Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Prices Of Foodstuffs In Nigerian Markets Skyrocket .....

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Prices Of Foodstuffs In Nigerian Markets Skyrocket .....

Prices of foodstuff in Nigeria is so high!!!
How are people coping?

This is a quick compilation of prices of some common food prices before border closure and current prices and the average inflation is in 200% zone.

What are the prices of some of these foodstuff in your area..

102 comments:

1. It is just so painful. The price you bought yesterday, is not the price you will buy tommorow. Everything has added money including pure water. Which way naijašŸ˜­

1. This comparsion is okay self, compare before and during Buhari/BUBU, then you will see the damage he has caused us.

2. My own wonderment in all this matter is if Buhari, Aisha, Oshibajo and tinubu and all tge wicked people in this government are not seeing and hearing all these and the groaning of people under the hardship. Bcos ordinarily they should be scared or have their evil consciences been hardened beyond redemption.

3. Titus fish is not 27k. I bought 26k in February and 33k end of May.

4. Just bought mama pride 50kg for 25k. Custard rubber of tomatoes 3k. Plantain bunch 6k, yams at 2k per small tuber. Rubber of potato 1k. Here in ph,rumuomasi

5. Its really disheartening. I thank God I bought basket of tomatoes when it was very cheap earlier in the year. At least it will last till October or November. My bulk beans finished and I was shocked that a paint of honey beans was 2700. Even cheap white beans is about the same price. Titus fish is story for another day, both fake and original. My favourite bread is now 600 per loaf.

6. This na old prices o, semo is now 4200, egg is now 1800

7. Big bread is now N700 per loaf. It's God that will help someone.

8. I was going to say same thing@BV treasure,semo 10kg is 4200,egg as at yesterday was 1700.

2. Like, yesterday big granulated sugar was selling for 600 wholesale price, paint bucket of beans 1400......I stood at the market counting my fingers. I couldn't buy what I went to buy. #AjahMarket.

1. Check your beans. Maybe you meant to write 2400 because that's the current price

2. 1400 for paint bucket of beans? I bought honey beans(paint) for 2700 last week.. Pure water nko? 10 bags is now 1500 here.

For us, we've given up eating certain foods for now, like yam. Cos I can't use 1500 to buy one tubber of yam and it won't be enough for my family of 5.. We're substituting with potatoes for now. I can't come and be thinking the situation and give HBP a chance.

God will help us

3. Paint bucket of beans #1400 me! And you did not buy it. Better go back and buy it now now now. Paint bucket of beans in my area is #2400.

4. Abeg, for where she want see beans for N1400? she want go thief am ni?

3. It's such a sorry case, Stella.

You can't go to the market and buy what you bought last month at the same price. I also believe traders have taken advantage of the economic situation to increase the prices of their wares.

4. Bread is now 500naira, Paint of Garri 1,500naira and then one that still hurts me is the sliced yams going for 200naira...We are in deep inflation...Plenty money in circulation chasing fewer goods...

1. But slices of yam in the market is not a new thing o. I served in modakeke 6yrs ago and they used to sell slices of yam. I was shocked the first time I saw it. Thought they were meant to feed goats till I asked the seller and she told me people that can't afford to buy a full tuber of yam usually buy them in slices.

2. Na the Garri shock me pass... Like Garri is officially big man food. It's disheartening. Salary no increases, expense sky rocket.

