Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Mercy Aigbe Insists Estranged Hubby Lanre Is A Dead Beat + Begs Him To Sign Divorce Papers.

Thursday, June 24, 2021

Actress Mercy Aigbe Insists Estranged Hubby Lanre Is A Dead Beat + Begs Him To Sign Divorce Papers.

Yorubawood actress Mercy Aigbe, has called on Nigerians to beg her estranged husband Lanre Gentry to sign the divorce papers.

During the Father’s Day celebration, there was a squabble between former lovers — ace actress, Mercy Aigbe, and her estranged husband, Lanre Gentry. This led the pair to fight dirty on social media. While Gentry has since told The PUNCH in an exclusive interview the rationale behind his outburst, Mercy Aigbe via an exclusive interview states her truth

What is happening between you and your estranged husband, Lanre Gentry?

I read my ex’s interview in The PUNCH. I have been getting a lot of calls to grant interviews but I know that if I have to react, it has to be on The PUNCH. I want to react to some of the things that he said. Some of the things he said in the interview was that when I was with him, he was paying my daughter’s school fees; that is a big lie. I am going to use this medium to challenge him to show proof. I have proof; I paid my daughter’s school fees when I was with him.

He was paying for Juwon, but even at that, I had to bail him out because Juwon was always the last person to pay his school fees. Most times, they would send him back home from school and Juwon would come and meet me.

There was a particular day that Juwon came to meet me and he said, ‘Mummy, but you pay Michelle’s school fees, why don’t you pay my own?’ I felt so bad that from that day, I used to bail him out when he cannot meet up with the school fees.

At times, he would say I should borrow him the money but he would never pay me back. But I felt that Juwon is also my son, so, it is not a big deal because marriage is a partnership. It was something that happened very often with Juwon.

Back to Michelle, I paid her school fees all through when I was with him. The school is still there and I have my printed statement of account to show as proof that I paid my daughter’s school fees so he should not be claiming what is not. There is really no need for him to do that, I am just granting this interview for posterity’s sake.

You made it seem as if your estranged husband is a ‘dead beat’ dad. Is he?

He is. That is who he is. He is a ‘dead beat’ dad in capital letters. He is. So, he should not come and claim some things. These are things that can be found out because the school is there. Anybody can find these things out so he should stop lying.

He claimed that you changed your child’s school because you have ‘upgraded’ and he could not afford the new fees

I saw that one and that is another big lie. That is why I felt there is a need for me to react to all these cooked-up lies. My son left primary school and went to secondary school. How did I remove him? I do not understand. I have the school receipt and the exchange of text messages between me and him, including voice notes to back up my claim that he is a ‘dead beat’ father, and he does not do his responsibility.

Your estranged husband claims that your divorce has been granted by the court…

Quote me, Lanre Gentry is a pathetic liar, he is an unrepentant liar. Does he think people are dumb? How is it possible for me to take him to five courts? How? Why did we go to five courts?

But has the marriage been dissolved?

No. Please, everyone should appeal to him to sign the divorce papers. He has even refused to accept them. We are still married and not yet divorced. The divorce is not yet finalised. Maybe I should use this medium to appeal, you guys should help me beg him to let me go.

He has refused to sign the divorce papers?

He has. The bailiff from the court went to his place several times. We had to appeal to the court so that we can be allowed to paste the court document on his gate; I do not know the procedure they call it. The case is still in court.

Before the court went on strike, this man refused to appear in court. So, all that he was telling you are lies. All these things that I am telling you are what can be investigated. We are still legally married. This man refused to sign the divorce papers and he has refused to appear in court. I don’t know the legal term for this but my lawyer had to appeal to the court for them to permit us to paste the papers on his gate. That is what they did to him.

Four appearances and this man refused to show up before the court went on strike. Now that the courts have resumed, the case is back to court. He has refused to even show up.

But he is planning to get married in September…

Yes, he is planning to get married in September and one of his siblings told me. I do not have an issue with that; he can marry, he can do whatever he likes. That is not my business. But why is he telling all these lies? He is getting married in September but he has yet to fully let me go. Why is he holding on to me?

In one of his Facebook posts, he mentioned that you were into prostitution with movie marketers. Can you clear the air on that?

You know that when a man is toxic, he will do anything to bring his ex down, especially when the woman is doing very well. That is just the only explanation for it. I am not even bothered. He should let me go. That is it. He should do his responsibility.

I have instructed to file a case of defamation of character against him. If he likes, he should run, he will still have to appear in court. Also, I have spoken to the ‘social security department’ in Lagos because I know that there is a law that ensures that a man should take responsibility. So, I am talking to my lawyers, and I am dragging him there because whether he likes it or not, he needs to be responsible. No matter how small it is, he should contribute something to the life of his child.

If he thinks what I am doing is bad, why does he get bothered when I post and wish myself Happy Father’s Day without mentioning his name? It is because he feels guilty.

This all happened because of a Father’s Day post. Will this stop you from celebrating yourself on Father’s Day?

