Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pastor Stabbed To Death While Trying To Broker Peace Between Fighting Couple..

Tuesday, July 20, 2021

Pastor Stabbed To Death While Trying To Broker Peace Between Fighting Couple..

The Imo State police command via its spokes person SP Mike Abattam has confirmed the death of a senior Pastor in Owerri, Thompson Onyekwuru while trying to separate a fight between a couple in the State.

Abattam explained that the incident occurred at Umukoto Nekede in Owerri.

According to him, Onyekwuru was a pastor with the Redeemed Christian Church of God (RCCG) in Imo.

Abattam said that Onyekwuru, 62, was trying to prevent Obumneke Onyemechileuzo from stabbing his wife, Ogechi Onyemechileuzo, during a fight between the couple before he was allegedly killed.

According to him, the husband, Obumneke, later died of a gunshot wound he sustained.

He said, “Following a distress call on 19/7/2021 at about 1400 hours, at the Divisional Police Headquarters Nekede, Owerri, that one Obumneke Onyemechileuzo armed with a kitchen knife was beating his wife, Ogechi Favour Onyemechileuzo, a pastor with the Redeemed Christian Church Owerri, Pastor Thompson Onyekwuru, intervened by stopping him from stabbing his wife. The suspect rushed at him, stabbed him on his back and he fell down unconscious.

“On arrival at the scene, the police team saw the suspect seriously beating his wife, threatening to stab her; the police ran to prevent him from stabbing his wife.

“On sighting the police, he attempted stabbing one of the officers on the neck and he was shot on the leg in self-defence.

“He fell down and was immediately disarmed.”

Abattam, however, said that the pastor and the suspect were confirmed dead after they were rushed to Rosana hospital, where the doctor on call referred the victims to Human Race Hospital.

He added that the woman was admitted to the intensive care unit of the hospital and she is responding to treatment, while the corpses were later deposited at Agbala Mortuary, Agbala.

Abattam said that the exhibit knife was taken to the station, while the Commissioner of Police had ordered a discreet investigation into the case to unravel the cause of the incident.

He said, “The CP also advised the community to maintain peace, be law-abiding and go about their legitimate businesses pending the outcome of the investigation.”

from dailypost

27 comments:

1. Odiegwu ooooo😨😨

2. Too much pepper in marriages.

RIP Pastor Onyekwuru, you were not meant to die but in all may you be with God Almighty.

Comfort to all affected.

Like what I read, the husband get skoi skoi

3. BITCHandSLUT.com20 July 2021 at 15:39

Different incident from the one reported by Chilaka C?

Hmmm... May the pastor's soul rest in peace.

1. It’s the same as the one reported by Bv Chilaka but of course the Nigerian police will want to take the glory. I am sure they came after everything has happened but will lie to look like they intervened.

4. What a horror😱

5. Unravel which incident again when the suspect who was caught in the act is death. Who will speak on his behalf? Thank God the woman is still alive. I believe that man is mentally unstable.

1. Yes thank God she is alive and free from that man. May God reward the pastor for his untimely death. Hardly anyone would do what he did.

6. May the souls of the departed pastor rest in peace.
    Women, we can do better pls, leave violent men. As for women beaters, no need to preach to them to change, they hardly change.
    I can imagine the horror on the face of their Innocent child watching his mother being dealt serious beating and stabbing by his own father. How do you think this scene will help the child? Don't lose your life while staying for the sake of your child or children.

7. Oh dear..
    Christian said the woman also died..
    This anger,bewere of it..Rip to them

8. That's the gist I talked about couple of days back.
    I they even own the woman 1k from things I bought a day before, planning to do a transfer to her and add small thing whenever she is better.
    Stay away from domestic violence cos it never ends well.

1. Meaning she didn't die since you're meaning to do a transfer whenever she'sbetter? Most news outlet are reporting she later died in the hospital.

2. Thank God the lady survived. RIP Pastor Onyekwuru..

Lovelace

3. Is she truly alive as reported here?

9. 😖,may our good not kill us in Jesus mighty name Amen

10. Abi na kindness sef, not kill us, amen 😖

11. Bad marriages abound
    Great marriages abounds much more.

RIP to the pastor.

12. May the soul of the Pastor rest in peace. Women, please if not for anything, live for your children, don't stay in an abusive marriage.

13. Nawa ooo which Kain vex the man Dy vex make he no fit calm down even with police around 😥😥

14. And one girl some where is planning on marrying a man that beats her

15. Na wa oo,thank God she's alive..
    May the soul of the pastor rest in peace..

16. When little or no value is placed on human life. So sad...

17. Women & men leave violent people but they will not hear word

18. Let me not speak ill of the dead sha, we are all pencil in the hands of God.let us not hold the hand of those who invited us to come and dine.kama dey sha. Uchehara family and the whole umu ngaobi clan I mourn with you. Family is still family

19. 'Onyemechiriuzo' - who closed the way. Names really can be prophetic. Some are better avoided.