Ire ooo

3. That sliced yam thing isn't new to me o. I've seen it years ago

4. This is the first time I'm hearing of yam being sold in slices. Na wah o

5. Na God go help us for this country o, ordinary food to eat na wahala

6. This country sha, minimum wage can’t afford basic foodstuffs, in fact in this country one can’t afford to be poor again sefšŸ¤¦šŸ¾‍♂️

Naija which way?šŸ˜”

1. Honestly,one can't afford to be poor in peace again o.

7. This one pass skyrocketing......o if there is a higher word i will use it.
    Like money no get value again, how do large families feed???????? no more poor man food.......o see beans sef ,garri and even panla. Lord save us...o

1. Some make do with whatever they have even if e nor sweet

8. Chai!!!! Stella this is so bad o. My younger sister was complaining to me about the prices of food ooo! This is so bad oo! Stella you didn't put the price of yam. May God help us in this country, are we going back or front???šŸ¤·‍♂️

1. This Swedengeria aunty! Hehehehe

2. This Swedengeria aunty! Hehehehe

9. Stella nobi small thing o. In fact, I'm lost for words. I'm always afraid of going to the market these days.

God please helps us naaa
    Do you want us to die of hunger???

I'm always wondering how people with large family and poor income coping in this perilous time.

10. It's a sad situation, you can't go to the market today with the amount of money you went with yesterday. You need to double it as the price of commodities changes daily.

11. Very bad, As at yesterday at my end all the things on this list as gone up.

12. Spaghetti is 5200 for a pack..I no no how we dey take survive the survive wen we dey survive...

1. šŸ¤£šŸ¤£šŸ¤£šŸ¤£šŸ¤£it is by survival of the fittest

13. Egg is now 1800 per crate.
    Vegetable oil is now 23k. In fact, e be like say this list na last month o. Everything is more expensive.
    When Buhari promised us 1 meal per day, we thought he meant free meals for the kids in school but now, most people can only afford 1 meal per dayšŸ˜

1. šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚, I laughed so hard at the one meal a day comment. His promises are coming to pass.

2. šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

14. The prices will make you wish there was no stomach as part of the body so you can worry less.
    The day I went the market I was curious,I asked one seller what is the cause.
    His answer was that the fulanis are killing farmers and disturbing them,making it difficult for them to farm.

1. And there is great silence from Baba's children on this blog

2. One is down there šŸ‘‡ justifying it, talking about UK and Ghana that he hasn't been to even in his dreams.

15. Hmmmn, this is a sorry situation. Stella this your list was yesterday's price, beans is now N2,500

1. Beans is 2800 as of yesterday

2. The list na February price.

16. God will make a way where there seems to be no way,
    He walks in ways we cannot see,
    He will make a way for US,
    He will be our Guide Us closely to His side
    With love and strength for each new day
    He will make a way, He will make a way

Nigerians will come out stronger and better!

17. Stella this your list no correct Semo is 4100 for 10kg, tomatoes is 100 per one. It is terrible Nigerians are suffering everyday, the prices keep going up. One modu of garri is not 600 from 200. To eat in Nigeria now is a problem. It wont be well for he leaders of the country, they won't do anything because they are not affected.

18. The prices now are crazy. Tomato and pepper are something else. You need to budget like 4k for tomato and pepper. Ordinary egg is almost 2k for one crate. I thank God for frozen chicken that hasn't really increased in price

19. Bread is N550 per loaf. Groundnut oil 25litres is N23k. A pack of golden penny spaghetti is N270, so the carton will be more than N5k. God will continue to help us.

20. If you are reading this and these politicians are your sugar daddies and boyfriends, please help us beg them to do something about the situation of this country. Don't be f**king them alone please beg them for us.

1. You think a person doing such cares about anyone else? Nope.

21. White garri is #35,000 naira now per bag. That list up there does not reflect the current price of the food items listed. My late father in-law used to say 'we were once living, but we are just existing now'.

22. Na to just do small wedding be this o.

23. Hmmmm, things are so expensive in the market.
    I wonder if it will get better
    God help us oo

24. This list is not current.
    Rice is 31,32 now,oil has gone up

The list is not current

25. Egg that i use to buy 3 for 100 is now 70 for one...i wish i can get a job that pays with foodstuffs instead of money cos money is loosing its value everyday!

1. Abeg no let me laff šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

2. Plant vegetables and pepper in your compound.
      Brood your own domestic stock and keep a handful of chicken for eggs.