It is not going to stop me because I wear the shoes. For the role I play in my children’s lives, I should celebrate myself every day. I celebrate myself every day. Celebrating myself on Father’s Day does not mean that I am talking to anybody, I am just patting myself on the back because it is not easy. It is just the grace of God that can let a person play both roles because we know the way Nigeria is today. It is not easy for two people, not to talk of just one person.

It is not just about the finances; with raising a kid, you have to be emotionally present. You have to be there for them and nurture them and instill morals in them while you are still working hard to provide for them.

If I am doing all this and my normal work, then one day I decided to congratulate myself, it is not bad. Fatherhood is not only biological. There are so many people that are raised by men who are not their biological fathers but they call them father because those men played important roles in their lives

Celebrating myself on Father’s Day does not mean that I am saying I am a man, no. I am celebrating myself on Father’s Day because I deserve to be celebrated. I do not see that day as one to celebrate the ‘man figure. I see Father’s Day as one we celebrate those occupying and performing the role of a father to their kids. I am a woman and I love being a woman. I am a queen; a beautiful strong queen and I love it. Fate and destiny have made me play the role of a father and I have taken up that responsibility with the help of God.

People are celebrating these people as father figures not because they are men but it is because they celebrate the role of a father in their lives. So why can you not celebrate a woman who plays the role of a father in your life? Why? That is my own understanding.

It is not just for women alone. If you are a man and you play the role of a mother in the life of your children, on Mother’s Day, celebrate yourself. Do not be shy. We also have some women who are not present in their children’s life. If you are a man performing this role and Mother’s Day is celebrated 100 times in a year, celebrate it. Your children will celebrate you because you are playing that role.

*Hmmm in as much as this is good for the Job, I hate these kinds of altercation so bad....I am always shocked when a couple tow this lane...Can one not totally ignore the other? Imagine their kids reading all this trash!

57 comments:

1. You mercy will never let any school send your son out of school cos of school fees. That part I don't believe.
    Anyways let Jesus take the wheel.

1. I feel same way as you, that part na big fat lie lol

2. This her part of the story is very coherent. Funny enough I believe her.

3. See as the interviewer abi na journalist I go call am whyne her so tey the person put words into Mercy's mouth and Mercy sef just kept talking.
      Na wah 😒😱🤔🙄🤷🏾‍♀️

2. I wonder all these dragging. If she no want again. Oga let her be na. Hmm

3. Why this ,when they have grown children that are in school??
    They don't know this might affect their academic performance??? Unless they don't read.
    Social media has become where they settle family issues.

4. E never do una????? People are talking about hunger in the land, this people dey disturb the social space with their domestic woes

Anyway,when are you going to remove the name Gentry from your name, I know the poshness of the name is one of the reason u shook head in the marriage,so tey you changed your daughter from another's man's name to gentry, your shop is still MAG

1. She can keep the name if she wants to na.

2. She has never used the name. Poverty mindset may conclude that Gentry is a "posh" name but it's obviously a slave name bequeathed to those who lived in the boys quarters of colonizers, waiting to be sent on errands. How you people reason.

Let Mr Lanre sign the papers and keep his name. Fernandez did the same and the world did not end.

5. Very uncouth razz woman.

6. But mercy your own dey your body, Michel father is dead beat, juwon father too dead beat, are you a mortuary assistant? Why are you always pitching your tent with dead beat fathers, please check yourself so the 3TD man will be live beat

1. Dead beat ko, Dre beats ni

2. 🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣 treasures I reach to ask her ooh.
      Íke gwuru.
      Na so she take turn 'saint'!
      It is well las las!

3. She loves dead beat men because she thinks she can control them.

4. At least she has left them for you. Why is Lanre still holding on to her while planning to marry another woman with cadaver taste? Has the other father denied being a dead beat? No, he owns it with his full chest. He doesn't disturb anyone on father's Day and no one disturbs him.

Look, to all those women who have the guts to divorce, success is the best form of revenge because among other things, you actually forget about the sour past while those left in it can't get over themselves. He thought she'll be begging and going from cheap location to failed business but the opposite has been the case. Instead of facing his new woman and marriage, he is now keeping tabs on any gossip and rumors on the love life of the ex he has refused to divorce. This is the same way Churchill refused to sponsor his son because his ex wasn't begging for food.

Baba, bring proof of your responsibility towards these children, not just unfounded claims of "inhuman acts" that you are also practicing.

7. I don't know why I had to laugh. I've not commented so far on this. Where Mercy said she didn't change his school but that he went to secondary school just offd me��. The gentleman Gentry probably doesn't know the difference, but Mercy you no try, where you jam this kain man? The deed is done, biko you people should consider your son and be civil.

1. The man is an illiterate,its the reason they caution educated women from marrying his type; they even get angry easily bcos they cant grasp some things.
      Imagine saying she took him to 5 different courts,when in actual sense he has been told to appear 4times and he refused to appear.
      A child left primary school to enter Sec school as the boy just even celebrated his 11th bday and the man is not even aware hes now in Sec School and the fees will be more expensive.
      Bringn up he payed Michelle's fees is also silly. No matter what she once saw u as a father,dont drag her in.

