Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - How Is Your Household Affected By The Rising Cost Of Food Items?

Tuesday, November 02, 2021

Couch Convo - How Is Your Household Affected By The Rising Cost Of Food Items?

Food items have increased all over the World due to COVID 19 Pandemic and circumstances beyond some Country's control...

How has your household been affected by the rising cost of things? Have you dropped eating some particular food and picked up another?

91 comments:

1. We are living by the Grace of God. You can't drop one for another because it's alround increment. Gas/ cooking oil is something else .

1. These 2 agents you mentioned are now so expensive! Especially if you are buying the big size of cooking oil. God dey!

2. It's God o
      God is in control because I am tired.
      I hate complaining but I am tired

3. I no fit chop beans again ooo
      I bought Bean's from a food vendor yesterday and I pourged through out
      Wetin Man go do

4. The way the prices of foodstuff increases everyday and no increase in our income affects how we now eat in my home.

What I do is to buy more of the cheaper food stuff like garri. We eat more of eba as swallow in place of semovita or amala and other expensive ones. Then I don't buy noodles anymore, beans too, I buy one or two cups once in a while.
      We eat more of rice and potatoes, yam, eaten with vegetables and frozen panla or sardine fish to serve as protein. There are still small size eggs of 1500 per crate here too. So I give my kids the eggs instead of fish most times especially when we are not eating swallow.
      Afternoon, they drink garri or I share #100 bread for them. I cannot kill myself. I know we will survive this recession.

5. I use more of charcoal and electric stove to cook in the evenings especially. Now that they have disconnected our light, I'm using charcoal and I use gas when I'm in a hurry.

6. Ennie thanks so much for sharing this, you have given me an idea how to handle mine,

7. Thanks for sharing Ennie but you should try and buy meat, most especially chicken once in a while. Also, I hope you give your kids beverages like milk, Milo, etc even if it's not everyday.

2. Our foodstuff budget has increased by 50%.Buy the necessities and move on.We buy in bulk so it can last us 3months before buying another.

From time,na morning and night we eat.May God help us,Austerity is not funny.

3. I no fit shout oh, bought one tuber of yam for 2k, I remember when that amount can get you 5tubers. Honestly feel for families these days, I'm single and its not funny 😭😭😭😭😭

1. Eeya, yam and plantain is cheap here, bought 6 medium Sz yam here 2500, bunch of plantain is around 800 naira now

4. I feel for the world. I feel for everybody.
    But for me:
    The Lord supplies all my family's NEEDS according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus Philippians 4:19

I woke up today so happy. I laughed right out of my sleep; why?
    We (my husband, myself, our kids) have increased our gifts to poor people and missionaries in remote bushes of Africa, preaching the gospel.
    Looking at our expenses, miraculously, they haven't been affected. Let me give you an example.
    We've saved up millions for a huge surgery expenses and suddenly, the doctors canceled it; they were mouth agape 😮😮😮😮that what they saw no longer existed.
    In fact, we are wondering were to divert those monies to even as we just sent a check of half a million plus to one of the missionaries for mobility. My husband just contacted
    one other who runs a school for indigent kids and asked that they set up
    a foundation for pure orphans who would otherwise not have education.
    Please note that these missionaries are not adherents of any "church" organization. They are called and in the fields on their own.
    Whatever you do to ONE OF THE LEAST OF MY BROTHERS/SISTERS, that you do to me.
    As for the food situation. Even before the pandemic, everybody in my
    family has learnt to eat one balanced meal in a day. Every other meal is fruits. We buy in bulk from producing villages. I also like driving there to buy because I see people that need help.
    Thank you Jesus. 😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁

1. What does giving to missionaries, whilst admirable, have to do with this topic?

2. Dear anon, I get your drift as to what God has done in terms of healing. I rejoice with you because have experienced God when it comes to health. No amount of money can give one healing and new life if God is not with you. But I think it is your recipients that should be blowing your 🎺 not you.

Once more, I rejoice with you on His Awesomeness in healing.

3. This right here is highly insensitive..

4. @enchantress
      Thanks. No blowing of trumpet intended. This is how I cope with "hard times," I give; not to "rich pastors" or churches
      but to individuals; the least of his brethren and he supplies all my need. Besides, you cannot attribute any glory to me
      as I attributed none to myself but to the Lord. I am still anonymous. 😁😁😁😁😁😁😁

@18:35
      I did not set out to be insensitive. I really wondered why my comment was not uploaded. The way we
      believers cope is to give to the Lord; please note, to the Lord. We don't only give when things are so
      rosy for us. Please do bear with me. Some of those orphans will not have a meal to eat if we do not send those
      aids. No matter how dire things are for us, the fact that you could buy data and comment is a big plus. Some people
      cannot buy a piece of 10 naira biscuit to eat not to talk of data. Those are the people we focus on. To them we are being
      sensitive. Thanks.🌹

5. Stella, it is not funny but God almighty is faithful.
    He is the one sustaining us.
    Things are just too expensive.
    I pray for families all over that God will not allow us to beg from enemies and he will not shame us.
    It is well

6. Stella, the rising cost of food is killing o. Everything is getting out of hand o. You wont believe that I have removed Sardine from the list of my provision, two tiny fishes for N650. very sad.