Go to farmers'market in omi and oja oba, you would get cheaper bargains

3. Some of them are unemployed and complaining about food prices and will not lift their hand to plant anything, I get if you don't have the space, but if the space is there you cannot complain. NGO's will offer free seeds and help for those who want to be self sufficient. Tomatoes, peppers and okra are some of the easiest things to grow.

A few years ago ppl were told to enter agriculture and farm because ppl must eat. I don't know how many listened. Even through the pandemic supermarkets made a killing because ppl must eat.

All these bakers making fancy cakes and what not can start baking bread and rolls which are far easier and require less ingredients, they can supply bread and rolls at lower rates and fill the gap.

All these men who must eat certain things and can only survive on certain things need to adjust their appetites to meet their reality. If you want fresh food but only have a canned food budget then adjust accordingly. You want eggs and bacon but only have a pap budget then adjust accordingly. Survival is a must

4. Anon 16.00 have you read about the number of farmers who have been killed? You think people won't have gone into agriculture if their safety was guaranteed?!!

5. @Anon 16:50, that is a deeper issue that requires an in-depth analysis that cannot be truly fulfilled on this post.

6. Anon 17.15, well, that is the root cause and it will need to be addressed for food security and price stability.

7. People who say go into farming are not aware of the whole situation.
      Farmers are killed, crops are being eaten by cows.
      In my village, the major farm settlement, which is quite a distance from where people live, is abandoned mostly, reason is, herdsmen, their cows,and bandits.
      Fuel price has increased a lot this year, transportation to to towns is more expensive.
      Even seeds are more expensive. And let's not forget that the rains haven't come in much this year, and it's almost July.
      They say apply for agriculture loans, it's not easily accessible to local farmers and even some of us who are educated and interested aren't even given sufficient. It's as thought he loans are mostly reserved for big farmers who even mostly plant crops for food companies and export products like Sesame, cocoa etc.
      I'm tired of typing.

26. It's disheartening, and then some people's salary cannot even afford food that can last for 2 weeks, and you have other bills to pay

Yam for me na no go area e don reach 2 months I no ask how much, now def the price down worst, my kids loves yam bit o substituted it with sweet potato that one better pass

Garri, rice and beans are no go area, but watin man go do we must chop

People can no longer afford 2 square meal, am not an early water so I deliberately start cooking breakfast by 10am so I won't have to worry about noon

And to say whatever goes up in Nigeria never comes down is a thing to worry about

27. Indomie sef will be adding money every week. Last week it was 2450, I had to go for another brand. My kids were complaining and I unleashed my frustrations on them.. You dare not complain! It's either you eat or you close your mouth and go to bed.

1. Hahahahahahahaha..
      My children eat only indomie onion!..
      Buy another brand and they will go on noodles strike..

28. Stella Nigerian traders also contributed to the increase in price, they use the advantage of "bad Naija Economy" and personally inflated the prices too. Nigeria doesn't have body that regulate the prices of things especially consumables and unfortunately prices DONT GO DOWN in Nigeria.

1. You got the gist anonymous 13:56,we just love doing wickedness to ourselves. Things are expensive we know but many of these traders are just fond of cheating people.

29. Jewelu things are really bad here o.Everywhere u enter,u hear people complaining abt the high cost of foodstuffs. Garri that used to be poor man's food before,is now for the rich and mighty..a cup of garri in my area is 80 naira.a bottle of groundnut oil is N800. A loaf of bread that used to be N300 is now N500. Even pure water don increase.A paint rubber of tomatoes is N2000.Now when u have visitors na to serve them water o no more food o.

30. The loaf of bread I buy #450 is now #700.
    Person tire

31. Where are all the government supporters on this blog? Una dey hide face now abi. Mschew

32. BITCHandSLUT.com22 June 2021 at 14:30

Things are just so terrible.

Stella, that your price list isn't correct oh.

