Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Facebook Whistleblower Says The Platform Hurts Children And Causes Division..

Wednesday, October 06, 2021

Facebook Whistleblower Says The Platform Hurts Children And Causes Division..

On Tuesday, a Facebook whistleblower told US senators that the social media juggernaut promotes divisiveness, hurts children, and urgently needs to be controlled, prompting promises that Congress will take long-delayed action.

Frances Haugen, a former Facebook employee who disclosed reams of internal information to authorities and The Wall Street Journal, testified on Capitol Hill, fueling one of the company's most serious crises yet.

Here are top quotes from Former Facebook employee and whistleblower Frances Haugen's testimony:

- I believe that Facebook's products harm children, stoke division and weaken our democracy.

- Congressional action is needed. They won't solve this crisis without your help.

T- he company intentionally hides vital information from the public, from the US government and from governments around the world.

- There is no one currently holding Mark (Zuckerberg, the Facebook chief executive) to account. The buck stops with Mark."

- We saw Facebook taken off the internet. I don’t know why it went down, but I know that for more than five hours, Facebook wasn’t used to deepen divides, destabilise democracies and make young girls and women feel bad about their bodies.

Haugen, a 37-year-old data scientist from Iowa, has worked for businesses like as Google and Pinterest, but she told CBS' "60 Minutes" on Sunday that Facebook was "significantly worse" than anything she had ever seen.

Nick Clegg, Facebook's vice president of policy and global affairs, fiercely denied that its platforms are "poison" for adolescents, only days after a heated, hours-long congressional session in which US legislators questioned the firm on its influence on young users' mental health.

Late Monday, Facebook blamed the outage on changes to router configurations that coordinate network traffic between its data centres.

For years, US legislators have vowed to regulate Facebook and other social media platforms in response to complaints that the internet companies violate privacy, serve as a platform for hazardous disinformation, and harm the well-being of young people.

from Wion news.

6 comments:

1. Extremely stupid blaming Facebook for how people feel about themselves. It all depends on how you use social media. A lot of businesses have been built, people are earning money and are able to meet their needs thanks to social media. That you choose to use it to be following people and be discontented about your life is not Facebook's fault.

I think this generation just keeps looking for who to blame for their own issues.

1. WE BUY DEAD INVERTER BATTERY:081413951136 October 2021 at 10:57

Hmmmmmmmm😂😂😂

2. There is something called DUTY OF CARE, please look it up, everything is not just about money. From the report online, facebook's own research has clearly shown the danger there, the algorithms etc, so onus is on them to put safeguards in.

3. Facebook needs to be regulated. The platform is use for division and spreading of misinformation.

2. It went down because they were scrubbing their servers.

Not Facebook alone, they all contribute to negativity. That said, if not for social media many citizens under dictatorship would not get an anonymous voice to speak. Many journalists would not be able to let the world know the truth. I cannot bash it completely cause there is good there too

1. U dey mind all these ppl constantly whining about their feelings? YOU choose how to feel about yourself. Why must you, nevertheless, feel envy over what another person has? Why can't you find the good in you to feel proud of? Let whoever is thinking reform not tamper with ppl's platform for ventilation all because society wants to further indulge an over pampered and thoroughly spoilt generation.