1. I substitute smoked fish and chicken which I buy in bulk and store in the freezer. Other items I bought in bulk like 4 months back. It’s not funny. Especially for gas, beans and oil. Dear Lord, kindly come through for your children, amen 🙏🏽.

7. Surviving in Nigeria currently is just by God's grace honestly and that is why I won't stop thanking Him.

I make a list of things to buy at the end of the month but will have to remove some things from my list and manage what we have till the next month. It's not just funny anymore. The price of items in the market are never the same anytime you go back to buy. Wetin?

12kg gas that used to be N3,800 is now N8,400 few days ago. like....

I don't know if this is as a result of the increase in dollar rate of the sellers are just taking advantage of the helpless buyers. We can't continue like this gaskia.

1. Buy coal pot and substitute with coal cooking my dear Cynthia

2. Coal coal, how much coal can make stew or soup bikonu

8. It has not been easy madam stella. I took record of all what we ate last month october. mhen... Its been God. I can no longer save as I used to now spend almost all the salary on food.

something got me angry on friday. After collecting salary, as usual I went to market to stock for November and wanted to buy 1.5litre of mamador oil. The same oil I bought early october 2,000, I was told its now 2,500. I just got angry left without buying it and went to use from my red oil to make stew and it came out very sweet.

Called my mum and ask her the price of 5litres of red oil she told me its not even up to 5k in my state so I just list everything including garri and yam that is also very cheap there for her to buy them and waybill. Its cheaper for me to get foodstuff from the village and just pay a token for waybill

1. It's easy Cos your own village is not too far from where you reside. I live in the south west and I'm from South south, how much will I budget for waybill? I'm sad

9. It hasn't been easy seriously. We are now managers, managing every every. God have mercy. Everything is triple the price. I wonder when it will end.

10. We're coping. Spend only on necessities. Which one will you substitute for kwanu?

His grace is just sufficient.

Gas is 700/kg. I have 2 of the 12.5kg cylinders. I used to fill both last year so I can have one on standby in case. Now I've gotten a 3kg should I not have up to the amount to fill one 12.5kg.

I substitute yam with sweet potatoes.
    Egusi is now 700/derica. Ogbono 800/derica (I substitute with okra at times).

I like beans so whatever the price (God help me), I will buy.
    😆😆

Let me stop here

1. Pls dyu know how much a 'painter' of egusi and Ogbono goes for?

2. I saw some pictures of a new kind of pot that is divided into 2, where you can cook 2 different items at once. I dey find where I fit buy am. Cooking gas don too cost now. More than double the price of what it used to be.
      Food prices too have hit the roof and the roof is leaking 😛

11. Please advice to everyone here o. whatever you cannot finish, dont even start. This period is not when you pack your village people to come and live with you o. There is one hubby cousin that beg to come live with us after getting a job close to us and I agreed to it.

This guy can eat 4peoples food at once. who will I complain to bayi without them calling me wicked wife? initially, I allow him dish his food himself but hubby complain I should be dishing for him myself but after dishing his food, he will still come back to ask for more.
    He uses every of our things in the house. when toothpaste got finished, I purposely refuse to buy since it wasn't month end yet that I normally restock and started using the powder paste. Do you know this guy went to buy his own and kept in his room?

I initially agreed with my hubby after wedding that I dont want anyone living with us but when this request came, I could not refuse so as not to be called a bad woman. I wish I stood my ground then and said NO. NOTE: I contribute 50% of every dime thing in the house

1. I understand exactly. My own sibling did same. Ate my food, when the food got finished, she stocked her room with noodles, egg, garri and different foodstuff. My wife and I hardly went to her room so we didn't know, not until the day I was looking for something in her room and like a dream of the night, I saw loads of foodstuff. I was shocked, after confronting her, she got angry, left and started tanishing my image everywhere. Someone I gave a room alk to herself without issues. Na God go forgive her

2. @annoy. That is the end result most times. At the end, they will still go and tarnish someones name. my AUNTY and her Husband pack different tribes full her house dey feed. Most of them, she dont even know their family up til now.