Nigerian traders using Nigerians to shine.

Everything is not Buhari.

1. Honestly many Nigerian traders are cheaters.

33. I'm happy we are all in this together!šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚
    I remember that year on this blog when everyone was chanting Change! And sai Baba!...
    Hahahahahahaha..
    Cooking gas nko?nobody is talking about that onešŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚
    The one that surprised me is Titus fish and Beans..
    Well,anyi ga na ata ife steady!..
    Udo di!..

1. Onye .dot ❣️
      Small .dot ❣️ mighty
      Onye nku, ribe ego na egwu adiri eyi nwa ago.

Udo dišŸ¤—šŸ’Ŗ

34. There’s hardship in šŸ‡³šŸ‡¬ at the moment in terms of food just the way it's been everywhere since the turn of this year. Go to Ghana now or UK and see how expensive stuff are to appreciate home.. šŸ˜šŸ™„šŸ˜‚

Name a place food items are more cheaper than šŸ‡³šŸ‡¬ let's relocate there... Even if na trek, we go trek go there šŸ˜‚

šŸš¶‍♂️šŸš¶‍♂️šŸš¶‍♂️

1. Na cry I been dey cry since morning, how do we do ooooošŸ˜­šŸ˜­šŸ˜­šŸ˜­, in fact na serious headache I get now, and panadol sef don cost

2. Na formula6 buhari wan use fight us, Nigeria is at war, n buhari n his cohorts dey win us ,no be person wey eat go fight or protest? Their aim is to use hunger fight Nigeria

3. EESAH wrong commentšŸ‘Ž. Admit that Buhari has failed as regards the economy. As a leader the buck stops at his table.

Left for me, Zainab Ahmed and Godwin Emefiele should both be sacked because they both have failed to tackle the hyper-inflation Nigeria is currently experiencing.

4. Stop lying!! I live in the UK and food is certainly NOT expensive. When you were shouting sai baba, you didn't know harship will come out of it abi?

5. This native fowl is deceiving himself with an empty stomach.

6. We know you don't have a passport not to talk of traveling out of the country so pls talk wetin you know.

7. Yes

Very funny topic indeed
      He ended with a laughing emoji

8. Have you been to Ghana or the UK? Is our minimum wage the same with theirs?

9. I live in the UK and food is not expensive at all

10. Essah you obviously don't know what you are talking about. Food is cheap in the UK. Moreover, I've lived here since 2010, most of the prices are still the same, the prices that have changed aren't even upto 50p increment except their sugar tax stuff and that's almost 12 years. So please say what you know.

35. Pool together and buy wholesale. Plant a backyard garden if you have space. No matter how hard times get ppl always find a way to get through it.

36. A pack of spaghetti is now 5200, maize in my area is 500 per mudu.

37. TIPS ON GETTING CHEAP FOOD ITEMS THAT HAS GONE CRAZILY EXPENSIVE

I got delivery of food stuffs on Saturday from my village in Edo state because I cannot kill myself with this Lagos price.
    1. yellow garri paint rubber - @900 and I kukuma bought half bag. The Eba I use the garri make that Saturday dey draw like okro soup and that is exactly how I like my Eba
    2. 1tuber of correct big big yam @ 500
    3. hand peel melon @100 per milk cup
    4. 5liters of correct red oil @3,000. I never buy Red oil for Lagos since I got married. my mum rock.
    Ogbono, list is plenty o even the plantain, I cant get it here in Lagos triple that amount. 2k for the waybill of the load which was packed in two ghana must go bags I think My mum begged the driver o.

God please bless and keep my mum alive for me.

1. You mum reminds me of my grandma. Nobody ever visited her in the village where she didn't load them up with goods to take back to the city completely free. The village may be boring and no jobs around, but food you never had to worry about.

May God grant your mum long life to see her coming generations and to spread her love in them.

