Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Genevieve Magazine CEO Betty Irabor Reveals She Visited A Psychiatric Hospital To Find Help After She Attempted Suicide Severally.

Wednesday, May 19, 2021

Genevieve Magazine CEO Betty Irabor Reveals She Visited A Psychiatric Hospital To Find Help After She Attempted Suicide Severally.

If there's one thing that this week's episode of #WithChude has so flawlessly demonstrated, it's that material possessions, luxury and living an indulgent lifestyle does not exempt one from the darkness of depression, as illustrated by Betty Irabor's experience.

Genevieve Magazine Publisher told host and cofounder Chude Jideonwo about how her seemingly perfect life began to spiral out of control after she started battling feelings of insecurity and grief following the death of her father and brother. This period led her into a season of depression, insomnia and even attempted suicide.

"I always felt I wasn't good enough or that I hadn't accomplished enough, because at that moment, I was not thinking about my successes", she said.

Growing up in Methodist Girls' High School, Yaba, Betty was familiar with the Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Yaba, or Yaba left as it was often called, as a place for "mad" people. However, she never thought that she would one day be a patient of the famous clinic. After seeing nine different psychiatrists, she was desperate for help and decided to visit a professor at that hospital as advised by her uncle.

Recollecting this experience, Betty said, "All I wanted was my sanity. They say, 'he who is down need fear no foe'. I was already at the grass level and I was looking for where I could find help."

After taking series of medications, seeing a long list of doctors and repeatedly attempting suicide, Betty eventually found a way to overcome her depression with the help of her husband and trusted friends. Today, she's stronger than ever.

"In a strange way, I have managed to find a way of dealing with things that would normally knock me down. I am not that skinny, insecure woman, who fretted about everything. I am different person, I am happier, I know that I am actually in control of what I internalise, and I can filter out what I don't want in my life."

Betty continues to share her story happily to the world in the hope that her story will inspire others to get help and hopefully take control of their stories, proving that depression is real, but it's not insurmountable.

22 comments:

1. Hmmmm...the things we never know. Cloth dey hide many things oh. That's why I don't tap or envy anyone, keep believing God for how you want your life to be because that person you are patterning after might not be what he/she seems to be. Thank God for your life Mummy Betty.

1. @anon:11:07
      Read again she said that it all started when she lost his father and brother.
      That someone is rich doesn't mean her life is perfect or that she is free from unexpected life circumstances.

2. Also thanking God for her life. There is need for the society not to stigmatize persons who seek the professional services offered in Neuropsychiatric hospitals, I work in one and I know how reluctant people battling with mental health issues are when it comes to seeking professional help. It is really sad.

3. To fight depression, pls don't Return any energy that mks u feel sad, zoom out, close up, pika face. Just zero it, no matter how hard, the more u feed d energy d Deeper u fall into Depression

2. Hmmm! The rich also cry. Thank God you are at peace with yourself.

1. When ppl say this it sounds condescending and insensitive. We all have our various struggles,whether RICH or poor. Atleast money plus her education gave her the means to seek professional help. Some people dont even have d means to help themselves. Its the reason we have many functioning angry and mad well dressed ppl on d streets.

2. @Bed and Roses ,you said it all.
      Seeking help on time helps before it trigges.
      Why you see some one acting crazy thinking it is normal.

3. I read her Ebook of her story like 3 years ago. Such a painful path to the road of healing, redemption and happiness. That is why I am not quick to say 'you will go to hell if you commit suicide'. Nobody prays to enter the dark web of depression. Thank God for you Mummy Betty and she is even my almost birthday mate.

4. She wrote a book on it. Everyone has thier battles to fight. It's God preserving us from thier invasion. Thank you Lord for life, we would always overcome with Jesus.

5. It is good to speak up when you are down with depression.
    Though some people don't know the difference between anxiety and depression.
    Like I said before, so many people have mental health issues and they are not aware.

6. Thank God for her life. People go through a lot, but clothes dey hide things.

1. As in @ justyswt
      I know one around here ,when he dress finish you go think say na human being dey waka,until you see his actions you go know say na packaged mad man.
      Such a person wouldn't believe that something is wrong with him.

7. Well I’ve been they plenty but funny suicide never crossed my mind.

8. Woman, thank God for delivering you.
    You want to be depressed, attempt suicide or complete
    the attempt of suicide?
    Keep doing yoga; worshipping the creatures instead of
    the creator. Read Romans 1 and see for yourself.

9. Inside life.
    Envy no one.
    No one's life is perfect.
    Speak out when in doubt, troubled or if not feeling right.

E-hugs to anyone passing through life challenges, it is a phase, hold on.

No test.
    No testimony.

10. Mental health issue is real. I am currently battling depression, and somehow I always come out of it. But this current wave of depression has just refused to go away! Don't know what else to do...my mood is just up and down, all over the place. The most painful thing is that the triggers for my depression are not things I can do away with for now. I constantly have to face them.. God help me.

1. God will comfort and give you peace in Jesus name amen

11. Please sincerely accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior. Pour out your heart to him and ask him to help you on the challenges you're going through. Then most importantly have faith in Him even if your faith is not strong enough tell Him and and he will step into your situation. Reading the Bible also helps a lot,it is well with you. Cheers and e- hugs.

1. So all the Christians that are in hospital or have died didn't accept Jesus as their saviour. Pastor Dare Adeboye that died did not have Jesus as his saviour. See ehn, silence is golden ilat times like this.

12. Nobody's life is perfect. At any point we are all dealing with some issue in our lives, health,career, finances,relationship,child...etc. Nobody's life is ever perfect. I applaud her for speaking openly on this, one person may make a choice to live and believe they can overcome as well.

13. But her husband has a love child allegedly. I heard that affected her .

1. I wouldn't be surprised. A lot of women have lost their heads and lives because of man problems. Matter of fact, nothing ages a woman quicker than man problems.