They cook 1paint of rice almost everyday and my aunty and her husband could not even lay one block let alone buying land. At the end of the day, most of them got married and forgot about them and some even went out on their own and start tarnishing their image.

3. Na sauce I dey do no more stew with oil.

4. Anon. 14. 19 e good say as a man you see am with ya eye. This is how many women are called witches in matrimonial homes when they resist such from people that are given shelter.

5. You better send that beast packing

6. You people better ask him to leave or better still let him eat what you give him. Na you dey look eye, me I no send you. Growing up we accommodated people alot, me as a married woman I don't allow anybody come stay in my home. Talk all you want, thats your headache. If you must live in my house, be rest assured to come with provision and foodstuff nonsense. Nobody should come and stress me and my husband. %%%California%%%

12. For us, we had to cut down. I no longer buy some cereal for the kids. We focus more on the ones that are necessary and more pocket friendly. That was how I left indomie to buy golden penny jollof and I regretted it😁

1. I can't even buy any other noodles apart from Indomie (crazy price). Those ones are just not it at all.

2. I used to say I can't eat any other noddle except indomie until the shit hit so hard on their price. I now buy anyone i can afford. I can't steal because of crazy price of things.

3. Chioma, Indomitable is still my one and only noodles

13. Is it only food items Stella? Everything has increased in price. I went for window shopping at a mini Mart yesterday, and I couldn't close my mouth at how prices of various items have increased, some are 100% increment. Yeah, yam is a no go are for now, thank God we're in plantain season. Above all, the eating pattern has changed,

1. Plantain is expensive here in mushin.

2. Plantain is still expensive in this ph oo

14. Alot ni oooooo....I love eating beans and plantain but now to use gas cook beans now na war against hunger.

It has not been easy but am sure my God will help us all ooo..

1. See my fellow beans lover.

I cook mine in my store with electric cooker and take home in a food flask cause we use the estimated billing here unlike the house where we use prepaid metre.

So no shaking😊😊

2. A pressure cooker is the best for beans.

15. As a baker, will I talk about price of baking ingredients?

I bought half bag of flour for 11k last week. Something that used to be 9k for a full bag.

Veg oil 10k for 10ltrs.
    Industrial flavours nko?
    Icing sugar of N250 for 500g is now N500 for 500g.
    Eggs nko eeeeeeh??? N1800 for a crate that used to be N800-N900.

Where will I start from? Why won't price of baking cakes double? But some clients won't understand. We feel your complaints but it's bad for us bakers too.

16. God has been faithful,I reduced some items but it's well,it's ending in praise

17. It has not been easy but we are grateful. I didn't drop any food but I reduced the way I eat out when I can cook at home.lol

18. Haaaaaa it's not funny ooo. For now gas has been abandoned. Me that don't like anything stove, I now go to fetch fuel with joy in my heart. The small tuber of yam I bought for 700 the other day was even spoilt. I don't know if things will actually get better here in Nigeria, it's no joke. Every item is now triple the amount we used to get them before, not just food.

19. Even those of us not in Nigeria are also really affected because now you have to increase whatever allowance u are sending back home.

For every extra penny, my dad spends on Bills, he will document and tell me to pay my gbese or he will be calling me onigbese 😂. As for my mum, she will definitely come back and tell us prices of food item has increased so we are constantly increasing allowance. It is well.

One day one day, Nigeria will sha get better.

20. I only buy the foodstuffs i can afford when i go to the market,no more special delicacies againoo.

I cook rice almost everyday,beans once a week,for soup i alternate okro,waterleaf and egusi with eba or semovita,then soup once or twice a week but that is when hubby buys the fish or meat when coming from work.

I now use my stove because kerosine is somehow cheaper than gas.

21. It has not been easy rara. It's not only foodstuffs, the prices of everything have increased. It's only God that's sustaining families in Nigeria

22. it affected us very bad and we are putting extra hard work to be able to meet up and we eat anything just to survive.

23. it affected us very bad and we are putting extra hard work to be able to meet up and we eat anything just to survive.

24. Living and surviving by special GRACE OF GOD, not an easy one but in all we give God thanks.

Gas ⛽ na, no go area now very very expensive, even kerosene is not left out,that one is also expensive.

Me that like pancakes, floor now is very expensive 😫😩

Na management we dey oooooo.

25. Buying in bulk and stocking up is what I do. It's way cheaper. I also source from suppliers such as yam, dry fish etc I cook a and stock up the freezer to reduce gas usage. I also go to village markets too to get stuff directly from farmers, so far it's been very effective and efficient. We ll survive.