2. Lagos traders are just over hyping things jare,they love taking advantage of the people.

3. Na the koko be that.

I've also not bought oil,garri and native rice since I got married. I getvstraight from Edo state. My mum just left lag now and what she brought will last for 2months. I bought tomatoes early this year for 7k per basket. It will last me till August or October. I bought carton Titus fish in February. I only go to market to buy few things.

38. Ppl have to adapt. Someone said they have started using potatoes instead of yams. Cabbage can be a life saver because it can be used in so many different ways and is usually dirt cheap. Potatoes are extremely versatile as well. What about pumpkins and investigating canned beans over dry ones, at least for now.

If times are hard then one cannot eat like they used to. When starvation entered Somalia that is how the ppl learned that they could eat fish. Vegetables cooked in coconut milk make a tasty stew, still healthy, filling and meatless can be eaten with rice. Folks may have to start limiting meat dishes to 2-3 times a week and eat vegetables the rest of the time. Eat fruits more regularly and make a big pot of pap in the mornings which can stretch more easily to feed a family for breakfast. Make a sandwich and take with them for lunch with some nuts, fruits and drink water for their lunch meal at work or school.

1. You are right anon.like now that tomatoes are very expensive,what I do is I buy pepper,shombo and plenty onions since it's in season and I bend everything together.Fry dry in groundnut oil with the sachet tomatoes,pour in my meat/fish stock and put ugwu leaf or spinach..eat with my rice..very tasty.i even use red oil sometimes.

2. Yes Osundi! This is what I am talking about. Getting creative and finding ways to eat well despite it all. You should open a You Tube channel doing your creative cooking and showing ppl how to survive on less. And you can even make make money off of your You Tube channel. Just find interesting titles for your videos that grab the attention and you are good to go. Proud of you!

3. Awww.. thanks sweet Anon. God bless you!!

4. LOL. Anon 15:44, please do you live in Nigeria?
      This potatoes you see everyone typing as option over yam isn't same cost as before. It's just 4 medium size for 200 cheapest- I've seen recently.
      What are the options that Cabbage gives as staple dish?
      Funnily enough meat is even somewhat cheaper than fish, unless you're buying fish just to perceived the smell in the food. Fruits surprisingly aren't much in season. And the ones you see are also expensive except watermelon.
      About pap, a paint ofcirn is at least 2500. Sorghum and millet too and even cheaper soybeans is now so so expensive.
      Worse still, power supply is so poor now, you can hardly buy and store in freezer

5. Cabbage can be curried
      Shredded and steamed with some carrots also shredded, cooked with whatever herbs and spices to taste and eaten with whatever you want to eat it with
      If you have very little meat of fish that you can cut into small bits, you can add the cabbage to bring up the meal and stretch it.
      Cabbage again can be cooked down in coconut milk to make a stew, you can add other veggies to it if you want it more colourful, or leave it as is.
      Cabbage pie (requires egg)
      Stuffed cabbage

Other things that can make pap/porridge for breakfast:
      Green plantains
      Green bananas
      Carrots
      peanuts
      Sweet potatoes
      oats
      Rice

I don't know about the potatoes ppl are talking about, but if folks can find it as a substitute then it is worth mentioning. Potatoes are a very versatile food too, they are definitely not as dense as yams, but perhaps can be cooked with boiled cassava to bring up the meal. I have a thing for cassava

Are cassavas still affordable? And cassava can be used to make flour if one has the time and energy for that process.

No, not in Nigeria but know a thing or two about making it through the tough times.

Watermelon is extremely healthy and hydrating. Also the white part under the skin can be pickled or cooked and eaten. Do not throw it out. And watermelons are known to help men in the other department. That is one amazing fruit.

Osundi is the person to explore possible recipes options with, I am sure she will figure out how to use the things I listed and add her twist to it to make a tasty feast.

39. These days I no longer make list with prices written beside them, I just list what I need to buy and go to the market, any quantity my money can afford is what I go home with. I can't come and kill myself