2. As if Mercy is educated. Lol! They are the same.

8. Mercy is just a trouble maker. When it gets to mother's day, gentry will do his own. Two trouble makers.

The ashewos who cannot back down. Both are just shameless disgracing their children.

Shame on both of them

9. Prostitute, prostitute,yet u won't allow the prostitute go,u wan die on top..
    Any little thing people will start slut shaming women.. Rubbish

1. Dont mind the fool. But he was married to the prostitute and had a son with her.

10. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. How dare you call her a prostitute? Are you mad? Did she prostitute her body to you? I'm sorry for you.

2. But it's common knowledge na

11. But there was a time these two were an item. What went wrong? Did she not know him well enough before jumping in? Does she mean he wasnt paying school fees yet he organized birthday parties worth "millions" to celebrate her for being a star? How do people prioritize their lives? Why bring a child(ren) into this world and not be responsible about it, why?

12. This man should free her already, he claims he has moved on and he is getting married soon, why not free her

1. How will he free her when he is obsessed with who she is sleeping with?

13. Oh well, if Lanre refuses to sign divorce papers and show up in court, the court knows what to do.

1. Yes ooo, they know what to do.

14. I am not even bothered about them, but their kids. This is way too much.

15. I am married but this marriage thing scares the shit out of me.How supposed friends quickly become arch enemies after they split.The things my wife says to me whenever we fight are beyond reprehensive and it just makes me wonder.She claims she was only angry and didnt mean it.I think i need to write a chronicle soon.I will hit you up Stella.i fear we will leave each other soon and it will be messy and im going to need some advise.

1. So sorry sir, write your chronicle and leave if you have to. I am an advocate of people walking out of marriages after they have tried their best possible to resolve things. My friend left his wife for reasons that seemed flimsy to me but since he married his new wife, I have seen a new level of vitality in him, he's doing a lot better in his job, having breakthroughs and open doors etc, only those in the marriage know what they see and if you know you have tried to save it, please move on.

Take care of your kids if you have any and try not to make your separation/divorce dirty and bitter, avoid saying negative things about her, most times, women take the loss of a marriage worse than men. May God bless you both with better partners in future. All the best.

2. Eyaaa. I wish you well. Send in your chronicle with an open mind and be sure to also state where you think you may have gone wrong. Hopefully you may still be able to salvage your marriage except you are bent on moving on.

3. I really really really like this your comment 16:09.
      No need to be saddle 'forever' with one another in bitterness and resentment.

P.S. I personally don't advocate outright divorce especially,where kids are involved. Separation, and counseling then from if from ALL INDICATION, that that relationship has long sail, please divorce and move forward.
      BUT be active and responsible to the children.
      Be a father/mother to your children.

16. If she's as bad as he said, why has he refused to sign divorce papers? Heist even planning to get married again. Some women no get sense sha! You're marrying a man who is refusing to divorce his ex. Are you normal?

Nigerian laws are unfair o. They make it difficult for a woman to move on with her life whereas the husband is already planning to marry another

17. Funny thing is i know how Larrygent used to carry this same Mercy like an egg because shes the only one that gave him a son out of all his ex wives and baby mama.Gave her that Toureg,changed it to a range rover and she was living lavish when her eye never open.Since Ambode open her eye her baby daddy don become dead beat abi wetin she call am.Both of them need to calm down because Juwon will see this back and forth between them and it wont be nice.

1. The truth!

2. Carrying her like an egg? You meant to type beating her like eggs to be scrambled for breakfast. He should sign the papers and pay his son's fees. Enough noise

18. can i send my chronicle as a text to Stella?dont want to send an email

1. You can type it here and she will harvest it to chronicles section...

19. There is nothing like signing divorce papers under Nigerian law. Mr. Gentry's refusal to accept court papers or his failure to attend court does not stops Madam Mercy from going on with her divorce case. Infact, the man's failure to contest the case makes it easier for Madam Mercy to prove her case.

She should go prove her case in court and leave the drama. Life is not a movie set.

1. Thank you oh.
      You de mind that one? She just wants to use that means to cause trouble, not like his signature is preventing her from remarrying or running her business

2. Exactly what I typed, but I guess it went to spam.

I was like hey sign divorce papers kwa? In This our Nigeria legal system? Lolz!

All these dragging, entertaining? Yes.

But have pity on the kids, It is not really cool I can tell you.

20. But how come Mitchel father does not get mentioned, because Mercy gave Mitchel Gentry, after she married lanre. Mercy we know you are doing your best as a women, raising your children, but can we always celebrate father's day in peace without these Brouhaha from your Ex every year. It's getting boring. Thanks in advance. You and Tonto give us headache every year

1. Na the last 5 lines for me, I just dey laugh for here. Awon drama king and queens.

21. Like mercy said, father's day celebration is for father figures not exactly for being a man. Gentry should have ignored her and celebrate his own without replying to her own message.