26. When the wicked is in power, the people suffer! Buhari is a symbol of suffering and Nigerians need it now because of their strongheadedness as during the time they were enjoying Jonathan's grace, they recogniseth it not!

27. It's been the grace of God, and i am from a family that doesn't bill me like almost everyone is financially comfortable.
    Secondly we have just one 2 year old baby so that helps too. I personally no dey add another child if we haven't reached our financial goal.
    May God continue to help and feed us in this country.

1. It's always a good thing when everyone in a family is doing well and comfortable financially.

28. It hasn't been easy ooo and hunger is the new virus in naija,by God's grace we will survive.

29. We are surviving by the grace of God.
    I buy food stuff in bulk during harvest,and it helpful that way.

30. It is not easy o! But God have been faithful, I cook 3types of soups including stew,put in the fridge and manage till month end. I only shop for necessities.

31. Everyone surviving by the Grace of God. God Almighty has never put us to shame, so He won't now.

Let all who voted for dullard buhari enjoy it. Na all of us dey this country.

I thank God for doing well in my family. We are all surviving

32. We are living by God's grace. I used to enjoy going to the market but no any more.
    Can't remember when last we had variaties of soups stored in the fridge now it is one day at a time.
    Now if I want to make stew I mix the groundnut oil with red oil to increase the quantity and it comes out fine.
    Living in naija isn't easy but God gat us.

33. Stella Omo! It really affected us. Things are very expensive now. I can't remember the last time i bought ice fish or chicken to cook for my kids. Yam is no go area, yam you normally get 600 is now 1300 or 1400. What of milk and Milo. sometime I will make a budget before going to market but will be surprised that the money didn't buy half things on the lists.i will start calculating as if I have lost my money.

I thank God for making a way for us and my husband providing without complaining. I have dreams and hope that my tomorrow will be better than today.

34. Hmm Stella it has not been easy oo
    We now eat in smaller portions and even the kids are not left out. It makes me sad when they complain they are not full but watin we go do.
    God

35. We eat twise a day in my house, pap and golden morn to the recuse for my 3year old when ever she's hungry.

36. I no even fit talk again cos i no know wetin to talk or how to talk am. The high prices of food stuff and cooking gas presently is choking. Only God Almighty can urgently intervene cos its already unbearable

37. Hmmmm, very badlyoooh, it has affected us so much, but God dey sha

38. Honestly Stella l don't know when this will end,everything is damn too expensive in the market, but God will keep on sustaining us

39. I am very economical, I was raised by a teacher that measures everything. But this regime has humbled me, no matter how I manage, I will be under stress of thinking easy way out again. I make sure coaster biscuits is readily available for children, cos adults can cope, but children, hmmm. I bless GOD for HIS GRACE

40. It's even worst for we that buy in bits but I know,my God shall supply all my needs according to his riches in glory through Christ Jesus. So I don't complain

41. May God keep providing for us all, because if we consider the total income of the family and how much we get to spend running the home, it's always amazing

42. Honestly! This shit is getting crazy! We are only surviving by His grace,I have got 3 kids, sometimes I wonder if the price will eventually come down,but it keeps hitting the roof,may God help us

43. God's masterpiece2 November 2021 at 17:07

Hmmmm,it is well ooo

Things are really on the high side

We have to make serious adjustment ooo.

Though we hardly eat 3 times a day before sef.

This time I'm always weary of visitors honestly because I usually calculate how to cook so the foodstuffs will last for the week.

1. There is no medical proof that people should eat three times a day. Read Eccl. 10 and see God's injunction.

2. It’s not healthy to eat 3 times a day especially for adults give your organs a break

44. See comments but just last week I was attacked for asking that anon to not stop sending to parents in naija because naija is hard people are hungry and suffering

1. It's like it's now you are finally understanding bvs🤣🤣🤣

2. Don't mind them ooo anon. I was the one asking why you were being attacked and even insulted for no just reason.

3. 18:13 and 19:41 wonders shall never end

45. My only goal this Christmas is to feed Gods children all over the world in my country of residence and abroad so help me God 🙏🙏😘

1. Anon I said Amen to your prayers. I have my list to add to yours . God will surely provide for us.

But on a lighter note Angel Gabriel should close the gate of Nigeria because things are getting out of hand.

46. Its not funny at all....not a time to visit anyone

47. Before this Buhari times, I could classify my self as middle as we could afford to have all our children abroad and go on holiday once a year but omo now, I can’t believe I no longer buy Irish potatoes for my kids.. na sweet potato get us. Also no more honey beans, na ordinary one we Dey chop…I have cut down on a lot of things… it’s really insane.