Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dees Corner - Gospel Songs And Wrong Lyrics..

Friday, July 02, 2021

Mrs Dees Corner - Gospel Songs And Wrong Lyrics..

Am I the only one who feels that songwriters and singers should go through the lyrics of their songs with a fine tooth comb before releasing it to the public?

The 'Oniduro' brouhaha reminded me of some songs by popular gospel artistes that wasn't quite right in terms of the choice of words of the singer.

I remember listening to a gospel song where the singer referred to God as 'the object of his desire'. That didn't sit right with me, because God almighty is not an object.

A second time was when a singer made comparison between two opposing facts. In his words, he stated that the weight of God's glory was better than the wages of sin. When I thought about it, I simply concluded that this was an oversight and error, because there's nothing good about the wages of sin, so there should be no comparison in the first place.

Gospel artistes should realize that their ministry is evangelism to those who are yet to encounter Jesus Christ and there should be no room for slip ups like this.

For me, I feel that not only should they go through their lyrics over and over again, they should also give it to persons who are spiritually discerning to help them edit their songs before hitting the studio.

49 comments:

1. I concur

Most of them are not spirit-filled/born again.

2. An example is this song- what a marvelous God, He used to do marvelous things for me. The composer should know that 'used to' is past tense

1. I sing mine like this... He's still doing marvelous things for me πŸ™‹

2. I only listen to worship songs.
      Frank Edwards is my favorite.

3. I only listen to gospel songs.
      Frank Edwards is my favorite.

4. I sing mine like this "He is here to do marvelous things for me"

5. Used in the past tense here doesn't really mean that.
      It boils down to what Mrs Dee said, most of then don't edit and translate their songs well. Some people talk and write English same.

6. The lyrics is **He use to do** not used as in past tense..

7. I sing mine as: "He keeps doing marvelous things for me". People need a mastery of whatever language they use to pass on "influential" information. When you try to correct them, dem go call you ITK. So, if I like the song, I "correct" the lyrics and simply groove onπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ.

8. 13:22 na gbagaun be that na.

9. Chinyere udoma dey gbagaun in most of her English songs. Make una forgive her.

10. Castle she translates it anyhow. And she looks like someone that would not call for assistance ie ITK level

3. 30BπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘likes.

4. That someone is gifted with a nice voice doesn't mean that he is called for music.
    You can use your voice in other services like joining the church Choir.
    Song writer is different from a singer.
    A singer may have a good voice ,sings so well but cannot write or create a good lyrics.,why you listen to a song and get pissed of with the lyrics.
    Everyone wants to sing but not everyone is called for it,like those that are into it for money.
    Frank Edwards is one of the best.

1. *pissed off*

2. Same way there is a difference between a singer and a minister. A minister in songs is inspired from above and as such their lyrics can never be wrong. Check out Dunsin Oyekan's songs. Check also Nathaniel Bassey.

3. @unknown
      The only person who "can never be wrong" i.e. infallible, is God, Jesus
      Every human being is fallible. Study your Scriptures.

4. @Unknown, not to burst your bubble but the "object of my desire" lyric was actually Dunsin Oyekan's

5. Most of the current music ministers are actually in sinc with God's word. Only a few still sing from their heads

6. Mine is mbaka's song,obu ngwo ngwo Eburu ya la. Ngwo ngwo means garbage, scraps, dirt, waste etc. And God is a garbage carrier. Well I kinda interpret it as God who takes away our sins, or anything deposited by the devil in our lives,it could be sickness, affliction, stagnation etc

1. πŸ˜πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

7. On point Mrs Dee..

Spirit lifting, God-exalting, edifying music has always been one of the numerous ways of communicating with God..

Let the listener take it upon themselves to listen to lyrics carefully. It's not all songs that one must listen or dance to.

But if you are not connected with God, how would you know lyrics that are not of God?

8. Like the song "excess love" , GOD can not give you anything that is excess or something you can't manage or control. he give you what you can control.

1. ‘….pressed down, shaken together and running over…’
      Words from the Bible, isn’t this excess?

2. Please o don't even come for my Mercy Chinwo

3. @lbari, the song is talking about God's abundant love (unconditional love) towards us. He isn't giving us excess love

4. You are right Lbari

9. I prefer to be mute on this issue cuz so many errors made by some gospel singers

10. I totally agree with your submissions. Translation is different from interpretation and the problem is usually with formal semantics.

Yoruba: Ori mi (Head my)
    Igbo: Isi/ishi m (Head my)
    English: My head (interpreted).

1. The only wrong Tope Alabi did in the "Oniduro" saga was "the manner/tone of that public condemnation". The original composer of the song probably meant to call God "He who stands by me" which should have been interpreted as "Oludurotimi OR Onidurotimi"- but her loose translation "oniduro" came out as "my guarantor" which is what maama Tope condemned.

2. Yet again, we should have died (an eternal death) for our sins but for Jesus Christ who took our place on the cross. We couldn't pay for our sins before God, so Jesus offered to pay with his blood. Does that make him a "guarantor" for us before God? Yes! No be guarantor for your landlord when your rent is overdue, police station when you commit fraud, court when you stab your spouse or for money lender office o.

Therefore, the "to ba j'eniyan lo n duro ni, won a ti ma soro..." part no make sense if you were talking about Jesus because no human, ancestor, spirit or angel would have been able to pay that "special one-of-a-kind debt". Even if human being offer him blood sef, e no fit wash your sin before God. Na only Jesus sureπŸ™Œ.

But the whole brouhaha come be like say people don dey set trap for Tope Alabi teytey since the Ajanaku saga, so when she sef luzgad fiam laikdiz na, the voltrons invaded the internet. Thank God say dat one don pass after her apology.

Plus Tope Alabi, plus Alaseyori, plus mama Tolu the composer, make God continue to dey use dem for His glory. I appreciate them all. If I no listen to Tope Alabi songs, wetin I gain?😁. I even listen to "oti Jesu n pa mi" because I sure say dem no born Hennessey well for where that wine for Cana wedding dey. The Master of Ceremonies for dat party sef confirm am say na the real McCoy wey still senior McCoy✔.

...and this is my "proud" opinion😎. Ndi blog preachers and mummy GOs, bikonu, avoid me so that it shall be well with you😠.

11. Ahhh poster
    You just reminded me of where we used to live before now
    We were surrounded by different prayer houses. When it's time for them to start seeing vision and prophecy,omo!!! Come and see songs.
    I will just hear some and laugh or just thank God for being merciful

By the way,those kind of songs are mostly in in our dialect.
    E.g

Awan Abasi the Satan,mbem mbem sio
    Mbem mbem sio Owo o o
    Mbem mbem sio Owo ke aΓ±wa

Meaning
    God and Satan are in the boxing ring
    Who would be the first to push someone out
    ( Na the onlookers dey sing dey cheer the two fighters in the ring o)

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†Abasi mbok

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£why is this funny

4. LMAO 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

5. Rotfl🀣🀣🀣

12. I honestly do not like gospel music that much. Still trying to figure out why.

1. Oga are you Team Satan???

2. Me too. I havea few on my playlist and it's mostly Gaithers, Handel, Jimmy Reeves and Christy Lane.
      The only Nigerian gospel I have is Yeshua by Nathaniel B and Nara ekelemo by one guy like that.

3. Oh, and Ocho by Tuface.

4. Anon;17;08 I am on the same page with you.

5. I don't really like Nigerian gospel music much, but give me Hillsong, Elevation, Maverick sounds and yes!!!